madVR Player Support Thread - Page 53 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 224Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 1696 Old 11-03-2019, 09:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1357 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
There shouldn't be any performance difference for SDR content. So something is not working correctly.

Did you add a 3D LUT or change something? Post a screenshot of the OSD (Ctrl + J) during playback if you can't figure it out.
Figured it out - had the Luma doubling set to very high instead of high. it hadn't affected HDR material (which I understand now it wasn't even enacted on that material) so when I finally was upscaling some 1080p content I had dropped frames that I wasn't getting on HDR material.
Sittler27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 1696 Old 11-04-2019, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
dvzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 62
@Onkyoman I read a lot and have experimented with my JVC X570 last night with build 107b, what I cannot find an answer for... for HDR content projector switches to High brightness mode whenever HDR content is passed through to proj from the source. However if MadVR is doing all the tone-mapping to 709, am I correct that I no longer need to switch the project to High brightness but then how do I achieve the contrast that e.g. TV accomplishes by turning max brightness on. Sorry but I am a bit unclear. I keep reading though.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Click on madshi's profile name in the tone mapping thread and look through his past posts. Beta builds are released on an ongoing basis when he is active online.

If you want help with the test settings, the best you can do is to read the thread and copy a screenshot of someone else's settings.
dvzzz is offline  
post #1563 of 1696 Old 11-04-2019, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,935
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1134 Post(s)
Liked: 671
That is a bit complicated. I believe you need IP control of the projector to switch the lamp mode at playback start or you could use the same lamp mode for both HDR and SDR content. madVR's dynamic tone mapping should keep the brightness high enough to use low lamp mode.

There are three ways that I know of to change the lamp mode a JVC projector:

- With a purchased HDfury Vertex

- Using Markmon's JvcControl software
(This is how one user uses Markmon's software)

- With the simple HTPC Control utility found towards the middle of this post
Onkyoman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1564 of 1696 Old 11-04-2019, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 158
When using smooth motion for 24p material with the display at 60Hz, do render times still have to under 41ms?
Does frame blending not increase the fps of the video source?
noob00224 is online now  
post #1565 of 1696 Old 11-04-2019, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
dvzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Thank you! I will try with the Custom 1 gamma slot but instead of Import will use 2.4 Gamma. I am reading at AV Science that many use that with JVC projectors while lamp in low. Will switch to 109 tonight and see if stutter of 107b is going away wih 109 tone mapping.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
That is a bit complicated. I believe you need IP control of the projector to switch the lamp mode at playback start or you could use the same lamp mode for both HDR and SDR content. madVR's dynamic tone mapping should keep the brightness high enough to use low lamp mode.

There are three ways that I know of to change the lamp mode a JVC projector:

- With a purchased HDfury Vertex

- Using Markmon's JvcControl software
(This is how one user uses Markmon's software)

- With the simple HTPC Control utility found towards the middle of this post
dvzzz is offline  
post #1566 of 1696 Old 11-04-2019, 07:42 PM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,246
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
When using smooth motion for 24p material with the display at 60Hz, do render times still have to under 41ms?
Does frame blending not increase the fps of the video source?
There is no difference in render times, because the source frame rate does not change. I recommend anyone with an OLED try this
noob00224 likes this.

Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is online now  
post #1567 of 1696 Old 11-05-2019, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 3,030
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2383 Post(s)
Liked: 2243
Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
When using smooth motion for 24p material with the display at 60Hz, do render times still have to under 41ms?
Does frame blending not increase the fps of the video source?
I am only just getting started with MadVR and tone mapping using pixel shaders. But anytime average rendering time gets up to 40 ms or more I start getting a stuttering picture. I then change options until I get rendering time to average 35 ms or less.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral
claw is offline  
post #1568 of 1696 Old 11-05-2019, 10:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvzzz View Post
Thank you! I will try with the Custom 1 gamma slot but instead of Import will use 2.4 Gamma. I am reading at AV Science that many use that with JVC projectors while lamp in low. Will switch to 109 tonight and see if stutter of 107b is going away wih 109 tone mapping.
You can also try a gamma of 2.3. This is a nice curve between not to dark and not to light.
Reezepees is offline  
post #1569 of 1696 Old 11-07-2019, 03:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,585
Mentioned: 87 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1496 Post(s)
Liked: 2353
Question.

I am running a 2080TI. Which would be the better option..

