Guide: Building a 4K HTPC for madVR - Page 88 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 941Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2611 of 3728 Old 04-26-2019, 09:10 AM
Member
 
laggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Hmm, I am not having any stuttering on my RTX 2060 with the new 430 drivers FWIW.


Can you post your madvr settings? I have a 2080 and I've tried everything and can't get it to stop stuttering.
Thanks
laggs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2612 of 3728 Old 04-26-2019, 09:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
KanosWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by laggs View Post
Can you post your madvr settings? I have a 2080 and I've tried everything and can't get it to stop stuttering.
Thanks
I am having stuttering too. If i switch back to the default enhanced video renderer everything plays fine (albeit no MadVR). Worked fine before, I didn't make any changes to the MadVR settings. just updated my geforce driver. I have a 1660TI btw. I have tried everything I can think of.. its dropping no frames, turned off as much as a I could just to test as well.. no difference. Tried direct3d 9 mode, 11 mode, exclusive mode, non exclusive.. makes no difference... and again, worked fine before last driver update.. guess I can try rolling back.

UPDATE: Rolled back to the last driver release, 425.31-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql, issue is no longer present. No more stutter, no changes to settings... Looks like something in the latest 430.39 driver broke MadVR.
SuperFist and magicj1 like this.

Last edited by KanosWRX; 04-26-2019 at 09:54 AM.
KanosWRX is offline  
post #2613 of 3728 Old 04-26-2019, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
coxy2416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by KanosWRX View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by laggs View Post
Can you post your madvr settings? I have a 2080 and I've tried everything and can't get it to stop stuttering.
Thanks
I am having stuttering too. If i switch back to the default enhanced video renderer everything plays fine (albeit no MadVR). Worked fine before, I didn't make any changes to the MadVR settings. just updated my geforce driver. I have a 1660TI btw. I have tried everything I can think of.. its dropping no frames, turned off as much as a I could just to test as well.. no difference. Tried direct3d 9 mode, 11 mode, exclusive mode, non exclusive.. makes no difference... and again, worked fine before last driver update.. guess I can try rolling back.

UPDATE: Rolled back to the last driver release, 425.31-desktop-win10-64bit-international-whql, issue is no longer present. No more stutter, no changes to settings... Looks like something in the latest 430.39 driver broke MadVR.
Now a days I will only update if there is a new feature that I require. I am of the mindset of “if it’s not broke it doesn’t require fixing”.
markmon1, SuperFist and chros73 like this.
coxy2416 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2614 of 3728 Old 04-27-2019, 03:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
you are not using overlay you are using d3d11 FSE.

@markmon1
the composition rate is the "refresh rate" runs at. this is oversimplified.
the first row shows the display refreshrate(GPU video clock) relative to the system clock.
it'S a bug as old as vista which was totally fixed in win 8. there is a reason win 8 is repeatedly recommended by the creator of madVR.
Now I got the Win 7 overlay correct. It help a lot as you can see.

Is there any down side using this? Change in picture or any thing?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	win 7 overlay.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	186.3 KB
ID:	2558786   Click image for larger version

Name:	windows 7 overlay.JPG
Views:	60
Size:	106.4 KB
ID:	2558870  

Last edited by Klaus.S; 04-27-2019 at 04:18 AM.
Klaus.S is offline  
post #2615 of 3728 Old 04-27-2019, 04:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It could be nice with a evaluation of my settings. GPU> RTX 2080

I have made two profiles under scaling. Made one for 1080p and for 2160p.
With these settings, rendering times for 1080p is 22-23, 2160p 34-35

The settings here is not with the windows 7 overlay @mightyhuhn recommended. This is the settings I have used for some time. Still got alot to learn about all this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0.JPG
Views:	84
Size:	82.1 KB
ID:	2558812   Click image for larger version

Name:	1.JPG
Views:	85
Size:	102.7 KB
ID:	2558814   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.JPG
Views:	81
Size:	99.0 KB
ID:	2558816   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.JPG
Views:	82
Size:	122.5 KB
ID:	2558818   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.JPG
Views:	79
Size:	79.2 KB
ID:	2558820  

Click image for larger version

Name:	5.JPG
Views:	78
Size:	131.1 KB
ID:	2558822   Click image for larger version

