*Official* Nvidia Shield Console - HTPC discussion - Page 174 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 766Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5191 of 5232 Old 04-17-2019, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquid$team View Post
I wouldn't say you need a discerning eye. I'll say this.... if you are streaming on an nvidia then try something else. It will be obvious
I have recently reintroduced an HTPC in the mix, but I only use that for local content. Not for streaming.
whiteboy714 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5192 of 5232 Old 04-17-2019, 07:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
dfkimbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Franklin, TN (mostly)
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 114
I’m not challenging your experiences with PQ, but I haven’t noticed any poor PQ. Maybe it’s because I’m using a 1080p plasma and not a 4K TV.

One thing did occur to me, though. Are you guys using the same HDMI input when you compare the picture quality between different streamers? On my TV, each HDMI input can be configured separately for color space, contrast, image processing, etc.

Well, Duncan, he's just this guy, you know?
dfkimbro is online now  
post #5193 of 5232 Old 04-17-2019, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkimbro View Post
I’m not challenging your experiences with PQ, but I haven’t noticed any poor PQ. Maybe it’s because I’m using a 1080p plasma and not a 4K TV.

One thing did occur to me, though. Are you guys using the same HDMI input when you compare the picture quality between different streamers? On my TV, each HDMI input can be configured separately for color space, contrast, image processing, etc.
Many of the complaints about 'soft' images on the Shield are probably related to its mediocre upscaling (see the 'for Shield owners' pic here: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1840876). Won't matter much if you're using a 1080p display.
lockdown571 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5194 of 5232 Old 04-18-2019, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,425
Mentioned: 104 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6149 Post(s)
Liked: 5378
I too, have not noticed any drastic decrease in video quality from the Shield. I was streaming NF and Amazon through my 4K smart TV before getting the Shield about a year ago, and if there was any difference at all, it surely wasn't "night/day".

I have been into HT for 30 years or so now and have always been very sensitive to an un-calibrated or improperly calibrated display or sub-par source material...and have always striven for the best pic quality available (early adopter of S-VHS, LD, DVD and BR) so I think it would be obvious to me.
Alan P is online now  
post #5195 of 5232 Old 04-18-2019, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
I too, have not noticed any drastic decrease in video quality from the Shield. I was streaming NF and Amazon through my 4K smart TV before getting the Shield about a year ago, and if there was any difference at all, it surely wasn't "night/day".

I have been into HT for 30 years or so now and have always been very sensitive to an un-calibrated or improperly calibrated display or sub-par source material...and have always striven for the best pic quality available (early adopter of S-VHS, LD, DVD and BR) so I think it would be obvious to me.
Yeah I have felt the same way, maybe we are just lucky lol.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #5196 of 5232 Old 04-18-2019, 07:55 PM
Member
 
AaronTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Yeah I have felt the same way, maybe we are just lucky lol.
It's not just you. I have both Shield TV and Apple TV 4K. They both look great. I don't see any notable difference when comparing apps like Netflix, Prime, or Vudu between the two (other than differences like hdr10 vs Dolby Vision). I recently watched the 3rd season of Grand Tour on the Shield's Prime app and it was stunningly gorgeous per usual.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

LG OLED65C, Sony 940e, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Oppo 203, Denon AVR-X4200, SVS SB-2000 (x2), SVS Prime Tower (x2), SVS Prime Satellite (x2), SVS Prime Center
AaronTV is offline  
post #5197 of 5232 Old 04-19-2019, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,413
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Maybe I just don't have a discerning eye but I just don't see how the Shield is so inferior to other devices, especially as you say without even doing a side by side that it is that noticeable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquid$team View Post
I wouldn't say you need a discerning eye. I'll say this.... if you are streaming on an nvidia then try something else. It will be obvious

I've done extensive A/B ing and maybe the problem is that I *do* have a discerning eye; a blessing and a curse I guess Maybe the display makes the difference more obvious. I only have a calibrated 9G Pioneer Elite Kuro and maybe LCD/ LED or OLED's don't bring out the difference as much?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #5198 of 5232 Old 04-19-2019, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
I've done extensive A/B ing and maybe the problem is that I *do* have a discerning eye; a blessing and a curse I guess Maybe the display makes the difference more obvious. I only have a calibrated 9G Pioneer Elite Kuro and maybe LCD/ LED or OLED's don't bring out the difference as much?

bob
When you say a and b you mean just switching the source back and forth? Even this seems pretty subjective. I would like to do a test with two of the same displays side by side.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #5199 of 5232 Old 04-19-2019, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Liquid$team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
I've done extensive A/B ing and maybe the problem is that I *do* have a discerning eye; a blessing and a curse I guess Maybe the display makes the difference more obvious. I only have a calibrated 9G Pioneer Elite Kuro and maybe LCD/ LED or OLED's don't bring out the difference as much?

bob
I tried the shield on 4 displays.

