*Official* Nvidia Shield Console - HTPC discussion - Page 76 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 766Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 5231 Old 03-10-2016, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
3rob3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futrader8 View Post
If any of you yahoos have been considering picking up a Flirc to use with your Shield, they are on sale on Amazon right now for $9.49 (plus $5 shipping). $14 plus change is by far the best price I've ever seen for these little puppies.
Good deal! Anyone have a suggestion for a simple remote to pair with this? I am honestly fine with the Shield's remote, just wish I could program TV Power.
3rob3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 5231 Old 03-10-2016, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Posts: 7,865
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 625
With a Flirc?

ANY REMOTE YOU WANT as long as it is IR. If you can find a 1980's remote you like, you can make it work with the Flirc. That's part of the benefit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rob3 View Post
I am honestly fine with the Shield's remote, just wish I could program TV Power.
Are you just going direct to the TV? Does your TV support CEC? Two of my TVs are set up with the remote that came with the TV and they work great.

Last edited by TornadoTJ; 03-10-2016 at 02:32 PM.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #2253 of 5231 Old 03-10-2016, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
3rob3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
With a Flirc?

ANY REMOTE YOU WANT as long as it is IR. If you can find a 1980's remote you like, you can make it work with the Flirc. That's part of the benefit.



Are you just going direct to the TV? Does your TV support CEC? Two of my TVs are set up with the remote that came with the TV and they work great.
Yeah, I actually already have an FLIRC I used with my Nexus Player for awhile. I was just looking for suggestions on a simple remote (programmable power & volume, menu, directional pad, select, and play pause stop). Will probably end up with a Harmony but it is honestly overkill for what I need.

My TV does have CEC, but of course isn't really all that functional with the Shield. It will put the Shield to sleep when it is turned off, but that's about it. The Shield can't wake it or control volume. The TV remote also does not control the Shield via CEC either. It's a 1 year old TCL Roku TV btw.
3rob3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2254 of 5231 Old 03-11-2016, 06:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Posts: 7,865
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 625
You can go anywhere from a Nevo C2 (very cheap but there's a learning curve) to a Harmony remote. Currently, I have two bedrooms using CEC, then a Harmony 650 in my bedroom, a Harmony Ultimate hub based remote in my TV room, and a Harmony One in the game room. I do have a C2 and some other remotes I've been playing with, but they require more time than I have to get them working right at the moment. The Harmony just works.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #2255 of 5231 Old 03-12-2016, 02:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 539
Google added a Google Play Movies and Trailers channel to Android Live TV, channel 1-1.
groove93 is offline  
post #2256 of 5231 Old 03-12-2016, 06:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MSchu18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 362
I know nvidia and amazon dont play well together, but can amazon fire stick be accessible via usb on the shield?

My Name is Nobody...
Klipsch x11i - Klipsch x20i - Oppo HA2
Pioneer SC85 - Bel Canto REF 500M
Klipsch La Scala II - Klipsch Cornwall/Crites/Aletheia Audio - Klipsch RC64II - SW-115
Wyred 4 Sound DAC2 DSDse - OPPO BDP-93
Samsung PN64D8000
MSchu18 is offline  
post #2257 of 5231 Old 03-12-2016, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSchu18 View Post
I know nvidia and amazon dont play well together, but can amazon fire stick be accessible via usb on the shield?
not likely, but cant say for sure
wase4711 is offline  
post #2258 of 5231 Old 03-14-2016, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 1,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
Yep.

Hey just stumbled on a nice little present for anyone that needs more storage for their Shield. Is it just me, or isn't $80 for 200GB cheap?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=logicemail-20
$59.99 as of right now!
buckley44 likes this.
Stevetd is offline  
post #2259 of 5231 Old 03-14-2016, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetd View Post
$59.99 as of right now!
unreal!!
too bad I bought a 64 gig a couple weeks ago, for 17 dollars.
I wish I had a cell phone or something else that took a micro sd....
wase4711 is offline  
post #2260 of 5231 Old 03-14-2016, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Posts: 7,865
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Wow that is cheap.

But, last night I noticed the Shield's new way of handling removable storage has hosed Gamesome. I can't configure it to find the removable media to find my ROMs.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #2261 of 5231 Old 03-14-2016, 02:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
OrlandoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
Wow that is cheap.

