Guide: Building a 4K HTPC for madVR - Page 99 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1067Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2941 of 4323 Old 06-30-2019, 04:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1180 Post(s)
Liked: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDBaha View Post
Hey guys. I'm new to HTPCs but not new to building PCs. I have a small home theater room and lately I've been watching a lot of rips and mkvs and my Oppo 203 is giving me lots of issues with subtitles and stuff

I decided I need to get a HTPC with MadVR and that's it. I usually play rips from my own Blurays etc

What GPU should I go for? A 1080Ti or is that overkill? A 1080?

I was planning on a Ryzen 5 or 7 with a 1080Ti but I'm not sure if intel would be better

I have an LG OLED E6 but plan on switch to a projector in
If you were going to use a projector and a 3D LUT, I would consider a 1080 Ti or a 1080 if it was considerably cheaper. If you are sticking with an HDR TV like the LG E6, a lesser GPU like an RTX 2060 would be good enough for most.
Onkyoman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2942 of 4323 Old 06-30-2019, 05:13 AM
Member
 
long_pn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
I don't know if either chroma upscale should take priority, but the larger upscale between the two would be most impactful. If you chose very high luma upscaling, there is nothing wrong with choosing Bicubic60 + AR for chroma scaling. The very high setting will always make a greater difference.
What do you mean by 'larger upscale between the two' ?
Increasing 'Chroma upscaling' from NGU AA 'medium' to 'high' costs about 2 ms by the gtx 1060, whereas increasing from Image upscaling/Chroma 'Bicubic60 + AR' to 'NGU Low' costs nearly 4 ms.
long_pn is online now  
post #2943 of 4323 Old 06-30-2019, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1180 Post(s)
Liked: 700
If image upscaling is applied at a scaling factor greater than 2x, than it might be considered more important. If it is less, than it might be considered less important.
long_pn likes this.
Onkyoman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2944 of 4323 Old 06-30-2019, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,409
Mentioned: 142 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6197 Post(s)
Liked: 4240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highjinx View Post
Thanks markmon1, I'm learning things anew!

Since I require legal UHD it needs a Kaby or Coffee lake CPU, what do you recommend, CPU and MB? Also what does the flirc do that the keyboard doesn't.

One more question if you don't mind, how does one use AnyDVD HD to play back UHD disks via MadVR.

Thanks a lot!!!
Any modern socket 1151 i3 or i5 cpu will work fine and then the cheap $50 board to run it. Onkyo man answered the legal playback question well.

The flirc, what will it do that your keyboard wont? Nothing. But if your system is setup properly, it should boot into kodi or whatever and you shouldn't even need to pull the keyboard out at all. Just use your remote you use with your system. Flirc can turn any IR button into a specific key press.
Highjinx likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" ST130 G4 screen in batcave, htpc nvidia 1080ti madVR.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, Infinite Baffle Subs 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 2x12 fi audio mounted in main chair firing into back.
markmon1 is online now  
post #2945 of 4323 Old 06-30-2019, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
neo_2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highjinx View Post
Case - Silverstone GD-08
I have a Cooltek G3, its almost the same as the Silverstone GD-08.
Aesthetically, these cases are excellent, easy to place in an AV rack, etc.

But now i would advise against it ... Although large, these boxes don't have the required airflow to dissipate the heat generated by heavy GPU processing.
I have an RTX 2060, and on use, after a few minutes, the card goes up to 73º, and the fans start working, producing a very annoying sound.

I'm now planning on moving the subwoofer amplifiers and the HTPC to a separated room, and i will get a proper case for the HTPC.
With it on a separate room, i won't be hearing anything, so i prefer to have a proper PC case, with some fans to guarantee it runs as cool as possible.
Highjinx likes this.
neo_2009 is online now  
post #2946 of 4323 Old 07-01-2019, 01:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Highjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,553
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1323 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Seems like one needs a UHD 'Friendly' drive to play a disk via Any DVD HD > MadVR. So I guess an older CPU will do, Kaby/Coffee not needed.