#1 TRADE QUALITY FOR PEREFORMANCE, with "Comprimise HDR Lumenance for performance" in conjuction with CHROMA UPSCALING NGU Sharp VERY HIGH

OR

#2 TRADE QUALITY FOR PERFORMANCE "No Comprimise" in conjuction with CHROMA UPSCALING "NGU Sharp HIGH"

Thanks.
woofer is offline  
post #1570 of 1696 Old 11-07-2019, 03:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,935
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1134 Post(s)
Liked: 671
Get rid of very high chroma upscaling. It won't do anything to benefit image quality compared to the trade quality for performance checkbox.
woofer and dimi123 like this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #1571 of 1696 Old 11-07-2019, 03:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,585
Mentioned: 87 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1496 Post(s)
Liked: 2353
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Get rid of very high chroma upscaling. It won't do anything to benefit image quality compared to the trade quality for performance checkbox.
Thanks..
woofer is offline  
post #1572 of 1696 Old 11-08-2019, 05:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Icaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Can someone help me write a scaling profile rule?
I have a 2K panel, so I created two rules in the scaling profile, one for SDR video ("SDR to 1080p") and
one for HDR ("HDR to 1080p")
everything is working properly, but the problem is that there are some UHDs encoded in SDR,
for these titles I would like to create a rule that sets the "SDR to 1080p" profile and not the "HDR to 1080p"

these are the rules I use at the moment, and all UHDs are set to the profile "HDR to 1080p" :
Code:
if (srcWidth > 1920) "HDR to 1080p"
else if (srcWidth <= 1920) and (srcHeight > 1080) "HDR to 1080p"

else if (srcWidth > 1920) "SDR to 1080p"
else if (srcWidth <= 1920) and (srcHeight <= 1080) "SDR to 1080p"
Thanks

Sorry for my bad English
Epson LS10500 - AMD RX580 - LightSpace CMS

Last edited by Icaro; 11-08-2019 at 05:36 AM.
Icaro is offline  
post #1573 of 1696 Old 11-08-2019, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,292
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1268 Post(s)
Liked: 462
if (hdr == true) "HDR"
else "SDR"

didn't test it.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #1574 of 1696 Old 11-08-2019, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Icaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
if (hdr == true) "HDR"
else "SDR"

didn't test it.
I tried,
unfortunately it is not a valid rule

Sorry for my bad English
Epson LS10500 - AMD RX580 - LightSpace CMS
Icaro is offline  
post #1575 of 1696 Old 11-08-2019, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,935
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1134 Post(s)
Liked: 671
This usually works:

If (HDR) "Profile 1"
else "Profile 2"
neo_2009 likes this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #1576 of 1696 Old 11-08-2019, 07:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmonier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
if (hdr == true) "HDR"
else "SDR"

didn't test it.
if (hdr) "HDR"
else "SDR"

is the correct usage.
jmonier is online now  
post #1577 of 1696 Old 11-08-2019, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,292
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1268 Post(s)
Liked: 462
if (hdr == true)"HDR to 1080p"
else "SDR to 1080p"

i tested it it works i even changed the profile names to yours.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #1578 of 1696 Old 11-08-2019, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Icaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
if (hdr == true) "HDR"
else "SDR"

didn't test it.

Yes, it works!!!
I just had to modify it with the voices of my profiles:

Code:
if (hdr == true) "HDR to 1080p"
else "SDR to 1080p"

if (srcWidth > 1920) "HDR to 1080p"
else if (srcWidth <= 1920) and (srcHeight > 1080) "HDR to 1080p"

else if (srcWidth > 1920) "SDR to 1080p"
else if (srcWidth <= 1920) and (srcHeight <= 1080) "SDR to 1080p"

Thank you so much

Sorry for my bad English
Epson LS10500 - AMD RX580 - LightSpace CMS
Icaro is offline  
post #1579 of 1696 Old 11-08-2019, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,292
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1268 Post(s)
Liked: 462
you should remove this part:
Quote:
if (srcWidth > 1920) "HDR to 1080p"
else if (srcWidth <= 1920) and (srcHeight > 1080) "HDR to 1080p"

else if (srcWidth > 1920) "SDR to 1080p"
else if (srcWidth <= 1920) and (srcHeight <= 1080) "SDR to 1080p"
or you have to elseif it in and don't start it with an if. but you just said to us you want to use the SDR profile for none HDR content but this line "if (srcWidth > 1920) "HDR to 1080p"" will use HDR for everything that's bigger then 1920p and beware it stop checking as soon as a condition is true so it stops here: "if (hdr == true) "HDR to 1080p"
else "SDR to 1080p"" because one of the two is always true in this case the condition or "ELSE".
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #1580 of 1696 Old 11-08-2019, 10:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Does MadVR use a lot of energy or power ?


