Guide: Building a 4K HTPC for madVR - Page 62 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 789Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1831 of 3051 Old 01-09-2019, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
No key. No selecting Stop, Return, etc. When I play a file using MPC-BE/HC launched from KODI 18, the player(s) AUTOMATICALLY close and I'm returned to KODI in focus ready for its next command. The same should be true for you depending how you've set things up. I use a single remote for every aspect of my home theatre - Harmony 900. I have no use for flirc or anything else. Not sure why you do? In any event, you could map Alt + F4 to kill the program in focus and in your case that would be MPC-BE although as stated, you shouldn't need to.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1832 of 3051 Old 01-09-2019, 08:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 660
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 227
FLIRC covers all my needs, is cheap, and can be used with any remote.

The keys Command to close MPC-BE is Ctrl+X, so i mapped a Key to this command, and it works as expected.
meles likes this.
neo_2009 is offline  
post #1833 of 3051 Old 01-09-2019, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
That's great but as I stated, the player will auto close and return you to KODI in focus without the need for anything like flirc. You make it sound like a requirement when all you have to do is make a setting in MPC-BE to automate it for you. Then whatever remote control you're using and software like flirc isn't even part of the equation. I thought I'd be kind and offer you a better solution but if you prefer presenting things to be impossible without buying something like flirc and it's the answer to your problem, it comes off like a bad sales pitch imo whether it is or not. Just sayin'...

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1834 of 3051 Old 01-09-2019, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
MordredKLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
That's great but as I stated, the player will auto close and return you to KODI in focus without the need for anything like flirc.
I do have the situation that about 33% of the time, when I stop a video, MPC-BE closes, but Kodi does not get brought to the front again. I have to get my mouse and click on the Kodi icon, to get it to appear. Any idea why that is?

I think it could easily be fixed in EventGhost, but I haven't bothered yet.
MordredKLB is offline  
post #1835 of 3051 Old 01-09-2019, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Way too many variables. Without giving at least a hint of things associated with your environment, guessing would be futile. For starters, are you using official KODI or a fork? Is KODI adjusted to use fullscreen? If you have to select the icon with your mouse, KODI was not left in focus when you placed MPC on top of it. KODI was minimized or something strange moved KODI instead of leaving it alone. Why that is only you know. EventGhost is yet another band-aid for an incorrect setup imo unless your special use case goes beyond my own and I'm unaware of some circumstance requiring it that can't be eliminated using a different approach to accomplish the same thing and probably more.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #1836 of 3051 Old 01-09-2019, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
MordredKLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 25
This seems like a pretty good deal on a 6GB 1060, right? I'm interested in the Asus because of the smaller form factor and the price. Any reason not to get this card for HTPC use (no gaming)?

Last edited by MordredKLB; 01-09-2019 at 11:23 AM.
MordredKLB is offline  
post #1837 of 3051 Old 01-09-2019, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
MordredKLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
Way too many variables. Without giving at least a hint of things associated with your environment, guessing would be futile. For starters, are you using official KODI or a fork? Is KODI adjusted to use fullscreen? If you have to select the icon with your mouse, KODI was not left in focus when you placed MPC on top of it. KODI was minimized or something strange moved KODI instead of leaving it alone. Why that is only you know. EventGhost is yet another band-aid for an incorrect setup imo unless your special use case goes beyond my own and I'm unaware of some circumstance requiring it that can't be eliminated using a different approach to accomplish the same thing and probably more.
It's official Kodi, nothing special. I'm only using EventGhost for launching specific applications, it's not currently involved in this process at all. Kodi opens in fullscreen, and is minimizing itself when MPC-BE launches. I don't recall any setting telling it do that specifically. Again, the majority of the time, it restores the window when MPC-BE closes. I just don't know why sometimes it can't do that.
MordredKLB is offline  
post #1838 of 3051 Old 01-09-2019, 12:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 660
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
That's great but as I stated, the player will auto close and return you to KODI in focus without the need for anything like flirc. You make it sound like a requirement when all you have to do is make a setting in MPC-BE to automate it for you. Then whatever remote control you're using and software like flirc isn't even part of the equation. I thought I'd be kind and offer you a better solution but if you prefer presenting things to be impossible without buying something like flirc and it's the answer to your problem, it comes off like a bad sales pitch imo whether it is or not. Just sayin'...
I'm not discarding the information you provided, i just don't have enough Kodi knowledge to "discuss" it

I assumed that in order to use a "regular" Remote with Kodi, i would need an IR receiver or something similar.
FLIRC seemed the simplest, and error proof solution, and it would allow me to use an existent remote, or a simple cheap one.

