Big WMC guide changes starting today - Page 24 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 170Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 944 Old 01-30-2017, 08:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
Yes I'm familiar with it. Unfortunately I'm in the middle of a series, and setting up the guide again with a different provider would mess up recording the series. Kind of went through that with the transition from Zap2it to Rovi in the first place - many of the station ID codes changed and broke up series recordings.

But once I'm out of the series I'll consider it.
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 944 Old 01-31-2017, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,331
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1016 Post(s)
Liked: 342
epg123 FTW!

Only caveat is some set ups with Colossus Video Capture and some European regions. If that doesn't apply to you then you should be good to go.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #693 of 944 Old 01-31-2017, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
Is/was anyone who is still on the Rovi guide experiencing issues as I described above? This apparent outage surprised me because:

  1. We're not near the DST change date
  2. As I mentioned above the Rovi guide is working with other devices

I'm trying to determine if my WMC setup got hosed somehow.
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #694 of 944 Old 01-31-2017, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 9,643
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2360 Post(s)
Liked: 1983
My data goes out to 2/8. I started downloading updated guide data > 30 minutes ago, still waiting.
I wouldn't worry just yet, though. They have a tendency to get things working in the nick of time.
So far, anyway.
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #695 of 944 Old 01-31-2017, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
Thanks; at least I know it isn't just me.

The way I found out, though, was that H&I changed their prime-time schedule yesterday. But the current guide from Microsoft/Rovi still has their old schedule, causing WMC to record the wrong shows on that station.

I suppose I could do a manual recording by time and just put the right show title in until it gets fixed. That would mean no episode title, original air date, or description though.

Or I could set up EPG123 and just hope that there are none of the little spelling, etc. differences that broke up my series last time I switched guides (which was when we all did).
JHBrandt is offline  
post #696 of 944 Old 01-31-2017, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
garnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Is/was anyone who is still on the Rovi guide experiencing issues as I described above? This apparent outage surprised me because:

  1. We're not near the DST change date
  2. As I mentioned above the Rovi guide is working with other devices

I'm trying to determine if my WMC setup got hosed somehow.

It's not just you, there is a thread on TGB:

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...p?f=96&t=10615
JHBrandt and bmcn like this.

Living Room: Denon X4000, XPA-5, Polk RTiA9, CSiA6, RTiA3-wides, FXiA4, OWM3, SVS PC12+, 4 Shakers, Epson 5030, VApex 92”, Sony XBR9 52”, PS3, Xbox 360, Darbee, Harmony 1.
Bedroom: Denon X2000, Polk: RTiA3, CSiA4, RTiA1, OWM3, SVS SB12-NSD, Sony XBR-55X850B, Sony BPD-S590, Xbox 360, RPi2-RasPlex, Darbee, Harmony 510.
Home Office: Onkyo 707, Polk: LSiM 703, LSiM 704, Monitor 70, Yamaha SW315 x 2, Turntable, Triple Monitors, Harmony 610.
garnuts is offline  
post #697 of 944 Old 01-31-2017, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
It appears to be a data error of some sort in the download package. Mine got up to 81% processed before erroring out (according to the tool tip on the Media Center update icon in the system tray).

So, since it started 1/26 and the guide typically goes 12 days, it's probably in the 2/7 data. Which just happens to be where my guide stops. So if nobody fixes it before then, it should fix itself as soon as the guide runs down to zero and we get past whatever the bad data is.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #698 of 944 Old 02-01-2017, 05:40 AM
Member
 
sgtarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Benton, Arkansas
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its odd I havent had any issue with guide until recently. I used wmc guide constantly but I had to leave home in april my wife complained about no data. so I got teamviewer up and I noticed it hadn't recorded anything since May. From my reading it seemed issues started happening in the summer of 15 and I didnt have any problems. Anyway, I put titantv ip in the host file and I see that the guide is populated again. I dont know if it was working I had to reboot and couldnt get back in and my wife went to sleep. So. i will check on this later.