Like for example watts of electricity ?
ng4ever is online now  
post #1581 of 1696 Old 11-09-2019, 12:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,292
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1268 Post(s)
Liked: 462
madVR can't break the laws of thermodynamics.
if your GPU can use up to 250 watts like a 2080 ti can and you use setting in madVR that use this power then yes madVR could make your computer use up to about 300 watts.
ng4ever likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #1582 of 1696 Old 11-09-2019, 05:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,406
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5379 Post(s)
Liked: 3499
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer View Post
Question.

I am running a 2080TI. Which would be the better option..

#1 TRADE QUALITY FOR PEREFORMANCE, with "Comprimise HDR Lumenance for performance" in conjuction with CHROMA UPSCALING NGU Sharp VERY HIGH

OR

#2 TRADE QUALITY FOR PERFORMANCE "No Comprimise" in conjuction with CHROMA UPSCALING "NGU Sharp HIGH"

Thanks.
#2 has my vote here.
woofer likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #1583 of 1696 Old 11-09-2019, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,585
Mentioned: 87 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1496 Post(s)
Liked: 2353
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
#2 has my vote here.
Yep, i have settled on this... 2080TI even when O/Clocked cant run Chroma Upscaling Very High AND No Compromise...
woofer is offline  
post #1584 of 1696 Old 11-10-2019, 01:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Chroma high/super high, doesn't do anything you can see, why would you want it so high?
Reezepees is offline  
post #1585 of 1696 Old 11-10-2019, 01:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,292
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1268 Post(s)
Liked: 462
more important where comes this ngu sharp from for chroma?
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #1586 of 1696 Old 11-10-2019, 07:54 AM
Newbie
 
paza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hello,

I need help to find the best settings for madVr (MVr) + Dmitrirenderer (DR).

Initially, I only used MPC-BE and madVr (image and chroma upscale both set to NGU AA high), with upscaling enchantments (sharp, thin edges set to value one), artifacts options maxed out. No Trade for Performance option was selected.

The image was nice and sharp, but frame rendering was a mess(very jumpy/jittery at times), so I looked for frame interpolation software. I tried SVP but didn't like the result and then found Dmitri, which I think is the best possible interpolation option at the moment (still not perfect, further optimization for Turing coming soon, but very good in comparison to everything else).


The issue I have:

With GPU scaling set to 100% (in DR settings), I couldn't keep my madVR settings mentioned above, as it devours my GPU (EVGA Rtx 2070 Super). To my surprise, none of this is resource usage is passed to MVr OSD; rendering times seemed ok, but dropped frames are everywhere. So I had to lower MVr settings.

Currently, I have image and chroma upscale both set to NGU AA low), no upscaling enchantments, and no artifacts options selected. No Trade for Performance option chosen either.

Playback is smooth, but the image is (as expected) worse quality than before.



Any tips to increase performance with MVr plus DR combo? My PC settings are in the sig; the monitor is set on 60Hz/2160p.

HTPC
Asrock Killer Sli Z370, 9900k (5 Ghz OC), EVGA RTX 2070 Super (OC 150 core,500 Memory), Yamaha active monitors 5
BenQ PD2700U 27 inch 4K UHD IPS Monitor
paza is offline  
post #1587 of 1696 Old 11-10-2019, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by paza View Post
Hello,

I need help to find the best settings for madVr (MVr) + Dmitrirenderer (DR).

Initially, I only used MPC-BE and madVr (image and chroma upscale both set to NGU AA high), with upscaling enchantments (sharp, thin edges set to value one), artifacts options maxed out. No Trade for Performance option was selected.

The image was nice and sharp, but frame rendering was a mess(very jumpy/jittery at times), so I looked for frame interpolation software. I tried SVP but didn't like the result and then found Dmitri, which I think is the best possible interpolation option at the moment (still not perfect, further optimization for Turing coming soon, but very good in comparison to everything else).


The issue I have:

With GPU scaling set to 100% (in DR settings), I couldn't keep my madVR settings mentioned above, as it devours my GPU (EVGA Rtx 2070 Super). To my surprise, none of this is resource usage is passed to MVr OSD; rendering times seemed ok, but dropped frames are everywhere. So I had to lower MVr settings.

Currently, I have image and chroma upscale both set to NGU AA low), no upscaling enchantments, and no artifacts options selected. No Trade for Performance option chosen either.

Playback is smooth, but the image is (as expected) worse quality than before.



Any tips to increase performance with MVr plus DR combo? My PC settings are in the sig; the monitor is set on 60Hz/2160p.
By GPU scaling in DR do you mean Max GPU load?

Render times need to be under vsync value (in the OSD), not the frame value.

In Lav video, what is the Hardware decoder set to?

MPC version, LAV version, DR version, OS, x64 or x86 versions of all of these?

