Big WMC guide changes starting today - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 170Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 944 Old 07-08-2015, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,672
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3074 Post(s)
Liked: 1394
Exclamation Big WMC guide changes starting 7/7

M$ is switching guide data providers 7/7. Could be a little bumpy.

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...php?f=6&t=8903

I may go ahead and force an update and see how much damage is done so I don't have any surprises.
craigntx likes this.

Last edited by mdavej; 07-08-2015 at 07:25 AM.
mdavej is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 944 Old 07-08-2015, 07:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
wiley165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 98
{crossing fingers, hoping for best}

wiley165 is offline  
post #3 of 944 Old 07-08-2015, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
3rob3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I have a bad feeling about this....
3rob3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 944 Old 07-08-2015, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 462 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Still using zap2it right now.
grittree is offline  
post #5 of 944 Old 07-08-2015, 09:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,117
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 657 Post(s)
Liked: 434
I'm more optimistic. If they are changing over to whoever handles Xbox One guide data, then they would have an easier time continuing to provide it.

That universe of users is also larger, so I would think there would be less problems and ones that do pop up would be addressed much quicker.

My basement media room and bar
Epson 2030, Onkyo TX-NR626, and Kodi based system

Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #6 of 944 Old 07-08-2015, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,672
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3074 Post(s)
Liked: 1394
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post
Still using zap2it right now.
How can you tell? I think the screen that says, "guide provided by ..." will be incorrect unless the WMC app itself is replaced by a new version. I don't think that's ever going to happen. The log in task scheduler might show some clues. I'll watch it when I force an update and see if anything looks different.

I'm going to miss Zap2It. They've been very responsive over the years the few times I've had issues. But I suppose using the same provider they use for Xbox One would be better in the long term. Rovi is the guide for Dish and a couple of cable companies as well, so they should be accurate and reliable.
mdavej is online now  
post #7 of 944 Old 07-08-2015, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 462 Post(s)
Liked: 288
OK, maybe. That page changes with every update, so I expect the provider to change.
grittree is offline  
post #8 of 944 Old 07-08-2015, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,672
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3074 Post(s)
Liked: 1394
Well, my guide updated and appears to be fine. A little different, but no issues. About still shows Zap2It, but I see multiple schedules listed now where I only saw one before, and Guide Tool reset on its own.

EDIT: Others have reported the provider now says "Rovi". So it is indeed the same as Xbox One. I think that's a good sign. If there really are as few WMC users and MS says, maybe they won't mind keeping the guide data going indefinitely since the same provider does Xbox too.

Last edited by mdavej; 07-09-2015 at 11:55 AM.
mdavej is online now  
post #9 of 944 Old 07-10-2015, 10:41 AM
 
htpcforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 193
I had no issues as well, and moving to Rovi is a GREAT thing for us. No need to stop providing it to us.
htpcforever is offline  
post #10 of 944 Old 07-10-2015, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North TX
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 718
Man, I love my WMC in my bedroom. 65" right in front of my bed and connected to a PC where I can do almost anything and more and watch TV at any size I want. Use as much HD space as I wish, manage my shows how I want, $3 a month for the card vs crazy costs of standalone boxes that are sooo limited. Folks don't know what they are missing.


Back on topic, thanks for the info. I am glad we are not 100% forgotten yet.
DavidinCT likes this.
thxman is offline  
post #11 of 944 Old 07-10-2015, 03:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
dfkimbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Franklin, TN (mostly)
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Saw some odd behavior recording Tyrant on Tuesday night (two recordings but at different times and different lengths). I'll have to watch it to see if it recorded properly.
dfkimbro is offline  
post #12 of 944 Old 07-10-2015, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
aab1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I don't know if this is a coincidence but my WMC lost its mind today for the first time since I started using it over 1.5 years ago and I was completely unaware of the guide changes.

As I said in this thread, WMC started putting my cable box on completely wrong channels today, for example entering 608 puts the box on 209, entering 664 puts it on 808, entering 754 puts it on 144.

I restarted my PC and cable box and the problem continued, I was able to solve it by going back through Setup TV Signal in WMC and it started working again.

Luckily I noticed the problem and was able to fix it between scheduled recordings so I shouldn't miss anything.

It's a total coincidence that I caught the problem in time because last night one channel was giving me a weak signal error, and it's only because I decided to test that channel again today that I caught the problem before recordings were ruined.