But, last night I noticed the Shield's new way of handling removable storage has hosed Gamesome. I can't configure it to find the removable media to find my ROMs.
And there has been no attempt by Nvidia to correct the Shields screwed up way of handling of storage. Are they under the impression that it's all good?

Current HT: Display : Samsung 65JS8500 | Receiver : Denon x2200 | Speakers L-R : EMPTek (RBH) R55Ti's | Speaker C : EMPTek (RBH) R56Ci | Rear Surrounds : EMPTek (RBH) E3b's | Speakers Atmos TM : Micca M-8C | Subwoofer : RSL Speedwoofer 10S | Media Player : Nvidia Shield TV | BluRay : Sony S5500/PS3 | Logitech Harmony 700
OrlandoD is offline  
post #2262 of 5231 Old 03-15-2016, 02:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Posts: 7,865
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 625
I don't know, I don't visit the NVidia forum. It's not all that important to me at the moment, but eventually I want it to work.

Hey, I noticed something last night. If you have a situation where you have sound with movies in digital format (DD, DTS, etc.) but anything that's stereo or sends your receiver into one of the "old" formats like Prologic II, I found the problem and solution. This had me perplexed. I finally found in the settings that my audio was set to floating or adjustable or something like that - I can't remember exactly. But, what fixed it was to set it to "Fixed".

I'm guessing someone turned the audio all the way down, which seems to only affect analog or LPCM. Anything bitstreamed goes as fixed volume.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #2263 of 5231 Old 03-15-2016, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
OrlandoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
I don't know, I don't visit the NVidia forum. It's not all that important to me at the moment, but eventually I want it to work.

Hey, I noticed something last night. If you have a situation where you have sound with movies in digital format (DD, DTS, etc.) but anything that's stereo or sends your receiver into one of the "old" formats like Prologic II, I found the problem and solution. This had me perplexed. I finally found in the settings that my audio was set to floating or adjustable or something like that - I can't remember exactly. But, what fixed it was to set it to "Fixed".

I'm guessing someone turned the audio all the way down, which seems to only affect analog or LPCM. Anything bitstreamed goes as fixed volume.
Since I use an AVR, I decided from the get-go to set the audio volume to fixed. I can't say I'm aware of the situation you described above.

Current HT: Display : Samsung 65JS8500 | Receiver : Denon x2200 | Speakers L-R : EMPTek (RBH) R55Ti's | Speaker C : EMPTek (RBH) R56Ci | Rear Surrounds : EMPTek (RBH) E3b's | Speakers Atmos TM : Micca M-8C | Subwoofer : RSL Speedwoofer 10S | Media Player : Nvidia Shield TV | BluRay : Sony S5500/PS3 | Logitech Harmony 700
OrlandoD is offline  
post #2264 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 07:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 473
Looks like Plex users are eventually going to get a good Kodi addon http://forums.plex.tv/discussion/210...odi-connection albeit still limited by Plex on the artwork and trailer side
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #2265 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 68
This might be old news, but have you guys seen this?:

http://spmc.semperpax.com/

Looks like the Kodi for Android TV developer has had enough and has gone his own way and revived SPMC.

Apparently, Koying was the only Android dev at Kodi, and if no one at Kodi picks up with it, Kodi on Android will be dead for the time being.

https://www.reddit.com/r/kodi/commen...android_dev_a/

EDIT: After reading more of this Reddit thread, looks like there really might be a concerted effort within Kodi to kill off Android development. Anyone want to buy a Shield?

Last edited by Futrader8; 03-16-2016 at 07:44 AM.
Futrader8 is offline  
post #2266 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 139
you'd abandon a device based on Reddit chatter?????
wase4711 is offline  
post #2267 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,421
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post
Looks like Plex users are eventually going to get a good Kodi addon http://forums.plex.tv/discussion/210...odi-connection albeit still limited by Plex on the artwork and trailer side
Yes, I've been following that thread. The good thing is that I haven't had time to deal with it and since I started following it there have been about five new releases. Maybe this weekend I'll try it.

