madVR Player Support Thread - Page 29 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 157Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 1134 Old 04-18-2019, 02:19 PM
Member
 
Flavio61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Italy
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Try it again. It sometimes hangs on the first attempt.
I tested 5 different files and for a lot of try without success
Flavio61 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 1134 Old 04-18-2019, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 954 Post(s)
Liked: 582
I see. I don't have a link handy, but the madVR guide in the Kodi forums has a guide for madMeasureHDR. Try starting the utility from Command Prompt. That might show a proper error message if there is one.

The correct input syntax for Command Prompt is shown in one example towards the beginning of the guide. You simply include the file path with the example shown.

Also, ensure hardware decoding is configured correctly in LAV Video (the copy installed in Windows).
Onkyoman is online now  
post #843 of 1134 Old 04-20-2019, 06:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbn008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 124
I'm new to the madvr seen, but i recently bought a HTPC "hand me down" and was hoping for a CPU suggestion (my display is a JVC NX5)



The HTPC I just got has a gtx 1080 card, but an older motherboard and intel chip that I was told I need to upgrade. Will a i7-7700k work or should I just go ahead and get the newer 8700k? any motherboard suggestions or will any compatible one work?



I apologize if this has been answered before.



Thanks
jbn008 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #844 of 1134 Old 04-20-2019, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,147
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1160 Post(s)
Liked: 426
what CPU was in there?

i'm using a 4130 since it was new and there was never any reason to upgrade even to day.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #845 of 1134 Old 04-20-2019, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 330
I'm using an X5690 with a 1366 socket. You're probably better off than us. Run what ya' brung.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #846 of 1134 Old 04-21-2019, 04:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbn008 View Post
The HTPC I just got has a gtx 1080 card, but an older motherboard and intel chip that I was told I need to upgrade. Will a i7-7700k work or should I just go ahead and get the newer 8700k? any motherboard suggestions or will any compatible one work?
The video card is much more important than the CPU. You should be fine.
rec head is online now  
post #847 of 1134 Old 04-21-2019, 04:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,525
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4661 Post(s)
Liked: 2955
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrippr View Post
Thanks guys


No it is not the normal judder with 24fps content nor 23.9. It is annoying stutter. The exact same files play smoothly if windows power saver is selected.

And it happens only sometimes. Then goes away and comes back. I have tried selective startup to see if an app is conflicting but no dice.

So I am baffled.
so if windows power saver fixes it, why cant you just leave that on and call things fixed?

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #848 of 1134 Old 04-21-2019, 04:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,525
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4661 Post(s)
Liked: 2955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavio61 View Post
I tested 5 different files and for a lot of try without success
You might consider just disabling measurement files. Real time measurements is almost as good and you really don't need the measurement files.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #849 of 1134 Old 04-21-2019, 05:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbn008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by rec head View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbn008 View Post
The HTPC I just got has a gtx 1080 card, but an older motherboard and intel chip that I was told I need to upgrade. Will a i7-7700k work or should I just go ahead and get the newer 8700k? any motherboard suggestions or will any compatible one work?
The video card is much more important than the CPU. You should be fine.
Ok thank you
jbn008 is online now  
post #850 of 1134 Old 04-21-2019, 09:55 AM
Member
 
Flavio61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Italy
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
You might consider just disabling measurement files. Real time measurements is almost as good and you really don't need the measurement files.
Ok I did this but I would like to try the measurement too
Flavio61 is offline  
post #851 of 1134 Old 04-21-2019, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
hotrippr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
so if windows power saver fixes it, why cant you just leave that on and call things fixed?

Yeah I am over it. When I wanna watch something with madvr display matching Ill just switch to power saver. Or just disable display matching. I did narrow down the issue even more, I can also use Balanced/high perf profile, if I go to settings and set max cpu to 45% will also stop the lagging in madvr. So something is up with clock speeds, it doesnt like higher, I played with voltages, but seems more like higher clocks can reproduce the issue. But putting the ol gtx970 in also cures the issue.



IMO it is either the motherboard pcie power issue or cpu. I went to a couple stores and got new psu and new graphics cards and had the same issue.


So im done trying to figure it out. I've got better things to do. I plan on upgrading to next gen ryzen this summer or 9900k, which means new mb, ram, cpu, I suspect the issue will be gone when I do.

