madVR Player Support Thread - Page 20 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 146Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 1029 Old 01-21-2019, 03:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 223
@Onkyoman , would a GTX 1060 6GB be able to use the above settings smoothly?

I bought the RTX 2070 on the last days of 2018 (haven't received it yet) due to taxes reasons, but if the GTX 1060 6GB is capable of using the above settings i might consider selling the 2070, and buy a discounted 1060, as it would serve me until the end of the year, when i intend to update to a JVC X7900.
neo_2009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 1029 Old 01-21-2019, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Yes, the GTX 1060 can more or less do those settings. It is a good card for 1080p output.
neo_2009 likes this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #573 of 1029 Old 01-21-2019, 09:03 PM
Member
 
long_pn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
FYI, you can't use D3D11 Native hardware decoding to get hardware deinterlacing. I would recommended using software deinterlacing in LAV Video instead (see below for more).
Does SW deinterlacing work together with HW decoding ?
How do I set LAV for SW deinterlacing, since I find SW deinterlacing only works with PotPlayer so far (blending), the other methods mostly double frame rates (eg. 40ms to 20ms) so that I have to reduce madVR quality settings.
long_pn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #574 of 1029 Old 01-22-2019, 12:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
software deinterlancing works with copyback hardware decoding like DXVA copyback.

you should not do half rate deinterlancing.
for 50 hz just use film mode madVR deinterlancing for PsF source or lower your madVR settings.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #575 of 1029 Old 01-23-2019, 12:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Yes, the GTX 1060 can more or less do those settings. It is a good card for 1080p output.
Even when using madVR tone mapping?
neo_2009 is offline  
post #576 of 1029 Old 01-23-2019, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Yeah, no problem if you disable chroma upscaling to 4K before downscaling.
neo_2009 likes this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #577 of 1029 Old 02-01-2019, 11:35 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ian_Currie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,702
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonichart View Post
Tough lesson to learn but I would be wary of purchasing used gpu's online. There is no way of knowing whether someone beat the hell out of it trying to mine crypto or if they OC'd it to death trying to get max gaming performance.


You can probably sell it as-is and recoup some of the cost though. Its worth a shot anyway


edit: Also, go buy a replacement fan and see if it remedies your situation? If not, the jungle has a good return policy: https://www.amazon.com/Graphics-Card...ode=3015421011
Well lucky for me, I was able to send it back to EVGA under warranty. I just got a replacement - an RTX2080...
sonichart likes this.

JVC-RS4500 4k projector, Lumagen Pro, 138" 2.35:1 ST130
Panasonic DMP-UB820 & i7 PC w/1080ti running Win10/Kodi DSPlayer/madVR
Classe SSP-800, Bryston amplification, Wilson Audio speakers (7.2) + Buttkickers.
Ian_Currie is offline  
post #578 of 1029 Old 02-01-2019, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonichart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Dundee, IL
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian_Currie View Post
Well lucky for me, I was able to send it back to EVGA under warranty. I just got a replacement - an RTX2080...
Damn so they gave you a new RTX2080 for a beatup 1080ti?

Son of a....

JVC RS600 ¤ 130" Wide Seymour XD 2.35:1
Denon x4200 ¤ Onkyo M5010 ¤ iNuke 3000 ¤ 7.2.2
HTPC GTX1080 + MadVR is my master now ¤ Zidoo X8
sonichart is offline  
post #579 of 1029 Old 02-01-2019, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ian_Currie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,702
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonichart View Post
Damn so they gave you a new RTX2080 for a beatup 1080ti?

Son of a....
Yup, just opened the box and couldn't believe it. I'm not usually this lucky. I'm going to be a loyal EVGA guy from this point on.