bryansj is offline  
post #2268 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
you'd abandon a device based on Reddit chatter?????
That was actually meant as tongue in cheek.
Futrader8 is offline  
post #2269 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 9,421
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1753 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
you'd abandon a device based on Reddit chatter?????
Well he did mention he was leaving on the Kodi forum.

bryansj is offline  
post #2270 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futrader8 View Post
Anyone want to buy a Shield?
I'll give you $3.50
OrlandoD likes this.
staknhalo is offline  
post #2271 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 07:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post
I'll give you $3.50
Sucker! I would have taken $3.
Futrader8 is offline  
post #2272 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
Well he did mention he was leaving on the Kodi forum.
is our Shield a 64 bit or X86?
also, has anyone run SPMC and Kodi on the same Shield at the same time?

thanks
wase4711 is offline  
post #2273 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
kemetblk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
is our Shield a 64 bit or X86?
also, has anyone run SPMC and Kodi on the same Shield at the same time?

thanks
Neither. It's ARM based.

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
wase4711 likes this.

AVR: Denon X3300w
F/C/R: Polk RTi A9's / CSi A6 / Speakercraft AIMWIDE 3 / Sub: SVS PB12-NSD (x2)
Sony XBR-75X940E, Toshiba HD-A30, Nvidia Shield TV (2015), Xbox One S, PS3
PC: Core i7, 16GB RAM, 512GB ssd + 4TB hdd, GTX 970 SSC
kemetblk is offline  
post #2274 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 08:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemetblk View Post
Neither. It's ARM based.

Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
Arm processors are also 32-bit or 64-bit, which is what I think he meant.

The X1 in the SHIELD TV is 64-bit.
wase4711 likes this.
staknhalo is offline  
post #2275 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
OrlandoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Futrader8 View Post
This might be old news, but have you guys seen this?:

http://spmc.semperpax.com/

Looks like the Kodi for Android TV developer has had enough and has gone his own way and revived SPMC.

Apparently, Koying was the only Android dev at Kodi, and if no one at Kodi picks up with it, Kodi on Android will be dead for the time being.

https://www.reddit.com/r/kodi/commen...android_dev_a/

EDIT: After reading more of this Reddit thread, looks like there really might be a concerted effort within Kodi to kill off Android development. Anyone want to buy a Shield?
So can Koying's SPMC build be installed on the shield while KODI is installed or do I need to remove the regular KODI build first?

Current HT: Display : Samsung 65JS8500 | Receiver : Denon x2200 | Speakers L-R : EMPTek (RBH) R55Ti's | Speaker C : EMPTek (RBH) R56Ci | Rear Surrounds : EMPTek (RBH) E3b's | Speakers Atmos TM : Micca M-8C | Subwoofer : RSL Speedwoofer 10S | Media Player : Nvidia Shield TV | BluRay : Sony S5500/PS3 | Logitech Harmony 700
OrlandoD is offline  
post #2276 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
3rob3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrlandoD View Post
So can Koying's SPMC build be installed on the shield while KODI is installed or do I need to remove the regular KODI build first?
From the Kodi wiki: "SPMC has a different app ID from Kodi, so both can be installed side by side at the same time".
OrlandoD likes this.
3rob3 is offline  
post #2277 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrlandoD View Post
So can Koying's SPMC build be installed on the shield while KODI is installed or do I need to remove the regular KODI build first?
I've got them both installed now, without any issues!
OrlandoD likes this.
wase4711 is offline  
post #2278 of 5231 Old 03-16-2016, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 473
This was a hilarious read to me http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=264310 though I had to look up what bikeshed meant, which cracked me up big time
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #2279 of 5231 Old 03-17-2016, 04:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
mr b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
I've got them both installed now, without any issues!
Same here. Took care of my issue of not being able to get the GUI to show in 4K. Movie info also shows as 4K which I was unable to get since Kodi 15.2.

Passthrough working as well.

My Gear:
Spoiler!
mr b is offline  
post #2280 of 5231 Old 03-17-2016, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 11,412
Mentioned: 104 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6144 Post(s)
Liked: 5367
So I've read about half of the thread, but I have a couple of quick questions:

Does lossless audio passthru work with Kodi yet? Not a deal-breaker for me though, I'm fine with PCM.

Is Amazon Prime available yet? Will it ever be??
Alan P is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off