Name:	6.JPG
Views:	74
Size:	85.2 KB
ID:	2558824   Click image for larger version

Name:	7.JPG
Views:	74
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	2558826   Click image for larger version

Name:	8.JPG
Views:	74
Size:	101.6 KB
ID:	2558828   Click image for larger version

Name:	9.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	87.6 KB
ID:	2558830  

Click image for larger version

Name:	10.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	115.2 KB
ID:	2558832   Click image for larger version

Name:	11.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	76.0 KB
ID:	2558834   Click image for larger version

Name:	12.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	105.3 KB
ID:	2558836   Click image for larger version

Name:	13.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	111.0 KB
ID:	2558838   Click image for larger version

Name:	14.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	105.5 KB
ID:	2558840  

Click image for larger version

Name:	15.JPG
Views:	66
Size:	130.4 KB
ID:	2558842   Click image for larger version

Name:	16.JPG
Views:	68
Size:	111.2 KB
ID:	2558844   Click image for larger version

Name:	17.JPG
Views:	66
Size:	106.5 KB
ID:	2558846   Click image for larger version

Name:	18.JPG
Views:	69
Size:	105.4 KB
ID:	2558848   Click image for larger version

Name:	19.JPG
Views:	69
Size:	125.5 KB
ID:	2558850  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20.JPG
Views:	66
Size:	106.9 KB
ID:	2558852   Click image for larger version

Name:	21.JPG
Views:	65
Size:	115.4 KB
ID:	2558854   Click image for larger version

Name:	22.JPG
Views:	66
Size:	99.2 KB
ID:	2558856   Click image for larger version

Name:	23.JPG
Views:	66
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	2558858   Click image for larger version

Name:	24.JPG
Views:	63
Size:	88.6 KB
ID:	2558860  

Click image for larger version

Name:	25.JPG
Views:	68
Size:	81.3 KB
ID:	2558862   Click image for larger version

Name:	26.JPG
Views:	68
Size:	98.0 KB
ID:	2558864   Click image for larger version

Name:	27.JPG
Views:	68
Size:	103.5 KB
ID:	2558866   Click image for larger version

Name:	28.JPG
Views:	69
Size:	139.8 KB
ID:	2558868  
_mulder and mikela like this.

Last edited by Klaus.S; 04-27-2019 at 08:40 AM.
Klaus.S is offline  
post #2616 of 3728 Old 04-27-2019, 04:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1265 Post(s)
Liked: 462
win 7 overlay is limited to 8 bit and you can't screenshoots the rest is just beneficial.
i wouldn't be shocked if overlay renderer would be the default rendering mode if AMD would finally support it.


edit: so that's the result of data base not responding well...
edit2: that was fixed fast.
Klaus.S likes this.

Last edited by mightyhuhn; 04-27-2019 at 07:49 PM.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #2617 of 3728 Old 04-28-2019, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,934
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1134 Post(s)
Liked: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus.S View Post
It could be nice with a evaluation of my settings. GPU> RTX 2080

I have made two profiles under scaling. Made one for 1080p and for 2160p.
With these settings, rendering times for 1080p is 22-23, 2160p 34-35

The settings here is not with the windows 7 overlay @mightyhuhn recommended. This is the settings I have used for some time. Still got alot to learn about all this.
I don't see anything odd about the screenshots you posted. For your 2160p profile, you should be able to get improved performance by using D3D11 Native hardware decoding in LAV Video rather than DXVA2 (copy-back). This might allow you to bump up some of your other settings in madVR.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #2618 of 3728 Old 04-28-2019, 09:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
I don't see anything odd about the screenshots you posted. For your 2160p profile, you should be able to get improved performance by using D3D11 Native hardware decoding in LAV Video rather than DXVA2 (copy-back). This might allow you to bump up some of your other settings in madVR.

Thanks for answer.

I have change from RTX 2080 to automatic in the red cirkel. That is what you did mean?

1080p I could go very high I guess, but think I was reading something about problems in very high?

What do people prefer in 2060p under chroma upscaling. Anti Alias or Sharp?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lavfilter.JPG
Views:	60
Size:	219.8 KB
ID:	2559392  
Klaus.S is offline  
post #2619 of 3728 Old 04-28-2019, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,934
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1134 Post(s)
Liked: 671
Yes, you don't want to select your device when using D3D11 decoding as you get slower copy-back decoding rather than the faster Native.