May the success of a Nation be judged not by its collective wealth nor by its power, but by the contentment of its people.
Hiran J Wijeyesekera - 1985.
Highjinx is offline  
post #2947 of 4323 Old 07-02-2019, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
If you were going to use a projector and a 3D LUT, I would consider a 1080 Ti or a 1080 if it was considerably cheaper. If you are sticking with an HDR TV like the LG E6, a lesser GPU like an RTX 2060 would be good enough for most.
Thanks for all the help. It turns out I have a 1070 laying around so I will use that for now and upgrade to a 1080 Ti later on.
For now I will use the 1070 since I won't be switching to the Projector probably until next year.

Would you guys go for a Ryzen 5 2600x or an i5 9600k? The difference is about $50. I don't care either way and I don't think it affects performance (as its mostly GPU right?). I've found good MOBO's for the same price either way I go so.

Is HDR working on MPC-HC and Windows 10 at the moment? I read it wasn't working
LDBaha is offline  
post #2948 of 4323 Old 07-03-2019, 01:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDBaha View Post
Thanks for all the help. It turns out I have a 1070 laying around so I will use that for now and upgrade to a 1080 Ti later on.
For now I will use the 1070 since I won't be switching to the Projector probably until next year.
The 1070 will be good enough with HDR passthrough.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDBaha View Post
Would you guys go for a Ryzen 5 2600x or an i5 9600k? The difference is about $50.
If you don't want to play often then just go for the 2600 (without X): 6 threads vs 12 threads -> 1.5x power, 95w vs 65w TDP, you won't need more and it's cheaper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDBaha View Post
Is HDR working on MPC-HC and Windows 10 at the moment? I read it wasn't working
Good question, it works for me (see my signature) or read this thread.
LDBaha likes this.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros73; 07-03-2019 at 01:21 AM.
chros73 is offline  
post #2949 of 4323 Old 07-03-2019, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
The 1070 will be good enough with HDR passthrough.



If you don't want to play often then just go for the 2600 (without X): 6 threads vs 12 threads -> 1.5x power, 95w vs 65w TDP, you won't need more and it's cheaper.



Good question, it works for me (see my signature) or read this thread.
Hey!
Thanks for the help. I love this forum

I ended up getting a PC similar to yours except I already have the 1070. I would love to get a 1080Ti but I'm not made of money (yet).
I ended up getting the 2600x from a friend for the price of a 2600 so I figured what the heck.

I don't plan to game on it too much because I already have a solid workstation/gaming PC downstairs. So this one MIGHT get some action if I want to game with the surround sound / OLED but that rarely happens.

Is MPC-BE better than MPC-HC?
chros73 likes this.
LDBaha is offline  
post #2950 of 4323 Old 07-03-2019, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDBaha View Post
Is MPC-BE better than MPC-HC?
They both come from the same root, it depends. Try out both of them so you can judge I like the Audio renderer implementation of MPC-BE but at the same time I prefer LAV filters (that's already included in MPC-HC).

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #2951 of 4323 Old 07-03-2019, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JeffR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDBaha View Post
Is MPC-BE better than MPC-HC?
I found (after using MPC-HC for many years) that BE is better.
You have to update the included LAV filters anyway in MPC-HC if you want to play UHD 4K Blu-rays, so if you have to do that, you may as well just register the new filters with MPC-BE.


MPC-HC also can't find the correct playlist with 4K discs either, you have to know it and point it to that playlist.
MPC-BE does it automatically and gets it right 99.9% of the time.


I found the over-all functionality of MPC-BE smoother, more responsive and less "buggy", and if you have your movies in ISO form, it has its own virtual drive that works very well.


EDIT:
Forced subtitles are much easier to manage with BE as well.

Last edited by JeffR1; 07-03-2019 at 09:51 AM.
JeffR1 is offline  
post #2952 of 4323 Old 07-03-2019, 11:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2,519
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1374 Post(s)
Liked: 400
What is a free blu ray player (windows) with menu support?
noob00224 is online now  
post #2953 of 4323 Old 07-04-2019, 11:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Here are my settings using the same (underclocked) GPU:
- d3d11 mode in LAV video (madvr image processing is much faster compared to the other modes)
- hdr passthrough to 4k hdr display
- in nVidia panel
-- power management set to "Adaptive"
-- output: RGB, FULL, 12bit

