MadVR HTPC build for JVC NX7 projector - a build! - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 43Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 235 Old 04-09-2019, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
You probably have too many image enhancements for 4K content (sharpening, dithering, etc.)

Press CTRL+J, and make sure your render times are less that 41ms for 4K 23hz content, and less than 16ms for 4K 60Hz content.

Unless you mean stuttering and not dropped frames - in which case its a driver issue - try to to use .34 or .35 driver. You can get it from Nvidia site.




this is one of my seting for RTX 2060, i7 7700t with 16GB DDR4 RAM and SSD HDD
riddle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 235 Old 04-09-2019, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 340
MadVR HTPC build for JVC NX7 projector - a build!

Quote:
Originally Posted by riddle View Post



this is one of my seting for RTX 2060, i7 7700t with 16GB DDR4 RAM and SSD HDD


With these render times of 14ms you should not have any dropped frames.

I think you might be suffering from stuttering that some drivers can have on RTX cards.

Use the version 419.34 or 35 (March 5, 2019) from Nvidia website and see if this corrects itself.


See this link for recommended cards

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=176013




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
markmon1 and riddle like this.

Gear: Fronts: B&W 803D3 | Center: B&W HTM2D3 | Surrounds: B&W 705S2 | Backs: B&W DM601S3 | Heights: Definitive Techonlogy ProCinema 1000 | Receiver & Amps: Anthem MRX 720 + Emotiva BasX-5 | Projector: JVC NX7 | Source: HTPC with Nvidia 2070, Kodi + External Player: MPC-HC with MadVR (for Blu-ray rips), Nvidia Shield (for streaming content)
tommarra is offline  
post #153 of 235 Old 04-09-2019, 09:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,513
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4648 Post(s)
Liked: 2945
Quote:
Originally Posted by riddle View Post



this is one of my seting for RTX 2060, i7 7700t with 16GB DDR4 RAM and SSD HDD
You have two interesting indicators in that screen shot. First, you have 110 dropped frames, which is a ton. Second, you have 14ms render times which is great. Perhaps your issue isn't processing but some sort of buffering issue. Why not crank your queues up from 16 and 8 to something big like 64/32?
riddle likes this.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #154 of 235 Old 04-09-2019, 10:11 PM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
With these render times of 14ms you should not have any dropped frames.

I think you might be suffering from stuttering that some drivers can have on RTX cards.

Use the version 419.34 or 35 (March 5, 2019) from Nvidia website and see if this corrects itself.


See this link for recommended cards

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=176013


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I will try it... thanks
riddle is offline  
post #155 of 235 Old 04-09-2019, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
You have two interesting indicators in that screen shot. First, you have 110 dropped frames, which is a ton. Second, you have 14ms render times which is great. Perhaps your issue isn't processing but some sort of buffering issue. Why not crank your queues up from 16 and 8 to something big like 64/32?

Hi markmon1, can you plz explain me whre i can set it?


Thanks
riddle is offline  
post #156 of 235 Old 04-09-2019, 11:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,513
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4648 Post(s)
Liked: 2945
Quote:
Originally Posted by riddle View Post
Hi markmon1, can you plz explain me whre i can set it?


Thanks
In the settings under rendering, general at the bottom there are 2 sliders. I am using 32 and 16 on mine.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #157 of 235 Old 04-11-2019, 02:01 AM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Hi, this is ma old Nvidia GPU drivers with changes to 64/32...


And its still not play well :-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190410_223445.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	87.2 KB
ID:	2551598  
riddle is offline  
post #158 of 235 Old 04-11-2019, 03:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,513
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4648 Post(s)
Liked: 2945
Quote:
Originally Posted by riddle View Post
Hi, this is ma old Nvidia GPU drivers with changes to 64/32...


And its still not play well :-)
What does "its still not play well" mean? According to that screen shot, you're rendering in 15ms average and are well below the threshold to drop frames.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #159 of 235 Old 04-11-2019, 03:59 AM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Its litlle tricky to write, but i see some time little shuttering as well on 1080p too. There must be somethink what i missed to set.. :-)
riddle is offline  
post #160 of 235 Old 04-11-2019, 04:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,513
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4648 Post(s)
Liked: 2945
Quote:
Originally Posted by riddle View Post
Its litlle tricky to write, but i see some time little shuttering as well on 1080p too. There must be somethink what i missed to set.. :-)
Several posts back, Tommarra said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
With these render times of 14ms you should not have any dropped frames.

I think you might be suffering from stuttering that some drivers can have on RTX cards.

Use the version 419.34 or 35 (March 5, 2019) from Nvidia website and see if this corrects itself.


