Upgrading HTPC for 4k - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By whiteboy714
  • 1 Post By markmon1
  • 1 Post By markmon1
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 01-09-2019, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Upgrading HTPC for 4k

Hello All

I got a 4k 65in Samsung TV for Christmas and looking to upgrade my HTPC to handle 4k and all the latest surround sound formats. Here is my current configuration

MOBO: Asus P7H55 M Pro
CPU: Intel Core i3 2100
GPU: Nvidia GeForce GT 430
Receiver: Sony STR-DN1080

I play uncompressed blu ray rips from a home server. No 4k content yet, but would start adding some once the HTPC is upgraded. I would like to get the most that I can from the media while not breaking the bank. This will be only for video playback. It is not for gaming. I would also like it to handle Netflix 4k (if that changes things).

I've seen the GeForce GT 1030 recommended quite a bit and was considering it for the GPU upgrade. I was curious if my MOBO and CPU are in need of upgrade as well? I am hoping the GPU upgrade is sufficient.

Thanks for your assistance.
skj88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 01-09-2019, 06:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 110
I suggest getting at least an nVidia 1050Ti which is what I am using with an Intel g3258.

I had the 1030 and it just couldn't give me smooth 4k playback or do high quality upscaling to 4k.
audit13 is offline  
post #3 of 28 Old 01-09-2019, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
frank xbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Intel® Core™ i5-6500 skylake family Processor is a sure bet.if not gaming you wont need a video card

Samsung 55KS8000 ,Samsung 55MU6300 . Sony 55X850C ,LG 42LB5400 ,Roku 2
Sony ES 7.1HT AVR modest 5.1 surround with Elac B6 fronts w/other impedance and sensitivity matched surrounds , center and powered sub that work well for what it is.
frank xbe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 28 Old 01-09-2019, 08:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,317
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1743 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank xbe View Post
Intel® Core™ i5-6500 skylake family Processor is a sure bet.if not gaming you wont need a video card
For 4k video? Since when?

Often a 1050ti is recommended, if you can swing a 1060 6gb thats what I would shoot for. But its not a must.
audit13 likes this.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 01-09-2019, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
frank xbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
For 4k video? Since when?
IIRC since HDR but lots of other older Intel 4th gen CPU will do 4K SDR

Quote:
Often a 1050ti is recommended, if you can swing a 1060 6gb thats what I would shoot for. But its not a must.
good suggestion

Samsung 55KS8000 ,Samsung 55MU6300 . Sony 55X850C ,LG 42LB5400 ,Roku 2
Sony ES 7.1HT AVR modest 5.1 surround with Elac B6 fronts w/other impedance and sensitivity matched surrounds , center and powered sub that work well for what it is.
frank xbe is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 01-09-2019, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
I suggest getting at least an nVidia 1050Ti which is what I am using with an Intel g3258.

I had the 1030 and it just couldn't give me smooth 4k playback or do high quality upscaling to 4k.



Thank you! I have one on the way!
skj88 is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 01-09-2019, 08:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by skj88 View Post
Thank you! I have one on the way!
I have great 4k playback with MPC-BE, madVR, and windows 10. I hope you'll be happy with your choice.
audit13 is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 01-10-2019, 04:19 AM
Member
 
jmanou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

I have great 4k playback with MPC-BE, madVR, and windows 10. I hope you'll be happy with your choice.
Sorry for hijacking thread but i am in a similar situation. Its time to replace my GT 1030 with something more powerful and with 4Gb memory. I find GT 1050 ti and RX570 at the same price. Which of them is recommended? i mainly watch 1080p and 4k material on a Samsung KS8000 UHD display.

Last edited by jmanou; 01-10-2019 at 06:31 AM.
jmanou is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 01-10-2019, 05:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,828
Mentioned: 155 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6555 Post(s)
Liked: 4705
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmanou View Post
Sorry for hijacking thread but i am in a similar situation. Its time to replace my GT 1030 with something more powerful and with 4Gb memory. I find GT 1050 ti and RX570 at the same price. Which of then is recommended? i mainly watch 1080p and 4k material on a Samsung KS8000 UHD display.
I'd be getting the 1050ti.
waleed likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" ST130 G4 screen in batcave, htpc nvidia 1080ti madVR.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, Infinite Baffle Subs 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 2x12 fi audio mounted in main chair firing into back.
markmon1 is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 01-10-2019, 06:25 AM
Member
 
jmanou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
I'd be getting the 1050ti.
Thank you for the reply.
Are there specific reasons that the 1050 ti is better from RX 570 ? Because i was under the impression that 570 is more powerful (Maybe i am wrong).
jmanou is offline  
post #11 of 28 Old 01-10-2019, 06:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,010
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1183 Post(s)
Liked: 700
If you were using madVR, the RX 570 is less powerful than the GTX 1050 Ti.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #12 of 28 Old 01-10-2019, 01:37 PM
Member
 
jmanou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
If you were using madVR, the RX 570 is less powerful than the GTX 1050 Ti.
Thanks for making it clear. Yes i am using Madvr
jmanou is offline  
post #13 of 28 Old 01-10-2019, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7,828
Mentioned: 155 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6555 Post(s)
Liked: 4705
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmanou View Post
Thanks for making it clear. Yes i am using Madvr
Also if you want to use madVr's processing for upscaling and noise filtering and sharpening, you might consider a 1070 (used off craigslist) or at least a 1060.
waleed likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" ST130 G4 screen in batcave, htpc nvidia 1080ti madVR.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, Infinite Baffle Subs 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 2x12 fi audio mounted in main chair firing into back.
markmon1 is offline  
post #14 of 28 Old 01-11-2019, 01:19 AM
Member
 