JVC-RS4500 4k projector, Lumagen Pro, 138" 2.35:1 ST130
Panasonic DMP-UB820 & i7 PC w/1080ti running Win10/Kodi DSPlayer/madVR
Classe SSP-800, Bryston amplification, Wilson Audio speakers (7.2) + Buttkickers.
Ian_Currie is offline  
post #580 of 1029 Old 02-01-2019, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonichart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Dundee, IL
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian_Currie View Post
Yup, just opened the box and couldn't believe it. I'm not usually this lucky. I'm going to be a loyal EVGA guy from this point on.
Bravo. I had a similar experience with CelerityTek (fiber HDMI cables). I bought a 40ft fiber cable used and it didn't work. I sent it to CelerityTek, they emailed me and said they wouldn't replace it because I bought it used. They then proceeded to send my old cable back.

Except that the cable the sent back was new and worked.

Customer for life now.

JVC RS600 ¤ 130" Wide Seymour XD 2.35:1
Denon x4200 ¤ Onkyo M5010 ¤ iNuke 3000 ¤ 7.2.2
HTPC GTX1080 + MadVR is my master now ¤ Zidoo X8
sonichart is offline  
post #581 of 1029 Old 02-01-2019, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Is there any difference between how the features work in the image enhancements page versus upscaling refinement when the image is not upscaled/downscaled (e.g. 1080p file on 1080p display). Chroma would be upscaled in this example, but I can't see any difference.

Also, is there a dial for 3D pop outs/depth in madvr (with MPC HC/BE) like there is in other players?
noob00224 is offline  
post #582 of 1029 Old 02-02-2019, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 547
upscaling refinement is disabled when there is no image upscaling because there is nothing to refine. So only image enhancements would work.

There are no settings to control 3D depth in madVR. That is standardized by the display and the mastering of the frame-packed source.
noob00224 likes this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #583 of 1029 Old 02-02-2019, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian_Currie View Post
Yup, just opened the box and couldn't believe it. I'm not usually this lucky. I'm going to be a loyal EVGA guy from this point on.
I would agree you are pretty lucky. I know stock for the 1080 Ti is starting to dwindle, but the 2080 Ti is in no way an equivalent card in terms of performance or price (but it is the direct replacement in the product line). Well above average customer service from EVGA!
Onkyoman is offline  
post #584 of 1029 Old 02-02-2019, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
upscaling refinement is disabled when there is no image upscaling because there is nothing to refine. So only image enhancements would work.
Doesn't it upscale chroma though?
noob00224 is offline  
post #585 of 1029 Old 02-02-2019, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Chroma has a checkbox for SuperRes, which is the only available refinement for chroma. The upscaling refinement options work on the luma information of the upscaled image.
noob00224 likes this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #586 of 1029 Old 02-03-2019, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Jacob B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Hi
I am new to madVR. I just updated my two HTPC with 4K capable GPUs (GTX1060ti in living room for LG OLED TV, RTX2060 in theater for JVC 7900/RS540)
I use media portal 1 as front end.

I have followed the various guides here and on the kodi web page for setting up madVR and the GPU (i.e. the NCP).
I have set RGB Full and 12 bit for 30 hz and below and desktop set to 50 hz (PAL country) in which case the color depth setting in NCP goes blank.
MadVR is set to 0-255 and display color depth to 10 bit or above - I have an LG OLED 65B7. On the LG black level is set to high and color scale (in advanced settings) is set to automatic.
I use windows 7 pro 64 on the living room HTPC and windows 10 pro 64 on the theater HTPC.

I have a couple of settings I am in doubt about, despite reading up on the madVR guide:

I have set “enable automatic full screen exclusive mode”. I am unsure what the pros and cons are...
Same goes for “use Direct3D 11 for presentation” including the tick mark in “present a frame for every vsync”...
I have no tick marks in “disable desktop composition” and in “enable windowed overlay”.

Moreover, I need help understanding the Ctrl j OSD:
1) It reads display xxx hz (12 bit, RGB, full) for all sources, even when displaying 50 hz tv in which case I thought the GPU would convert to 8 bit output?
2) same tv source shows:
D3D11 exclusive (10bit)
h264, 8 bit, 4:2:0 => NV12, 8 bit, 4:2:0

I thought the output for a 50 hz source would be 8 bit 4:.4:4 with the NCP settings listed above? Am I misunderstanding the meaning of NV12, 8 bit, 4:2:0?

