Can you get HDR on windows 7 4K UHD MKV playback ? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-17-2018, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
annisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Can you get HDR on windows 7 4K UHD MKV playback ?

Hi everyone,

I have a Win7 HTPC that I have used for a few years to playback ripped BD (via MakeMKV) using EMBY as my media manager, and WMC as my player.

I recently purchased a 'UHD friendly' optical drive to try ripping some of my 4K UHD. Will I need to upgrade to Win 10 to get HDR capability for my ripped UHD playback ?

I have a GTX 1060 3GB card, 8GB RAM, core i3 3220 with many TB of storage (USB 3.0 HDD enclosure).

LG B6 OLED < Yamaha 673 receiver
annisman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-17-2018, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,990
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1170 Post(s)
Liked: 690
It should work with any player that uses madVR, but the last person I talked to was experiencing some bugs. So Windows 10 might not be out of the question.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-17-2018, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
annisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
It should work with any player that uses madVR, but the last person I talked to was experiencing some bugs. So Windows 10 might not be out of the question.
So Win 7 may work, but MADVR is a definite MUST for 4K MKV playback ?
annisman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 07-17-2018, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,990
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1170 Post(s)
Liked: 690
There are no other players on Windows that support HDR passthrough at this time, save DVDFab Player v3. Windows 7 is compatible, but you'd have to try it.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-18-2018, 03:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
yes, it works on win7. my setup:

geforce gtx980 -> mpc hc + lav filters + madvr hdr passthrough -> philips 55pos901 oled tv

only problem is when closing mpc-hc while playing HDR stuff my tv sometimes won't switch back to SDR and i need to reboot my pc.
zeus0r is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-18-2018, 04:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
annisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus0r View Post
yes, it works on win7. my setup:

geforce gtx980 -> mpc hc + lav filters + madvr hdr passthrough -> philips 55pos901 oled tv

only problem is when closing mpc-hc while playing HDR stuff my tv sometimes won't switch back to SDR and i need to reboot my pc.
Zeus, would you be so kind as to give me a (brief) description of how to set that up on my PC and what settings to use in both LAV and Madvr ?
annisman is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-18-2018, 04:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
annisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I was able to successfully get my TV to switch over to HDR mode last night in Win 7 using MPC-HC + LAV + HDR passthrough but it was so laggy. I checked my CPU usage and it was spiking up to 100%, whereas my GTX 1060 3GB was only hitting 30-40%, this doesn't seem right to me. Any thoughts on this ?

Also, for anybody who may know this answer, what windows resolution, refresh rate, bit depth and color range (full or limited) should I be using on my windows desktop ? On my OLED B6 I can set it to 24Hz 12 bit Full at 4K resolution - but when in 60Hz mode it only lets me choose 8 bit.

LG B6 (Chad B. calibrated)
Yamaha 681 AVR
Polk Audio 3.1.2 Atmos
Panasonic UB820
Custom HTPC/Emby WMC/MPC-BE/MadVR
annisman is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-18-2018, 06:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by annisman View Post
I was able to successfully get my TV to switch over to HDR mode last night in Win 7 using MPC-HC + LAV + HDR passthrough but it was so laggy. I checked my CPU usage and it was spiking up to 100%, whereas my GTX 1060 3GB was only hitting 30-40%, this doesn't seem right to me. Any thoughts on this ?
you need to activate GPU hardware decoding:



Quote:
Originally Posted by annisman View Post
Also, for anybody who may know this answer, what windows resolution, refresh rate, bit depth and color range (full or limited) should I be using on my windows desktop ?
i use 1080p resolution, rgb 12bit & full range (0-255) in nvidia driver settings. madvr full/limited depends on what your TV is able to handle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by annisman View Post
On my OLED B6 I can set it to 24Hz 12 bit Full at 4K resolution - but when in 60Hz mode it only lets me choose 8 bit.
you don't need to set your desktop resolution to 4k in order to watch 4k videos. just use mpc-hc automatic fullscreen monitor switch:


Last edited by zeus0r; 07-18-2018 at 06:56 AM.
zeus0r is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-18-2018, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
annisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeus0r View Post
you need to activate GPU hardware decoding:





i use 1080p resolution, rgb 12bit & full range (0-255) in nvidia driver settings. madvr full/limited depends on what your TV is able to handle.



you don't need to set your desktop resolution to 4k in order to watch 4k videos. just use mpc-hc automatic fullscreen monitor switch:

Ok let me see if I understand what needs to be done, assuming a fresh Win 7 install:

1. install LAV filters and only change 'hardware acceleration' (DXVA2 I imagine ??)

2. install MadVR

3. Install MPC-HC and direct it to use MadVR, enable it to use automatic full screen monitor switch.

4. Desktop PC resolution set to whatever I want

Is that it ?
annisman is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-07-2020, 01:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have this weird change in windows 10. Before I had to turn of HDR settings in windows and madvr would automatically switch my tv to HDR when proper content was played. Now this is no longer the case, I need to switch HDR on in windows for it to work... any thoughts?
SuurbieR is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-09-2020, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
gerall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
There are no other players on Windows that support HDR passthrough at this time, save DVDFab Player v3. Windows 7 is compatible, but you'd have to try it.
Onkyoman, are you familiar with dvdfab player v3 and if so is there any difference in audio/video quality between playing a uhd disc with that player and playing an mkv rip of the same disc with madvr?
gerall is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off