madVR Player Support Thread - Page 65 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 253Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1921 of 1933 Old 01-09-2020, 06:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by catav View Post
I run Windows 7 on my MadVR HTPC. Don't know if going to the latest Windows 10 release would help or not for your issue. You'd have to be the judge on that one. Also I would install latest GPU driver just to have all bases covered.
I see. I am using Windows 10 Home 64-bit (10.0, Build 18362) (18362.19h1_release.190318-1202) and the latest Nvidia driver 26.21.0014.4187.

Thanks again for your help catav!
catav likes this.
Ardour is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1922 of 1933 Old 01-09-2020, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Casey_Bryson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Thanks for all your help guys I guess it's completely normal to have double frame/200%, because after I reset MPC-HC and chose to open everything full screen it now "works" but has similar behavior with the default option of "MPC HC>View>Video Frame>Touch Windows from inside". I guess it just renders it differently on the screen according to the orignal file resolution--so a 1920x1080 file shows up as a quarter of the size I expect it to be when 100% is selected or 1:1. It's all a bit confusing/double talk and not sure why there are so many options to derive at the same thing.

At any rate my question is answered and I'm happy to state I'm upscaling to 3840x2160 (same as ever) thanks again!
Casey_Bryson is offline  
post #1923 of 1933 Old 01-09-2020, 05:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,790
Mentioned: 119 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5679 Post(s)
Liked: 3734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_Bryson View Post
Thanks for all your help guys I guess it's completely normal to have double frame/200%, because after I reset MPC-HC and chose to open everything full screen it now "works" but has similar behavior with the default option of "MPC HC>View>Video Frame>Touch Windows from inside". I guess it just renders it differently on the screen according to the orignal file resolution--so a 1920x1080 file shows up as a quarter of the size I expect it to be when 100% is selected or 1:1. It's all a bit confusing/double talk and not sure why there are so many options to derive at the same thing.

At any rate my question is answered and I'm happy to state I'm upscaling to 3840x2160 (same as ever) thanks again!
Do you have DPI scaling enabled in the desktop display properties? Perhaps that's being used when in windowed mode.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1924 of 1933 Old 01-09-2020, 06:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 952 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by hasta666 View Post
I had to go back to dumb mode for tone mapping with Gemini Man and I have an RTX 2080 Ti...
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
I'm pretty sure other guys will also report back, since this is the first (?) real movie in 59p. (In my case lav is set to dx11 native, chroma is set to bicubic60, nothing else is used. )
Madshi said, HSTM performance can be brought to pretty close to when it's not used, but who knows.
About your other idea, I'm pretty sure no one will like it
Low 30's (GTX1060) with highlight recovery on high, shadow boost low, HSTM on, color tweaks off, reduce banding artifacts medium, chroma upscale on Sharp Low, Image downscaling SSIM 1D 100% LL AR, dithering ED2, compromise on HDR luminance on. D3D11 in LAV.

LE:
The frame rate on GM is 59.40fps, which means the render times need to be under 16.68ms.
On the GTX1060 this can be achieved with: highlight recovery off (even low takes it over 16.68), HSTM on, color tweaks off, reduce banding artifacts medium, chroma upscale on Sharp Low, Image downscaling SSIM 1D 100% LL AR, dithering ED2, compromise on HDR luminance clicked, scale chroma separately clicked. D3D11 in LAV. (Scenario 1)
For extra sharpening, which is what highlight recovery sort of did, LumaSharpen from image enhancements can be used. Used 1.15 LumaSharpen. (Scenario 2)
Around 14ms with this configuration.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
I have all the tone mapping and HSTM enabled on my GTX 1080 and I only turned downscaling to DXVA and chroma upscaling to bicubic and it’s running fine at 9-12ms.
With color tweaks disabled, highlight recovery strength High, shadow boost low, HSTM on, chroma upscaling Bicubic60, image downscaling DXVA2, everything else off, compromise on HDR luminance clicked, scale chroma separately unclicked the result is 25ms. (Scenario 3).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GM Scenario 1.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	1.28 MB
ID:	2667662   Click image for larger version

Name:	GM Scenario 2.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	1.30 MB
ID:	2667664   Click image for larger version

Name:	GM Scenario 3.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	1.23 MB
ID:	2667666   Click image for larger version

Name:	GM 2 Scenario 1.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	1.09 MB
ID:	2667668   Click image for larger version

Name:	GM 2 Scenario 2.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	1.15 MB
ID:	2667670  

Click image for larger version

Name:	GM 2 Scenario 3.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	1.16 MB
ID:	2667672  

Last edited by noob00224; 01-10-2020 at 03:28 PM.
noob00224 is offline  
post #1925 of 1933 Old 01-09-2020, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,374
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1319 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_Bryson View Post
Thanks for all your help guys I guess it's completely normal to have double frame/200%, because after I reset MPC-HC and chose to open everything full screen it now "works" but has similar behavior with the default option of "MPC HC>View>Video Frame>Touch Windows from inside". I guess it just renders it differently on the screen according to the orignal file resolution--so a 1920x1080 file shows up as a quarter of the size I expect it to be when 100% is selected or 1:1. It's all a bit confusing/double talk and not sure why there are so many options to derive at the same thing.