jmanou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Also if you want to use madVr's processing for upscaling and noise filtering and sharpening, you might consider a 1070 (used off craigslist) or at least a 1060.
I see your point, maybe i manage to stretch budget for a 1060.
jmanou is offline  
post #15 of 28 Old 01-11-2019, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,010
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1183 Post(s)
Liked: 700
You can still do a lot with a 1050 Ti. The 1060 is a luxury.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #16 of 28 Old 01-11-2019, 01:45 PM
Member
 
jmanou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
You can still do a lot with a 1050 Ti. The 1060 is a luxury.
Thank you.
jmanou is offline  
post #17 of 28 Old 01-24-2019, 08:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 4
4k netflix wont work on a 1050ti you need a 7th gen intel processor or newer and can only use the onboard gfx
i stand corrected it works now in the windows 10 oct 2018 update

Last edited by Billycar11; 01-25-2019 at 08:30 PM.
Billycar11 is offline  
post #18 of 28 Old 01-25-2019, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
ruggercb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billycar11 View Post
4k netflix wont work on a 1050ti you need a 7th gen intel processor or newer and can only use the onboard gfx


[URL] https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/4583/~/4k-uhd-netflix-content-on-nvidia-gpus[/
ruggercb is online now  
post #19 of 28 Old 01-25-2019, 08:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruggercb View Post
thanks for the info had no idea it works now hope they do the same for uhd blurays too.
Billycar11 is offline  
post #20 of 28 Old 01-26-2019, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
ruggercb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billycar11 View Post
thanks for the info had no idea it works now hope they do the same for uhd blurays too.


My internet is just 20 mbps so Netflix decides I can’t do 4k anyhow, but I did research it thinking my pc was to blame.

I rip all my UHD discs which is another challenge, but it’s about the only way for me to watch 4k. I don’t own a standalone player.
ruggercb is online now  
post #21 of 28 Old 01-29-2019, 01:49 PM
Newbie
 
aggregatebuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
4K native playback with Kentsfield era Intel 4core(since new)and a GTX980,nice and smooth
pretty quick with 2nd gen Intel 80G ssd in a Raven case
Windows 10 produces much better quality sound now days
Potplayer works nice,for 3D playback too when I had it

Kenwood KR-8540...Bose 901
Denon AVR4520CI...Emp Tek 55 Ti Tower x4... E56Ci...(2006)SVS12Ultra/2...LG Oled 55"
Onkyo TX-NR3008...Pioneer A.J. Towersx4...BIC Formula 12x2
aggregatebuzz is offline  
post #22 of 28 Old 01-30-2019, 06:48 PM
123
Member
 
123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am doing the same thing and have some similar questions. I spec'd my HTPC in 2012 for 1080p playback. Based on this thread + the HTPC for 4k Build thread, I'll pick up a 6GB GTX 1060. I also need to upgrade the PSU, which I've got covered. My question is what else I may need to do.



Intel - Core i3-3225 3.3 GHz Dual-Core Processor 3rd Gen (Ivy Bridge)

Gigabyte - GA-H77M-D3H Micro ATX LGA1155
4 Gigs DDR3 RAM
SSD
Win7


Per the HTPC for 4K Build thread, 6-8 GB of RAM are required, but I'm not clear why - isn't the GPU doing the heavy lifting? I can buy more, just not sure why I would need it.



And will I encounter issues with Win7? I'm seeing most 4k builds are on Win 8 or 10.



Anything else to be aware of? I know this is an old rig, so if it makes more sense to start from scratch, I'll do that.
123 is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 01-31-2019, 05:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,010
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1183 Post(s)
Liked: 700
You could probably get by with 4GB of RAM. Hardware decoding can use some of the system RAM, so a higher amount just ensures you never run out of RAM.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #24 of 28 Old 01-31-2019, 08:22 AM
123
Member
 
123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
You could probably get by with 4GB of RAM. Hardware decoding can use some of the system RAM, so a higher amount just ensures you never run out of RAM.

Thanks; doubling the DDR3 ram is pretty cheap, so I'll just go ahead and do so.
123 is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 01-31-2019, 09:56 AM
Newbie
 
aggregatebuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
mine is smmooth with the 4G ram,I think that is max for this platform,is a Asus workstation model

Kenwood KR-8540...Bose 901
Denon AVR4520CI...Emp Tek 55 Ti Tower x4... E56Ci...(2006)SVS12Ultra/2...LG Oled 55"
Onkyo TX-NR3008...Pioneer A.J. Towersx4...BIC Formula 12x2
aggregatebuzz is offline  
post #26 of 28 Old 01-31-2019, 11:45 AM
123
Member
 
123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aggregatebuzz View Post
mine is smmooth with the 4G ram,I think that is max for this platform,is a Asus workstation model

Thanks for sharing your experience! I was probably going to do it piece-meal for giggles, anyway. It'll cost me about 30$ to add 4 more gigs, so no real harm in doing so, even if I won't need it. But if it runs fine without, I probably won't, out of laziness.
123 is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 01-31-2019, 03:23 PM
Newbie
 
aggregatebuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
prices for ram are nice now,the upgrade would be easy or easy to forget about too
lazy is king for me sometimes too

Kenwood KR-8540...Bose 901
Denon AVR4520CI...Emp Tek 55 Ti Tower x4... E56Ci...(2006)SVS12Ultra/2...LG Oled 55"
Onkyo TX-NR3008...Pioneer A.J. Towersx4...BIC Formula 12x2
aggregatebuzz is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 09-03-2019, 12:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi, Someone can suggest a good card for MPV player? (linux)
bl4ck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off