madVR Player Support Thread - Page 12 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 154Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 1099 Old 10-18-2018, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
mkohman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
As huhn said, you can't stretch 16:9 horizontally to fill a 2.39:1 screen without destroying the aspect ratio of the source. If you stretch it horizontally, it also has to get taller or the image won't be 1:1 anymore.
Thank you for your help.. Any advise on how this is achieved please? Thank you..

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 1099 Old 10-18-2018, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
You can't do it. The 16:9 image would be taller than your screen if you stretched it 1:1. The only way is to flatten the image by pulling it sideways. That is essentially what the Lumagen is doing.
mkohman likes this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #333 of 1099 Old 10-18-2018, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
mkohman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
You can't do it. The 16:9 image would be taller than your screen if you stretched it 1:1. The only way is to flatten the image by pulling it sideways. That is essentially what the Lumagen is doing.
Thanks.. So in other words it can only be done by a Lumagen..

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
mkohman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #334 of 1099 Old 10-18-2018, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Jish9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Does anyone know if KODI DS can be used in stable 64bit mode, or should we stick with 32bit? I'm asking as Win10 is 64bit and can't run 32bit programs. I am testing MADVR now on an existing computer but running into issues. Trying to determine whether software or hardware issues. Will update the system config and what I'm seeing.
Jish9 is offline  
post #335 of 1099 Old 10-18-2018, 07:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 423
win 64 can run 32 bit program. 64 bit operation systems have a clear advanced for running 32 bit software.

@mkohman no you can't stretch an image without stretching it. the lumangen is just stretching it the only "special part of it" is doing it non linear which will look horrible in a panning shoot.

and i can't tell you how to stretch with madVR without knowing the exact setup and how the image is handled in by the end device.
mkohman likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #336 of 1099 Old 10-20-2018, 12:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,352
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 428
You can stretch the video to fill the screen with MPC-HC by using the "stretch to window" option. There are a bunch of other scaling options but I've never used them.

mkohman likes this.

_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is offline  
post #337 of 1099 Old 10-21-2018, 10:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys, I need the expert's advice again.

My Nvidia GT1030 - doesnt support 3D vision - I bought RF glasses for my projector - does that mean I cant play SBS,3D, etc... ? Because the GT 1030 doesnt show me 3D stereoscopic option while my AMD did show.

So embarrassing I bought this and was sure its gonna work
Spark7 is offline  
post #338 of 1099 Old 10-21-2018, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 423
looks like nvidia doesn't support it.
you can try some registry changes so the option maybe available or look out for the 3d option in windows it self you fidn it under display.

i still wonder why nvidia goes this far to really remove it.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #339 of 1099 Old 10-21-2018, 12:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
looks like nvidia doesn't support it.
you can try some registry changes so the option maybe available or look out for the 3d option in windows it self you fidn it under display.

i still wonder why nvidia goes this far to really remove it.
Any idea on how to do that registery change ? I didnt know stuff like that are possible.

I tried the windows option it doesn't actually shows up anywhere.
Spark7 is offline  
post #340 of 1099 Old 10-21-2018, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 423
this is an advanced topic and there where always registry entry to change/add/remove nvidia control panel settings.
this was done in the past to unlock there overclocking page.

i know there is an registry entry to lie to the GPU driver that there is an nvidia 3d vision kit present for lightboost.
the closest to a 3d registry entry i found is this one Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\NVIDIA Corporation\NVControlPanel2\RegisteredServers\Ster eoVisionServer
and that for sure will not help you.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #341 of 1099 Old 10-21-2018, 05:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spark7 View Post
Hi guys, I need the expert's advice again.

My Nvidia GT1030 - doesnt support 3D vision - I bought RF glasses for my projector - does that mean I cant play SBS,3D, etc... ? Because the GT 1030 doesnt show me 3D stereoscopic option while my AMD did show.

So embarrassing I bought this and was sure its gonna work
For side-by-side and over-under 3D you'll be fine. You will just have to put your projector or TV into manual 3D mode to interpret the signal correctly. You just won't be able to do frame-packed mvc 3D
fitbrit is offline  
post #342 of 1099 Old 10-21-2018, 06:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitbrit View Post
For side-by-side and over-under 3D you'll be fine. You will just have to put your projector or TV into manual 3D mode to interpret the signal correctly. You just won't be able to do frame-packed mvc 3D

oh ok! Thanks ill try.
So what settings do I use in madvr/mpc so that it plays Side by side correctly ?

