*Official* Nvidia Shield Console - HTPC discussion - Page 159 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 779Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4741 of 5302 Old 02-27-2018, 02:33 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by confinoj View Post
I think I posted about this a month or so ago but just revisiting. I seem to have an AV sync issue specifically when playing uhd Atmos rips via Plex client in 24hz. If I play as 60hz in Plex av sync is fine. Additionally Kodi can play them back at 24hz without an issue as can my oppo 203 (via dlna) so it doesn’t seem to be other components in my chain. I don’t see many other posts regarding this. I am pretty sensitive to any av sync issues so maybe others just aren’t bothered? Because it’s not consistent across apps or FPS I can’t just adjust av delay for the shield. I know the answer is just use Kodi or Plex for Kodi but I actually prefer the native Plex client. Anyone experience this or have any suggestions?


I would head over to the official Plex forums and post in the appropriate section. You’ll get an answer one way or the other. They (Plex) may not even be aware of the issue since so few are ripping 4K at this point. I haven’t graduated to 4K yet so I can’t reproduce your issue. I totally agree with you on preferring the native Plex app though. I’ve tried over and over to like Kodi but, finally realized the simplicity of Plex is what makes it great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Stevetd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4742 of 5302 Old 02-27-2018, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by shyyour View Post
Where do you change the color space? I watch 4K on Netflix but haven't noticed any issues (i probably don't know better)
I 2nd this, is it in the settings/display and the different hz settings/ auto area? If so how do you decipher that to what you say.

Spoiler!
azz7686 is offline  
post #4743 of 5302 Old 02-28-2018, 12:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lagos, Nigeria
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by azz7686 View Post
I 2nd this, is it in the settings/display and the different hz settings/ auto area? If so how do you decipher that to what you say.
I'm confused is the question for me or @sjchmura who i quoted?

I don't know where the settings are which is why i asked as would like to see the differences myself. My shield has been set to default for most things.

if there's a way to make it better i would love to know.

Thanks

Theater:JVC RS440, Elite 120". 7.1.4:RTi8, CSi5, FXiA4, RTiA3, 620-RT(4) & SVS PB12-NSD. Denon X4300H, UPA-700, Crown XLS1502 & XLS1000(2). Sony UBP-X800, Panasonic DP-UB424, Shield & ATV 4K. Lounge:Vizio M70-D3, Benq HT1075, & Elite 106". 7.1.4:RTi12, CSi5, RTiA1, TSx110, MC60(4), & RBH I-12. Marantz AV7702, Crown XLS1500, XLS1000(2) & Amp 100v2(2). Samsung UBD-K8500, LG BP440, Shield & ATV
shyyour is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4744 of 5302 Old 02-28-2018, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
azz7686's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Sorry, yes I meant to quote him.


Can anyone elaborate?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Spoiler!
azz7686 is offline  
post #4745 of 5302 Old 02-28-2018, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Herve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Our 2017 Shield 16gb "locked up" for the first time ever last night. While playing an HDHomeRun app. it would respond to neither the small remote nor the controller. I had to unplug the unit's power supply and plug it back in. Then things were fine. I'm wondering if we're alone. Anyone else had this experience lately?
Herve is offline  
post #4746 of 5302 Old 02-28-2018, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,388
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1043 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Has anyone read or heard that nVidea Shields cause issues with flooding WiFi via the Chromecast Builtin Feature?

If this is true, how to correct it?

TIA

Sammy2 is offline  
post #4747 of 5302 Old 03-01-2018, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
kemetblk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by azz7686 View Post
I 2nd this, is it in the settings/display and the different hz settings/ auto area? If so how do you decipher that to what you say.
If I remember correctly it is under Display>HDMI Settings and should be near the bottom. You would select a resolution and color space (ie, 1920x1080 YUV 420 10 Bit Rec 709, 3840x2160 YUV 422 10 Bit Rec 2020, etc.).

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

AVR: Denon X3300w
F/C/R: Polk RTi A9's / CSi A6 / Speakercraft AIMWIDE 3 / Sub: SVS PB12-NSD (x2)
Sony XBR-75X940E, Toshiba HD-A30, Nvidia Shield TV (2015), Xbox One S, PS3
PC: Core i7, 16GB RAM, 512GB ssd + 4TB hdd, GTX 970 SSC
kemetblk is offline  
post #4748 of 5302 Old 03-01-2018, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DavidML3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I just bought my shield last night. Its the new version with the battery remote.

1. Does anyone have issue with plex app crashing when playing 4k movies? It plays for a bit and seems well but then suddenly crashes and restarts.
Also plex video quality doesn't seem to be on par with running the same 4k videos directly on my pc. All of my files are HEVC mkvs

2. What is better for shield Kodi or SPMC?

Last edited by DavidML3; 03-01-2018 at 10:37 AM.
DavidML3 is offline  
post #4749 of 5302 Old 03-01-2018, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
millst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Has anyone read or heard that nVidea Shields cause issues with flooding WiFi via the Chromecast Builtin Feature?