--ok seems to be working so far.

Last edited by sgtarky; 02-01-2017 at 05:43 AM.
sgtarky is offline  
post #699 of 944 Old 02-01-2017, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,807
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 479
WMC guide problems are now routine problem of couple times a year from roughly zero or one per year. Most of them are usually resolved just before the guide data run out. So, most ppl probably never know about it ever happened if you are not looking at your guide careful (not an easy task in WMC UI).
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #700 of 944 Old 02-01-2017, 12:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,331
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1016 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Yes I'm familiar with it. Unfortunately I'm in the middle of a series, and setting up the guide again with a different provider would mess up recording the series. Kind of went through that with the transition from Zap2it to Rovi in the first place - many of the station ID codes changed and broke up series recordings.

But once I'm out of the series I'll consider it.
Yes. You need to reprogram your series because they get lost when you change to epg123. It is a PITA but IMHO it is well worth the effort. I've had consistent guide data good for 3 weeks out since I made the switch, even when it was in beta.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #701 of 944 Old 02-01-2017, 10:48 PM
Senior Member
 
JorgeA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Yes. You need to reprogram your series because they get lost when you change to epg123. It is a PITA but IMHO it is well worth the effort. I've had consistent guide data good for 3 weeks out since I made the switch, even when it was in beta.
I second what Sammy2 said about epg123.

Last fall, the Rovi guide info got down to a single day and wife was screaming bloody murder as it was the start of the new TV season. So I installed epg123 and ponied up for the Schedules Direct subscription. Took a while to rebuild the series recordings, but once we got that and a few minor glitches sorted out I have to say it's the best tech $25 I've spent in a loooong time.
JorgeA is offline  
post #702 of 944 Old 02-05-2017, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Black Banshee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rocky Mountain High
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I have been happy with WMC for many years but lately have been having nothing but problems, including these programming issues. I just switched to a TiVo bolt this weekend and it is so much better and quicker! Really wish Microsoft would have kept WMC properly updated and supported.
mdavej likes this.
Black Banshee is offline  
post #703 of 944 Old 02-05-2017, 09:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,139
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 795 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Wmc and TiVo share the same guide data and both are having plenty of guide data issues - mostly because rovi data sucks.
Worf is offline  
post #704 of 944 Old 02-06-2017, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
Wmc and TiVo share the same guide data ... rovi data sucks.
Yes, that's true in general, but this time it really is was Microsoft's fault. Other Rovi guide users like TiVo and CM's DVR+ are had been getting guide data just fine.

Edit: Posters at TGB are saying it's fixed now!

Edit 2: Confirmed! Had to run ObjectStoreRecoveryTask but my guide is back. Goes out to the 18th (I don't really trust it past the weekend, though).

Soon I'll probably give epg123 a try anyway, to see if I can improve the "out weeks" guide data.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 02-06-2017 at 05:34 PM.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #705 of 944 Old 02-09-2017, 07:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 9,643
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2360 Post(s)
Liked: 1983
What do you know, it got fixed. Another apocalypse avoided.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #706 of 944 Old 02-09-2017, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
Hardly an apocalypse, but definitely a major, unnecessary hassle. This was the closest they've gotten to running out completely that I can remember.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #707 of 944 Old 02-09-2017, 09:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,139
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 795 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Yes, that's true in general, but this time it really is was Microsoft's fault. Other Rovi guide users like TiVo and CM's DVR+ are had been getting guide data just fine.
Except when your guide data was running out feb 8/9 - people on the TiVo forums were complaining the exact same thing, and my tivos also ran out on he same date.

Of course, a week later it was resolved for me. It was funny when I clicked on Guide and it warned me it was down to 3 days, because I had done my recordings for the next two weeks, and I shouldn't be running out as I had already scheduled one and a half weeks of data.
Worf is offline  
post #708 of 944 Old 02-10-2017, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
That's weird because my DVR+ was fine - and it gets guide data from Rovi/TiVo too. In fact, it was a guide change on my DVR+ that WMC didn't pick up that alerted me to the problem in the first place!

