Guide: Building a 4K HTPC for madVR - Page 161 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1197Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4801 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Okay, so I tried setting up my first profile. I named it 1080p24, and used the settings from the guide. Does it look like the settings are kicking in when I play a 1080p movie? Did I make the profile correctly? The only thing I'm not sure of, is if I need to make the 1080p profile in the other settings, when I adjusted them. Some settings were in Scaling Algorithms, and the others were in Rendering. Do I need to make a 1080p profile in Rendering too?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

I'm not sure why there is that second folder that says "profile 1" on the left panel in your settings? It should be directly under 1080p24.

But maybe it still works. What you want to do is close the madvr settings, and play a 1080p video. Once you do that open the madvr settings and the word "1080p24" will be in bold showing that it is actively being used.

You made that extra folder so maybe "profile 1" will be in bold.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4802 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Here's a screenshot of the upscaling page. One more question that maybe you can help with. I have some 3D rips that are 1080p. My Epson 5050 won't engage the 3D mode when it's fed a 2160p signal. I can change the main resolution in Kodi to 1080p, and that works. My question would be, am I messing anything up by setting Kodi to 1080p, as opposed to 2160, which I normally did?

You need to make profiles for every section that you want to have custom settings per resolution. So yes make a profile under rendering as well.

There's nothing wrong with setting Kodi to 1080p as you have madvr adjusting the resolution for playback. But you'd need to somehow prevent madvr from upscaling those 3d movies to 2160.

Your render times on that screen shot are really low. Which is great but means you can still but up some settings the GPU isn't being used much.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #4803 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
I'm not sure why there is that second folder that says "profile 1" on the left panel in your settings? It should be directly under 1080p24.

But maybe it still works. What you want to do is close the madvr settings, and play a 1080p video. Once you do that open the madvr settings and the word "1080p24" will be in bold showing that it is actively being used.

You made that extra folder so maybe "profile 1" will be in bold.
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
You need to make profiles for every section that you want to have custom settings per resolution. So yes make a profile under rendering as well.

There's nothing wrong with setting Kodi to 1080p as you have madvr adjusting the resolution for playback. But you'd need to somehow prevent madvr from upscaling those 3d movies to 2160.

Your render times on that screen shot are really low. Which is great but means you can still but up some settings the GPU isn't being used much.
Profile 1 is bold with 1080p and 3D rips. If i'm looking at the 3D rip OSD correctly, it doesn't look like the 3D rip was being upscaled. I could be reading it wrong though. I don't know why Profile 1 was created. I only created 1080p. As far as bumping up my settings, to get the most out of my GPU, which settings would benefit the most getting bumped up?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3d.PNG
Views:	38
Size:	749.3 KB
ID:	2750664  
biglen is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4804 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Profile 1 is bold with 1080p and 3D rips. If i'm looking at the 3D rip OSD correctly, it doesn't look like the 3D rip was being upscaled. I could be reading it wrong though. I don't know why Profile 1 was created. I only created 1080p. As far as bumping up my settings, to get the most out of my GPU, which settings would benefit the most getting bumped up?

If it's working then great! You might not even need to make a 4k profile, it should use the default settings if not 1080p.

As far as upping the settings I would probably Max out the using stuff and see what it can handle. It might not make a huge difference but why not. Or if you're happy just leave it alone.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #4805 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
If it's working then great! You might not even need to make a 4k profile, it should use the default settings if not 1080p.

As far as upping the settings I would probably Max out the using stuff and see what it can handle. It might not make a huge difference but why not. Or if you're happy just leave it alone.
Max out the using stuff? What do you mean by that? Also, in the guide, there are settings for a HDR profile. I already have a profile for 2160p, so wouldn't there be a conflict with the settings, when I play a 2160 HDR movie?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #4806 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Auto correct. I meant upscaling settings.

Those are just the HDR settings not necessarily a profile. But if you also have a 2160p settings then be sure to add those hdr settings to it. You'll have to be sure you have a profile group for 2160p where the HDR settings are.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #4807 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Auto correct. I meant upscaling settings.