I installed Kodi 18 RC4 and MPC-BE, and configured an old remote using the FLIRC Kodi profile. Everything worked correctly, except when using the STOP command, the video would stop, but MPC-BE remained open. From your responses, i assume the problem may be some missing configuration, or some error from my part.

I'm trying this on a laptop with an Intel HD5500 while waiting for all the components to build the HTPC.

Thank you for your help!
neo_2009 is offline  
post #1839 of 3051 Old 01-09-2019, 07:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 0
KODI 18.x has mayor problems with external player handling ever since. Guess they still didn't fixed it all.
Mount81 is offline  
post #1840 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 03:38 AM
Senior Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
I'm not sure why 2.40 was producing the best result on the two displays I've tested, but it does seem to work that way.
Yep, the gamma 2.4 (vs 2.2) is the big difference.
Although I didn't have time to test 2.2 more but I still like the result of 2.4 better.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #1841 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 05:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_2009 View Post
FLIRC covers all my needs, is cheap, and can be used with any remote.

The keys Command to close MPC-BE is Ctrl+X, so i mapped a Key to this command, and it works as expected.
I also program Stop and Close to use the same key command. There may be a checkbox in MPC-BE to make it close automatically on stop, but there is nothing wrong with that approach.
neo_2009 likes this.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #1842 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 05:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
That's great but as I stated, the player will auto close and return you to KODI in focus without the need for anything like flirc. You make it sound like a requirement when all you have to do is make a setting in MPC-BE to automate it for you. Then whatever remote control you're using and software like flirc isn't even part of the equation. I thought I'd be kind and offer you a better solution but if you prefer presenting things to be impossible without buying something like flirc and it's the answer to your problem, it comes off like a bad sales pitch imo whether it is or not. Just sayin'...
Flirc is just an IR receiver similar to a WMC MCE IR receiver. It is different because it comes with its own software to program commands similar to the Harmony remote software. But many people use Flirc with a Harmony remote. You can do your programing with a combination of the Harmony software and Flirc software. The end result will be fairly identical to a standard IR receiver with a Harmony remote.

The appeal of Flirc is that they are cheap and more predictable in terms of build quality than buying an MCE IR receiver off of eBay. But they are basically one and the same. And Flirc can be programmed to use just about any remote.
meles likes this.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #1843 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 06:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Honestly, I lost interest in upgrading anything (I mean: everything! ), I just want to use what I have until something truly remarkable come (qled maybe?), since every display technology bears its cross.
HDMI 2.1 and displays that can reach 4,000 nits without tone mapping would interest me. It would be nice to profile an HDR display with a static curve without any tone mapping. Tone mapped HDR is fine, but it isn't how HDR was intended to be presented. Current HDR content is graded to a lower brightness to satisfy the limitations in peak brightness of current flat panels. But HDR is not really HDR until there are displays that can display the original EOTF curve without compressing it.

I would like more contrast on both of my displays. Current VA panels have a native black level of 0.02-0.03 cd/m2 with added local dimming and OLEDs have an infinite contrast ratio. That is better than what I am using.

I already have a plasma with some burn-in from video games. I can't see it when watching content, but I got sick of always having to babysit what is shown on the display for long periods of time. So, for me, OLED technology is not a viable option. It is nice to be able to leave the desktop on the screen for several hours and not have to think about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Don't you have anybody in the nearby who has an i1 Display Pro to borrow it for a week? That would be the easiest solution.
That is actually a good idea. I'll have to put some thought into that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Have you tested with this HDR-10 calibration and test patterns set? (There's a Black level setup included.)
I have used those same patterns. The 8-bit/10-bit combined pattern clips perfectly when I set madVR to 2.40, so I see no reason to change it. Half the screen is black when set to 2.20.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
It's interesting that you say this, because that's what I think as well, but Manni has a completely different opinion. I'll ask about this in the doom9 thread.
As was suggested, you could see if enabling gamma processing and telling madVR to convert to 2.40 before reaching the 3D LUT provides any improvement. I think madVR should convert to 2.40 rather than 2.20 in this scenario.
chros73 likes this.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #1844 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 06:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
without the actual display response you are not really comparing anything.