For a 4K HDR source I get:
Display 23,98134 (NV 10 HDR, 12 bit, RGB, full)
D3D11 exclusive (10 bit )
P010, 10 bit, 4:2:0

Am I only outputting 4:2:0 here? Or what does the last line mean?

For the moment I have the same madVR and NCP settings on both HTPCs (except higher NGU quality setting on the RTX2060).

Any help appreciated 🙂

Jacob

Last edited by Jacob B; 02-04-2019 at 02:23 AM.
Jacob B is offline  
post #587 of 1029 Old 02-04-2019, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 547
fullscreen exclusive mode is necessary for 10-bit output on Windows 7 and 8. It can sometimes be necessary to get 3D playback and even HDR passthrough on Windows 10, but it isn't necessary with Windows 10. The only benefit there would be an inability of Windows to post notifications while you are watching a video. The downside is that is takes slightly longer to get the picture onscreen and you can't use the Print Screen function.

D3D11 presentation is required for 10-bit output on all operating systems. You should leave present a frame for every VSync checked unless you are getting dropped frames. There is no real benefit, but it is less likely you will have frame drops or presentation glitches with it checked.

Is the TV being output at 25 Hz by the GPU or 50 Hz? If it is 25 Hz from the GPU and 50 Hz at the display, then 12-bit RGB is possible. If is being sent out at 50 Hz from the GPU, then it must be a typo in the OSD. You can check the GPU control panel during playback to see what it says.

The rest of the madVR OSD is summarized towards the end of this post:

https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...972#pid2238972
Onkyoman is offline  
post #588 of 1029 Old 02-04-2019, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
windows notification don't care about FSE surfaces it can even show it on top of that at least on windows 10.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #589 of 1029 Old 02-06-2019, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ian_Currie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,702
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Does anyone know if it's possible to get madVR to not stutter when skipping chapters? In other words, get it to 'delay' enough time to fill up the buffers and then start playback?

I have been unable to do this successfully so I'm curious if it's possible and if so, with which settings.

Thanks.

JVC-RS4500 4k projector, Lumagen Pro, 138" 2.35:1 ST130
Panasonic DMP-UB820 & i7 PC w/1080ti running Win10/Kodi DSPlayer/madVR
Classe SSP-800, Bryston amplification, Wilson Audio speakers (7.2) + Buttkickers.
Ian_Currie is offline  
post #590 of 1029 Old 02-06-2019, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 567 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Instantaneous when skipping chapters backward or forward using SDR, HDR, and 3D highest bitrates here. Lower bitrates too. MadVR settings with screenshots in the link in my signature assuming your stutter is madVR related. These are old settings that I will update after the next official release of madVR but will still guide you. There is a setting in madVR under general settings (delay playback start until render queue is full and after seeking too) but I don't use it for any of my profiles.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #591 of 1029 Old 02-06-2019, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Ian_Currie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,702
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
Instantaneous when skipping chapters backward or forward using SDR, HDR, and 3D highest bitrates here. Lower bitrates too. MadVR settings with screenshots in the link in my signature assuming your stutter is madVR related. These are old settings that I will update after the next official release of madVR but will still guide you. There is a setting in madVR under general settings (delay playback start until render queue is full and after seeking too) but I don't use it for any of my profiles.
When following your link I see a 72 page forum discussion and not a madVR guide. But at least I know it is possible (I tried the 'delay playback until render queue is filled' and it didn't solve the issue) so I will keep trying.

Thanks!