Would this be due to the guide changes or is it a coincidence? Has anyone else had this or a similar problem?
aab1 is offline  
post #13 of 944 Old 07-10-2015, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,672
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3074 Post(s)
Liked: 1394
100% due to the guide changes.
mdavej is online now  
post #14 of 944 Old 07-10-2015, 07:06 PM
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Commonwealth, not the Jelly.
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 698
I forced a guide update yesterday, and everything seems to be working okay for the most part. The only thing odd I noticed is a few of my channel logos disappeared. I'm guessing there were some name changes, but should be easy enough to fix.
ajhieb is offline  
post #15 of 944 Old 07-10-2015, 09:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 567
Hopefully it fixes the every few months you get down to one day of guide data issue....
Worf is offline  
post #16 of 944 Old 07-11-2015, 03:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,117
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 657 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
Hopefully it fixes the every few months you get down to one day of guide data issue....
thats my thought on it. especially if it is using the same source as the xbox one data (just speculating, but a good guess) since there is a very large population of xbox one users.

My basement media room and bar
Epson 2030, Onkyo TX-NR626, and Kodi based system

Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #17 of 944 Old 07-11-2015, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 462 Post(s)
Liked: 288
I have WMC on two PCs. The one that has a cable card switched to Rovi. The one with only OTA is still zap2it. It missed one day of updates, but updated today.
grittree is offline  
post #18 of 944 Old 07-11-2015, 09:15 AM
Newbie
 
CGorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lawrenceville Ga
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My guide data switched over but now I'm missing channels and without the Add Missing Channels option in WMC7 I can't fix it. I sent an email to Rovi Corp and hopefully they respond with a way we can help alleviate these issues.
CGorton is offline  
post #19 of 944 Old 07-11-2015, 10:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 567
Well, I did an update, and it was still Zap2It/Tribune, and re-ran TV setup because it was only giving me data until July 20. After re-running the setup, it switched to Rovi, and gave me data until July 25. No big changes other than changes to the name of some channels changed yet again, and not always for the better (History HD Canada on TMS was HISTHDC, now it's just HISHD...). But it works at least to the point where everything carried over seamlessly for me. Time will tell if Rovi's listings are better or worse. (I still have my TiVo, because WMC often fails to pick up "new to Canada" shows - e.g., History Canada often delays shows weeks/months between airing in the US and Canada. TiVo will pick up the episodes as new (first time shown in Canada), while WMC never did.) And plus for WMC to have some smarts in moving all my recordings over. I needed to do it anyways because a channel didn't update and since I never watched it, I never bothered fixing it.
Holiday likes this.
Worf is offline  
post #20 of 944 Old 07-12-2015, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,950
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I had to add these entries to my HOSTS file:
65.55.186.113 data.tvdownload.microsoft.com
72.246.56.59 cdn.epg.tvdownload.microsoft.com

Then perform a manual guide update and it did finally change to Rovi.

Thoughts on this Rovi change:
1. This isn't going to resolve the frequent MS guide outages. Because when the guide outages happen, it's never been the fault of Zap2it. Changing the source of the guide info has nothing to do with MS servers mysteriously failing occasionally. I predict we will still have the same sporadic MS guide outages.
2. This isn't going to solve the MS DNS issues. Obviously some IP's work for some people and some just don't and never will. HOST file mod's are still going to be needed for some users (like me).
3. This is clearly just another move by MS to save money.

XBR-65Z9D | UBP-X700 | Xfinity 4k XG1v4 | JRMC HTPC w/9 cable tuners
AVR-X2200W | Fluance SV 7.1 + eD A3-300


Last edited by hammerdwn; 07-12-2015 at 08:11 AM.
hammerdwn is offline  
post #21 of 944 Old 07-12-2015, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,726
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Two of my three NUCs have the new Rovi guide data but my primary HTPC and third NUC are still showing the Zap2It data. I reran TV Signal setup on the primary HTPC, but it's still showing the Zap2It guide. So far, I haven't noticed any discernible differences between them.
captain_video is offline  
post #22 of 944 Old 07-12-2015, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,672
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3074 Post(s)
Liked: 1394
mcupdate will most likely force the new Rovi guide, not TV setup.

In my market, several call signs changed, screwing up MCL and some of my recording schedule. Nothing major, just annoying to fix.