Profile rules under scaling algorithms:
Code:
if (srcHeight <  577) and (deintFps <  26) "0576p25"
if (srcHeight <  577) and (deintFps <  31) "0576p30"
if (srcHeight <  577) and (deintFps <  51) "0576p50"
if (srcHeight <  577) and (deintFps >= 51) "0576p60"
if (srcHeight <  721) and (deintFps <  26) "0720p25"
if (srcHeight <  721) and (deintFps <  31) "0720p30"
if (srcHeight <  721) and (deintFps <  51) "0720p50"
if (srcHeight <  721) and (deintFps >= 51) "0720p60"
if (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps <  26) "1080p25"
if (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps <  31) "1080p30"
if (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps <  51) "1080p50"
if (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps >= 51) "1080p60"
if (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps <  26) "2160p25"
if (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps <  31) "2160p30"
if (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps <  51) "2160p50"
if (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps >= 51) "2160p60"
else                                       "Default"

how did you get the theme/skin on madvr?
johndoevolvo is offline  
post #2954 of 4323 Old 07-05-2019, 12:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Here are my settings using the same (underclocked) GPU:
- d3d11 mode in LAV video (madvr image processing is much faster compared to the other modes)
- hdr passthrough to 4k hdr display
- in nVidia panel
-- power management set to "Adaptive"
-- output: RGB, FULL, 12bit

Profile rules under scaling algorithms:
Code:
if (srcHeight <  577) and (deintFps <  26) "0576p25"
if (srcHeight <  577) and (deintFps <  31) "0576p30"
if (srcHeight <  577) and (deintFps <  51) "0576p50"
if (srcHeight <  577) and (deintFps >= 51) "0576p60"
if (srcHeight <  721) and (deintFps <  26) "0720p25"
if (srcHeight <  721) and (deintFps <  31) "0720p30"
if (srcHeight <  721) and (deintFps <  51) "0720p50"
if (srcHeight <  721) and (deintFps >= 51) "0720p60"
if (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps <  26) "1080p25"
if (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps <  31) "1080p30"
if (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps <  51) "1080p50"
if (srcHeight < 1081) and (deintFps >= 51) "1080p60"
if (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps <  26) "2160p25"
if (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps <  31) "2160p30"
if (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps <  51) "2160p50"
if (srcHeight < 2161) and (deintFps >= 51) "2160p60"
else                                       "Default"

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-ho...l#post58165252
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	089-madvr_settings.png
Views:	62
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	2587658  
johndoevolvo is offline  
post #2955 of 4323 Old 07-05-2019, 01:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by johndoevolvo View Post
how did you get the theme/skin on madvr?
It's a theme for Win10 1607 from Devianart (you also had to use ThemePatcher to patch Win files), I'm not sure the name of it. If you want I can try to find it.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #2956 of 4323 Old 07-05-2019, 04:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
BondDonBond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: US
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked: 723
I am running a RTX 2070. I noticed that with Captain Marvel when I switched some settings with MadVR I was dropping frames a lot. But it was happening only when I went to full screen in MPC-BE. Then I went to a couple more movies and came back and then without changing things it stopped dropping frames at the same point in the movie.

Would that be the card not clearing a buffer or something or MadVR maybe?

Home Theater: JVC RS2000, Stewart 120" 2:35 StudioTech 130, Panamorph DCR Lens, B&W 802 Nautilus, HTM1, 4-B&W 805's for surround, 4-Martin Logan 22's ceiling speakers ATMOS, 2- PB-16 Ultra Subs, Marantz 8802A, MacIntosh 8207 AMP and Proceed AMP 5, Panasonic 820, Apple TV, XBox One, HTPC with MadVR, Qnap NAS