with 2.4(and no other gamma setting used) under this screen is calibrated to madVR will change the 2.4 to 2.2 to match the original brightness of the HDR stream or in short it will lower the gamma. so without the sceens gamma it's not really possible to judge this.
The display is not a perfectly flat 2.20, but it is close enough. I get black crush at 2.20 and I'm not the only one. NEO-XP has taken more screenshots of madVR's HDR -> SDR conversion than anyone else and his 2.20 display also crushes black at 2.20.

I posted an entire image gallery of HDR -> SDR tone mapping. None of those images look odd, to me. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
BTW. after 5 years you can easily consider a normally used TV uncalibrated.
That is indeed a good reason to consider recalibrating.

Last edited by Onkyoman; 01-10-2019 at 06:14 AM.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #1845 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sittler27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Flirc is just an IR receiver similar to a WMC MCE IR receiver. It is different because it comes with its own software to program commands similar to the Harmony remote software. But many people use Flirc with a Harmony remote. You can do your programing with a combination of the Harmony software and Flirc software. The end result will be fairly identical to a standard IR receiver with a Harmony remote.

The appeal of Flirc is that they are cheap and more predictable in terms of build quality than buying an MCE IR receiver off of eBay. But they are basically one and the same. And Flirc can be programmed to use just about any remote.
Does it need to be point to point (i.e. in a usb port in line of sight with the remote control?)?

I only have active usb ports in the back of my case, so that's why I'm asking.
Sittler27 is offline  
post #1846 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 06:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Yes, line of sight would be important. You can use a USB extension cable to get around this.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #1847 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
As was suggested, you could see if enabling gamma processing and telling madVR to convert to 2.40 before reaching the 3D LUT provides any improvement. I think madVR should convert to 2.40 rather than 2.20 in this scenario.
Maybe you missed the other post above I've written, take a look back.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #1848 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
I was saying it might be possible to convert to 2.40 before reaching the 3D LUT by enabling gamma processing.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #1849 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
I was saying it might be possible to convert to 2.40 before reaching the 3D LUT by enabling gamma processing.
but what you like to get out of this? the 3D LUT expects 2.2 as an input so if it's target is 2.4 you would end up with something around 2.6.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #1850 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
His original 3D LUT was 2.40.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #1851 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 423
then that would results around 2.6 with gamma processing of 2.4
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #1852 of 3051 Old 01-10-2019, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mount81 View Post
KODI 18.x has mayor problems with external player handling ever since. Guess they still didn't fixed it all.

Like what? I know from your posts in the KODI forum you have a pop-error "Press OK when Playback has ended" but only you have it. You will get that error if you have the player open before you start a title in KODI. KODI starts the external player(s) automatically. You will also get it if not using fullscreen KODI adjustment. You might also get it when not using official KODI or modifying your own playercorefactory.xml incorrectly. I also remember you mentioning something about using KODI for Android instead of Windows although I have no idea how you could be using external players with Android. I've mentioned some bugs throughout KODI v.18 LEIA development that have all been addressed. Now is the time to present the "mayor" - I assume you meant 'major' problems with external player handling that hasn't been fixed, while v.18 is in RC before the final is released.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #1853 of 3051 Old 01-13-2019, 04:16 AM
Senior Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 105
I checked BT.2390 vs gamma 2.2/2.4 in HCFR, this is how they look like (the yellow lines represent the measured gamma 2.2/2.4).
100% white is 120 cd/m2 and 20% white is 3.5 cd/m2 !
Gamma 2.2 is close till 20% but after that neither of them are close to BT.2390.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lum-bt2390-vs-gamma22-capture_007_12012019_230903.png
Views:	30
Size:	71.3 KB
ID:	2510146   Click image for larger version