The upside is there's a lot more thumbnails in the guide.
mdavej is online now  
post #23 of 944 Old 07-12-2015, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 3,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1132 Post(s)
Liked: 1352
I've got the Rovi guide now but the update failed to "see" two minor Sacramento networks, ABC and FOX.
Garrett Adams is offline  
post #24 of 944 Old 07-12-2015, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,538
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 537 Post(s)
Liked: 943
...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	guide2.png
Views:	5207
Size:	727.5 KB
ID:	826778  

🔥🔥🔥 Sent from my Samsung Note 7 Using Ove Glove™ 🔥🔥🔥
olyteddy is offline  
post #25 of 944 Old 07-12-2015, 04:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,950
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrett Adams View Post
I've got the Rovi guide now but the update failed to "see" two minor Sacramento networks, ABC and FOX.
Are you on Stockton Comcast Cable Card? That is my provider/lineup and not missing those channels (or any other channels) after changing over to Rovi.

XBR-65Z9D | UBP-X700 | Xfinity 4k XG1v4 | JRMC HTPC w/9 cable tuners
AVR-X2200W | Fluance SV 7.1 + eD A3-300

hammerdwn is offline  
post #26 of 944 Old 07-12-2015, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 241
I'm missing BBC America HD now, it has the SD version, but does not list/have the HD version anywhere (it's not in the downloaded listings for anywhere in my area as determined by looking at the downloaded stuff in Guide Tool). I tend to watch BBC America a lot too *boo-hoo me* Oh well, I can still watch it on Android TV via Live Channels at least.

Last edited by staknhalo; 07-12-2015 at 06:20 PM.
staknhalo is offline  
post #27 of 944 Old 07-12-2015, 08:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 3,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1132 Post(s)
Liked: 1352
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerdwn View Post
Are you on Stockton Comcast Cable Card? That is my provider/lineup and not missing those channels (or any other channels) after changing over to Rovi.
Stockton, yes, but my WMC is OTA only. In the initial scan none of the 10 or 40 main and sub-channels showed up. Using the separate Scan for More Channels brought up many including the 10 and 40 channel sets. However additional Guide Updates show nothing but a not available message for the two channels. I've been using my 6-tuner Comcast box and am not using WMC. I'll rerun a guide update in a week or so to see if things are fixed by then.
Garrett Adams is offline  
post #28 of 944 Old 07-12-2015, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,950
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Ah ok. I just found this BOMBSHELL in my Comcast listings. Since changing to Rovi, all these channels have the wrong timezone guide listings. They should be WEST COAST FEED. Rovi WMC guide is showing the EAST COAST guide listings, therefore all recordings on these channels will be FUBAR:


HGTV HD CH746
FOOD HD CH747
DISC HD CH750
ANIML HD CH751
TLC HD CH752
HIST HD CH758
BET HD CH777
AMC HD CH798
FXX HD CH803

Already had to cancel some stuff and create corrected manual channel/time recordings. Take notes because they won't have the correct show info...

XBR-65Z9D | UBP-X700 | Xfinity 4k XG1v4 | JRMC HTPC w/9 cable tuners
AVR-X2200W | Fluance SV 7.1 + eD A3-300

hammerdwn is offline  
post #29 of 944 Old 07-12-2015, 09:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerdwn View Post
Thoughts on this Rovi change:
1. This isn't going to resolve the frequent MS guide outages. Because when the guide outages happen, it's never been the fault of Zap2it. Changing the source of the guide info has nothing to do with MS servers mysteriously failing occasionally. I predict we will still have the same sporadic MS guide outages.
2. This isn't going to solve the MS DNS issues. Obviously some IP's work for some people and some just don't and never will. HOST file mod's are still going to be needed for some users (like me).
3. This is clearly just another move by MS to save money.
Well, the outages are probably caused by the conversion software Microsoft uses failing. Probably some odd thing in the way the data is organized or something. With rovi, the hope is that the xbox team (which is well funded) will be handling all those issues and the wmc EPG will get the clean data used by the xbox. So potentially fewer failures since the xbox team will handle it. Then again, maybe rovi has better formatted data.

And yes, it's to save money. Because wmc is dead - Microsoft is killing it. So the fact that they're going to switch EPG providers to something that will likely last a long time (microsoft isn't killing xbox yet) will mean wmc for windows 7 and 8 will continue to get guide data. Plus, the data is free to us, so Microsoft saving money is a good thing. Otherwise we could be like TiVo paying $15 a month for it. Or similar prices for other solutions.
Worf is offline  
post #30 of 944 Old 07-13-2015, 06:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Since I moved and they had to recode my cablecard after day 2 in the new place, I was forced to resetup WMC on all my machines. I see what I think is the new guide data source. I haven't had any issues with it so far.
davis449 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off