Last edited by BondDonBond; 07-05-2019 at 01:59 PM.
BondDonBond is offline  
post #2957 of 4323 Old 07-05-2019, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1180 Post(s)
Liked: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by noob00224 View Post
What is a free blu ray player (windows) with menu support?
There are many players with menu support available for 1080p Blu-ray. Do a Google search. I only know of DVDFab and JRiver Media Center as players that offer full menu support for UHD Blu-ray. I'm not sure if there is a free version of DVDFab.
noob00224 likes this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #2958 of 4323 Old 07-05-2019, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1180 Post(s)
Liked: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by BondDonBond View Post
Is it a problem running my GPU at 98% for a two hour movie. I am only dropping a frame every once in a while.
It is only a problem if the GPU fan is noisy. I'm guessing you can't hear it, so it shouldn't be an issue.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #2959 of 4323 Old 07-05-2019, 06:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,409
Mentioned: 142 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6197 Post(s)
Liked: 4240
Quote:
Originally Posted by BondDonBond View Post
Is it a problem running my GPU at 98% for a two hour movie. I am only dropping a frame every once in a while.
There are people that build mining machines that run these cards at 100% non stop for months. I wouldnt worry.
magicj1 likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" ST130 G4 screen in batcave, htpc nvidia 1080ti madVR.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, Infinite Baffle Subs 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 2x12 fi audio mounted in main chair firing into back.
markmon1 is online now  
post #2960 of 4323 Old 07-05-2019, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2,519
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1374 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
There are many players with menu support available for 1080p Blu-ray. Do a Google search. I only know of DVDFab and JRiver Media Center as players that offer full menu support for UHD Blu-ray. I'm not sure if there is a free version of DVDFab.
I'll try Jriver, was only able to find Leawo, which has playback bugs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
It's a theme for Win10 1607 from Devianart (you also had to use ThemePatcher to patch Win files), I'm not sure the name of it. If you want I can try to find it.
What about a theme just for madvr?
noob00224 is online now  
post #2961 of 4323 Old 07-05-2019, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Should I just install a codec pack like k-lite or would it be better to just download mpc-be and madvr separately?
Tygeezy is online now  
post #2962 of 4323 Old 07-05-2019, 06:49 PM
Member
 
readthis13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I'm running a Plex server with about 80TB of storage. It's missing a video card as I've always used it to stream. I have zero issue streaming 4k HDR content locally.

I'm playing everything through an NVIDIA Shield, and then through a Lumagen Radiance Pro.

I've kicked around the idea of bypassing the Shield so I could use Plex's home theater app as it'd allow me better integration through Simple Control.

My question however, is would MadVR help improve anything over the Lumagen. Has anyone run these in tandem?

Custom built, dedicated theater - Pro calibrated JVC NX-9 w/ DCR Lens | 156" 2.35:1 Seymour XD | Lumagen Radiance Pro | Lexicon MC-10 | 2X Legacy Audio Focus SE's | Legacy Audio Marquis XD | 4X Legacy Audio Silhouette (sides and rears) | 4X Revel C763's (Atmos) | Monolith 7X & 5X | 2X SVS PC-13 Ultra's
readthis13 is offline  
post #2963 of 4323 Old 07-06-2019, 03:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,409
Mentioned: 142 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6197 Post(s)
Liked: 4240
Quote:
Originally Posted by readthis13 View Post
I'm running a Plex server with about 80TB of storage. It's missing a video card as I've always used it to stream. I have zero issue streaming 4k HDR content locally.

I'm playing everything through an NVIDIA Shield, and then through a Lumagen Radiance Pro.

I've kicked around the idea of bypassing the Shield so I could use Plex's home theater app as it'd allow me better integration through Simple Control.

My question however, is would MadVR help improve anything over the Lumagen. Has anyone run these in tandem?
You'd want to run one or the other. MadVR is probably better at what it does than Lumagen, but if you already have a Lumagen probably not a lot to be gained by switching. Except upscaling madVR's upscaling is worlds best. Is it possible to have Lumagen just pass through and do nothing?

Keep in mind that the native plex app does not support external players or madVR. It took some hacking around to setup Kodi with Plex for Kodi plugin to get plex working smoothly on my PC with external player and madVR support.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" ST130 G4 screen in batcave, htpc nvidia 1080ti madVR.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, Infinite Baffle Subs 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 2x12 fi audio mounted in main chair firing into back.
markmon1 is online now  
post #2964 of 4323 Old 07-06-2019, 04:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1180 Post(s)
Liked: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygeezy View Post
Should I just install a codec pack like k-lite or would it be better to just download mpc-be and madvr separately?
Don't install the codec pack. Always do a clean install of each component. The codec pack most often works, but its automated filter configuration and bloated installer is unnecessary and can often create issues.
Tygeezy and markmon1 like this.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #2965 of 4323 Old 07-06-2019, 10:10 AM
Member
 
readthis13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
You'd want to run one or the other. MadVR is probably better at what it does than Lumagen, but if you already have a Lumagen probably not a lot to be gained by switching. Except upscaling madVR's upscaling is worlds best. Is it possible to have Lumagen just pass through and do nothing?