Those are just the HDR settings not necessarily a profile. But if you also have a 2160p settings then be sure to add those hdr settings to it. You'll have to be sure you have a profile group for 2160p where the HDR settings are.
Hmmmmm. Something isn't right. When I play a 4k HDR movie, the 1080p profile is bold, and the movie is really choppy. How do I get it so 4k HDR doesn't use the 1080p profile? That's where I'm not understanding profiles. How does each video type, know which profile to use ?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #4808 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Hmmmmm. Something isn't right. When I play a 4k HDR movie, the 1080p profile is bold, and the movie is really choppy. How do I get it so 4k HDR doesn't use the 1080p profile? That's where I'm not understanding profiles. How does each video type, know which profile to use ?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

When you make the profile you add the info that says something like "if less than 24fps"

Someone posted it for you somewhere, I'm on a phone currently don't know where it was. Post a screen shot of the page where you made the 1080p profile.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #4809 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
When you make the profile you add the info that says something like "if less than 24fps"

Someone posted it for you somewhere, I'm on a phone currently don't know where it was. Post a screen shot of the page where you made the 1080p profile.
This is the profile I made. I don't think I'm doing it right. Mybe I'm making things more difficult than they need to be? I just want MadVR for upscaling 1080p movies, 4k movies, and dynamic tone mapping. Do I need profiles for that?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1080p settings.PNG
Views:	31
Size:	141.4 KB
ID:	2750676  
biglen is online now  
post #4810 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Sorry I bailed from madvr like 6 months ago so nothing to look at here.

I was referring to the screen where you put all the profiles. I would go back to the Kodi guide as far as setting them up. You should get a green check mark when they're set up right

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #4811 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Say this point I think I'm just confusing things more than anything.

Profiles were quite a pain for me as well. Info out there is not super clear.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #4812 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 10:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Sorry I bailed from madvr like 6 months ago so nothing to look at here.

I was referring to the screen where you put all the profiles. I would go back to the Kodi guide as far as setting them up. You should get a green check mark when they're set up right
That's okay. When you mentioned resolutions, I remembered this part in the guide. I copy and pasted that string, got the green check mark, and now everything seems to be playing correctly.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #4813 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 11:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Yes that's what I mean. Glad it's working. And remember I think you need to do that for each category in madvr if you want to have profiles, ie rendering and scaling.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #4814 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Yes that's what I mean. Glad it's working. And remember I think you need to do that for each category in madvr if you want to have profiles, ie rendering and scaling.
So that string gets pasted into Rendering, and then in Processing? That's how MadVR would know to link those options to my particular Profiles that I set up in Scaling, right?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #4815 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
So that string gets pasted into Rendering, and then in Processing? That's how MadVR would know to link those options to my particular Profiles that I set up in Scaling, right?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

Yes you have to do each section individually if you want profiles. When you make profiles for scaling it only affects the scaling settings.
biglen likes this.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #4816 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
So that string gets pasted into Rendering, and then in Processing? That's how MadVR would know to link those options to my particular Profiles that I set up in Scaling, right?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
You just repeat the process for each section if you want to have profiles for a given section. Or "groups" I guess is the technical name.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mad1.PNG
Views:	48
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	2750778   Click image for larger version

Name:	mad2.PNG
Views:	48
Size:	38.0 KB
ID:	2750780  

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #4817 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 03:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Yes you have to do each section individually if you want profiles. When you make profiles for scaling it only affects the scaling settings.
Okay, thank you so much. I'm starting to now understand how profiles work. The copy and paste string is the key to getting all the different settings to link to each other. I'm assuming MadVR automatically uses the hdr settings under my 5050 automatically, when it sees an HDR movie being played? That's not actually a "profile", right?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

Last edited by biglen; 06-29-2020 at 03:09 PM.
biglen is online now  
post #4818 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Okay, thank you so much. I'm starting to now understand how profiles work. The copy and paste string is the key to getting all the different settings to link to each other.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
And you can get as specific or as general as you want, for instance some people like to do
720p25, 720p29, 720p60 in scaling. But then in a section like rendering you may just have a profile for 720p.

You can really tweak as much or as little as you want to get the most out of it.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #4819 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
And you can get as specific or as general as you want, for instance some people like to do

720p25, 720p29, 720p60 in scaling. But then in a section like rendering you may just have a profile for 720p.



