madVR Player Support Thread - Page 35 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 155Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1021 of 1119 Old 06-03-2019, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Yes, but couldnt make Zoom work.

Gear: Fronts: B&W 803D3 | Center: B&W HTM2D3 | Surrounds: B&W 705S2 | Backs: B&W DM601S3 | Heights: Definitive Techonlogy ProCinema 1000 | Receiver & Amps: Anthem MRX 720 + Emotiva BasX-5 | Projector: JVC NX7 | Source: HTPC with Nvidia 2070, Kodi + External Player: MPC-HC with MadVR (for Blu-ray rips), Nvidia Shield (for streaming content)
tommarra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1022 of 1119 Old 06-03-2019, 02:11 PM
Member
 
Skyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Many thanks...

DS Player can't play iso archives, right ?
What about DVD Menus ?

Mediaportal... never tried that one... can it play DVD iso with Menu ?

Sky
Skyx is offline  
post #1023 of 1119 Old 06-03-2019, 02:29 PM
Member
 
Skyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just checked MediaPortal...
Looks very nice... think I'll give it a try...

Thanks
Sky
Skyx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1024 of 1119 Old 06-04-2019, 12:07 PM
Member
 
RioBar4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Enjoy...
Download the addons moving pictures, tv Series, imdb, Subtitels, Trailers etc,

Edit: it has to be Mediaportal 1, because Mediaportal 2 does Not Support madVR...
RioBar4U is offline  
post #1025 of 1119 Old 06-05-2019, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 24
After upgrading to 1060 GPU about 3 days ago, during 4K UHD playback, I had issues with dropped/ repeated frames in 4~5 minutes intervals which was very much visible and annoying.The composition rate was 23,980Hz at that time. I tried some troubleshooting for a couple of days without any luck. After reading a post somewhere here on AVS, I removed display modes 23Hz, 29Hz and 59Hz from madVR display mode setting. After that the composition rate became 24,000Hz and the playback was very smooth without any stutter or picture jump etc. I checked the madVR OSD and found out that still there was a huge amount of dropped/ repeated frames and the frame repeat time is even way shorter that before (41.71 seconds). Even with these stats, the payback was perfectly fine without any visible issues. I tried several discs and watched "Captain Marvel" all the way to the end, and had zero issues. Just wondering what is happening here. Are these stats showing in madvR OSD for reference only? Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenHunter_82 Jun. 06 08.46.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	79.7 KB
ID:	2576418  
alps006 is offline  
post #1026 of 1119 Old 06-05-2019, 11:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,514
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4648 Post(s)
Liked: 2945
Quote:
Originally Posted by alps006 View Post
After upgrading to 1060 GPU about 3 days ago, during 4K UHD playback, I had issues with dropped/ repeated frames in 4~5 minutes intervals which was very much visible and annoying.The composition rate was 23,980Hz at that time. I tried some troubleshooting for a couple of days without any luck. After reading a post somewhere here on AVS, I removed display modes 23Hz, 29Hz and 59Hz from madVR display mode setting. After that the composition rate became 24,000Hz and the playback was very smooth without any stutter or picture jump etc. I checked the madVR OSD and found out that still there was a huge amount of dropped/ repeated frames and the frame repeat time is even way shorter that before (41.71 seconds). Even with these stats, the payback was perfectly fine without any visible issues. I tried several discs and watched "Captain Marvel" all the way to the end, and had zero issues. Just wondering what is happening here. Are these stats showing in madvR OSD for reference only? Thank you!
All those frames could have been dropped at the start of the movie when it was buffering or something. If things look good I wouldn't worry about it.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is online now  
post #1027 of 1119 Old 06-05-2019, 11:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,514
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4648 Post(s)
Liked: 2945
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
Yes, but couldnt make Zoom work.
Can you be more specific about "couldn't make zoom work"? Perhaps paste your playercorefactory.xml here, your location of this file, and your path and location to zoom player zplayer.exe?

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is online now  
post #1028 of 1119 Old 06-06-2019, 12:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Thanks for your reply, markmon1. Actually it was you who suggested to another user here on AVS to remove display modes in madVR settings. Thank you so much, it worked for me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
All those frames could have been dropped at the start of the movie when it was buffering or something. If things look good I wouldn't worry about it.
alps006 is offline  
post #1029 of 1119 Old 06-15-2019, 10:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,352
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 428
I don't know what happened but I can't get Fullscreen Exclusive working anymore, its stuck on windowed. I tried changing a bunch of different settings and even reset back to default. The option is enabled in rendering- exclusive mode

Windows 10
RTX 2080
MPC HC X64 & MPC BE X64


_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is offline  
post #1030 of 1119 Old 06-16-2019, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 580
The newest Windows update is known to cause this. Did you update recently? Do you need fullscreen exclusive mode?
Onkyoman is offline  
post #1031 of 1119 Old 06-16-2019, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,352
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 428
I'm always on the latest Windows update. When I'm watching something in HDR, if the mouse shows up on screen or I skip the scene, it switches out of HDR then back to HDR. Its annoying.