Last edited by Spark7; 10-21-2018 at 07:53 PM.
Spark7 is offline  
post #343 of 1099 Old 10-21-2018, 07:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spark7 View Post
oh ok! Thanks ill try.
So what settings do I use in madvr/mpc so that it plays Side by side correctly ?
There is no setting. You want the PC to play the file as is - then tell your display device to process the signal in the correct way. So you will see a side-by-side image, for example, until you activate the 3D processing and then the two images will be combined and stretched horizontally to make one 3D image. Again, that processing is done by the display device, not the renderer.
fitbrit is offline  
post #344 of 1099 Old 10-21-2018, 07:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitbrit View Post
There is no setting. You want the PC to play the file as is - then tell your display device to process the signal in the correct way. So you will see a side-by-side image, for example, until you activate the 3D processing and then the two images will be combined and stretched horizontally to make one 3D image. Again, that processing is done by the display device, not the renderer.
Thank you so much i got it - needed to drop resolution to get that 3D manual mode to work.
Can MPC change resolutions with shortcuts? is that what that fullscreen list is about?
Spark7 is offline  
post #345 of 1099 Old 10-22-2018, 01:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 423
if you are fine with using 3d this way is your device passive 3D by any chance?
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #346 of 1099 Old 10-22-2018, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
if you are fine with using 3d this way is your device passive 3D by any chance?
Im not sure.
its an epson tw-9300 Projector - the glasses are RF active glasses.
my issue now is that regular 4k movies need to have different settings in MPC for resolution - I need 4k 24hz for the regular movies and 1080i for the 3D - currently I manually change it from the options menu.\

Btw can I play AVC or is it the same as MVC ?

Last edited by Spark7; 10-22-2018 at 10:06 AM.
Spark7 is offline  
post #347 of 1099 Old 10-23-2018, 05:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Quote:
the glasses are RF active glasses
that's active 3D in my book and that means sending side by side will throw half the resolution away.

AVC is used as a name for h264 or better is a part of the really long full name of h264.
MVC stand for multi view coding and is used like this in h264 for 3D and multi view point encoding. so they are not the same.

i guess you can play these files fine. for 3D madVR only supports MVC encodes.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #348 of 1099 Old 10-23-2018, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spark7 View Post
Im not sure.
its an epson tw-9300 Projector - the glasses are RF active glasses.
my issue now is that regular 4k movies need to have different settings in MPC for resolution - I need 4k 24hz for the regular movies and 1080i for the 3D - currently I manually change it from the options menu.\

Btw can I play AVC or is it the same as MVC ?
For MVC playback (disc/image/ripped) via MPC HC/BE ( and others) you need to follow this guide: https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...287#pid2616287

I see there are some image improvement options present in both processing - image enhancements and scaling algorithms - upscaling refinement.
What is the difference between them?

Last edited by noob00224; 10-23-2018 at 07:15 AM.
noob00224 is online now  
post #349 of 1099 Old 10-23-2018, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
For MVC playback (disc/image/ripped) via MPC HC/BE ( and others) you need to follow this guide: https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...287#pid2616287

I see there are some image improvement options present in both processing - image enhancements and scaling algorithms - upscaling refinement.
What is the difference between them?
Thanks.
I was told I cant play MVC due to having a GT 1030 which does not support 3d vision.

That guide seems useful I just cant figure out how to make it work for my needs: Changing the resolution in MPC Options>Fullscreen - to fit the movie that is playing.
I watch 4kHDR and 3D movies so I need to change between 1080i 25hz and 2160p 24hz, so that I can set the projector to manual 3D .
Spark7 is offline  
post #350 of 1099 Old 10-23-2018, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Image enhancements are added pre-resize. Upscaling refinement is added post-resize.

The first should be used with native content (e.g. 4K UHD at 4K). The second should be used after upscaling.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #351 of 1099 Old 10-23-2018, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spark7 View Post
Thanks.
I was told I cant play MVC due to having a GT 1030 which does not support 3d vision.

That guide seems useful I just cant figure out how to make it work for my needs: Changing the resolution in MPC Options>Fullscreen - to fit the movie that is playing.
I watch 4kHDR and 3D movies so I need to change between 1080i 25hz and 2160p 24hz, so that I can set the projector to manual 3D .
That card does not seem to support 3d vision, but you can still play the disc in frame packing via a separate blu ray player. You can also rip it at maximum quality HSBS.

I haven't used the internal MPC resolution/refresh rate switcher. Madvr itself has a feature that switches to the resolution and refresh rate of the video file (assuming the display supports it). Madvr - devices - your device name - display modes. For interlaced video some displays get confused, so you should try it with 25i and 50i (30i/60i) when adding it to the list . Details of how to do that here in the middle of the post: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-ho...l#post20886682

@Onkyoman so what happens if you have the options in the processing - image enhancements selected prior to upscaling? Does it affect performance or the upscaling process in a negative way?
LE: I think I found the answer: Image enhancements are not recommended for content that needs to be upscaled. Pre-resize sharpening will show a stronger effect than sharpening applied after resize like that under upscaling refinement. In many cases, this will lead to an image that is oversharpened and less natural in appearance.

@mightyhuhn If you send an interlaced video to madvr does it not deinterlace it via the feature included?
I vaguely remeber having an [email protected] file and the PJ would jump into that mode (25i or 50i),. The picture looked fine. I don't recall the other settings though.

Last edited by noob00224; 10-23-2018 at 10:18 AM.
noob00224 is online now  
post #352 of 1099 Old 10-23-2018, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 423
madVR can't output interlanced video properly.
you should deinterlance it or with other words you should not send interlanced if you have an alternative.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #353 of 1099 Old 10-23-2018, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spark7 View Post
Thanks.
I was told I cant play MVC due to having a GT 1030 which does not support 3d vision.

