Guide: Building a 4K HTPC for madVR - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 927Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 3667 Old 12-11-2016, 11:38 AM
Member
 
Iggy SLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
You are using software decoding so the CPU is used exclusively to decode the video. As stated, you need a GPU with an HEVC decoder to play those files smoothly.
Ah okay, got it now, thanks.

Are there even any GPUs with such capabilities on the market yet?
Iggy SLO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 3667 Old 12-11-2016, 11:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,832
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1540 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy SLO View Post
Are there even any GPUs with such capabilities on the market yet?
All the Nvidia Pascal cards. GTX 1060, 1070, 1080.
neo_2009 and Iggy SLO like this.
dwaleke is offline  
post #153 of 3667 Old 12-11-2016, 04:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 3,276
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1243 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtscribe View Post
I don't use MadVR, but I'd think it would still be acceptable to run Power DVD if/when we get UHD for PC, no?
To be honest, not sure why you'd pose that question in this thread about MadVR if you don't intend to use it. Also, just quietly, I'd say along with probably all us here, for the little bit of work setting up and no extra cost, it's a huge waste not to employ MadVR on any HTPC these days. In regards to the future scenario of UHD disc playback on PC, I think it's a little unwise to guesstimate the minimum hardware requirements that no one has yet seen, so a bit hard for me to encourage you.
OzHDHT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #154 of 3667 Old 12-12-2016, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VideoGrabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I'm not completely sure which kind of GPU is needed to do 1080p -> 4K upscaling. Of course much depends on which NGU quality level you're aiming at.
Something I've been wondering about: Is it possible to roughly guesstimate madVR capability, based on GPU metrics? E.g., 768 CUDA cores, 1300 MHz core clock, 4 GB 128-Bit GDDR5, on a PCI-E 3.0 bus?

Or ramping that up to 1152 CUDA cores, 1500 MHz core clock, 3 GB 192-bit GDDR5? Those are basically non-overclocked GTX 1050 Ti vs. 1060, respectively. The 1050 Ti is attractive due to its low 75W TDP, vs. the 120W TDP of the 1060 cards. (less heat = less noise in an HTPC environment) Though the thermal-cost ratio of 1.6x is significantly less than the potential performance increment (~2.6x).


My other key question involves the difficulty of processing different types of source inputs. In my own case, the bulk of what I have (90+%) is either high-quality Blu-ray (~30 Mbit, 1080p/24, MPEG4), which we've been discussing here as a good match for NGU. OR moderate-quality, early-day C-band sourced (~17-19 Mbit, 1080i/60, MPEG2) content (on DVHS tapes), before they cranked up the compression knob. I assume that the later might take more work to clean and upscale to 4K, because it would likely have more artifacts that one would like to reduce. And because deinterlacing adds it's own overhead burden. Since this will be viewed on an 8.5-ft wide screen from a 10-ft distance (a relatively immersive 46-degree FOV), the improvements that madVR can provide should be readily apparent. But the expectations for the later would obviously be less than for the former.
VideoGrabber is offline  
post #155 of 3667 Old 12-13-2016, 12:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,840
Mentioned: 568 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2726 Post(s)
Liked: 3811
You can use game performance as an estimated performance measurement for madVR. The higher game performance is, the better usually also madVR performs. However, Polaris GPUs currently clearly underperform with NGU, for unknown reasons. Hopefully a future driver might fix that.

Bitrate doesn't matter to madVR. However, frame rate (after deinterlacing) matters a lot. 60fps consumes 2.5x as much GPU power as 24fps. However, if you engage forced film mode in madVR for your DVHS tapes, you'll end up with 1080p24. If you use DXVA deinterlacing, you might get anything between 1080p24 and 1080p60, depending on the DVHA encoding and the GPU driver.
VideoGrabber and baniels like this.
madshi is online now  
post #156 of 3667 Old 12-13-2016, 10:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VideoGrabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Bitrate doesn't matter to madVR.
Right. I mentioned it though because the lower-rate MPEG2 might be assumed to suffer more from artifacts than the higher-rate MPEG4. And thus require more madVR processing elements to be enabled to overcome that.

Quote:
However, frame rate (after deinterlacing) matters a lot. 60fps consumes 2.5x as much GPU power as 24fps. However, if you engage forced film mode in madVR for your DVHS tapes, you'll end up with 1080p24. If you use DXVA deinterlacing, you might get anything between 1080p24 and 1080p60, depending on the DVHA encoding and the GPU driver.
All the MPEG2 film content originated at 24p, and had 3:2 pulldown employed to shift it to 60i. That shouldn't require much to reverse, back to 1080p24. Your comments though certainly do apply to any video-sourced content, such as music/video concerts, for example. Those would require more horsepower to render smoothly (60i-to-60p). But they're definitely in the minority.