_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is offline  
post #1032 of 1119 Old 06-16-2019, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
He's suggesting you use WFS, windowed full screen instead of FSE full screen exclusive as your OSD shows you are doing but don't want to. There should be no switching HDR mode back and forth using windowed. FSE isn't needed anymore even for 3D in my experience. That said, if I do use FSE, there is no in and out of HDR switching and I'm using Windows 1903. Most likely your drivers coupled with your GPU. Also, you're playing a 24FPS title at 60FPS. That might have something additional to do with it not to mention dropping frames every minute.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #1033 of 1119 Old 06-16-2019, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,352
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
He's suggesting you use WFS, windowed full screen instead of FSE full screen exclusive as your OSD shows you are doing but don't want to. There should be no switching HDR mode back and forth using windowed. FSE isn't needed anymore even for 3D in my experience. That said, if I do use FSE, there is no in and out of HDR switching and I'm using Windows 1903. Most likely your drivers coupled with your GPU. Also, you're playing a 24FPS title at 60FPS. That might have something additional to do with it not to mention dropping frames every minute.
The screenshot is from using my PC monitor instead of the TV. The TV is set to 23.976 but it has the same problem. I'll try reinstalling the gpu drivers and see if that helps any.

_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is offline  
post #1034 of 1119 Old 06-17-2019, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Does anyone know how does MadVR tone mapping compare to Lumagen? (Does Lumagen even do tone mapping?)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Gear: Fronts: B&W 803D3 | Center: B&W HTM2D3 | Surrounds: B&W 705S2 | Backs: B&W DM601S3 | Heights: Definitive Techonlogy ProCinema 1000 | Receiver & Amps: Anthem MRX 720 + Emotiva BasX-5 | Projector: JVC NX7 | Source: HTPC with Nvidia 2070, Kodi + External Player: MPC-HC with MadVR (for Blu-ray rips), Nvidia Shield (for streaming content)
tommarra is offline  
post #1035 of 1119 Old 06-17-2019, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
Does anyone know how does MadVR tone mapping compare to Lumagen? (Does Lumagen even do tone mapping?)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It does. And from what I have seen in person it does a great job...but at that price point it better.
Killroy is offline  
post #1036 of 1119 Old 06-17-2019, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post
It does. And from what I have seen in person it does a great job...but at that price point it better.


Makes sense. I wish Envy would be a more accessible price point


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Gear: Fronts: B&W 803D3 | Center: B&W HTM2D3 | Surrounds: B&W 705S2 | Backs: B&W DM601S3 | Heights: Definitive Techonlogy ProCinema 1000 | Receiver & Amps: Anthem MRX 720 + Emotiva BasX-5 | Projector: JVC NX7 | Source: HTPC with Nvidia 2070, Kodi + External Player: MPC-HC with MadVR (for Blu-ray rips), Nvidia Shield (for streaming content)
tommarra is offline  
post #1037 of 1119 Old 06-17-2019, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
Makes sense. I wish Envy would be a more accessible price point


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I am hoping at least $1000-1500 less than the Lumagen. That's my sweet spot. But anything below that I will be very happy.
Killroy is offline  
post #1038 of 1119 Old 06-18-2019, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post
I am hoping at least $1000-1500 less than the Lumagen. That's my sweet spot. But anything below that I will be very happy.
That is still too expenensive. Isnt a Lumagen about 7-8K anyhow?

Gear: Fronts: B&W 803D3 | Center: B&W HTM2D3 | Surrounds: B&W 705S2 | Backs: B&W DM601S3 | Heights: Definitive Techonlogy ProCinema 1000 | Receiver & Amps: Anthem MRX 720 + Emotiva BasX-5 | Projector: JVC NX7 | Source: HTPC with Nvidia 2070, Kodi + External Player: MPC-HC with MadVR (for Blu-ray rips), Nvidia Shield (for streaming content)
tommarra is offline  
post #1039 of 1119 Old 06-18-2019, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 433 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
That is still too expenensive. Isnt a Lumagen about 7-8K anyhow?
That is MSRP...street price is far lower than that. Can't quote prices but estimate about 65% of MSRP is about right.
Killroy is offline  
post #1040 of 1119 Old 06-26-2019, 10:43 PM
Senior Member
 
the_jaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I was recently watching Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle in 4K (please don't question the choice of movie ). This is probably the 1st 4K movie that I am watching with Madvr (all the other content I have seen have been 1080P movies and 3D movies) on my JVC 540. The picture quality was great, but one thing that bothered me a lot was the jerky movement whenever the camera panned. The motion was not smooth at all. I have never seen this happen with non 4K content, so it must be a settings issue in my 4K profile. Please advise on what might be causing this issue and how do I go about fixing it?
the_jaguar is offline  
post #1041 of 1119 Old 06-27-2019, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 580
Post a picture of the OSD during playback (Ctrl + J) and the model of your graphics card.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #1042 of 1119 Old 06-27-2019, 05:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Back in January had some great help here setting up my madVR HTPC using Kodi with awesome results. (I use it with a JVC X970R).