Vizio Pf1 75
Epson 8500ub projector
Samsung curved 49 inch (non 4k)]
Old Samsung 720p 50 inch plasma

Honestly the bigger the display the worse the shield looks. This is not a display issue. It's a shield issue. People like it for the apps or gaming ect ok then....but if you are streaming on it and you "think" it's good...... get yourself a new map lol
Liquid$team is offline  
post #5200 of 5232 Old 04-19-2019, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,413
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
When you say a and b you mean just switching the source back and forth? Even this seems pretty subjective. I would like to do a test with two of the same displays side by side.
Trust me, it's not subjective if even my wife says " Oh Wow"

spongebob is offline  
post #5201 of 5232 Old 04-19-2019, 05:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,413
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
When you say a and b you mean just switching the source back and forth? Even this seems pretty subjective. I would like to do a test with two of the same displays side by side.
Then you have 2 more variables, the difference between the displays

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #5202 of 5232 Old 04-19-2019, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Then you have 2 more variables, the difference between the displays

bob
I know, but by the time you change sources, swap back and forth its not so easy to perfectly compare things.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #5203 of 5232 Old 05-19-2019, 07:44 AM
Rookie Member
 
Bill DePalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland,OH
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I have some basic questions regarding using the Shield as a Plex media server, and hopefully, this is the correct forum to ask. I am currently using the shield to stream local content housed on 2 8tb drives connected to the shield. I also have an HDHomeRun Quatro tuner in the mix to record off-air content to these drives. My basic questions are: How do my various "players" around my home (Apple TV, Roku) receive the signal from my Nvidia? I ask because I assume that it is best to connect the shield via ethernet directly from my router as opposed to WiFI, even though the 5G signal is excellent because the shield is next to my router. Some of the players about the house are connected via ethernet and some are connected by WiFi. However, if I connect the Nvidia shield by ethernet it knocks off the HdhomRun off the network (the Tuner requires an ethernet connection). I have no idea why this occurs. So, I resort to hooking up the Shield via WiFi, which then brings the tuner back, although not using the wired connection seems like I might be losing signal strength. My apologies for the long message. Just trying to understand how this stuff does its magic, and how to best make use of the internet within my home.
thanks
Bill

Also- How do ensure the shield stays awake at all times so that I don't miss recorded programs. I set the shield up to "never" sleep, and yet I still have issues with missing recordings. Or, is it questionable to even use the shield as a server?
Bill DePalma is offline  
post #5204 of 5232 Old 05-26-2019, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1312 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirosamsung View Post
Hey guys-I’m kinda new to NIVIDEA and only used to Apple TV.
I’m noticing that when I put mp4 or other types of videos on a USB stick to play on the NIVIDEA when I open the photos and video app I only get a picture of all of the files with the play arrow over top of it.

This is very difficult as I have a bunch of Dolby Atmos demos as well as 5-10 videos and no way to know which is which except if I open them up or I can try to recognize which image at the beginning of the movie that the Shield decides to put on the file.

Is there no way that the movie file title on a USB can be organized or labeled or read so that when I open the photos and video app I can see which is which??
Bump

Sony 75Z9D, Samsung 65JS9500
Monitor Audio Gold 200(2), Gold 350, Gold 50(2), Gold CT280-IDC(4). SVS PC4000(2).
NAD 758, Anthem MCA-5
Apple TV 4K, Nvidea Shield. Mac Mini (2018). Samsung UHD BluRay and X-Box One X. 14 Sonos
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #5205 of 5232 Old 06-02-2019, 10:55 AM
Member
 
ssdesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I had a HTPC hooked up to the BD channel of my Denon AVR-591 and after I updated windows 10 I was constantly losing HDMI signal. I had to power down the receiver, then the Panny plasma, then restart the receiver and wait, then TV. It would see the signal after that.