Sony X720E
Yamaha RX-V379 5.1 - Klipsch RF3 & RC3 - Boston VR500W Sub - CR4 for rears
Gigabyte Gaming OC RTX2070 - 4790K i7 - 2x8GB Gskill Ripjaws X
970EVO 512GB NvMe
EVGA Supernova G2 750 80+Gold
hotrippr is offline  
post #852 of 1134 Old 04-21-2019, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
jbn008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
what CPU was in there?

i'm using a 4130 since it was new and there was never any reason to upgrade even to day.
I'm not sure, but I believe it's about 6 years old (i7). i pick it up tomorrow so I'll check, but I appreciate the input.
jbn008 is online now  
post #853 of 1134 Old 04-21-2019, 10:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,147
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1160 Post(s)
Liked: 426
your CPU is fine for madVR.
markmon1 likes this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #854 of 1134 Old 04-22-2019, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello people im using:
RTX 2080, latest nvidia drivers
i5 8600k
Windows 10 1809
Kodi 17.6+ MPC BE 1.5.3

HDR works. But whenever I am in fullscreen, the mouse is so "sluggish/laggy"
Anyone else has this? And is this fixable?

Also I try to keep disabling "present a frame for every Vsync" but everytime after starting kodi this setting seems to be reset to enabled, when I go back to madvr...
And finally I seem to see what can be discribed as "mini stutters" with playback.
It is so mini that is somewhat hard to notice to make you doubt. But sometimes you just know it wasn't 100%. Happens regurarly.

Any clue why?
Christian van Offeren is offline  
post #855 of 1134 Old 04-22-2019, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
hotrippr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian van Offeren View Post

HDR works. But whenever I am in fullscreen, the mouse is so "sluggish/laggy"
Anyone else has this? And is this fixable?

And finally I seem to see what can be discribed as "mini stutters" with playback.
It is so mini that is somewhat hard to notice to make you doubt. But sometimes you just know it wasn't 100%. Happens regurarly.

Any clue why?
If youre using display matching the refresh rate would be whatever the content is, so at 24hz the mouse is going to lag, at 60hz it should feel good. So it is normal what you have described if display matching.


Press ctrl J see if you have any dropped frames high repeats, or rendering could be slow, take a screenshot and post it here so others can see.

Sony X720E
Yamaha RX-V379 5.1 - Klipsch RF3 & RC3 - Boston VR500W Sub - CR4 for rears
Gigabyte Gaming OC RTX2070 - 4790K i7 - 2x8GB Gskill Ripjaws X
970EVO 512GB NvMe
EVGA Supernova G2 750 80+Gold
hotrippr is offline  
post #856 of 1134 Old 04-22-2019, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Try MPC-BE/HC with madVR solo.. without Kodi in the mix. Maybe try updating Kodi to v.19 or at least v.18. Could be the GPU driver you're using too. An older one might work better.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #857 of 1134 Old 04-22-2019, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrippr View Post
If youre using display matching the refresh rate would be whatever the content is, so at 24hz the mouse is going to lag, at 60hz it should feel good. So it is normal what you have described if display matching.


Press ctrl J see if you have any dropped frames high repeats, or rendering could be slow, take a screenshot and post it here so others can see.
Ah okay. Well I suppose 60 hz 4k video is impossible/unwanted then or? Too big of a strain?

https://prnt.sc/nfckb3
Doesn't seem like repeats/dropped frames. idk about how fast the rendering is though.
Christian van Offeren is offline  
post #858 of 1134 Old 04-22-2019, 06:11 PM
Senior Member
 
hotrippr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Movies usually at 23.975. Some other non hollywood stuff may sometimes be in 60fps like videos from Manufactures to show off their displays, sports, gopro, adult stuff, etc.



So the microstutter...is it still there when you enable motion enhancement on your screen if you have a tv? or monitor, what is the max refresh rate?

Sony X720E
Yamaha RX-V379 5.1 - Klipsch RF3 & RC3 - Boston VR500W Sub - CR4 for rears
Gigabyte Gaming OC RTX2070 - 4790K i7 - 2x8GB Gskill Ripjaws X
970EVO 512GB NvMe
EVGA Supernova G2 750 80+Gold
hotrippr is offline  
post #859 of 1134 Old 04-23-2019, 12:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrippr View Post
Movies usually at 23.975. Some other non hollywood stuff may sometimes be in 60fps like videos from Manufactures to show off their displays, sports, gopro, adult stuff, etc.



So the microstutter...is it still there when you enable motion enhancement on your screen if you have a tv? or monitor, what is the max refresh rate?
Yes but at 1080p ussually we are at 60 hz? so no slow mouse movement?
I don't have "motion enhancement enabled"
I have LGC7OLED
Christian van Offeren is offline  
post #860 of 1134 Old 04-23-2019, 02:58 AM
Member
 
BerndFfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Frankfurt / Main, Germany
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbn008 View Post
The HTPC I just got has a gtx 1080 card, but an older motherboard and intel chip that I was told I need to upgrade. Will a i7-7700k work or should I just go ahead and get the newer 8700k? any motherboard suggestions or will any compatible one work?
I have a gtx 1080 too, works well !