If this is true, how to correct it?

TIA
That was a client issue where they would flood the network after waking from sleep, not an issue with the server in the Shield, Chromecast, etc. The fix was to update your clients pushed through Google Play.

-tm
millst is offline  
post #4750 of 5302 Old 03-01-2018, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,354
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidML3 View Post
I just bought my shield last night. Its the new version with the battery remote.

1. Does anyone have issue with plex app crashing when playing 4k movies? It plays for a bit and seems well but then suddenly crashes and restarts.
Also plex video quality doesn't seem to be on par with running the same 4k videos directly on my pc. All of my files are HEVC mkvs

2. What is better for shield Kodi or SPMC?
I've never used Plex (don't need to transcode) or SPMC. Kodi has worked for me perfectly from the beginning (streaming from a NAS).
DeadEd likes this.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656
JBL Studio Series (Front, Center, Right), JBL 250W Sub, Kenwood Rears, Onkyo Atmos Upfiring
LG UP970 UHD Player
Nvidia Shield TV
taz291819 is offline  
post #4751 of 5302 Old 03-01-2018, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Defcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1644 Post(s)
Liked: 920
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidML3 View Post
I just bought my shield last night. Its the new version with the battery remote.

1. Does anyone have issue with plex app crashing when playing 4k movies? It plays for a bit and seems well but then suddenly crashes and restarts.
Also plex video quality doesn't seem to be on par with running the same 4k videos directly on my pc. All of my files are HEVC mkvs

2. What is better for shield Kodi or SPMC?
Plex crashes for me too and I don't really like it as a client - it uses the Android player and has too many limitations. Seek is also really bad.

I'd suggest you use Plex for Kodi, or PKC, both of which will let you use Kodi's excellent player. I also had issues getting PKC to even connect so I'm just using Plex for Kodi now.
Defcon is offline  
post #4752 of 5302 Old 03-02-2018, 01:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
DeadEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 198
I can highly recommend Kodi. I used to use SPMC. It was great. I hear it's still great. I don't need the special tweaks anymore though so I went back to the generic build. I've had lots of problems with the Plex client so I stopped trying. No reason for it when Kodi works so well anyways. I too use a Synology NAS (1515+). I have four shields and a Sony A1E that has built in Android so I run Kodi on it. It's not nearly as snappy as the Shields but works OK until I get into very high bitrates. For example, my 30gig 4K HDR rip of the new Thor movie is as smooth as butter, but when I run a 30gig 4K rip of Timescape (which is only a 45min film) I get some mild stuttering. I think the Sony can't keep up with the Nvidia Shield for high bitrate stuff.

IMHO, just use Kodi and let that stuff fade into the background like it's supposed to. You won't have to think about it anymore.

--. .-. .- - . ..-. ..- .-.. / -.. . .- -..
Dyslexics are teople poo.
DeadEd is offline  
post #4753 of 5302 Old 03-02-2018, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DavidML3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadEd View Post
I can highly recommend Kodi. I used to use SPMC. It was great. I hear it's still great. I don't need the special tweaks anymore though so I went back to the generic build. I've had lots of problems with the Plex client so I stopped trying. No reason for it when Kodi works so well anyways. I too use a Synology NAS (1515+). I have four shields and a Sony A1E that has built in Android so I run Kodi on it. It's not nearly as snappy as the Shields but works OK until I get into very high bitrates. For example, my 30gig 4K HDR rip of the new Thor movie is as smooth as butter, but when I run a 30gig 4K rip of Timescape (which is only a 45min film) I get some mild stuttering. I think the Sony can't keep up with the Nvidia Shield for high bitrate stuff.

IMHO, just use Kodi and let that stuff fade into the background like it's supposed to. You won't have to think about it anymore.
Im actually getting disappointed in the shield. So after moving from plex to kodi and spmc I find 4k video quality to be lacking alot.

Im running mkv hevc 10bit files from my local computer over network share.

When I play these files through kodi on pc they are bright, crisp and clear. When I play them on kodi or spmc on the shield they are grainy, not bright most of all not that crisp 4k that you expect to see. Its almost as if the shield is downgrading the quality

I went into my settings and looked for anything that could help me out video quality wise but couldn't find anything.

I don't think this is what i need. I will listen to you guys but I might need another streaming media solution
DavidML3 is offline  
post #4754 of 5302 Old 03-02-2018, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,388
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1043 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by millst View Post
That was a client issue where they would flood the network after waking from sleep, not an issue with the server in the Shield, Chromecast, etc. The fix was to update your clients pushed through Google Play.