There are no problems with using very high upscaling if your card can handle it. It is actually the "best" setting available.

I think anything could serve a suitable upscaler for chroma upscaling. I don't know if there is necessarily a "best" setting there.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #2620 of 3728 Old 04-28-2019, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,934
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1134 Post(s)
Liked: 671
Yes, you don't want to select your device when using D3D11 decoding as you get a slower copy-back decoding rather than the faster Native.

There isn't anything wrong with using very high upscaling. It is considered the "best" setting available. I'm not sure there is a best setting for chroma upscaling, so many choices would do.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #2621 of 3728 Old 04-28-2019, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
gworrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Detroit
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
You can dump windows 10 for $110 and download it straight off microsoft's website. Then buy a system builder's license off ebay. These are usually $20-30 and they ship you the certificate of authenticity and email you the code for immediate install. The 2080 won't let you max all madVR settings, but it should be good enough for now. Nothing that exists can actually max madVR right now.
Any Windows 7 product key will work to activate Windows 10. Not sure if they will work if the PC is still being used, but if you have an old case or PC with a Win7 Product key label, you can use it and it will activate. The version must match so if it is a Windows 7 Pro key then you must use Windows 10 Pro. Earlier keys, like Windows XP or Vista will not work. I've also bought Win 10 product keys on eBay for as cheap as $2.00 that have worked fine. Not sure how legitimate they are, but no problem activating them. Even though the formal "free" period for Windows 10 ended a couple of years ago, Microsoft still seems more than willing to give it away.
gworrel is online now  
post #2622 of 3728 Old 04-28-2019, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
gworrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Detroit
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus.S View Post
Thanks for answer.

I have change from RTX 2080 to automatic in the red cirkel. That is what you did mean?

1080p I could go very high I guess, but think I was reading something about problems in very high?

What do people prefer in 2060p under chroma upscaling. Anti Alias or Sharp?
I recently bought a JVC RS400 and I am new to 4K though I have been using Jriver with MadVR for years. Your earlier screen shots of all your settings were very helpful for me to copy to get me started. There is so much information in the multiple threads it is difficult to know where to start. Some of the Jriver MadVR guides are several years old. I have an RTX2060 and your settings pushed it to 94% in task manager. I don't know if that is a problem. Where is this last screen shot from? Is this from your player or am I just missing it in MadVR?
gworrel is online now  
post #2623 of 3728 Old 04-28-2019, 01:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Yes, you don't want to select your device when using D3D11 decoding as you get slower copy-back decoding rather than the faster Native.

There are no problems with using very high upscaling if your card can handle it. It is actually the "best" setting available.

I think anything could serve a suitable upscaler for chroma upscaling. I don't know if there is necessarily a "best" setting there.
Really weird thing as happend.

I did a restore settings on madvr. The reason was because I would make a new clock deviation measure. I did the first measure on HTPC > PC monitor. But my real setup HTPC > Marantz > Projector did not accept that measure. Probably the Marantz that is the problem. But that is not the weird thing.

I have typed in all my settings again. Exatly the same way as before. 1080p works just like before, upscaling to 2160p and rendering time 22-24.

4K is now stuttering rendering time 45+. Dropped/repeated frames just keep groing. I have tried with both Windows 7 overlay and with "normal" settings as in my post before.

There was no problems before the reset of madvr. I have the new driver from nvidia installed and all work nicely.
I have tried with the old driver 418.91 but with the same result.

Have also tried restore madvr setting again. With the basic settings after restore there is no problems. But as soon I change to my old settings, no good.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190428_205537.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	201.9 KB
ID:	2559492  
Klaus.S is offline  
post #2624 of 3728 Old 04-28-2019, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,934
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1134 Post(s)
Liked: 671
The rendering stats say the GPU is overburdened. Check what GPU-Z says for GPU usage during playback.

