Drive shucking 8TB WD My Book external drives? - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 35Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 101 Old 05-07-2019, 04:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,269
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 401 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
It depends on your PSU, when thye are older they can need the pin mod, mine does, but a sata to molex adapter also works. I had to use those anyways to power all my drives so thats what I did.

Heres all the info you should need.
https://www.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder...tb_compendium/
Weirdly of the two 8 tb white labels I have shucked, one required the pin mod, and one did not. Installed on the same server/PSU.
Sammy2 likes this.
lockdown571 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 101 Old 05-07-2019, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
dfkimbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Franklin, TN (mostly)
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
It depends on your PSU, when thye are older they can need the pin mod, mine does, but a sata to molex adapter also works. I had to use those anyways to power all my drives so thats what I did.

Heres all the info you should need.
https://www.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder...tb_compendium/
I haven’t bought one yet, but I grabbed some Kapton tape for the pin mod for when I do. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Too many horror stories with molex to SATA adapters. The risk of a fire with a poorly manufactured one shorting and arcing just isn’t worth it to me.
Sammy2 likes this.

Well, Duncan, he's just this guy, you know?
dfkimbro is offline  
post #63 of 101 Old 05-08-2019, 04:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,319
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Do you guys just delete all the WD B.S. on these drives or do you do a full format?

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 101 Old 05-08-2019, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,319
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post
Weirdly of the two 8 tb white labels I have shucked, one required the pin mod, and one did not. Installed on the same server/PSU.
Interesting.

I put it in a relatively old USB 3.0 docking station and it worked fine but maybe it isn't that old?

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is offline  
post #65 of 101 Old 05-08-2019, 04:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,319
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkimbro View Post
I haven’t bought one yet, but I grabbed some Kapton tape for the pin mod for when I do. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1



Too many horror stories with molex to SATA adapters. The risk of a fire with a poorly manufactured one shorting and arcing just isn’t worth it to me.
I've used plenty of these in the past without issue. I always get stuff like this from www.monoprice.com .

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is offline  
post #66 of 101 Old 05-08-2019, 07:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,622
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkimbro View Post
I haven’t bought one yet, but I grabbed some Kapton tape for the pin mod for when I do. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1



Too many horror stories with molex to SATA adapters. The risk of a fire with a poorly manufactured one shorting and arcing just isn’t worth it to me.

I guess it could. I've been using them for years. So far so good.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #67 of 101 Old 05-08-2019, 07:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,622
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
Do you guys just delete all the WD B.S. on these drives or do you do a full format?

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk


Either way. A format (quick) just takes a minute. I never do slow or whatever it's called. Talked forever.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sammy2 likes this.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #68 of 101 Old 05-10-2019, 05:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 411
I've never had to do anything with the pins on any drive that I've pulled from an external case, and I've used many different brands and drive capacities over the years. I plug them into a SATA backplane in a Supermicro server chassis that runs unRAID. I have to do a pre-clear on the drives before they can be used in the array so it wipes everything that's on the drive. The drives get formatted with the xfs file system when they are added to the array. UnRAID now gives you the option of using either xfs or the legacy reiserfs file systems when formatting the drives.
Sammy2 likes this.
captain_video is offline  
post #69 of 101 Old 05-10-2019, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,622
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
I've never had to do anything with the pins on any drive that I've pulled from an external case, and I've used many different brands and drive capacities over the years. I plug them into a SATA backplane in a Supermicro server chassis that runs unRAID. I have to do a pre-clear on the drives before they can be used in the array so it wipes everything that's on the drive. The drives get formatted with the xfs file system when they are added to the array. UnRAID now gives you the option of using either xfs or the legacy reiserfs file systems when formatting the drives.
It seems that commonly the power issue doesn't show up when connected to backplanes. At least thats what I have read, so that is probably why you have never noticed it.

My server has an old (XFX) PSU that I got with my GTX 580. (Yes GTX not RX). And the last time I added a drive to my setup it wouldn't power up when plugged into regular sata power. Molex adapter did it. Not sure if that would be the case with a current PSU.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #70 of 101 Old 05-10-2019, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,319
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 339
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16817438017

This is my PSU. I wonder if it will be an issue for me?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #71 of 101 Old 05-10-2019, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,622
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16817438017

This is my PSU. I wonder if it will be an issue for me?
Didn't you already shuck the drive? Grab a sata power plug and see if it spins up. When mine didn't work it just acted like the drive wasn't there. Windows didn't see it. Pretty easy test if you have the hardware there. Unless your stuff is stashed away.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #72 of 101 Old 05-10-2019, 02:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,319
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 339
It's all a matter of time.. I bought this drive months ago but am now just having a window of opportunity to install it. Just in time too as I'm getting full up again. This is the last drive I install to expand space. From now on I am recycling old to make room for new. 30Tb is enough!

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk

Sammy2 is offline  
post #73 of 101 Old 05-10-2019, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,622
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post
It's all a matter of time.. I bought this drive months ago but am now just having a window of opportunity to install it. Just in time too as I'm getting full up again. This is the last drive I install to expand space. From now on I am recycling old to make room for new. 30Tb is enough!

