Guide: Building a 4K HTPC for madVR - Page 9 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 790Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 3052 Old 01-21-2017, 04:31 AM
Member
 
Nekromantik2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaleke View Post
Are you sure about that?

Everything I've read says the 620 only differs from the 520 by name. It is nearly identical to the 520. Expect no performance increase.
It has more shaders but lower clock.

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel-H....172256.0.html

Titanfall for example is 11% faster on low settings then 520.
Nekromantik2013 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 3052 Old 01-30-2017, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
cemo62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Hello, will this htpc produce a great image for 1080p and 4k upscaling with madvr etc? or just not great? I use a Dune 303d with Sony HW50es to 106inch projector screen since 2013. I wonder there will be a good upgrade or not. Thank you and sorry for my English

MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X 8G - 8GB GDDR5 256 Bit (i also plan htc vive vr gaming)
INTEL Core i5-6500, up to 3.60 GHz, LGA1151
ASUS Z170-P Z170 LGA 1151 DDR4 M.2 USB 3.1 Motherboard
CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB RAM
WD Blue WD5000AZLX, 3.5", 500GB, 7200Rpm, 32 MB, SATA, Hard Disk Drive
cemo62 is online now  
post #243 of 3052 Old 01-30-2017, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
siuengr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Looking for some help playing 4k60 files. I set up MPC-HC with madVR last night. It plays everything smooth up to 4k30. When I try to play a 4k60 file it plays about 1fps. VLC and WMP can play the same 4k60 file without a hiccup, so it really looks like something wrong with madVR. I tried setting the upscaling to the lowest settings, and still no change. Any thoughts?

My PC is an Intel Core i7-6700 with 24GB OF RAM and a GTX 1050Ti with 4GB of RAM.

My Theater Build: The Underground Apolkalypse Theater
Marantz SR7010, Monolith 7 Amplifier, Pro-Ject - Debut Carbon Esprit SB
Epson 5040ub, Oppo UHD-203 Player, Xbox One, nVidia Shield
Atmos 7.3.4 - Polk 2x RTiA9, CSiA6, 2x FXiA6, 2x RTIA3, 4x 70-RT
PowerSoundAudio XS30, Sunfire 2x - HRS-12 12" Subwoofers
siuengr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #244 of 3052 Old 01-30-2017, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,573
Mentioned: 457 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 3038
Post a screenshot or smartphone photo of the madVR OSD (Ctrl+J) when playing a 4K60 file.
madshi is offline  
post #245 of 3052 Old 01-30-2017, 03:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
siuengr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Post a screenshot or smartphone photo of the madVR OSD (Ctrl+J) when playing a 4K60 file.
I have tried multiple 60Hz sources, and none of them play back correctly.

Here is a 60Hz source


Here is a 30Hz source. The dropped frames are only from the transition from windowed to fullscreen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	30Hz video.jpg
Views:	1528
Size:	146.7 KB
ID:	1931849   Click image for larger version

Name:	60Hz video.jpg
Views:	1516
Size:	225.9 KB
ID:	1931857  

My Theater Build: The Underground Apolkalypse Theater
Marantz SR7010, Monolith 7 Amplifier, Pro-Ject - Debut Carbon Esprit SB
Epson 5040ub, Oppo UHD-203 Player, Xbox One, nVidia Shield
Atmos 7.3.4 - Polk 2x RTiA9, CSiA6, 2x FXiA6, 2x RTIA3, 4x 70-RT
PowerSoundAudio XS30, Sunfire 2x - HRS-12 12" Subwoofers
siuengr is offline  
post #246 of 3052 Old 01-30-2017, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,573
Mentioned: 457 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 3038
The GPU seems to output 30fps only, not 60fps, see first line of the OSD. madVR doesn't like to play movies that have a much higher frame rate than the display refresh rate.
madshi is offline  
post #247 of 3052 Old 01-30-2017, 06:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
siuengr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
The GPU seems to output 30fps only, not 60fps, see first line of the OSD. madVR doesn't like to play movies that have a much higher frame rate than the display refresh rate.
My display can only display 60Hz at 8 bit, and I currently have it set to 12 bit at 30Hz. I tried setting the display to 60Hz, and the video played better. There were no dropped frames which it was windowed, but when I went to full screen, it was still dropping about 10fps. I also set the display to 24Hz and played a 30Hz video, and got the same stutter I saw with 60Hz video when the display was at 30Hz. Here is what was going on when it was fullscreen, I didn't capture when it was windowed.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	60Hz 2.jpg
Views:	1570
Size:	145.6 KB
ID:	1932329  