Someone at TGB suggested that Rovi changed something - perhaps a TLS certificate - and it broke communications between the Rovi servers and some others, including Microsoft's. Apparently the TiVo servers were affected too, but they got fixed quicker.

Even though Rovi owns TiVo now, I suspect they still have separate servers, to minimize changes to both TiVo and other Rovi customers.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #709 of 944 Old 03-16-2017, 04:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
aab1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It started happening again that once a week all my channel numbers get mixed up (entering 602 may go to 371, entering 700 may go to 47, there is no logic) causing me to miss all my recordings until I realize it's happening again.

I REALLY can't take this anymore. I know someone mentioned there was a solution that costs a monthly fee, firstly what is the monthly fee and is this solution available to users in Canada? Also does it add any inconveniences such as having to update guide data manually or anything like that?

How can Rovi be THAT incompetent? It makes no sense.
aab1 is offline  
post #710 of 944 Old 03-16-2017, 04:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,331
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1016 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by aab1 View Post
It started happening again that once a week all my channel numbers get mixed up (entering 602 may go to 371, entering 700 may go to 47, there is no logic) causing me to miss all my recordings until I realize it's happening again.

I REALLY can't take this anymore. I know someone mentioned there was a solution that costs a monthly fee, firstly what is the monthly fee and is this solution available to users in Canada? Also does it add any inconveniences such as having to update guide data manually or anything like that?

How can Rovi be THAT incompetent? It makes no sense.
epg123 requires a subscription to Schedules Direct which is $25 a year or $6 for two months.

Sammy2 is online now  
post #711 of 944 Old 03-16-2017, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
garnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
epg123 requires a subscription to Schedules Direct which is $25 a year or $6 for two months.
Schedules also has a 7 day free trial!

Living Room: Denon X4000, XPA-5, Polk RTiA9, CSiA6, RTiA3-wides, FXiA4, OWM3, SVS PC12+, 4 Shakers, Epson 5030, VApex 92”, Sony XBR9 52”, PS3, Xbox 360, Darbee, Harmony 1.
Bedroom: Denon X2000, Polk: RTiA3, CSiA4, RTiA1, OWM3, SVS SB12-NSD, Sony XBR-55X850B, Sony BPD-S590, Xbox 360, RPi2-RasPlex, Darbee, Harmony 510.
Home Office: Onkyo 707, Polk: LSiM 703, LSiM 704, Monitor 70, Yamaha SW315 x 2, Turntable, Triple Monitors, Harmony 610.
garnuts is offline  
post #712 of 944 Old 03-18-2017, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,546
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2992 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
A bad day for WMC. Our friend Jon Fincher, presumably "owner" of WMC, has just left Microsoft. He was pretty much our only direct contact via the online community.

More here:
http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...p?f=30&t=10762

Yet another reason to switch to EPG123.
mdavej is online now  
post #713 of 944 Old 06-11-2017, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
aab1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I haven't had any problems with Rovi in a few months now, does anyone know what's going on?
JHBrandt likes this.
aab1 is offline  
post #714 of 944 Old 06-11-2017, 11:20 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,770
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2171 Post(s)
Liked: 4081
Let's hope you didn't just jinx it

Seriously, for a while, I was having to rebuild the guide every week. Then, starting about a month ago, it held. Been fine, since.

Now that I've typed that, I should go check it.
JHBrandt likes this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #715 of 944 Old 06-11-2017, 04:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,546
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2992 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
Rovi data is still pretty terrible for Tivo users. I chalk this up to the small amount of data you care about is ok. The rest is still garbage.
mdavej is online now  
post #716 of 944 Old 06-11-2017, 06:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
I love it: "Rovi isn't screwing up so much of late - what's wrong?"