Before I had an older mainboard with PCIe Version 2.0. Some movies did not work, e.g. Transformers 5 in 4K. With a new mainboard with PCIe 3.0 it works.

The CPU doesn't matter using madVR.

Bernd

Home Cinema with : Onkyo 1009, Nubert, JVC RS-500, madVR
BerndFfm is offline  
post #861 of 1134 Old 04-23-2019, 07:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
jbn008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndFfm View Post
I have a gtx 1080 too, works well !

Before I had an older mainboard with PCIe Version 2.0. Some movies did not work, e.g. Transformers 5 in 4K. With a new mainboard with PCIe 3.0 it works.

The CPU doesn't matter using madVR.

Bernd
thanks for the feedback. looks like the CPU is an old i7-2600k, but you think i should be ok with madvr since i have the GTX 1080 GPU? do you think that'll be enough power to the auto tone mapping (HDR > SDR)?

i plan to upgrade the cpu and mother board this year, but i was hoping i could still get some enjoyment form madvr in the meantime. i will be using it with a JVC projector.

Thanks
jbn008 is online now  
post #862 of 1134 Old 04-23-2019, 07:35 AM
Member
 
tom886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Maybe tiny bit offtopic, but NVIDIA released new drivers v430.39 and one item on the changelog states:
Quote:
Changes and Fixed Issues in Version 430.39
-[madVR][HDR]: MadVR is not rendering videos in HDR mode using MPC player. [200505657]
Maybe solves some issues experienced with madVR
Oh and the GeForce GTX 1650 desktop, GeForce GTX 1660 Ti notebook and GeForce GTX 1650 notebook are now also supported.


Cheers
Tom
tom886 is offline  
post #863 of 1134 Old 04-23-2019, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
hotrippr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom886 View Post
Maybe tiny bit offtopic, but NVIDIA released new drivers v430.39 and one item on the changelog states:

Maybe solves some issues experienced with madVR
Oh and the GeForce GTX 1650 desktop, GeForce GTX 1660 Ti notebook and GeForce GTX 1650 notebook are now also supported.


Cheers
Tom

Cool! Bet some dudes are already testing it. Wont matter much for me as my display is barely 400nits, the problem was above that. Still good to know they are aware of it.

Sony X720E
Yamaha RX-V379 5.1 - Klipsch RF3 & RC3 - Boston VR500W Sub - CR4 for rears
Gigabyte Gaming OC RTX2070 - 4790K i7 - 2x8GB Gskill Ripjaws X
970EVO 512GB NvMe
EVGA Supernova G2 750 80+Gold
hotrippr is offline  
post #864 of 1134 Old 04-23-2019, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
jbarteli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Hope the stutter problem is fixed.
hotrippr likes this.
jbarteli is offline  
post #865 of 1134 Old 04-23-2019, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
hotrippr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian van Offeren View Post
Yes but at 1080p ussually we are at 60 hz? so no slow mouse movement?
I don't have "motion enhancement enabled"
I have LGC7OLED
Not sure what you mean. 1080p is a resolution. Most of the content you watch will be 24fps regardless of resolution so you WILL have mouse lag if you have display matching (which you do).



Enable your tv's motion enhancement (or whatever its called on your tv) to maximum and see if your picture stops stuttering. 24fps usually looks a bit juddery but the soap opera effect can remove it.

Sony X720E
Yamaha RX-V379 5.1 - Klipsch RF3 & RC3 - Boston VR500W Sub - CR4 for rears
Gigabyte Gaming OC RTX2070 - 4790K i7 - 2x8GB Gskill Ripjaws X
970EVO 512GB NvMe
EVGA Supernova G2 750 80+Gold
hotrippr is offline  
post #866 of 1134 Old 04-26-2019, 10:57 PM
Senior Member
 
jbarteli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Anyone know what this phenomenon is? Looks like coloured grain, I'm using madvr pixel shader tonemapping.
jbarteli is offline  
post #867 of 1134 Old 04-27-2019, 05:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 954 Post(s)
Liked: 582
Onkyoman is online now  
post #868 of 1134 Old 04-27-2019, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jbarteli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Gingivitis?
Its on his chin not on his teeth
jbarteli is offline  
post #869 of 1134 Old 04-27-2019, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Liked: 330
It is on his teeth though. Obviously that's green tea matrix juice dribble and madVR is detailing it. Try turning off colored noise in dithering.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #870 of 1134 Old 04-27-2019, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Question for you guys. When playing a standard 1080p mkv, should instill keep my pj in hdr bt2020 mode or should i revert back to a std 709 colorspace? My calibration settings in madvr are set to 2020 and gamma 2.4. To me it looks better in hdr mode on the pj and little muted when pj is in bt709 mode


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Colozeus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off