-tm
Thanks for the response. I did do further research after posting my question then looked at all my Android devices to see what version of Google Play Services was installed. They are all up to date. My reason for posting was to rule out this particular issue from my current issue with WiFi dropouts..

Sammy2 is offline  
post #4755 of 5302 Old 03-02-2018, 03:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DavidML3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidML3 View Post
Im actually getting disappointed in the shield. So after moving from plex to kodi and spmc I find 4k video quality to be lacking alot.

Im running mkv hevc 10bit files from my local computer over network share.

When I play these files through kodi on pc they are bright, crisp and clear. When I play them on kodi or spmc on the shield they are grainy, not bright most of all not that crisp 4k that you expect to see. Its almost as if the shield is downgrading the quality

I went into my settings and looked for anything that could help me out video quality wise but couldn't find anything.

I don't think this is what i need. I will listen to you guys but I might need another streaming media solution
OK I figured it out. I had to test it out on my Sony Z9D

Apparantley Shield sucks when not using RGB color space. I had to set it to 8 bit RGB full dynamic range and now it looks as it should.
DavidML3 is offline  
post #4756 of 5302 Old 03-03-2018, 01:20 AM
Member
 
Quetzalcoalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Good news guys, NVIDIA Shield TV shown running Android Oreo at MWC! Lets hope it will support colorspace switching, and to not wait till further updates but get it on the first update.
DeadEd likes this.
Quetzalcoalt is offline  
post #4757 of 5302 Old 03-03-2018, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 5,509
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2356 Post(s)
Liked: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quetzalcoalt View Post
Good news guys, NVIDIA Shield TV shown running Android Oreo at MWC! Lets hope it will support colorspace switching, and to not wait till further updates but get it on the first update.


Did they show the interface? The generic Oreo is really bad
psuKinger likes this.

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is offline  
post #4758 of 5302 Old 03-03-2018, 05:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 5,509
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2356 Post(s)
Liked: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidML3 View Post
OK I figured it out. I had to test it out on my Sony Z9D



Apparantley Shield sucks when not using RGB color space. I had to set it to 8 bit RGB full dynamic range and now it looks as it should.


And you have to switch it (until oreo see post below) to 2020 space for hdr

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is offline  
post #4759 of 5302 Old 03-03-2018, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DavidML3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjchmura View Post
Did they show the interface? The generic Oreo is really bad
DavidML3 is offline  
post #4760 of 5302 Old 03-03-2018, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
kemetblk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I hate that Oreo ATV interface. Looks like the revamped YouTube interface which is the reason I uninstalled updates on it to get it back to the old look. I really hope Nvidia customizes its Oreo update GUI to stay looking like the current design.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

AVR: Denon X3300w
F/C/R: Polk RTi A9's / CSi A6 / Speakercraft AIMWIDE 3 / Sub: SVS PB12-NSD (x2)
Sony XBR-75X940E, Toshiba HD-A30, Nvidia Shield TV (2015), Xbox One S, PS3
PC: Core i7, 16GB RAM, 512GB ssd + 4TB hdd, GTX 970 SSC
kemetblk is offline  
post #4761 of 5302 Old 03-03-2018, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 6,354
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemetblk View Post
I hate that Oreo ATV interface. Looks like the revamped YouTube interface which is the reason I uninstalled updates on it to get it back to the old look. I really hope Nvidia customizes its Oreo update GUI to stay looking like the current design.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
That's exactly what nvidia is doing.
kemetblk likes this.

Vizio P65-C1 (2016)
Onkyo Tx-NR656
JBL Studio Series (Front, Center, Right), JBL 250W Sub, Kenwood Rears, Onkyo Atmos Upfiring
LG UP970 UHD Player
Nvidia Shield TV
taz291819 is offline  
post #4762 of 5302 Old 03-07-2018, 08:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Defcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1644 Post(s)
Liked: 920
This might be old news to people here but I just figured something out that was driving me crazy and is not very obvious - the screensaver on the Shield never came on reliably. I had the screensaver setting at defaults which also has a 'prevent when playing music' setting which is on by default. I figured its for music streaming services which makes sense. But it seems it also prevents it from activating when e.g. I have playback paused in other apps like Kodi/Plex. I turned it off and now things work as expected.
DeadEd and azz7686 like this.
Defcon is offline  
post #4763 of 5302 Old 03-16-2018, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 3,229
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 39
With the sheild how will this part of a receiver come into play

So I am still debating between a few items 2400 vs 3400/3300 as reciever upgrade

How much of a difference will the following be in my setup?

  • 2017 models (S930H, X2400H): These models can pass through up to 4K/60fps video and upscale up to 4K/30fps video.
  • 2017 models (X3400H, X4400H/X6400H): These models can pass through and upscale up to 4K/60fps video.
Do most people use pass through? Is the upscale important or do you let your TV do that part.