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
I always regret when I do that (recycle old stuff). I only have 24 right now though usable. But even 10 of that is free.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #74 of 101 Old 05-10-2019, 04:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 11,319
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1011 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
I always regret when I do that (recycle old stuff). I only have 24 right now though usable. But even 10 of that is free.
This drive will bring me from 22 to 30, a nearly 33% increase. I should be good for a while still.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #75 of 101 Old 05-10-2019, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ShoutingMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NoVA / One Loudoun
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 80
What’s the the price to watch for on an 8TB or 10TB WD easystore? I’m still ambivalent on the future of my HTPC. But my 10TB is full, so I might as well take a weekend and play around shucking a drive and upgrading my system. But since standard internal drives aren’t getting lower than ~$30/TB, maybe I should try shucking.
ShoutingMan is offline  
post #76 of 101 Old 05-11-2019, 04:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Krispy Kritter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I know most of the guides and discussions state to use the Easystore model. But I mistakenly bought an Elements drive two weeks ago (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1) and it has the same "White Label" drive that is considered to be the "Red". This was confirmed by others over at HardOCP. Apparently WD is now using the same drives in both models. From what I've read, the 3.3v power feature isn't implemented on all drives.
Krispy Kritter is offline  
post #77 of 101 Old 05-11-2019, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ShoutingMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NoVA / One Loudoun
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krispy Kritter View Post
I know most of the guides and discussions state to use the Easystore model. But I mistakenly bought an Elements drive two weeks ago (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1) and it has the same "White Label" drive that is considered to be the "Red". This was confirmed by others over at HardOCP. Apparently WD is now using the same drives in both models. From what I've read, the 3.3v power feature isn't implemented on all drives.
I thought folks were saying the Elements was considered a WD Blue, vs the WD Red ostensibly white labeled in the EasyStore? Can you link to the HardOCP forum where this is discussed, that the Elements is now looking the same as the EasyStore?

I'm happy buying from BB. But Amazon prices are easier to monitor with CamelCamelCamel.
ShoutingMan is offline  
post #78 of 101 Old 05-11-2019, 08:07 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,684
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2123 Post(s)
Liked: 4030
Posts discussing sites that deal in piracy removed.

If ya have to give hints as to the name of the website, then there's probably something illegal going on, there. If anyone needs to identify the right title for an MakeMKV rip, someone on MakeMKV's own forum usually has it figured out within hours of a disc's release.
whiteboy714 likes this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #79 of 101 Old 05-11-2019, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,622
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShoutingMan View Post
What’s the the price to watch for on an 8TB or 10TB WD easystore? I’m still ambivalent on the future of my HTPC. But my 10TB is full, so I might as well take a weekend and play around shucking a drive and upgrading my system. But since standard internal drives aren’t getting lower than ~$30/TB, maybe I should try shucking.
I think about $130-150 on the 8tb.
About $159-179 on the 10tb.

The lower end is much more uncommon and doesn't last long. It comes down to how long you want to wait to nab the best deal.
ShoutingMan likes this.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #80 of 101 Old 05-11-2019, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
I think about $130-150 on the 8tb.
About $159-179 on the 10tb.

The lower end is much more uncommon and doesn't last long. It comes down to how long you want to wait to nab the best deal.

I routinely see the 8TB WD external drives for as low as $125. Check dealnews.com or slickdeals.net for sales. Newegg had it at that price but it looks like they're sold out.
ShoutingMan likes this.

Last edited by captain_video; 05-11-2019 at 05:17 PM.
captain_video is offline  
post #81 of 101 Old 05-11-2019, 05:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,622
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
I routinely see the 8TB WD external drives for as low as $125. Check dealnews.com or slickdeals.net for sales. Newegg had it at that price but it looks like they're sold out.
I haven't messed with the Elements drives myself because of reported blues inside. But it sounds like they are whites these days? The easystore which has got the most exposure is a BB exclusive.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #82 of 101 Old 05-12-2019, 04:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Krispy Kritter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 27
The HardOCP thread monitoring the sales and the discussion is here: https://hardforum.com/threads/new-pr...ost-1044192036
ShoutingMan likes this.
Krispy Kritter is offline  
post #83 of 101 Old 05-12-2019, 05:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
I haven't messed with the Elements drives myself because of reported blues inside. But it sounds like they are whites these days? The easystore which has got the most exposure is a BB exclusive.