JVC-RS4500 4k projector, Lumagen Pro, 138" 2.35:1 ST130
Panasonic DMP-UB820 & i7 PC w/1080ti running Win10/Kodi DSPlayer/madVR
Classe SSP-800, Bryston amplification, Wilson Audio speakers (7.2) + Buttkickers.
Ian_Currie is offline  
post #592 of 1029 Old 02-11-2019, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Jacob B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Is the TV being output at 25 Hz by the GPU or 50 Hz? If it is 25 Hz from the GPU and 50 Hz at the display, then 12-bit RGB is possible. If is being sent out at 50 Hz from the GPU, then it must be a typo in the OSD. You can check the GPU control panel during playback to see what it says.
GPU is set to 50 hz and the OSD reads “display 50.0000” ( or something like that - not home at the moment). LAV filters are set to use yadif for deinterlacing. ( can’t remember why - but I read at some point it could be useful to use the CPU to deinterlace before madVR processing).
The HTPC - running win 7 pro 64 - also keeps my NCP settings on reboot, with 417.71, using RGB, 50 hz,“blank” color depth, for desktop. Display is LG B7, using blu ray input icon.

(I am unsure what actually happens when a 12 bit RGB 23 hz signal arrives at the LG B7... And why this is better than Yrbrc 4:2:2 10 bit output, matching what the LG can actually handle on a Blu ray input icon.
Does the LG Dither in high quality from12 bit to the native 10 bit panel color depth? And if the LG B7 sub samples a 4:4:4 signal to 4:2:2 on the blu Ray input, why bother sending it? .)

I am unable to get NCP to accept same 12 bit setup on my new HTPC running win 10 (motherboard only had drivers for win 10) and 417.71 (also tried 418.xx no change). This HTPC is sourcing a JVC 7900 through a Denon X4400H - I have not tested it on the LG B7.
When entering the desktop resolution of 50 hz, instead of blanking color depth, it writes 8 bit. I switched fine between 23 hz 12 bit (UHD HDR) and 50 hz 8 bit, but it does not stick after reboot - all framerates are 8 bit then.
And HDR pass through does not work at 8 bit with the JVC... magenta bug.

Solution for the win 10 / JVC setup right now is desktop refresh rate set to 23 hz. Then it stays after reboot and switches correctly for 50hz sources (TV).
But setting up my JVC and madVR for HDR tone mapping is probably a better way to go rather than try to fix the NCP problem... Right?

I will have to read up on how to do that (calibrate the JVC for madVR tone mapping), without losing the ability to play 4K SDR sources on the JVC (I guess this is a question for a JVC thread...).
Any links to appropriate post(s) for that appreciated - reading so many threads right now on 4K HTPC builds, madVR (including on doom9 and on kodi), custom hdr curves on the JVCs, calibrating the JVC using JVC auto cal, it’s making my head spin 😱😁
Jacob B is offline  
post #593 of 1029 Old 02-11-2019, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Deinterlacing in LAV Filters will only work if you use copy-back decoding.

You send 4:4:4 because the output must be converted to RGB on PC. Converting to YCbCr is an unwanted conversion, but only on PC.

The LG OLEDs tend to work better with 8-bit output from madVR: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...36#post1847036

Not switching from 8-bit to 12-bit after a reboot is common with most newer Nvidia drivers. Have you tried setting the desktop to 12-bit @ 30 Hz?

Instructions for configuring madVR's tone mapping with recent builds can be found within this post: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-ho...l#post57579758
Onkyoman is offline  
post #594 of 1029 Old 02-11-2019, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Jacob B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Deinterlacing in LAV Filters will only work if you use copy-back decoding.

You send 4:4:4 because the output must be converted to RGB on PC. Converting to YCbCr is an unwanted conversion, but only on PC.
I do use dxva copy back - but I cxnnot recall why, but I read it in one of the many madVR setup guides, I think it was the Kodi one. It might have been an outdated guide. When to use copy back and when to use native?