You can really tweak as much or as little as you want to get the most out of it.
Gotcha. I edited my last post asking you about the hdr settings under my projector. Am I correct in how I understand it?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #4820 of 4897 Old 06-29-2020, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,565
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Gotcha. I edited my last post asking you about the hdr settings under my projector. Am I correct in how I understand it?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
Yeah thats how I understand it, I have never done any there. It looks like you can but I think it is smart enough to know the difference.
biglen likes this.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #4821 of 4897 Old 06-30-2020, 12:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Profile 1 is bold with 1080p and 3D rips. If i'm looking at the 3D rip OSD correctly, it doesn't look like the 3D rip was being upscaled. I could be reading it wrong though. I don't know why Profile 1 was created. I only created 1080p. As far as bumping up my settings, to get the most out of my GPU, which settings would benefit the most getting bumped up?
Would you mind sharing what software, video card and driver version you’re using to play 3D rips? I’m having a hard time getting my full HD 3D rips to play back with MadVR (they just play back as side by side).
filmgeek47 is offline  
post #4822 of 4897 Old 06-30-2020, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmgeek47 View Post
Would you mind sharing what software, video card and driver version you’re using to play 3D rips? I’m having a hard time getting my full HD 3D rips to play back with MadVR (they just play back as side by side).
I just opened the 3D movie in Kodi 17.7 Better GUI, using DSPlayer for the default player. My GPU is a RTX2060 Super. All of my 3D rips are side by side, so maybe that's why it's working for me?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
biglen is online now  
post #4823 of 4897 Old 06-30-2020, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
I just opened the 3D movie in Kodi 17.7 Better GUI, using DSPlayer for the default player. My GPU is a RTX2060 Super. All of my 3D rips are side by side, so maybe that's why it's working for me?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
Ah. Yeah, frame packed 3D is a bit more complicated. Thanks for the reply though.
filmgeek47 is offline  
post #4824 of 4897 Old 06-30-2020, 08:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 4
What 4K drive does everyone like ?
Aceman2101 is offline  
post #4825 of 4897 Old 06-30-2020, 11:46 AM
Member
 
reebok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aceman2101 View Post
What 4K drive does everyone like ?
https://makemkv.com/forum/viewforum....a79d98a41737d9
Aceman2101 likes this.
reebok is offline  
post #4826 of 4897 Old 06-30-2020, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by reebok View Post

Ok really stupid question, does madvr only work with rips or does it work on both
Aceman2101 is offline  
post #4827 of 4897 Old 06-30-2020, 12:06 PM
Member
 
reebok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aceman2101 View Post
Ok really stupid question, does madvr only work with rips or does it work on both
what do you mean both? are you talking about UHD discs? the first page of this thread talks about those.
reebok is offline  
post #4828 of 4897 Old 06-30-2020, 12:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by reebok View Post
what do you mean both? are you talking about UHD discs? the first page of this thread talks about those.

Yes discs.
Aceman2101 is offline  
post #4829 of 4897 Old 06-30-2020, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,665
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1373 Post(s)
Liked: 1032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aceman2101 View Post
Yes discs.
madVR doessn't care what it's playing. It's the media player that either supports discs or not.

But yes, you can use media players directly with discs with the right software. Typically RedFox AnyDVD HD.
Aceman2101 likes this.
SirMaster is offline  
post #4830 of 4897 Old 06-30-2020, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I am going to order another card and give this another try. The shield performance is not acceptable. Up-scaling creates lots of artifacts. Playing the same film on a 1080p screen with a 590ti looks worlds better than the same film on a 4K C8 65in through the shield.

When playing other films through the 1660ti on my HTPC, I was getting way too much stuttering with the 1660ti. I am considering a 2060 super or a 2070 Super for $90 more to see if they can accomplish the look I am going for. Both cards are stretching my budget a bit, but I want to use a lot of artifact removal. I want to remove ringing effects and banding. I would like to get the nice smooth pic I get on my 1080 with a 590ti card. For me smoothness and lack of motion artifacts are a priority. Trying these settings on the 1660ti caused it to get very loud. After reading SirMaster say

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
In my opinion yes. I bought an RTX 2060 for my own system for a reason as it lets me do everything quality wise that I can see.

Other people I'm sure have other opinions.

Even the GTX 1060 in my laptop I can do all the tone-mapping options with no compromise performance for quality options. I just have to take Chroma scaling down to bicubic and dithering down to ordered in order to make frame time.

I thought a 2060 super would be enough, but others say you need more.

I can buy a 2060 Super for $359 or a 2070 Super for $449. I would much rather spend less if the performance is not going to be affected, but not if it is going to cause frustration with a loss of quality. I don't know if the 2070 S is so much better that it would allow me to upgrade my settings. Please advise. I have to buy today. Got a special deal that ends.

Last edited by esumsea; 06-30-2020 at 01:18 PM.
esumsea is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
htpc build , madvr

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off