MPC-HC with MadVR stuttering in fullscreen - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 09-16-2014, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
MPC-HC with MadVR stuttering in fullscreen

About a month ago I followed the Advanced MPC-HC setup guide and for a while it worked great. However suddenly I found that when I try to play a video that is a lower resolution than 1080p the video stutters only in fullscreen. 1080p videos work fine in fullscreen. Other videos work with the player at any other size but not in fullscreen. This only happens with madVR on, when I change DirectShow Video to system default or other settings everything works fine. I have not changed any settings in MPC-HC or madVR since everything was last working.

i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz
GTX 870m
Windows 8.1
1920x1080 60Hz

Any help with this problem would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by JustinCheeseburger; 09-16-2014 at 09:35 PM.
JustinCheeseburger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 09-16-2014, 09:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
orion2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Could be your GPU is choking on the computations needed for upscaling based on the settings in MadVR. I'd first try backing off with the upscaling settings to see if that improves things for you. You should aim to have 0 dropped frames showing up once the video playback begins.
orion2001 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 09-16-2014, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It seems like thats what it is, but I find it odd that I could use Jinc 3 taps + antiringing with no problems before and now I need to use dxva scaling to get smooth video playback.

EDIT: I have found the problem. It seems that MPC-HC is using my integrated intel graphics instead of my GTX 870m. Is there any way to force it to use the correct one?

Last edited by JustinCheeseburger; 09-16-2014 at 11:16 PM.
JustinCheeseburger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 09-17-2014, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,126
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 536 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinCheeseburger View Post
It seems like thats what it is, but I find it odd that I could use Jinc 3 taps + antiringing with no problems before and now I need to use dxva scaling to get smooth video playback.

EDIT: I have found the problem. It seems that MPC-HC is using my integrated intel graphics instead of my GTX 870m. Is there any way to force it to use the correct one?
Have you connected your display to your GPU's HDMI rather than your motherboard?

Last edited by Postmoderndesign; 09-17-2014 at 06:29 AM. Reason: typo
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 09-17-2014, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,933
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 513
I think OP has a Laptop which contains two GPUs but only one output. It is using the NVidia driver to switch between Intel IGP and GTX 870m depending on the needs.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 09-17-2014, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
bcec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinCheeseburger View Post
It seems like thats what it is, but I find it odd that I could use Jinc 3 taps + antiringing with no problems before and now I need to use dxva scaling to get smooth video playback.

EDIT: I have found the problem. It seems that MPC-HC is using my integrated intel graphics instead of my GTX 870m. Is there any way to force it to use the correct one?
If you are not using motherboards hdmi out for anything, then I'd suggest turning it completely off from within bios.
bcec is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 09-17-2014, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
I think OP has a Laptop which contains two GPUs but only one output. It is using the NVidia driver to switch between Intel IGP and GTX 870m depending on the needs.
This is correct.
JustinCheeseburger is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-07-2020, 01:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Are there any alternatives for madvr? Because I think there is no better software...
SuurbieR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off