Also if you were playing a 1080p movie that you want upscaled to 4k which settings would you use on the receiver & TV?
Current setup
TV: Sony X850D | LED | 4K ULTRA HD | HIGH DYNAMIC RANGE (HDR) |
Source: Nvidia Sheild – Plex, Netflix, OTA HDTV
Want to be able to take advantage of 4k & HDR Stuff.

"You’re KILLIN’ ME Smalls! "

Sony 55EX500 Settings

Last edited by cburbs; 03-16-2018 at 10:32 AM.
cburbs is offline  
post #4764 of 5302 Old 03-16-2018, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I just purchased a Shield to connect to a LG B7 OLED. Output of audio will be via ARC from the TV to a Denon 1713 AVR.

What are the ideal display settings for 4K output from the shield to the TV?

I run a HTPC with Emby Server, but see Kodi gets a lot of love in here. Am I better off installing the Emby app or Kodi with the Emby plugin for library management on the shield?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
slosvt is offline  
post #4765 of 5302 Old 03-16-2018, 12:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,424
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1756 Post(s)
Liked: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by slosvt View Post
I just purchased a Shield to connect to a LG B7 OLED. Output of audio will be via ARC from the TV to a Denon 1713 AVR.

What are the ideal display settings for 4K output from the shield to the TV?

I run a HTPC with Emby Server, but see Kodi gets a lot of love in here. Am I better off installing the Emby app or Kodi with the Emby plugin for library management on the shield?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
You do not want to run HDMI from the Shield to the TV and then ARC to the AVR. ARC does not pass HD audio. Shield to the AVR then AVR to TV. ARC is used to send the audio from the TV's apps to the AVR.

bryansj is offline  
post #4766 of 5302 Old 03-16-2018, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
You do not want to run HDMI from the Shield to the TV and then ARC to the AVR. ARC does not pass HD audio. Shield to the AVR then AVR to TV. ARC is used to send the audio from the TV's apps to the AVR.
My AVR is not 4K, so I have to forego HD audio until I upgrade the AVR.

I am looking at Denon AVRs that are 4K with multi SubEq as part of the Audyssey calibration.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
slosvt is offline  
post #4767 of 5302 Old 03-16-2018, 07:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 3,229
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Also right now I have my sheild hooked directly to the sony tv.

What should the Shield be set at for HD?
What should the sony xbr850 be set at for best HD?

Thanks

"You’re KILLIN’ ME Smalls! "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #4768 of 5302 Old 03-17-2018, 05:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Elpee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by cburbs View Post
With the sheild how will this part of a receiver come into play

So I am still debating between a few items 2400 vs 3400/3300 as reciever upgrade

How much of a difference will the following be in my setup?

  • 2017 models (S930H, X2400H): These models can pass through up to 4K/60fps video and upscale up to 4K/30fps video.
  • 2017 models (X3400H, X4400H/X6400H): These models can pass through and upscale up to 4K/60fps video.
Do most people use pass through? Is the upscale important or do you let your TV do that part.

Also if you were playing a 1080p movie that you want upscaled to 4k which settings would you use on the receiver & TV?
Current setup
TV: Sony X850D | LED | 4K ULTRA HD | HIGH DYNAMIC RANGE (HDR) |
Source: Nvidia Sheild – Plex, Netflix, OTA HDTV
Want to be able to take advantage of 4k & HDR Stuff.
Off topic a bit. I also have the same question. Thanks for the replies.
Elpee is offline  
post #4769 of 5302 Old 03-23-2018, 11:47 AM
Senior Member
 
mtucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Escondido CA.
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elpee View Post
Off topic a bit. I also have the same question. Thanks for the replies.
Perhaps not always true, but in general the TV will do a better job of upscaling than your receiver or Shield. There is an entire thread on the GEForce forum about people wanting their shield to output video at the original resolution and not upscale to 4K since the Shield seems to do a so-so job of upscaling. https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...eld-4k-uhd-/1/
I recently purchased the AVR-X3400H, but I don't have it upscale. I prefer my TV do the upscaling.
mtucker is offline  
post #4770 of 5302 Old 03-25-2018, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 18,171
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 793 Post(s)
Liked: 249
I noticed something interesting:

My Shield refuses to play nice with my Pioneer VSX-90 receiver and my Vizio P65-E1 so I had to plug it directly into my TV. I have been having stuttering problems for as long as I had the Shield- with it plugged directly into my TV almost all of the stuttering problems are gone. Has anyone else experienced this? I assume the problem is related to the fact that my receiver is one of the first ones with HDCP 2.2 enabled ports?

Would a newer receiver solve this problem?

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off