So is it possible to predict how 768 CUDA cores, 1300 MHz core clock, 4 GB 128-Bit GDDR5, on an x16 PCIe 3.0 bus would be able to handle the MPEG4/MPEG2 scenarios being discussed? Or, not so much.
VideoGrabber is offline  
post #157 of 3667 Old 12-14-2016, 01:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,840
Mentioned: 568 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2726 Post(s)
Liked: 3811
I don't have every GPU on the market to test with, and even if I had, I wouldn't have the time to run the tests. So I can't really say.

As I said, if you turn forced film mode on in madVR, all telecined 60i sources are turned into 24fps. So there's no difference for madVR performance between 1080i60 movies and 1080p24, as long as you use forced film mode. Currently there's no compression artifact removal algorithm in madVR (other than debanding), so the quality/bitrate of the source doesn't matter for performance atm.
VideoGrabber and OzHDHT like this.
madshi is online now  
post #158 of 3667 Old 12-14-2016, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VideoGrabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 324
I had asked:

> So is it possible to predict how 768 CUDA cores, 1300 MHz core clock, 4 GB 128-Bit GDDR5, on an x16 PCIe 3.0 bus would [perform]...

And the answer to that is apparently, 'no'.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Currently there's no compression artifact removal algorithm in madVR (other than debanding), so the quality/bitrate of the source doesn't matter for performance atm.
This is good to know. I was unaware of that. Thanks!
VideoGrabber is offline  
post #159 of 3667 Old 12-14-2016, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,840
Mentioned: 568 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2726 Post(s)
Liked: 3811
Of course I might add such an algo in the future.
Mikenificent1 likes this.
madshi is online now  
post #160 of 3667 Old 12-14-2016, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 458
a GTX 960 can do NGU high for FHD -> UHD with a 23p source so a 1050 TI should be fine for this too.

NGU needs notable more Vram i would avoid a 3GB card but i can't test this right now i don't have access to a video card with more than 2 GB Vram.
VideoGrabber likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #161 of 3667 Old 12-14-2016, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VideoGrabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
a GTX 960 can do NGU high for FHD -> UHD with a 23p source so a 1050 TI should be fine for this too.
Sounds like good news.

Quote:
NGU needs notable more Vram i would avoid a 3GB card but i can't test this right now i don't have access to a video card with more than 2 GB Vram.
The 1050 Ti cards I was looking at were all 4GB. It was the GTX 1060 cards posing the 3GB/6GB dilemma.
VideoGrabber is offline  
post #162 of 3667 Old 12-15-2016, 05:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VideoGrabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I don't have every GPU on the market to test with, and even if I had, I wouldn't have the time to run the tests. So I can't really say.
Completely understandable. However, would it be possible to comment on VRAM requirements, which should be GPU independent?

The initial Guide that Onkyoman assembled here in Post #1 (great job, BTW!), indicated:

Quote:
Video RAM of 4GB may be necessary for 4K UHD playback, while 2GB of RAM is suitable for 1080p screens.
which doesn't really address the issue of upscaling 2K content to 4K, which potentially could be more or less RAM intensive than 4K passthrough?

Also, mightyhuhn has cautioned here several times against relying on only 2GB for this purpose, and even questioned whether 3GB may be inadequate as well.

It would be extremely helpful to have this question of 2, 3, or 4GB addressed, if you can do so.
VideoGrabber is offline  
post #163 of 3667 Old 12-15-2016, 06:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 458
most ram is used for the rendered frames.

so it doesn't really matter if the source is SD or UHD for that buffer same for present in advanced buffer.
next problem the OS. i have 250- 450 mb Vram usages on the desktop using UHD at this time of writing it is 375 mb and other settings like a 3D LUT.

at the moment i have a 960 2 GB in that system. it is not possible to use NGU with that card when i try to scale to UHD and the card is already set to use as little Vram in madVR as possible and without NGU is is barely below 2GB. BTW these settings break deinterlacing in madVR it simply doesn't work properly with lowered render queues at 4 (the default is 8).

here a simply screen to show you how high the Vram usages gets with NGU super sampling at 1080p: https://abload.de/img/nguhighsupersampling20uu9.png

2 GB is not enough for NGU UHD and that's for sure!
VideoGrabber likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #164 of 3667 Old 12-15-2016, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VideoGrabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
most ram is used for the rendered frames.
That's what I would have assumed, but there may be other things grabbing large chunks. Though just 1 GB of VRAM should hold 32 frames, right? How far ahead is it necessary to buffer?