At any rate my question is answered and I'm happy to state I'm upscaling to 3840x2160 (same as ever) thanks again!
you don't have to do that you just have to press the left mouse 2 times on the video.
Casey_Bryson likes this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #1926 of 1933 Old 01-11-2020, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: China
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Custom timing has always been a difficult thing on my HTPC for various reasons, but a new difficulty has just appeared and I am wondering if anybody has ever experienced this: no matter how long I play a movie, under the tab custom modes, the current mode always displays "unknown timing details". In the past, I used to see "optimization data available" after playing a video for 10 minutes or so. Now, there is no more "optimization data available" showing up, even after watching a 2 hours long movie with no interruption. Any clues?

Last edited by stef2; 01-11-2020 at 11:25 AM.
stef2 is online now  
post #1927 of 1933 Old 01-12-2020, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
3DBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1105 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Help, all I want to do is use MadVR to enhance some .mts 1080x30p SBS video from a Panasonic 3D1 ( the small 3D camera) and output it to a mpr4 file or similar so I can edit it for a bluray. The original video is too soft, though the MPOs are great! Thanks for any insite on madvR or any other software. I can play it using MPC-HC with MadVR plugin (which is great!), but no way to output it.
3DBob is online now  
post #1928 of 1933 Old 01-12-2020, 04:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 952 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DBob View Post
Help, all I want to do is use MadVR to enhance some .mts 1080x30p SBS video from a Panasonic 3D1 ( the small 3D camera) and output it to a mpr4 file or similar so I can edit it for a bluray. The original video is too soft, though the MPOs are great! Thanks for any insite on madvR or any other software. I can play it using MPC-HC with MadVR plugin (which is great!), but no way to output it.
Madvr can't re encode files, it processes them live.

There are probably many way to convert a mts to mp4, I used Format Factory:
https://www.google.com/search?source...10.1-8jSucr1_w

Maybe tsMuxeR?
noob00224 is offline  
post #1929 of 1933 Old 01-18-2020, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 952 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morphx2 View Post
Oh thanks for the big reply. My only question was if the hdr to sdr moved somewhere else. It used to be under HDR tab in an older version but now I dont see the conversion option anymore after installing the new beta.

It looked fantastic though when I tried it last night with HDR to SDR. But that option isn't there any more from what I can see in the latest beta.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
It's definitely there.
You could try to delete the settings settings.bit file and use restore.default.settings.bat after copying the settings you already have.
And move it out of Program Files if it's still there.
Then reinstall madvr.
noob00224 is offline  
post #1930 of 1933 Old 01-18-2020, 03:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Morphx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
It's definitely there.
You could try to delete the settings settings.bit file and use restore.default.settings.bat after copying the settings you already have.
And move it out of Program Files if it's still there.
Then reinstall madvr.
Thanks for everything! I'll give it a shot. Makes me want to get an htpc now. I was bringing my desktop downstairs to try

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Morphx2 is offline  
post #1931 of 1933 Old 01-18-2020, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 952 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morphx2 View Post
Thanks for everything! I'll give it a shot. Makes me want to get an htpc now. I was bringing my desktop downstairs to try

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
The two most important settings that need to be set before HDR, besides knowing the screen's nits, is color space, color spectrum and gamma.
Do you have a light meter or a colorimeter to measure screen nits?

There is an link in the guide Choosing a Gamma Curve that will expand on the gamma curve for HDR.
Or just put 2.2 or 2.4 in everything (madvr and projector) to start.
noob00224 is offline  
post #1932 of 1933 Old 01-19-2020, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Iowa
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Does Calibration tab option: “calibrate this display by using external 3DLUT files”, work okay with the new beta HSTM processing?
catav is offline  
post #1933 of 1933 Old 01-19-2020, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,374
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1319 Post(s)
Liked: 475
if you make sure the 3D LUT outputs gamma 2.2 yes.
i don't see a reason why this should not be the case ever.
catav likes this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off