Areca arc-5040 48tb - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 01-28-2015, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Areca arc-5040 48tb

I intent to build a 48TB HDDs NON-NAS array.
Simple USB 3.0 connection.
Areca ARC-5040 and 8 units of WD RED 6TB HDDs.
This will cost me about $3,000.

Is this a good idea?
Any commend and suggestion or other better options?

THANKS
iwanrs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 01-30-2015, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Youg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hey, please tell us more about what are your needs and what you want to do with such a monster.
Youg is offline  
post #3 of 34 Old 01-30-2015, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Youg View Post
Hey, please tell us more about what are your needs and what you want to do with such a monster.
Not important data, not for server either.
Just movies, video and music, for my 4K HTPC source.
iwanrs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 34 Old 01-30-2015, 06:30 PM
Member
 
thefranklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Are you going to need transcoding?

Do you have backups? I would not run that in Raid 0 (no idea why they would advertise that in their product description.). Most people would run it in Raid 5/6 for some parity, and that would shrink the total storage space.

For that kind of coin, you could build a diy box that would outperform except it would be a quite a bit more complicated.
thefranklin is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 01-30-2015, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefranklin View Post
Are you going to need transcoding?

Do you have backups? I would not run that in Raid 0 (no idea why they would advertise that in their product description.). Most people would run it in Raid 5/6 for some parity, and that would shrink the total storage space.

For that kind of coin, you could build a diy box that would outperform except it would be a quite a bit more complicated.
No transcoding.
Raid 5. Can get maximum available effective capacity of about 40TB .
Most of the money are for 8 x WD RED 6TB, about $2,000 plus.

How much can we save if we go DIY way, not to mention the complexity and stability, reliability etc.?
iwanrs is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 01-31-2015, 06:38 AM
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by thefranklin View Post
Are you going to need transcoding?

Do you have backups? I would not run that in Raid 0 (no idea why they would advertise that in their product description.). Most people would run it in Raid 5/6 for some parity, and that would shrink the total storage space.

For that kind of coin, you could build a diy box that would outperform except it would be a quite a bit more complicated.
What does transcoding have to do with direct attached storage?

Why wouldn't they advertise RAID-0? There are plenty of applications where it is a superior choice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs View Post
No transcoding.
Raid 5. Can get maximum available effective capacity of about 40TB .
Most of the money are for 8 x WD RED 6TB, about $2,000 plus.

How much can we save if we go DIY way, not to mention the complexity and stability, reliability etc.?
I'd be leery of hardware RAID-5 on an array that size. In the event of a drive failure the likelihood of a URE is significant which can compromise the recovery/rebuild process. Worst case scenario you lose all your data. That's not to say you're doomed if you go that route, but it is something to at least be aware of.
ajhieb is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 01-31-2015, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,356
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4344 Post(s)
Liked: 3082
RAID-6 would be the way to go on with that number of drives that size.
Stereodude is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 01-31-2015, 09:34 AM
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
RAID-6 would be the way to go on with that number of drives that size.
Or JBOD and a 3rd party nonRAID parity solution. But if you're shelling out the money for that box, yes, I'd go with RAID-6 if I needed any redundancy.
ajhieb is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 01-31-2015, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajhieb View Post
Or JBOD and a 3rd party nonRAID parity solution. But if you're shelling out the money for that box, yes, I'd go with RAID-6 if I needed any redundancy.
How much effective TB from total 48TB will I get if I run Raid 6?
iwanrs is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 01-31-2015, 10:15 AM
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs View Post
How much effective TB from total 48TB will I get if I run Raid 6?
Using 8x 6TB drives your usable space would be 36TB
ajhieb is offline  
post #11 of 34 Old 01-31-2015, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajhieb View Post
Using 8x 6TB drives your usable space would be 36TB
Less than RAID 5 (42TB).
iwanrs is offline  
post #12 of 34 Old 01-31-2015, 10:27 AM
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs View Post
Less than RAID 5 (42TB).
Correct. RAID 5 would use 6TB for parity
RAID-6 would use 12TB for parity.

RAID-5 can survive a single drive failure
RAID-6 can survive 2 failures.
ajhieb is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 01-31-2015, 09:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any other better option for this ARECA ARC-5040?
In term of performance, reliability and cheaper price of course.