Name:	lum-bt2390-vs-gamma24-capture_009_12012019_231800.png
Views:	27
Size:	100.8 KB
ID:	2510148   Click image for larger version

Name:	gamma-bt2390-vs-gamma22-capture_006_12012019_225714.png
Views:	23
Size:	71.9 KB
ID:	2510150   Click image for larger version

Name:	gamma-bt2390-vs-gamma24-capture_005_12012019_225322.png
Views:	24
Size:	71.7 KB
ID:	2510152  

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #1854 of 3051 Old 01-13-2019, 04:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 0
brazen1: So you say that KODI 18.x has never-ever had any issues with external player handling? KODI Forum is full of the complains regarding, and as far as I can remember it concerned all of the platforms, not just Android. Maybe they're now mostly ironed-out, don't know for sure as I don't follow up 18.x that closely (I'm still fine with 17.6 as I only use it as a media browser for my stock external player, and yes all this on Android). So, sorry if they're really not related, I was just presuming from my previous info's and I've just mentioned that as a possible root of the issue. (And it has nothing to do with that pop-up message on Android, it's a completely different "issue", rather something that KODI Team doesn't want to "fix" intentionally, by whatever reasons they've got in their minds.)

Last edited by Mount81; 01-13-2019 at 04:58 AM.
Mount81 is offline  
post #1855 of 3051 Old 01-13-2019, 05:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
I checked BT.2390 vs gamma 2.2/2.4 in HCFR, this is how they look like (the yellow lines represent the measured gamma 2.2/2.4).
100% white is 120 cd/m2 and 20% white is 3.5 cd/m2 !
Gamma 2.2 is close till 20% but after that neither of them are close to BT.2390.
Can't really learn much from those graphs. But you can't say one gamma is better than the other. Did you test with madVR set to clipping?
Onkyoman is online now  
post #1856 of 3051 Old 01-13-2019, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
you can't say one gamma is better than the other.
That's my point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Did you test with madVR set to clipping?
Where/when? I don't understand the question

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #1857 of 3051 Old 01-14-2019, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
I meant did you try setting the tone mapping curve in madVR to "clipping" and the target nits to 120?

The last person who tried BT.2390 also failed to get accurate tracking. I'm guessing 20% stimulus is the uncompressed range and the rest is the roll-off. That same person was getting much better accuracy tracking original PQ values.
chros73 likes this.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #1858 of 3051 Old 01-14-2019, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 660
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Is there any consensus regarding the best OS for madVR? Win 10 or Win 8.1?
I have valid licences for both (win 10 and Win 8.1 N), so i can choose the one that's considered better for madVr.
neo_2009 is offline  
post #1859 of 3051 Old 01-14-2019, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 423
according to madshi 8.1.
neo_2009 likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #1860 of 3051 Old 01-14-2019, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_2009 View Post
Is there any consensus regarding the best OS for madVR? Win 10 or Win 8.1?
I have valid licences for both (win 10 and Win 8.1 N), so i can choose the one that's considered better for madVr.
There's no issue with Win10 either *if* you disable all kinds of upgrades: driver, feature and possibly security ones as well (The latter can be manually enabled when you feel the eager to do so for the time being.)
To be able to do this you need at least the Pro version.
Another concern can be telerimetry, to minimize its effect you need one of the Enterprise versions.
All the above can be disabled via group policy in the mentioned versions.

I was also "scared" of Win10 because of the above stuff (AMD stopped providing drivers for Win8).
But once you know which one to use there's no problem with it. See my signature what I use: that's best out of all of them for everything

(Today's world is all about spying on citizens: on desktop, on mobile, on the street, at your home via smart TVs, Alexa, facebook, fingerprint scanner/face recognition in your mobile, ID chips under your skin, etc. just to mention a few. You get the picture And this is not just about one corporation... If one think to get around this by not using those devices, think again: 5G, smart meters and the rest of the upcoming sh*t. This is a coordinated attack against everybody...
Hence M$, either, doesn't want you to use its OS in the good old way.)

(As it turned out there's one more version and that would be the best (it's like LTSB but there's no telerimetry in it!), but it's not available for us, its name is: Chinese Government version! )

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros73; 02-01-2019 at 02:28 AM.
chros73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
htpc build , madvr

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off