Now I have an NVIDIA Shield and I get the NVIDIA logo when I turn the Shield on, then the screen goes black. No picture, no sound. Is this the receiver and the HDMI handshake? Or does the Shield have some setting I need to adjust?
ssdesigner is offline  
post #5206 of 5232 Old 06-03-2019, 07:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Herve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,584
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Any rumor about a new Shield TV being released in the near future?
Thanks.
Herve is offline  
post #5207 of 5232 Old 06-03-2019, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,415
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2215 Post(s)
Liked: 2422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herve View Post
Any rumor about a new Shield TV being released in the near future?
Thanks.
I heard they filed a patent for a new game controller a while back. They must have something new in development.


How's that for a rumor?
Ken.F is online now  
post #5208 of 5232 Old 06-03-2019, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Herve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,584
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken.F View Post
I heard they filed a patent for a new game controller a while back. They must have something new in development.


How's that for a rumor?
"They must have something new in development." Yes, that's a good one, but pretty "lean". The reason I asked is that I'm considering buying another Shield and I'd delay a bit if a new version were coming out soon.
Herve is offline  
post #5209 of 5232 Old 06-03-2019, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 5,415
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2215 Post(s)
Liked: 2422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herve View Post
The reason I asked is that I'm considering buying another Shield and I'd delay a bit if a new version were coming out soon.
Oh, OK then. I thought you just wanted someone to start a rumor. Never mind.
beerhunt likes this.
Ken.F is online now  
post #5210 of 5232 Old 06-03-2019, 12:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 5,444
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2318 Post(s)
Liked: 914
There is no idication if a new one. What would a new one have? It's still the best Android TV box

Only rumors suggest they have no interest in a new one. It's a niche product

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is online now  
post #5211 of 5232 Old 06-05-2019, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ChldsPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,093
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1115 Post(s)
Liked: 631
Does anyone know if there is a setting on the SMPC app anywhere to adjust the aspect ratio of the menus/poster wall? I have a scope projector screen, and the top and bottom of the image gets cut off when I have it zoomed for scope content. It's not too much of a big deal when I'm on the poster wall as I can still see what's selected, but when looking at title info, all the selectable options are at the bottom and thus cut off. I'd really like to not have to zoom my projector back out in order to see it.

The Hodor Theater - Now with Atmos
Projector - JVC D-ILA NX7/Panasonic PT-AE8000U; Receiver - Yamaha Adventage A3050
LCR speakers - JTR Noesis 228 HT (3); Surr./Back - Klipsch Pro Cinema KPT-8000M (4)
Atmos In-ceiling - Niles DS8HD (4); Subs - Passive JTR Captivator Pro (2)
ChldsPlay is offline  
post #5212 of 5232 Old 06-06-2019, 07:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lagos, Nigeria
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Has anyone had issues playing files on plex addon via kodi or the plex app? I noticed when playing .mkv files (720p or 1080p) that playback randomly stutters and then hangs sometimes the shield reboots.

I stream the files from a NAS on my local network and the shield is set to direct play so no transcoding. I have 3 shields and i have experienced the same issue on all of them so i'm suspecting maybe its a firmware issue but wanted to ask if anyone has experienced something similar.

thanks

Theater:JVC RS440, Elite 120". 7.1.4:RTi8, CSi5, FXiA4, RTiA3, 620-RT(4) & SVS PB12-NSD. Denon X4300H, UPA-700, Crown XLS1502 & XLS1000(2). Sony UBP-X800, Panasonic DP-UB424, Shield & ATV 4K. Lounge:Vizio M70-D3, Benq HT1075, & Elite 106". 7.1.4:RTi12, CSi5, RTiA1, TSx110, MC60(4), & RBH I-12. Marantz AV7702, Crown XLS1500, XLS1000(2) & Amp 100v2(2). Samsung UBD-K8500, LG BP440, Shield & ATV
shyyour is offline  
post #5213 of 5232 Old 06-07-2019, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Herve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,584
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I'm looking for a Netflix and Prime Video streaming device for our basement RS1-based HT.

I've been using a Shield TV for a couple of years now for our 1080p Sharp TV upstairs and I really like it and have considered another Shield for the basement. Today I learned that the Roku Streaming Stick+ supposedly now has Prime Video available to CANADIAN owners, so there is this less-expensive option to have N and PV in our basement HT.

Therefore, I'd be very interested to hear reviews from people who own, or have very recently owned or demoed, BOTH the Shield TV and the Roku Streaming Stick+. In particular , I'd be interested to hear from CANADIAN owners of the Roku whether PV is indeed available here in Canada.

Thanks.
Herve is offline  
post #5214 of 5232 Old 06-08-2019, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Herve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,584
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 71
For Canadians, the Roku Streaming Stick Plus does indeed have pre-installed Netflix and you can download the Prime Video app, as well as Youtube. I bought one yesterday to try out and I'm glad I did.