My Theater Build: The Underground Apolkalypse Theater
Marantz SR7010, Monolith 7 Amplifier, Pro-Ject - Debut Carbon Esprit SB
Epson 5040ub, Oppo UHD-203 Player, Xbox One, nVidia Shield
Atmos 7.3.4 - Polk 2x RTiA9, CSiA6, 2x FXiA6, 2x RTIA3, 4x 70-RT
PowerSoundAudio XS30, Sunfire 2x - HRS-12 12" Subwoofers
siuengr is offline  
post #248 of 3052 Old 01-31-2017, 12:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,573
Mentioned: 457 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 3038
A couple of things:

1) 60fps vs 30fps is *MUCH* more important than 8bit vs 12bit. madVR has very high quality dithering, which means 8bit is not a problem at all.
2) You still seem to have 10bit output activated. Try disabling that if you know for sure that your display doesn't support 10bit at 4Kp60, anyway. It might not help with the stuttering/drops, but it should be better for image quality.
3) It seems you switched to 59.940Hz, while the movie seems to be 60.000fps. Try to get 60.000Hz instead. In Windows, it's the difference between "59p" and "60p".
4) The queues are weird. The decoder queue is 10-16/16, which means sometimes the decoder queue drops down to 10/16, sometimes it fills up to 16/16. It should really be 15-16/16 or 16/16 all the time. What kind of content are you playing? Which codec? Which decoder are you using? Software or hardware decoding?
5) The upload queue is in trouble, I'm not sure why. Because of that all other queues after that are in trouble, too, which is probably causing the frame drops.

You could try disabling automatic fullscreen exclusive mode in the madVR settings. Maybe that works around the issues, for some reason?
madshi is offline  
post #249 of 3052 Old 01-31-2017, 08:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
siuengr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
A couple of things:

1) 60fps vs 30fps is *MUCH* more important than 8bit vs 12bit. madVR has very high quality dithering, which means 8bit is not a problem at all.
2) You still seem to have 10bit output activated. Try disabling that if you know for sure that your display doesn't support 10bit at 4Kp60, anyway. It might not help with the stuttering/drops, but it should be better for image quality.
3) It seems you switched to 59.940Hz, while the movie seems to be 60.000fps. Try to get 60.000Hz instead. In Windows, it's the difference between "59p" and "60p".
4) The queues are weird. The decoder queue is 10-16/16, which means sometimes the decoder queue drops down to 10/16, sometimes it fills up to 16/16. It should really be 15-16/16 or 16/16 all the time. What kind of content are you playing? Which codec? Which decoder are you using? Software or hardware decoding?
5) The upload queue is in trouble, I'm not sure why. Because of that all other queues after that are in trouble, too, which is probably causing the frame drops.

You could try disabling automatic fullscreen exclusive mode in the madVR settings. Maybe that works around the issues, for some reason?
Thanks for the help, I will take a look at it again this afternoon.

2) I'm not sure where that 10 bit setting is. I thought I had put everything back down to 8 bit.
3) I set is to 60Hz in the nVidia control panel, and that is what it displays. I didn't intentionally set it to 59Hz.
4) I am using the 4k Big Buck Bunny mp4. The decoder is set to DXVA Copy-Back, so that should be sending it to the 1050. CPU usage is under 10%, so the decoding isn't going there.