Actually I have seen an issue, but it's pretty minor: my WMC guide only gets new shows every 2 or 3 days lately instead of getting new shows every day. No big deal, so I'm still putting off that EPG123 update....
JHBrandt is offline  
post #717 of 944 Old 07-06-2017, 10:56 PM
Member
 
T Rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Iowa City, IA. USA
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by aab1 View Post
I haven't had any problems with Rovi in a few months now, does anyone know what's going on?
isn't it Microsoft that still has to get the data to our WMC rigs?

anyway; over the last two days, my HTPC Windows Media Center has almost all of the "HD" channels showing "no data available" in the guide .... I've never had this big of an outage before....as someone else posted; it likely happens to people all the time, they just never notice it because the guide reloads/is fixed before it runs out of data

I first noticed it about a week ago on another computer in my house I dusted off and ran some updates, then tried out WMC and only got some channels showing guide data....then later I saw the same deal on my main home theater

so now I'm just flipping through the channels like the old caveman days hoping to find something good on.....only problem is that back then there only was like 4 or 5 channels or 36 once we got cable, so you could see them all....now I just never know if something better is on...of course I won't be recording anything: anyone know if there is a F1 race this weekend? time and channel?
T Rush is offline  
post #718 of 944 Old 07-07-2017, 12:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
coug7669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: houston,tx,usa
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by T Rush View Post
isn't it Microsoft that still has to get the data to our WMC rigs?

anyway; over the last two days, my HTPC Windows Media Center has almost all of the "HD" channels showing "no data available" in the guide .... I've never had this big of an outage before....as someone else posted; it likely happens to people all the time, they just never notice it because the guide reloads/is fixed before it runs out of data

I first noticed it about a week ago on another computer in my house I dusted off and ran some updates, then tried out WMC and only got some channels showing guide data....then later I saw the same deal on my main home theater

so now I'm just flipping through the channels like the old caveman days hoping to find something good on.....only problem is that back then there only was like 4 or 5 channels or 36 once we got cable, so you could see them all....now I just never know if something better is on...of course I won't be recording anything: anyone know if there is a F1 race this weekend? time and channel?
I too suffer from the guide issues. I get all the way to Showtime then the rest of the channels display no data.
coug7669 is offline  
post #719 of 944 Old 07-07-2017, 03:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,331
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1016 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by T Rush View Post
isn't it Microsoft that still has to get the data to our WMC rigs?

anyway; over the last two days, my HTPC Windows Media Center has almost all of the "HD" channels showing "no data available" in the guide .... I've never had this big of an outage before....as someone else posted; it likely happens to people all the time, they just never notice it because the guide reloads/is fixed before it runs out of data

I first noticed it about a week ago on another computer in my house I dusted off and ran some updates, then tried out WMC and only got some channels showing guide data....then later I saw the same deal on my main home theater

so now I'm just flipping through the channels like the old caveman days hoping to find something good on.....only problem is that back then there only was like 4 or 5 channels or 36 once we got cable, so you could see them all....now I just never know if something better is on...of course I won't be recording anything: anyone know if there is a F1 race this weekend? time and channel?
No. You can.

I made the jump to epg123 over a year ago and haven't looked back since. Not that there hasn't been a few glitches along the way but it is far superior. Take a look here to see what you've been missing all this time.


Last edited by Sammy2; 07-07-2017 at 04:01 AM.
Sammy2 is online now  
post #720 of 944 Old 07-07-2017, 07:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 6,795
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2717 Post(s)
Liked: 1335
They've been talking about this over at The Green Button: http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...p?f=96&t=10770. Start reading around page 14 or so. It seems to be a problem with higher-numbered cable channels.

If you're interested in EPG123, don't post on the thread I just linked to, which is only for Rovi guide users. But here's a link to TGB's EPG123 subforum instead: http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/viewforum.php?f=99 where you can get any help you need setting up and using EPG123.

If you stick with the Rovi guide, you may be able to work around the problem by linking the SD program guides to the HD channels.

Last edited by JHBrandt; 07-07-2017 at 07:48 AM.
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off