But, I never really kept up with it and now some plaguing issues have crept back in, both hw and sw related, such as:

1. Some mkv files drop frames, but then later when I go back to play them at another time without changing any settings, they play fine.
2. My PSU has developed a noisy whine.
3. I'm still using a tower case I had kicking around, and now want to buy and build a proper HTPC horizontal case.
4. I never got my Harmony remote via FLIRC working.

The 1st issue is so common now, that I've re-added my old Oppo 203 back into the chain as a backup when the madvr doesn't work.

Anyways, I wanted to revisit the whole build and just wondering where to start at least from a madvr build and settings perspective?
Sittler27 is offline  
post #1043 of 1119 Old 06-27-2019, 06:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,514
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4648 Post(s)
Liked: 2945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sittler27 View Post
Back in January had some great help here setting up my madVR HTPC using Kodi with awesome results. (I use it with a JVC X970R).

But, I never really kept up with it and now some plaguing issues have crept back in, both hw and sw related, such as:

1. Some mkv files drop frames, but then later when I go back to play them at another time without changing any settings, they play fine.
2. My PSU has developed a noisy whine.
3. I'm still using a tower case I had kicking around, and now want to buy and build a proper HTPC horizontal case.
4. I never got my Harmony remote via FLIRC working.

The 1st issue is so common now, that I've re-added my old Oppo 203 back into the chain as a backup when the madvr doesn't work.

Anyways, I wanted to revisit the whole build and just wondering where to start at least from a madvr build and settings perspective?
1. So the fame drops that are intermittent are possibly an issue getting the file to the pc. Are files stored over network? When its dropping use ctrl+j and see if the queues are full or empty.

2. Replace the PSU

3. Just flip the tower on its side

4. Load flirc config app and you can use any remote signals to program the keyboard button equivalents. Is very simple nothing needs to really be done on harmony other than having some unique codes that get sent.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is online now  
post #1044 of 1119 Old 06-27-2019, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 580
If you are using Flirc with Kodi, you can get a headstart on a keymap by entering this device in the Harmony software:

Manufacturer: Flirc
Device: Kodi

The rest of the customization can be done with the Flirc software.

This thread doesn't relate directly to Flirc, but it can help you understand how you might design a keymap for Kodi:

HOW TO - Configure a Logitech Harmony Remote for Kodi
Onkyoman is offline  
post #1045 of 1119 Old 06-27-2019, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 111
when using madvr with mpc-hc for example, is it possible to only use madvr's hdr pass through option and nothing else madvr related? is it possible to turn everything off in madvr and only have it pass through hdr? or when using madvr there will always be at least some madvr rendering taking place? thanks!
aeneas01 is offline  
post #1046 of 1119 Old 06-27-2019, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1160 Post(s)
Liked: 426
it is technically not possible to do nothing with the image even HDR can't do 4:2:0 at 23 hz.

madVR is by default only scaling the chroma which has to be done and dithering it which again has to be done nothing else is done to the image by default.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #1047 of 1119 Old 06-27-2019, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 580
If select HDR passthrough and stick more or less to the defaults, you will get the most basic processing. You have to convert YCbCr to RGB on PC and the result of all the conversions should be dithered before it is sent to the GPU. That is not lossless, but the source isn't either.

Edit: I guess huhn answered before me.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #1048 of 1119 Old 06-27-2019, 05:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
it is technically not possible to do nothing with the image even HDR can't do 4:2:0 at 23 hz.

madVR is by default only scaling the chroma which has to be done and dithering it which again has to be done nothing else is done to the image by default.
i have a lumagen pro, i believe it was recommended that i send the hdr metadata to the lumagen and let it do the dithering and tone mapping, but madvr will do that too if hdr pass through is selected?
aeneas01 is offline  
post #1049 of 1119 Old 06-27-2019, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 580
It won't tone map if you select HDR passthrough. That is the textbook way to do it.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #1050 of 1119 Old 06-27-2019, 05:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1160 Post(s)
Liked: 426
madVR has to dither as i said it's technically not possible to not do it.

madVR will not tone map with pass through. not sure why someone would prefer a lumagen over madVR tone mapping but do as you please.
the spec of this thing look underwhelming to say it friendly.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off