My Theater Build: The Underground Apolkalypse Theater
Marantz SR7010, Monolith 7 Amplifier, Pro-Ject - Debut Carbon Esprit SB
Epson 5040ub, Oppo UHD-203 Player, Xbox One, nVidia Shield
Atmos 7.3.4 - Polk 2x RTiA9, CSiA6, 2x FXiA6, 2x RTIA3, 4x 70-RT
PowerSoundAudio XS30, Sunfire 2x - HRS-12 12" Subwoofers
siuengr is offline  
post #250 of 3052 Old 01-31-2017, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,573
Mentioned: 457 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 3038
The 10bit setting is in the madVR device properties.
madshi is offline  
post #251 of 3052 Old 01-31-2017, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,641
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by siuengr View Post
My display can only display 60Hz at 8 bit, and I currently have it set to 12 bit at 30Hz. I tried setting the display to 60Hz, and the video played better. There were no dropped frames which it was windowed, but when I went to full screen, it was still dropping about 10fps. I also set the display to 24Hz and played a 30Hz video, and got the same stutter I saw with 60Hz video when the display was at 30Hz. Here is what was going on when it was fullscreen, I didn't capture when it was windowed.

What did you put into display modes? Are 2160p59 and 2160p60 both available?
Onkyoman is offline  
post #252 of 3052 Old 01-31-2017, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
siuengr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
What did you put into display modes? Are 2160p59 and 2160p60 both available?
I didn't put anything in the display modes. I left it blank. I hadn't gotten to that level of detail in setting up madVR.

My Theater Build: The Underground Apolkalypse Theater
Marantz SR7010, Monolith 7 Amplifier, Pro-Ject - Debut Carbon Esprit SB
Epson 5040ub, Oppo UHD-203 Player, Xbox One, nVidia Shield
Atmos 7.3.4 - Polk 2x RTiA9, CSiA6, 2x FXiA6, 2x RTIA3, 4x 70-RT
PowerSoundAudio XS30, Sunfire 2x - HRS-12 12" Subwoofers
siuengr is offline  
post #253 of 3052 Old 01-31-2017, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
siuengr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
The 10bit setting is in the madVR device properties.
I think the 10 bit setting was causing the problem. I turned it back to 8 bit and it seems to be playing fine now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
What did you put into display modes? Are 2160p59 and 2160p60 both available?
I put 2160p60 and it still display the 59.93Hz, but per the comment above it all seems to be working now. I did end up putting in 2160p60, 2160p30, and 2160p24, and they all seemed to work well.

Thanks for the help. Now I can go back to playing around with it.

My Theater Build: The Underground Apolkalypse Theater
Marantz SR7010, Monolith 7 Amplifier, Pro-Ject - Debut Carbon Esprit SB
Epson 5040ub, Oppo UHD-203 Player, Xbox One, nVidia Shield
Atmos 7.3.4 - Polk 2x RTiA9, CSiA6, 2x FXiA6, 2x RTIA3, 4x 70-RT
PowerSoundAudio XS30, Sunfire 2x - HRS-12 12" Subwoofers
siuengr is offline  
post #254 of 3052 Old 02-01-2017, 10:02 AM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by siuengr View Post
I put 2160p60 and it still display the 59.93Hz, but per the comment above it all seems to be working now. I did end up putting in 2160p60, 2160p30, and 2160p24, and they all seemed to work well.
It's best to enter all available refresh rates of your display's native resolution. In your case, you want to also add 2160p23, 2160p25 (if supported), 2160p29, and 2160p59.

Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline  
post #255 of 3052 Old 02-01-2017, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
siuengr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
It's best to enter all available refresh rates of your display's native resolution. In your case, you want to also add 2160p23, 2160p25 (if supported), 2160p29, and 2160p59.
Thanks, I was planning on adding those as well. I've just been making sure I have all the other settings working correctly.