Last edited by iwanrs; 02-01-2015 at 03:19 AM.
iwanrs is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 02-01-2015, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,356
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4344 Post(s)
Liked: 3082
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs View Post
Any other better option for this ARECA ARC-5040?
In term of performance, reliability and cheaper price of course.
You want something already built you can just add drives to?
Stereodude is offline  
post #15 of 34 Old 02-01-2015, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,220
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1017 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs View Post
Any other better option for this ARECA ARC-5040?
In term of performance, reliability and cheaper price of course.
Synology 1815+. Around $1100, but it's a full NAS instead of attached storage eliminating the need for PC in front of your storage.
EricN likes this.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 02-01-2015, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by stereodude View Post
you want something already built you can just add drives to?
yes.
iwanrs is offline  
post #17 of 34 Old 02-01-2015, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post
Synology 1815+. Around $1100, but it's a full NAS instead of attached storage eliminating the need for PC in front of your storage.
Sorry, non NAS
iwanrs is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 02-01-2015, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
w1retap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 51
You could save some money and go with a eSATA Sans Digital TowerRAID box and run SnapRAID on it for parity protection and silent data corruption protection. They've been very reliable units for me and you'll get better performance than USB 3.0 since you won't have all the CPU overhead to deal with.
w1retap is offline  
post #19 of 34 Old 02-01-2015, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by w1retap View Post
You could save some money and go with a eSATA Sans Digital TowerRAID box and run SnapRAID on it for parity protection and silent data corruption protection. They've been very reliable units for me and you'll get better performance than USB 3.0 since you won't have all the CPU overhead to deal with.
Which particular TowerRaid model you are talking about, 8 bays?
iwanrs is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 02-01-2015, 08:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Davecraze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by w1retap View Post
You could save some money and go with a eSATA Sans Digital TowerRAID box and run SnapRAID on it for parity protection and silent data corruption protection. They've been very reliable units for me and you'll get better performance than USB 3.0 since you won't have all the CPU overhead to deal with.
+1 - I have owned several of the eSATA and USB 3.0 Sans Digital 8 bay towers and they are great attached storage options. I currently have four of the USB version with about 60TB between them and using flexraid for parity protection and drive pooling. Very simple mass storage solution for streaming to popcorn hour devices and iOS devices.
Davecraze is offline  
post #21 of 34 Old 02-01-2015, 08:38 PM
Senior Member
 
w1retap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs View Post
Which particular TowerRaid model you are talking about, 8 bays?
I use this one:
http://www.sansdigital.com/towerraid/tr8mb.html

and this one:
http://www.sansdigital.com/towerraid-6g/tr8m6g.html

I think I picked them up for around $250 each on newegg when they put them on sale every once in a while.

They also have them available with SFF-8088 connectors for better performance, but for media streaming, I have never run into any problems with the eSATA version even with 4 clients accessing 1080p HD streams.

Last edited by w1retap; 02-01-2015 at 08:41 PM.
w1retap is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 02-02-2015, 06:12 PM
Member
 
thefranklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you build your own 11x4tb HDDs would give you the same dual parity storage and save you several hundred dollars.

I looked at prebuilts (assassin htpc and Ixsystems) and they both charge so much extra per HDD that they are only about equally competitve with the box you have already picked out. I am sure there are more, but those are the two places I have heard of.
thefranklin is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 02-04-2015, 09:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 60
If interested in the sans digital 8 bay unit, I have one for sale. PM me.
fitbrit is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 02-05-2015, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DotJun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Even raid 6 would be scary on an array that size. Imagine having a drive degrade. Now you will be safe on only one drive failure for the next two weeks while your massive array rebuilds.
DotJun is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 02-05-2015, 02:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,356
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4344 Post(s)
Liked: 3082
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotJun View Post
Even raid 6 would be scary on an array that size. Imagine having a drive degrade. Now you will be safe on only one drive failure for the next two weeks while your massive array rebuilds.
Weeks? On my PERC 6i card a RAID-6 array of 8x1.5TB drives will rebuild in hours. Sure 6TB drives would be a little slower to rebuild, but not that much.
Stereodude is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 02-05-2015, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
w1retap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 51
On a Perc 6i with 8x2TB drives in RAID6, it takes over 18 hours. (from what I see on our servers at work)
w1retap is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 02-05-2015, 07:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,356
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4344 Post(s)
Liked: 3082
Quote:
Originally Posted by w1retap View Post
On a Perc 6i with 8x2TB drives in RAID6, it takes over 18 hours. (from what I see on our servers at work)
Are they still in use? Or are they completely idle during the rebuild?
Stereodude is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 02-06-2015, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
w1retap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 51
In use of course. It would not make sense to offline a production system.
w1retap is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 02-06-2015, 09:14 AM
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by w1retap View Post
In use of course. It would not make sense to offline a production system.
I think extrapolating that out to 6TB drives under what is likely a light load at home, would mean rebuild time would be days, not weeks.
ajhieb is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 02-06-2015, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
w1retap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Most likely. I would agree.
w1retap is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off