Video output is pretty much selected automatically by the unit, but you can change it if you want to.

Because out reciever is an old Denon 5800 with no HDMI inputs, let alone outpus, on the Stick I selected Dolby Digital for output via HDMI.

I have a 4x4 hdmi matrix switcher (thankfully, with tiny IR remote control) audio/video interface that has only one optical SPDIF output, which goes to an optical SPDIF input on the Denon.

To be brief, the video to our RS1 looks great, and the audio from our 5.1 sound system sounds great. As usual, the bass from our Paradigm Servo 15 subwoofer is high-quality "thunderous".

For those Canadians who have BD players that do not have Prime Video available and you don't want to spend $500 for a BD player that does have it (for a few years and then maybe not), I recommend trying out the Streaming Stick Plus as an add-on. Amazing technology in a device that looks amazingly similar to a large thumb drive. And I haven't even tested its 4K capabilities.
Herve is offline  
post #5215 of 5232 Old 06-11-2019, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 3,224
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I can't seem to get Amazon added to my favorites row.....easy way to do this?

"You’re KILLIN’ ME Smalls! "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #5216 of 5232 Old 06-15-2019, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Gotta keep the rumor mill churning!!

https://www.thefpsreview.com/2019/06...be-on-the-way/
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #5217 of 5232 Old 06-15-2019, 08:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,546
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Gotta keep the rumor mill churning!!
I suspect EOL on components will force a refresh (at some point).

125" Projection | 5.2.4 Audio | Shield TV | LibreELEC/ODROID-C2 Kodi Media Client | Ubuntu/ODROID-XU4 NAS/Server | 65" LG OLED TV | TiVo | Shield TV |
| Water cooled Threadripper & Radeon VII, NVMe PC - 43" 4K Monitor |
Charles R is offline  
post #5218 of 5232 Old 06-25-2019, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Posts: 7,865
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Gotta keep the rumor mill churning!!

https://www.thefpsreview.com/2019/06...be-on-the-way/
Skip to 10:40

Sounds like any update will be minor.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #5219 of 5232 Old 06-25-2019, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Posts: 7,865
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill DePalma View Post
I have some basic questions regarding using the Shield as a Plex media server, and hopefully, this is the correct forum to ask. I am currently using the shield to stream local content housed on 2 8tb drives connected to the shield. I also have an HDHomeRun Quatro tuner in the mix to record off-air content to these drives. My basic questions are: How do my various "players" around my home (Apple TV, Roku) receive the signal from my Nvidia? I ask because I assume that it is best to connect the shield via ethernet directly from my router as opposed to WiFI, even though the 5G signal is excellent because the shield is next to my router. Some of the players about the house are connected via ethernet and some are connected by WiFi. However, if I connect the Nvidia shield by ethernet it knocks off the HdhomRun off the network (the Tuner requires an ethernet connection). I have no idea why this occurs. So, I resort to hooking up the Shield via WiFi, which then brings the tuner back, although not using the wired connection seems like I might be losing signal strength. My apologies for the long message. Just trying to understand how this stuff does its magic, and how to best make use of the internet within my home.
thanks
Bill

Also- How do ensure the shield stays awake at all times so that I don't miss recorded programs. I set the shield up to "never" sleep, and yet I still have issues with missing recordings. Or, is it questionable to even use the shield as a server?
It sounds to me like you have an IP address conflict. I have 3 Shields and an HDHR on my network (used to have 3 HDHRs), have for many years, and no issues. Wired is best but very good wifi "can" work.

I use Plex to get programming to all my devices.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #5220 of 5232 Old 06-26-2019, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill DePalma View Post
I have some basic questions regarding using the Shield as a Plex media server, and hopefully, this is the correct forum to ask.
you may also want to check out the dedicated Shield forum if you haven't already found it.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...t-top-box.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill DePalma View Post
Also- How do ensure the shield stays awake at all times so that I don't miss recorded programs. I set the shield up to "never" sleep, and yet I still have issues with missing recordings. Or, is it questionable to even use the shield as a server?
I've been struggling with the shield sleeping too. I'm seeing it freeze up instead of sleep -- so the lights on top stay on, but the shield is effectively dead until i unplug and restart it.

But I think that is more of a Shield issue than a Plex Media Server issue.

Movies: Epson 5050 / Marantz 7010 / OPPO-103
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
Speakers: MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), Motion 50XT (center), Motion 2 (surrounds)
Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off