My Theater Build: The Underground Apolkalypse Theater
Marantz SR7010, Monolith 7 Amplifier, Pro-Ject - Debut Carbon Esprit SB
Epson 5040ub, Oppo UHD-203 Player, Xbox One, nVidia Shield
Atmos 7.3.4 - Polk 2x RTiA9, CSiA6, 2x FXiA6, 2x RTIA3, 4x 70-RT
PowerSoundAudio XS30, Sunfire 2x - HRS-12 12" Subwoofers
siuengr is offline  
post #256 of 3052 Old 02-08-2017, 02:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So will a 7600 and GTX 1060 be enough to upscale 720p to 4k (24fps), including all the usual high-end filters? What about 480p?
p3tch is offline  
post #257 of 3052 Old 02-09-2017, 01:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Katy Lake I-3 7100/GTX 1080 or I-7 7700/GTX 1070 for max MadVR setting

I am in the process of upgrading my HTPC for 4k video and mainly upscaling my 1080p movies to 4k and also taking the full advantage of the max MadVR processing using PotPlayer or JRiver . So my question is what Combo do I go with ? Katy Lake I-3 7100/GTX 1080 or I-7 7700/GTX 1070 using the max MadVR setting for the best PQ when upscaling my 1080p movies to 4k vis my JVC Hybrid 4 k projector - I am not a Gamer so just lookin for the lowest cost but still getting max PQ - THE cost between the 2 Combos are about the same
CmiBobby is offline  
post #258 of 3052 Old 02-09-2017, 02:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,573
Mentioned: 457 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 3038
CPU doesn't matter much for madVR.
madshi is offline  
post #259 of 3052 Old 02-09-2017, 07:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
CPU doesn't matter much for madVR.
So it would be better to go with the I-3 and the GTX 1080 GPU and as long as your average rendering ms is about 25% under the Video Sync ms and frame ms then this would be a guideline to max out the settings in MadVR ? Also any benefit to upgrading to Windows 10 vs Windows 7 for better performance and PQ using MadVR outputting at 4k

Last edited by CmiBobby; 02-09-2017 at 07:09 PM. Reason: add more info
CmiBobby is offline  
post #260 of 3052 Old 02-09-2017, 07:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 423
intel stops supporting windows 7 with kabylake you "have" to use windows 10.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #261 of 3052 Old 02-10-2017, 12:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,573
Mentioned: 457 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 3038
IMHO Windows 8.1 x64 is currently the best media playback OS.

I'm not sure if you really need the 1080. The 1070 might be plenty good enough. But then, if you have the money and want the extra resources, the 1080 won't harm. Many users are happy enough with a 1060 for 1080p -> 4K upscaling, though. Of course they can't run all algorithms in highest quality, but the air gets thin at the top. Meaning you have to throw a *lot* more resources on processing for only small quality gains.
madshi is offline  
post #262 of 3052 Old 02-10-2017, 04:18 AM
Newbie
 
Petoj87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
IMHO Windows 8.1 x64 is currently the best media playback OS.

I'm not sure if you really need the 1080. The 1070 might be plenty good enough. But then, if you have the money and want the extra resources, the 1080 won't harm. Many users are happy enough with a 1060 for 1080p -> 4K upscaling, though. Of course they can't run all algorithms in highest quality, but the air gets thin at the top. Meaning you have to throw a *lot* more resources on processing for only small quality gains.
Hi madshi thanks for a great product but what makes windows 8.1 x64 better that Windows 10?
Petoj87 is offline  
post #263 of 3052 Old 02-10-2017, 04:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,573
Mentioned: 457 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 3038
Stability. Looking at bug reports in the doom9 madVR thread, there are rarely any problems with Windows 8.1. Whenever a user has a problem, it's usually Windows 10. Of course it's possible that the majority of Windows 8.1 users has upgraded to Windows 10 now, so it might not be a fair comparison, but there are definitely much more problems right now with Windows 10 than there ever have been with Windows 8.1.

Not sure how much of that is to blame on the OS itself. It also seems that the Windows 8.1 GPU drivers where a lot more stable than the Windows 10 drivers.