The last 4 or 5 WD external drives I've bought all contained white label drives.
ShoutingMan likes this.
captain_video is offline  
post #84 of 101 Old 05-12-2019, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ShoutingMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NoVA / One Loudoun
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 80
And EasyStore 10TB is $180 at BB: $18/TB. Very tempting. But it will be a month or two before I'd have time to deal with it. So better wait for now. I expect the price will get there again. And for my needs, I'd rather buy the 8TB for $145. (This would be the parity drive, moving a 5TB drive in to data, so I'm only getting +5TB storage with a single drive addition. But $145 is less than I paid for 5TB three years ago, so it's a fair upgrade value.)
ShoutingMan is offline  
post #85 of 101 Old 05-14-2019, 05:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
dfkimbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Franklin, TN (mostly)
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 102
And...both the 8TB and 10TB are back on sale again https://slickdeals.net/f/13079461-wd...#post127490452
ShoutingMan likes this.

Well, Duncan, he's just this guy, you know?
dfkimbro is offline  
post #86 of 101 Old 05-25-2019, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ShoutingMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NoVA / One Loudoun
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 80
WD Easystore 8TB was back on sale for under $17/TB, so I ordered it. Will try drive shucking and install when I have time in the next month or two.

Last edited by ShoutingMan; 05-26-2019 at 07:05 AM.
ShoutingMan is offline  
post #87 of 101 Old 05-25-2019, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,287
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 827 Post(s)
Liked: 647
As for the warranty of shucked drives, multiple people had success just sending the drive by itself to WD.

These are definitely the way to go for a media server. I would rip out my hair if I had any data loss, so I run Raid 6 with full off-site backups.

Lyngdorf MP-50 | Yamaha MX-A5200 | Ascend Sierra Towers | Ascend Sierra Horizon | Ascend Sierra Lunas | Ascend HTM-200SE | SVS SB-13 x4
duckymomo is offline  
post #88 of 101 Old 06-04-2019, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,526
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckymomo View Post
As for the warranty of shucked drives, multiple people had success just sending the drive by itself to WD.
I sent one of the bare drives in and they stated it wasn't a standalone drive and wanted to know who "sold it as such" I played "dumb" and they finally made an exception and covered it... sent a replacement refurb.
SuperFist likes this.

125" Projection | 5.2.4 Audio | Shield TV | LibreELEC/ODROID-C2 Kodi Media Client | Ubuntu/ODROID-XU4 NAS/Server | 65" LG OLED TV | TiVo | Shield TV |
| Water cooled PC - i7-8700K - NVMe - RTX 2080 - 4K 43" Monitor |
Charles R is offline  
post #89 of 101 Old 06-04-2019, 10:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
I sent one of the bare drives in and they stated it wasn't a standalone drive and wanted to know who "sold it as such" I played "dumb" and they finally made an exception and covered it... sent a replacement refurb.
That's interesting. Didn't you have to get an RMA from the website before sending it in? Did you just pack it up and send it back to the manufacturer? It should have kicked it back when you entered the serial number of the drive online. The serial numbers on the enclosures aren't the same as what's on the drives. The number on the drive may not even be recognized as a result.

I buy 8TB external drives when they go on sale and try to keep at least a couple on hand in case of a drive failure. In some cases the warranty has already run out by the time I put it in service so I just have to keep my fingers crossed that it doesn't fail. Most of my drive failures occur when I reboot the server. Bad drives are no longer recognized and won't mount. If I start seeing any read or write errors on a drive then chances are it's about to fail so I'll replace it before it fails completely. I always run a thorough test of any drives that I pull from the server followed by a complete erase. I must have well over 40 drives that either "failed" in my server or were pulled to upgrade the capacity. Most of the drives that showed a failure in my server ended up testing fine using either Seatools or WD Data Lifeguard. If a drive is truly bad then it may still pass the short test but will almost always fail the long test. I've had at least one or two that passed all tests but crapped out when doing a full erase. I will then fully disassemble the drive down to the piece parts and take a hammer to the platters and smash the living crap out of them. The rest of the parts get recycled at my county landfill. The ones that tested good may get repurposed in a future PC build.
SuperFist and Sammy2 like this.
captain_video is offline  
post #90 of 101 Old 06-04-2019, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,526
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
Didn't you have to get an RMA from the website before sending it in? Did you just pack it up and send it back to the manufacturer? It should have kicked it back when you entered the serial number of the drive online. The serial numbers on the enclosures aren't the same as what's on the drives. The number on the drive may not even be recognized as a result.
It's been a while although I remember the conversation (on the telephone after they received it) with the warranty rep very well. "It wasn't produced as a stand alone drive and please let us know who sold it as such"... again I played dumb stating I didn't know as it's the company's (true) and I'm not aware of where it came from. After a bit he decided (rather nicely) they would process the RMA and I thanked him.

If I remember correctly I entered the serial number on their site (to setup the RMA) and it stated it was an external drive. I sent just the drive which is why the rep called. Also some of the external units will only support the same TB size or drives. You can't use them as a "universal" external enclosure.
SuperFist likes this.

125" Projection | 5.2.4 Audio | Shield TV | LibreELEC/ODROID-C2 Kodi Media Client | Ubuntu/ODROID-XU4 NAS/Server | 65" LG OLED TV | TiVo | Shield TV |
| Water cooled PC - i7-8700K - NVMe - RTX 2080 - 4K 43" Monitor |
Charles R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off