That guide seems useful I just cant figure out how to make it work for my needs: Changing the resolution in MPC Options>Fullscreen - to fit the movie that is playing.
I watch 4kHDR and 3D movies so I need to change between 1080i 25hz and 2160p 24hz, so that I can set the projector to manual 3D .
The guide links to madVR settings pictures here https://imgur.com/a/4h7U0#KJ179vR
In the fourth picture down, you will see how to enter 2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p30, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60 into madVR setting.
You do NOT want to use MPC to control refresh rates. You want madVR to control them.
Yes, you want to use 2160p30 AND 2160p60 AND the 50 and the 25 even though they are multiples provided your display switches to all of them when appropriate.


I've no idea how you ripped your 3D but normally it is always 1080p24. The GPU driver controls this resolution and frame rate change, not madVR or anything else. If your driver and your O/S display properties does not offer stereoscopic, I don't think it matters for SBS or TAB video. These are really just (2) 2D frames and not 3D like frame packed MVC. But, with SBS or TAB at best you will only see half resolution to each eye afaik.
noob00224 likes this.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W

Last edited by brazen1; 10-23-2018 at 11:21 AM.
brazen1 is offline  
post #354 of 1099 Old 10-23-2018, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I did some tests with SD material, and there was a diference between where the filters where applied.

However, I have more questions.
Once a filter is selected in the scaling algorithms - upscaling refinement page, on the bottom there are 2 options available, one of which must always be selected:
refine the image after every ~2x upscaling step
refine the image only once after upscaling is complete

This thread (https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...23175&page=280) explains them as the following:
refine the image after every ~2x upscaling step
Sharpening is applied after every 2x resize.
refine the image only once after upscaling is complete
Sharpening is applied after resize is complete.

I'm confused as to why the sharpening filter would be applied before the process was complete, and which would be the better option (using NGU AA for upscale, no SuperRes).

Last edited by noob00224; 10-23-2018 at 01:44 PM.
noob00224 is online now  
post #355 of 1099 Old 10-23-2018, 03:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Refine after every 2x step can make the image sharper and more detailed at the expense of poorer performance. I've never tested it, so I don't know if you'd actually notice the difference.
noob00224 likes this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #356 of 1099 Old 10-24-2018, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
grendelrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Liked: 293
I have a weird issue in MADVR through MPC-HC. I am only having lip sync issues when playing back frame packed 3D. These used to play fine with no issues, 2D still plays fine with no delays at the same resolution and refresh. I have tried using the internal audio renderer (with the sync enabled and disabled) and external lav. I saw you can change the MS delay based on the fullscreen mode, but that would affect 2D as well I believe. The audio is early from my testing. The render time is around 10ms, so I dont think its related to that, not sure why it would only affect 3D , I tried resetting back to stock settings with no change.
grendelrt is offline  
post #357 of 1099 Old 10-25-2018, 01:25 AM
Member
 
the_jaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I am in the process of choosing the best media player that has madvr support - jriver, kodi DSPlayer, MPC, MP1 are the main players is what I have gathered after a bunch of reading up.

I am a fairly advanced user of Kodi on my Shield, so I am quite well versed with this platform, but given that DSPlayer is supported by 1 person with no guarantee of further maintenance and the fact that it doesn't work with Kodi 18 is a bit troubling.

I have never used any of the remaining players, so would love to hear your thoughts on what's the best option. Please suggest.
the_jaguar is offline  
post #358 of 1099 Old 10-25-2018, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by grendelrt View Post
I have a weird issue in MADVR through MPC-HC. I am only having lip sync issues when playing back frame packed 3D. These used to play fine with no issues, 2D still plays fine with no delays at the same resolution and refresh. I have tried using the internal audio renderer (with the sync enabled and disabled) and external lav. I saw you can change the MS delay based on the fullscreen mode, but that would affect 2D as well I believe. The audio is early from my testing. The render time is around 10ms, so I dont think its related to that, not sure why it would only affect 3D , I tried resetting back to stock settings with no change.
Start by trying another media player. Also, audio sync delays set during playback only affect the current video.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #359 of 1099 Old 10-25-2018, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_jaguar View Post
I am in the process of choosing the best media player that has madvr support - jriver, kodi DSPlayer, MPC, MP1 are the main players is what I have gathered after a bunch of reading up.

I am a fairly advanced user of Kodi on my Shield, so I am quite well versed with this platform, but given that DSPlayer is supported by 1 person with no guarantee of further maintenance and the fact that it doesn't work with Kodi 18 is a bit troubling.

I have never used any of the remaining players, so would love to hear your thoughts on what's the best option. Please suggest.
I would suggest trying all of them. Even JRiver has a free trial. You can use core Kodi with an external media player such as Media Player Classic. The experience isn't as satisfying, but it is another option.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #360 of 1099 Old 10-25-2018, 08:28 AM
Member
 
the_jaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
I would suggest trying all of them. Even JRiver has a free trial. You can use core Kodi with an external media player such as Media Player Classic. The experience isn't as satisfying, but it is another option.
Got it - I will try and test all of them. If you don't mind me asking, what do you use and why?
the_jaguar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off