Keep in mind that the native plex app does not support external players or madVR. It took some hacking around to setup Kodi with Plex for Kodi plugin to get plex working smoothly on my PC with external player and madVR support.


I need the Lumagen as I'm running an anamorphic lens on a JVC RS3000. Do get full resolution (4096 or whatever it is exactly) it has to be passed through this way.

I was just thinking that MadVR might be able to upscale the image first.

Needing to run Plex through Kodi however, seems like more work than it's worth. I've looked into it previously, and I know there's quite a lot of support for it, however I don't know if I care enough to deal with it all.

I would love to see a comparison between Lumagen and MadVR though.

Custom built, dedicated theater - Pro calibrated JVC NX-9 w/ DCR Lens | 156" 2.35:1 Seymour XD | Lumagen Radiance Pro | Lexicon MC-10 | 2X Legacy Audio Focus SE's | Legacy Audio Marquis XD | 4X Legacy Audio Silhouette (sides and rears) | 4X Revel C763's (Atmos) | Monolith 7X & 5X | 2X SVS PC-13 Ultra's
readthis13 is offline  
post #2966 of 4323 Old 07-06-2019, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
ddgdl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by readthis13 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
You'd want to run one or the other. MadVR is probably better at what it does than Lumagen, but if you already have a Lumagen probably not a lot to be gained by switching. Except upscaling madVR's upscaling is worlds best. Is it possible to have Lumagen just pass through and do nothing?



Keep in mind that the native plex app does not support external players or madVR. It took some hacking around to setup Kodi with Plex for Kodi plugin to get plex working smoothly on my PC with external player and madVR support.


I need the Lumagen as I'm running an anamorphic lens on a JVC RS3000. Do get full resolution (4096 or whatever it is exactly) it has to be passed through this way.

I was just thinking that MadVR might be able to upscale the image first.

Needing to run Plex through Kodi however, seems like more work than it's worth. I've looked into it previously, and I know there's quite a lot of support for it, however I don't know if I care enough to deal with it all.

I would love to see a comparison between Lumagen and MadVR though.
Not true- madvr can scale so the jvc uses the full panel resolution and adjusts for the anamorphic lens. You can switch to madvr and sell your lumagen if you want.

I have a nx7 + paladin DCR + madvr setup and it works perfectly, and uses the full panel of the jvc
ddgdl is offline  
post #2967 of 4323 Old 07-06-2019, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Guide: Building a 4K HTPC for madVR

Is it better to set madvr to monitor settings 0-255 and then set rgb full 8 bit in AMD drivers, or 16-235 limited and using Ycbcr 12 bit For hdr in my AMD drivers?

My tv is a Samsung Q6fn, so it obviously supports native 10 bit color depth.

Last edited by Tygeezy; 07-07-2019 at 01:46 AM.
Tygeezy is online now  
post #2968 of 4323 Old 07-07-2019, 05:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1180 Post(s)
Liked: 700
Onkyoman is offline  
post #2969 of 4323 Old 07-07-2019, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
RGB Full -> Full -> Full works best in most cases.



There is some more information in these links:



https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...942#pid2238942



https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...438#pid2739438


Excellent, thanks! I’ve gotten it up and running pretty well, I just need some minor tweaks to maximize the quality with my 7700k and Vega 56 graphics card.
Tygeezy is online now  
post #2970 of 4323 Old 07-07-2019, 12:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 122
I currently have color output depth set to 10 bit. According to the guide though:

The best option at 4K 60 Hz is 8-bit RGB due to the bandwidth limitations of HDMI 2.0

Should I switch it to 8 bit considering I am using hdmi 2.0? I’m using an AMD card if that makes a difference.
Tygeezy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
htpc build , madvr

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off