I realize RGB to YCbCr conversions should minimized/avoided. However, if the LG OLED cannot input 4:4:4 in 12 bit anyway, it becomes a question of who makes the best conversion / chroma subsampling - madVR or the LG? Or am I missing something?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Not switching from 8-bit to 12-bit after a reboot is common with most newer Nvidia drivers. Have you tried setting the desktop to 12-bit @ 30 Hz?
Not 30. I chose 12 but @23 hz when I couldn’t have 50 hz, to avoid/minimize refresh rate changes from desktop (mediaportal front end) to video when starting playback, as it’s very slow on my JVC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Instructions for configuring madVR's tone mapping with recent builds can be found within this post: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-ho...l#post57579758
Thanks. I meant JVC calibration/setup, for diffentiating between 4K SDR and 4K HDR tone mapped by madVR. The latter would require setting the JVC up for higher light ouput, like my current SDR setting used low lamp and has the iris set to 13, while my HDR setting (for HDR pass through) also uses low lamp but iris set to 7 (or wide open, can’t recall) and DI on auto2.
However, if both 4K SDR and HDR come in the same color container (Bt2020) and no HDR flag to trigger a configuration change, what then? Manuel change? Or can madVR send a network signal to change the JVC mode?

Last edited by Jacob B; 02-11-2019 at 03:55 PM.
Jacob B is offline  
post #595 of 1029 Old 02-12-2019, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Use copy-back when you need deinterlacing or black bar detection. Use D3D11 Native in any other scenario.

The display should handle the conversion to YCbCr. It has the ability to do this at a higher bit depth or keep some of the data in memory before converting to RGB. It should also use the correct conversion matrix for the display. There is a difference between representing RGB as RGB and YCbCr as RGB. YCbCr is a slightly larger gamut than standard RGB. YCbCr represented as RGB involves a different conversion to RGB. It is not the same as converting to standard RGB, which represents a smaller color space. The display should pick the best conversion matrix to YCbCr for the display.

HTPC Control mentioned towards the middle of this post is supposed to be able to switch JVC projectors into the correct picture mode:

https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...406#pid2750406

Last edited by Onkyoman; 02-12-2019 at 06:15 AM.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #596 of 1029 Old 02-21-2019, 06:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
how do you tackle 3d movies with madvr?

i have a 2160p, 1080p, 720p & sd profile.

i have set kodi dsplayer to only display movies in 2160p

So all will be upscaled.


if i want to view a 3d movie it wont switch to 1080p24 sbs

if i add switching resolution to 1080p24 and 2160p it will show 1080p movies in 1080p and not 2160p anymore..
ModMyBox is offline  
post #597 of 1029 Old 02-21-2019, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
does your screen support sbs at UHD?

you could use framepacked 3D that fixed to s specail 1080p23 3d resolution that will be used no matter what.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #598 of 1029 Old 02-21-2019, 07:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
does your screen support sbs at UHD?

you could use framepacked 3D that fixed to s specail 1080p23 3d resolution that will be used no matter what.
JVC x7900 projector

Frame packing
720p 60/50, 1080p 24
Side-by-side
720p 60/50, 1080p 60/50/24, 1080i 60/50
Top & bottom
720p 60/50, 1080p/24

should i add 1080p23 then for 3d?
ModMyBox is offline  
post #599 of 1029 Old 02-21-2019, 07:23 AM
Member
 
RioBar4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ModMyBox View Post
how do you tackle 3d movies with madvr?

i have a 2160p, 1080p, 720p & sd profile.

i have set kodi dsplayer to only display movies in 2160p

So all will be upscaled.


if i want to view a 3d movie it wont switch to 1080p24 sbs

if i add switching resolution to 1080p24 and 2160p it will show 1080p movies in 1080p and not 2160p anymore..
+1. How does the settings look?
RioBar4U is online now  
post #600 of 1029 Old 02-21-2019, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ModMyBox View Post
JVC x7900 projector

Frame packing
720p 60/50, 1080p 24
Side-by-side
720p 60/50, 1080p 60/50/24, 1080i 60/50
Top & bottom
720p 60/50, 1080p/24

should i add 1080p23 then for 3d?
if you want to play framepacket 3D no it will always use 1080p23 3D no matter what.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off