What are the other settings in the luma upscale? Screenshot would be easier.
Artifact removal>reduce ringing artifacts and reduce compression artifacts are higher resource consuming.

What resolution/framerate does the source video has?

In NVCP>Manage 3D settings>Power management mode>Prefer maximum performance


A full guide of madvr is here:
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=259188

LE:downscaling settings?
Is smooth motion enabled?

Last edited by noob00224; 11-10-2019 at 08:32 AM.
noob00224 is online now  
post #1588 of 1696 Old 11-10-2019, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
paza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hey there, thanks for the help. Here is the info requested:

Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
By GPU scaling in DR do you mean Max GPU load?
Yes. Max GPU load set to 100%.

Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
Render times need to be under vsync value (in the OSD), not the frame value.
Here are the results with monitor refresh rate set to 60hz, (image and chroma upscale both set to NGU AA low).

If I set the monitor refresh rate to 38Hz I can set image and chroma upscale to NGU AA medium. In that case my OSD looks like this.

I am not entirely sure, how should I set for my res, I go with 48Hz also.

Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
In Lav video, what is the Hardware decoder set to?
Here is the screenshot of my HW decoder settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
MPC version, LAV version, DR version, OS, x64 or x86 versions of all of these?
MPC-BE 1.5.4, LAV 0.74.1, DR 3.0.0.1 (with .dat file provided from the developer, as it required for Turing support), Win10 Pro.
Everything is 64bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
What are the other settings in the luma upscale? A screenshot would be easier.
Artifact removal>reduce ringing artifacts and reduce compression artifacts are higher resource consuming.


Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
What resolution/framerate does the source video has?
The majority of my videos are 1080p, with 23.97Fps. I also keep separate MadVr profiles for 720p and native 4k material.


Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
In NVCP>Manage 3D settings>Power management mode>Prefer maximum performance
Haven't tried this before, good advice, just set.


Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
Is smooth motion enabled?
No, I haven't used it since I started with DR.

If you see anything that could be fixed in my settings, please do tell, thanks in advance.

HTPC
Asrock Killer Sli Z370, 9900k (5 Ghz OC), EVGA RTX 2070 Super (OC 150 core,500 Memory), Yamaha active monitors 5
BenQ PD2700U 27 inch 4K UHD IPS Monitor
paza is offline  
post #1589 of 1696 Old 11-10-2019, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by paza View Post
Hey there, thanks for the help. Here is the info requested:



Yes. Max GPU load set to 100%.



Here are the results with monitor refresh rate set to 60hz, (image and chroma upscale both set to NGU AA low).

If I set the monitor refresh rate to 38Hz I can set image and chroma upscale to NGU AA medium. In that case my OSD looks like this.

I am not entirely sure, how should I set for my res, I go with 48Hz also.



Here is the screenshot of my HW decoder settings.



MPC-BE 1.5.4, LAV 0.74.1, DR 3.0.0.1 (with .dat file provided from the developer, as it required for Turing support), Win10 Pro.
Everything is 64bit.


The majority of my videos are 1080p, with 23.97Fps. I also keep separate MadVr profiles for 720p and native 4k material.




Haven't tried this before, good advice, just set.




No, I haven't used it since I started with DR.

If you see anything that could be fixed in my settings, please do tell, thanks in advance.

For LAV video settings try these settings:
https://www.avforums.com/attachments/01-jpg.1215647/

The developer said that DXVA2 (copy back) is supported, but works fine with D3D11. In some cases D3D11 has better render times.

In image downscaling SSIM 2D 100% is resource intensive. Try 1D.
Click scale chroma separately in trade quality for performance. For HDR compromise on HDR luminance channel quality can be clicked to save performance.



It's said that when interpolating a multiple of the video frame rate is preferred, however to me it's fine at 60Hz. The higher the better.


There is no card that can handle madvr will full settings, so compromises have to be made. The link above to the kodi forum has a guide with what everything does and the computational cost.
At the very least I would not let luma upscale at low.
Chroma upscale can be kept at low, unless a different algorithm is used.

To find out how much GPU power each process (in madvr) consumes, create a folder called ShowRenderSteps in the madvr folder. No need to put anything it, just open the OSD and it will show the details.

LE: try ordered dithering in madvr.
paza likes this.

Last edited by noob00224; 11-10-2019 at 10:45 AM.
noob00224 is online now  
post #1590 of 1696 Old 11-10-2019, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 158
@paza

try ordered dithering in madvr.

The main algorithm resources should be put in is luma upscale. Set it to medium/high, and add whatever you prefer for the remaining GPU power.
paza likes this.
noob00224 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off