If a custom resolution was involved, I would uninstall the GPU drivers with DDU and reinstall 418.91.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #2625 of 3728 Old 04-29-2019, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus.S View Post
What do people prefer in 2060p under chroma upscaling. Anti Alias or Sharp?
I use NGU sharp (high) on a 4k screen with 4k content.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus.S View Post
Really weird thing as happend.
According to the screenshot, your playback chain doesn't use d3d11 native anymore, but d3d9 overlay, which is way slower than the first.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #2626 of 3728 Old 04-29-2019, 09:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
I use NGU sharp (high) on a 4k screen with 4k content.



According to the screenshot, your playback chain doesn't use d3d11 native anymore, but d3d9 overlay, which is way slower than the first.
Thanks for answer. The reason for the d3d9 overlay was to see if I could get the dropped and repeated frames down. That worked and all was running fine, just til I did reset my madvr settings.

Can I ask what GPU you got? And what you settings are for 4k content
Klaus.S is offline  
post #2627 of 3728 Old 04-29-2019, 09:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
The rendering stats say the GPU is overburdened. Check what GPU-Z says for GPU usage during playback.

If a custom resolution was involved, I would uninstall the GPU drivers with DDU and reinstall 418.91.

I got a couple of busy days at work. But will try what you say later this week. Thanks
Klaus.S is offline  
post #2628 of 3728 Old 04-29-2019, 10:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 3
HTPC 21:9 w/ projector

I am incorrect thinking I can force 21:9 on my HTPC and get a 2.35:1 with an NX9 on any 16:9 content w/out at special lense? Sorry if this has been discussed earlier.
Steezo Jay is offline  
post #2629 of 3728 Old 04-30-2019, 12:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,404
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5378 Post(s)
Liked: 3494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steezo Jay View Post
I am incorrect thinking I can force 21:9 on my HTPC and get a 2.35:1 with an NX9 on any 16:9 content w/out at special lense? Sorry if this has been discussed earlier.
You can but you won't benefit by using the entire panel like you do when using the lens.
Steezo Jay likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #2630 of 3728 Old 04-30-2019, 02:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus.S View Post
Can I ask what GPU you got?
It's in my signature

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus.S View Post
And what you settings are for 4k content
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
I use NGU sharp (high) on a 4k screen with 4k content.
I use HDR passthrough, so there's no other setting is needed in madVR.
I use d3d11 native (it's way faster than copyback even with cropping on) windowed full screen, 12 bit out in nvidia, 10bit in madvr.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros73; 04-30-2019 at 04:28 AM.
chros73 is offline  
post #2631 of 3728 Old 04-30-2019, 02:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,404
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5378 Post(s)
Liked: 3494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Yes, you don't want to select your device when using D3D11 decoding as you get a slower copy-back decoding rather than the faster Native.

There isn't anything wrong with using very high upscaling. It is considered the "best" setting available. I'm not sure there is a best setting for chroma upscaling, so many choices would do.
Why does this matter? If you first select D3D11 doesn't that select the mode? Then the device selection is just manually picking vs letting LAV filters auto decide?

Edit: Nevermind. I just loaded LAV filter decoder settings to make sure I was setup right, and it says it right there in plain text: "Selecting a specific device for D3D11 disables Native mode and forces Copy-Back, use Automatic for the best performance"
chros73 likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #2632 of 3728 Old 05-01-2019, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
magicj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake district, UK
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 147
OK. I am completely new to setting up madVR for 4K/ 1080p upscaling so please bear with me. I am now using a GTX 1080 GPU played through jRiver. Everything seems OK so far with 1080p. It's 4K that appears to be giving me problems. I have noticed that both 'Render & present queues' are struggling to keep up when playing 4K content. Is there any particular reason for this? I am guessing this is why the picture doesn't appear to be that smooth. It's not juddering, just not smooth.


Any ideas please?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4K.PNG
Views:	47
Size:	923.1 KB
ID:	2561068   Click image for larger version

Name:	1080p.PNG
Views:	47
Size:	547.5 KB
ID:	2561070  
magicj1 is online now  
post #2633 of 3728 Old 05-01-2019, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,934
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1134 Post(s)
Liked: 671
You are downscaling the image a bit. If it is an original rip with black bars, the output should say 0,0,3840,2160 -> 0,0,3840,2160, but it says 0,0,3840,2160 -> 0,84,3203,1886.