Quote:
at the moment i have a 960 2 GB in that system. it is not possible to use NGU with that card when i try to scale to UHD and the card is already set to use as little Vram in madVR as possible and without NGU is is barely below 2GB. BTW these settings break deinterlacing in madVR it simply doesn't work properly with lowered render queues at 4 (the default is 8).

here a simply screen to show you how high the Vram usages gets with NGU super sampling at 1080p: https://abload.de/img/nguhighsupersampling20uu9.png
That's good to know. And thanks for taking the time to provide the picture!
VideoGrabber is offline  
post #165 of 3667 Old 12-15-2016, 12:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 458
a decode 4:2:0 8 bit 1080p frame is about 3 MB.
a rendered RGB UHD screen with 16 bit is about 48 mb
a PC doesn't use RGB it is using RGBA so a RGBA 16 bit frame is about 64 mb. shader are using Vram for example NGU is using a lot.

so don't try to calculate it
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #166 of 3667 Old 12-15-2016, 12:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I am currently using an HTPC setup with a EVGA GTX1060SC as my gpu. I have the HTPC connected to a 50" Hisens H8C. On MadVR I have HDR setup as passthru, however I am not getting HDR to display properly on MPC w/Mad VR. I am using a test the following file: Mad Max Fury Road 2160p HEVC BT2020 .mkv file (56.2GB). Using TV and Video app on windows 10 produces weird color-banding on the HDR, playing off of USB directly to the TV *(which is using some sort of HiMedia Player app/hardware) seems to be the best. I do not like this setup because I prefer to have my movies cataloged in Kodi. The only confirmation I have that HDR is working via HDMI is that I tried ShadowWarriors 2 and it activated and played HDR content. Some test videos (LG Chess) played to my memory well on the native Windows 10 tv/video app but not on MPC w/MadVR. What do you guys suggest? Is MPC the best setup for my media watching? Is this setup good for upscaling 1080p conent as well?
Bryan Zamora is offline  
post #167 of 3667 Old 12-15-2016, 12:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 458
HDR path through doesn't tell the TV that the signal is HDR you have to manually enable HDR on your TV to make that work but meta data is not send to the TV.

it is all written under this option.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #168 of 3667 Old 12-15-2016, 01:03 PM
 
David Lorrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Zamora View Post
I am currently using an HTPC setup with a EVGA GTX1060SC as my gpu. I have the HTPC connected to a 50" Hisens H8C. On MadVR I have HDR setup as passthru, however I am not getting HDR to display properly on MPC w/Mad VR. I am using a test the following file: Mad Max Fury Road 2160p HEVC BT2020 .mkv file (56.2GB). Using TV and Video app on windows 10 produces weird color-banding on the HDR, playing off of USB directly to the TV *(which is using some sort of HiMedia Player app/hardware) seems to be the best. I do not like this setup because I prefer to have my movies cataloged in Kodi. The only confirmation I have that HDR is working via HDMI is that I tried ShadowWarriors 2 and it activated and played HDR content. Some test videos (LG Chess) played to my memory well on the native Windows 10 tv/video app but not on MPC w/MadVR. What do you guys suggest? Is MPC the best setup for my media watching? Is this setup good for upscaling 1080p conent as well?

Mad Max Fury Road 2160p HEVC BT2020 .mkv file (56.2GB) is an illegal rip of the movie ( and not the real bt2020 and hdr ).
Nobody is going to help you playing illegal files.
David Lorrain is offline  
post #169 of 3667 Old 12-15-2016, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Mighty...thanks for the info...HDR is enabled on the tv through the "enable enhanced hdmi" but at this moment, US models do not have any way to acknowledge that HDR content is being displayed. When i get home i will re-read the thread again...David, thanks for policing. Our options for obtaining UHD HDR content on a htpc is limited at this moment and constrained by the same industry you pretending to protect. Good job.
Bryan Zamora is offline  
post #170 of 3667 Old 12-16-2016, 10:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,910
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 660
Wait...UHD Blu-ray rips are now possible? What software is responsible for this?
Onkyoman is offline  
post #171 of 3667 Old 12-16-2016, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 458
it doesn't have to be on a disc so it could be ripped.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #172 of 3667 Old 12-16-2016, 01:10 PM
 
David Lorrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Wait...UHD Blu-ray rips are now possible? What software is responsible for this?
It's an HDMI capture re-encoded to HEVC / HDR and BT2020.
1:1 rip is NOT possible yet.
David Lorrain is offline  
post #173 of 3667 Old 12-16-2016, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Wait...UHD Blu-ray rips are now possible? What software is responsible for this?
I can confirm that yes, HDR works on that re-encoded file..however, the movie did have some exaggerated colors when it came to explosions, the nightmare scene and some others looked off. The only way to know for sure is to test against an actual UHD blu-ray and compare.
Bryan Zamora is offline  
post #174 of 3667 Old 12-17-2016, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Chipless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 77
This seems like a good place to ask this question given the topic of the posts over the last week or so:

I'm attempting to design/build my first dedicated HTPC (currently using Macbook Pro Mid 2014 booted up in Windows 7 Pro /w MadVR, Kodi, and Reclock to watch Bluray rips). My current display is a 2008 Panasonic Plasma, but I will be getting a new HDR 4K display in 6-8 months. So, I won't have a need to play UHD/HDR 4K content for at least the next 6 months, and in fact, the Macbook works just fine for my needs, but I am sick of using my primary laptop as my HTPC (constantly connecting/disconnecting after rebooting to Windows OS is getting old).

Should I build a HTPC now without a GPU in order to allow prices to drop and technology to improve related to UHD/HDR 4k over the next 6+ months and then drop a GPU in at the time I get a new display? If so, is there a safe bet now for a CPU and mobo? Which ones?

Or, are we unlikely to see much improvement/cost savings over the next 6-7 months related to GPUs that are UHD/HDR capable? If so, which current GPU seems to be the best bet for the playback of eventual UHD 1:1 rips and upscaling of standard 1080p Blurays using optimal MadVR settings?

Thanks for any insight you are able to provide!
Chipless is offline  
post #175 of 3667 Old 12-17-2016, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,840
Mentioned: 568 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2726 Post(s)
Liked: 3811
I don't think there will be much GPU progress in the next 6-8 months. If I were shopping for a GPU now I'd get an NVidia 1050, 1060 or 1070, depending on how much money you want to spend. Make sure you have at least 3GB VRAM, or better yet 4GB. And don't get a Polaris, they perform really bad when using madVR's latest NGU resolution doubling algorithm.
VideoGrabber, dwaleke and axell like this.
madshi is online now  
post #176 of 3667 Old 12-17-2016, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
stm69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Have been catching on this thread - appreciate all the great and recent info.

Right now I have an older HTPC that I am looking to upgrade. The signal path is to a HDMI 1.4 receiver and then to a JVC RS400 with e-shift. My library is mainly 1080p blu-ray rips. I am looking for something that will optimize movie playback via MadVR as well as take me into the 4K era.

I'm thinking about getting a hdfury splitter to separate the video and audio chains. I see some discussion on how the JVC projector might benefit from having MadVR do the 1080p->4k upscaling and turning e-shift off. I'm also interested in testing some of the advanced items like BT2020, HDR, etc...

I am thinking about a 1050 ti. CPU is an older AMD and running Windows 7 (need WMC for encrypted cable). Any ideas if that's sufficient?

stm69 is offline  
post #177 of 3667 Old 12-17-2016, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 458
e shift results in a real UHD image i don't know why you want to disable it.
the hdfury splitter doesn't make any sense for me.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #178 of 3667 Old 12-18-2016, 08:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmonier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
You can use game performance as an estimated performance measurement for madVR. The higher game performance is, the better usually also madVR performs. However, Polaris GPUs currently clearly underperform with NGU, for unknown reasons. Hopefully a future driver might fix that.
I'm not sure if it is what you're referring to (and I'm not the first to discover this), but the "Optimal" Power Management Mode (in Manage 3D Settings) has a very bad performance hit. Changing to "Prefer Maximum Performance" (or, I believe, "Adaptive") fixes the problem. (At least, it did for me.)
jmonier is offline  
post #179 of 3667 Old 12-18-2016, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,840
Mentioned: 568 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2726 Post(s)
Liked: 3811
Nope, that's a completely different problem. Polaris is just extremely slow at running NGU resolution doubling, regardless of power settings.
madshi is online now  
post #180 of 3667 Old 12-18-2016, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,910
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1119 Post(s)
Liked: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by stm69 View Post
Have been catching on this thread - appreciate all the great and recent info.

Right now I have an older HTPC that I am looking to upgrade. The signal path is to a HDMI 1.4 receiver and then to a JVC RS400 with e-shift. My library is mainly 1080p blu-ray rips. I am looking for something that will optimize movie playback via MadVR as well as take me into the 4K era.

I'm thinking about getting a hdfury splitter to separate the video and audio chains. I see some discussion on how the JVC projector might benefit from having MadVR do the 1080p->4k upscaling and turning e-shift off. I'm also interested in testing some of the advanced items like BT2020, HDR, etc...

I am thinking about a 1050 ti. CPU is an older AMD and running Windows 7 (need WMC for encrypted cable). Any ideas if that's sufficient?
I'd go with the GTX 1060 to be safe.
VideoGrabber likes this.
Onkyoman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
htpc build , madvr

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off