It might not all be OS specific, though. The AMD Crimson drivers were a big step back in terms of stability and reliability. So maybe the same problems madVR users are seeing now would also have occurs with Windows 8.1, I can't say for sure.
madshi is offline  
post #264 of 3052 Old 02-10-2017, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Stability. Looking at bug reports in the doom9 madVR thread, there are rarely any problems with Windows 8.1. Whenever a user has a problem, it's usually Windows 10. Of course it's possible that the majority of Windows 8.1 users has upgraded to Windows 10 now, so it might not be a fair comparison, but there are definitely much more problems right now with Windows 10 than there ever have been with Windows 8.1.

Not sure how much of that is to blame on the OS itself. It also seems that the Windows 8.1 GPU drivers where a lot more stable than the Windows 10 drivers.

It might not all be OS specific, though. The AMD Crimson drivers were a big step back in terms of stability and reliability. So maybe the same problems madVR users are seeing now would also have occurs with Windows 8.1, I can't say for sure.
So instead of a complete upgrade, I decided to just upgrade to a GTX 1070 and keep my current system with a I-7 770, LGA 1156 socket , SO with the current equipment - It is better to just to say with my Windows 7 Pro software and not upgrade to Windows 10? I had heard the NVidia 10 series GPUs were set up to go with windows 10 or is this just HYPED advertisement ?
CmiBobby is offline  
post #265 of 3052 Old 02-11-2017, 12:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,573
Mentioned: 457 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 3038
Sounds like a good plan, no need to upgrade your mainboard/CPU. If fullscreen exclusive mode works well for you with Windows 7, you can just stick to it, IMHO. If you want 3D playback, you will have to upgrade to at least Windows 8.1, though. Windows 8.1 also has a much improved desktop composition over Windows 7, in case you want to use windowed playback instead of fullscreen exclusive mode.
madshi is offline  
post #266 of 3052 Old 02-11-2017, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonichart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Dundee, IL
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 583
@madshi

I'm currently running v91.4 of madVr. I see on the other board that 91.5 has been released with the notes "added direct 4X NGU upscalers"

Currently running Windows 10 - gtx1080 -> scaling 1080p BR rips to 4K.

Everything is humming along quite nicely and was curious if you think the benefits of the newer version are worth it to upgrade.

Thank you for all that you do!

JVC RS600 ¤ 130" Wide Seymour XD 2.35:1
Denon x4200 ¤ Onkyo M5010 ¤ iNuke 3000 ¤ 7.2.2
HTPC GTX1080 + MadVR is my master now ¤ Zidoo X8
sonichart is offline  
post #267 of 3052 Old 02-11-2017, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,573
Mentioned: 457 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 3038
1080p -> 4K is 2x, so the 4x NGU upscalers don't seem to be useful to you.
madshi is offline  
post #268 of 3052 Old 02-13-2017, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sonichart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Dundee, IL
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
1080p -> 4K is 2x, so the 4x NGU upscalers don't seem to be useful to you.
Thank you for the explanation

JVC RS600 ¤ 130" Wide Seymour XD 2.35:1
Denon x4200 ¤ Onkyo M5010 ¤ iNuke 3000 ¤ 7.2.2
HTPC GTX1080 + MadVR is my master now ¤ Zidoo X8
sonichart is offline  
post #269 of 3052 Old 02-15-2017, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mikenificent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 46
So I read every page in this thread and seems as though this was never addressed: how is the image quality of an HTPC running madVR compared to an Oppo or Panasonic UHD player? I was thinking of building a high end HTPC, but it would cost about $3G. If I could get the same UHD performance from an Oppo or Panny for ~$500, I would rather do that lol.

Also can madVR do custom aspect ratios? I would like to do 2.0 whiich I know the Oppo can do.
Mikenificent1 is offline  
post #270 of 3052 Old 02-15-2017, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,573
Mentioned: 457 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2337 Post(s)
Liked: 3038
HTPCs can't currently play UHD Blu-Rays because the content encryption is not broken yet and PowerDVD for UHD Blu-Ray is not out yet. If you want to play UHD Blu-Rays you either have to wait for a suitable PowerDVD version or wait until the content encryption is broken.
OzHDHT likes this.
madshi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
htpc build , madvr

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off