Check the GPU control panel to see what resolution is set. Did you create any custom resolutions or change the media player zoom mode?
magicj1 likes this.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #2634 of 3728 Old 05-01-2019, 09:26 PM
Senior Member
 
jbarteli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 52
How do you get your clock deviation lower? My setup has always 1 repeated every couple of minutes or so, but I see others with a couple of hour? How do you do that?
jbarteli is offline  
post #2635 of 3728 Old 05-01-2019, 09:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,289
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1265 Post(s)
Liked: 462
the are multiply ways to do that.
reclock,custom rereshrate or SM(you cna still see the deviation but it is meaningless) for example.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #2636 of 3728 Old 05-02-2019, 12:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JeffR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1075 Post(s)
Liked: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by magicj1 View Post
OK. I am completely new to setting up madVR for 4K/ 1080p upscaling so please bear with me. I am now using a GTX 1080 GPU played through jRiver. Everything seems OK so far with 1080p. It's 4K that appears to be giving me problems. I have noticed that both 'Render & present queues' are struggling to keep up when playing 4K content. Is there any particular reason for this? I am guessing this is why the picture doesn't appear to be that smooth. It's not juddering, just not smooth.


Any ideas please?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
You are downscaling the image a bit. If it is an original rip with black bars, the output should say 0,0,3840,2160 -> 0,0,3840,2160, but it says 0,0,3840,2160 -> 0,84,3203,1886.

Check the GPU control panel to see what resolution is set. Did you create any custom resolutions or change the media player zoom mode?
It's always interesting looking at other peoples problems, so if magicj1 were to scale things properly, would that fix his over 2000 dropped frame problem ?
JeffR1 is offline  
post #2637 of 3728 Old 05-02-2019, 01:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
magicj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake district, UK
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffR1 View Post
It's always interesting looking at other peoples problems, so if magicj1 were to scale things properly, would that fix his over 2000 dropped frame problem ?
I’m hoping so

At least I have something to go at now. I will check this later after work. Whatever the cause for the dropped frame rate its rapid. I didn’t have my projector on that long at all. Probably explains why the picture wasn’t staggering more glitchy.
magicj1 is online now  
post #2638 of 3728 Old 05-02-2019, 01:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
trpltongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,785
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I’ve been trying to read through the thread but could use some help on a recommended card for my use case.

JVC RS-540 (4K e-shift)
Sitting 10’ from a 10’ wide screen
Upscaling content as low as 480p24 to 4K, but primarily upscaling 720p as most of my current library are ripped to 720p.
HDR tone mapping

It seems that an rtx 2060 is probably sufficient, but just wanted to check if I could get by with something lower or would need to upgrade.

Also appreciate if anyone has a specific recommended card that isn’t a jet engine when it comes to noise

Thanks!
trpltongue is offline  
post #2639 of 3728 Old 05-02-2019, 01:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarteli View Post
How do you get your clock deviation lower?
As huhn mentioned, I think the best way is with custom resolution (if your device supports it), normally only 23p has to be added:
- get the values with madvr
- then set those values in the level of OS using CRU

nVidia driver version is also important, it can screw this up, v385.28 works for sure.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #2640 of 3728 Old 05-02-2019, 02:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,404
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5378 Post(s)
Liked: 3494
Quote:
Originally Posted by trpltongue View Post
I’ve been trying to read through the thread but could use some help on a recommended card for my use case.

JVC RS-540 (4K e-shift)
Sitting 10’ from a 10’ wide screen
Upscaling content as low as 480p24 to 4K, but primarily upscaling 720p as most of my current library are ripped to 720p.
HDR tone mapping

It seems that an rtx 2060 is probably sufficient, but just wanted to check if I could get by with something lower or would need to upgrade.

Also appreciate if anyone has a specific recommended card that isn’t a jet engine when it comes to noise

Thanks!
Honestly, I do not think an RTX 2060 is sufficient for this. Good upscaling you want to use double and double again so a 720 --> 4k is double the upscale effort vs 1080p --> 4K. A 480-->4K is even harder. My 1080TI does OK on this. My friend's 1070 had to be set to direct quadruple for 720p source. I'd be looking at a 1080 or 2070 min, maybe a 2080 or 1080ti. Sorry.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
htpc build , madvr

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off