See this link for recommended cards

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=176013
Perhaps you should take that to heart?

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #161 of 235 Old 04-11-2019, 04:06 AM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Yesi my drivers are now 419.35
riddle is offline  
post #162 of 235 Old 04-11-2019, 04:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,513
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4648 Post(s)
Liked: 2945
Quote:
Originally Posted by riddle View Post
Yesi my drivers are now 419.35
Whats your player? Where is your content located? Local hard disk? Network share?

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #163 of 235 Old 04-11-2019, 04:11 AM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Whats your player? Where is your content located? Local hard disk? Network share?

Mpc-hc and all is on local HDD
riddle is offline  
post #164 of 235 Old 04-11-2019, 04:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 580
Are all your files playing that way? Your picture at post #157 shows all the queues are full, but you say you are dropping frames rather than getting stutter? It looks like the file is being rendered correctly. The file shown also has no HDR metadata. I don't understand how it could be skipping frames. Try using another media player like MPC-BE.
riddle likes this.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #165 of 235 Old 04-11-2019, 04:55 AM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Are all your files playing that way? Your picture at post #157 shows all the queues are full, but you say you are dropping frames rather than getting stutter? It looks like the file is being rendered correctly. The file shown also has no HDR metadata. I don't understand how it could be skipping frames. Try using another media player like MPC-BE.



Ok, i will try it. Did you try on MPC-BE some 3D MVC video with MadVR? I think i was some problem on it but its was long time ago...
riddle is offline  
post #166 of 235 Old 04-11-2019, 04:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 580
It is possible to play 3D videos with MPC-BE. I haven't tried it recently, but it is known to work.
riddle likes this.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #167 of 235 Old 04-12-2019, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 340
For rendering methods - I noticed that using Full Screen Exclusive significantly reduces the render times.

Question I have is whether I should use Direct X 11 option or not? What is the benefit of one vs. the other?

Gear: Fronts: B&W 803D3 | Center: B&W HTM2D3 | Surrounds: B&W 705S2 | Backs: B&W DM601S3 | Heights: Definitive Techonlogy ProCinema 1000 | Receiver & Amps: Anthem MRX 720 + Emotiva BasX-5 | Projector: JVC NX7 | Source: HTPC with Nvidia 2070, Kodi + External Player: MPC-HC with MadVR (for Blu-ray rips), Nvidia Shield (for streaming content)
tommarra is offline  
post #168 of 235 Old 04-13-2019, 01:51 AM
Senior Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Ok, in MPC-BE i see no shuttering compare to MPC-HC
markmon1 likes this.
riddle is offline  
post #169 of 235 Old 04-13-2019, 06:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
For rendering methods - I noticed that using Full Screen Exclusive significantly reduces the render times.

Question I have is whether I should use Direct X 11 option or not? What is the benefit of one vs. the other?
The D3D11 option is needed for 10-bit output from madVR. It might also be faster to enter and exit fullscreen exclusive mode with it enabled.

Improvements with rendering times with windowed mode vs. fullscreen exclusive mode tend to be fake. The rendering stats are likely inaccurate, as there is not supposed to be any difference between the two. It just changes the windowed mode of the player.

Last edited by Onkyoman; 04-13-2019 at 06:25 AM.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #170 of 235 Old 04-14-2019, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
The D3D11 option is needed for 10-bit output from madVR. It might also be faster to enter and exit fullscreen exclusive mode with it enabled.



Improvements with rendering times with windowed mode vs. fullscreen exclusive mode tend to be fake. The rendering stats are likely inaccurate, as there is not supposed to be any difference between the two. It just changes the windowed mode of the player.


Thank you.

One more question - on my PC I have a lot of streaking (seems like bright areas of scenes with high contrasts clip and there are bright streaks) this happens not just on MadVR but also on other video playing through the stock windows video player.

I tried to use newer drivers, change contrast setting but nothing helps.

Worst offender is in How to train your dragon hidden world ... final scene of battle where there is a lot of fire and lightning... all of that has lot of streaking on faces and fires.


Any advise?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Gear: Fronts: B&W 803D3 | Center: B&W HTM2D3 | Surrounds: B&W 705S2 | Backs: B&W DM601S3 | Heights: Definitive Techonlogy ProCinema 1000 | Receiver & Amps: Anthem MRX 720 + Emotiva BasX-5 | Projector: JVC NX7 | Source: HTPC with Nvidia 2070, Kodi + External Player: MPC-HC with MadVR (for Blu-ray rips), Nvidia Shield (for streaming content)
tommarra is offline  
post #171 of 235 Old 04-15-2019, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 580
Is the content HDR or SDR? Clipping sounds like a video levels issue or contrast that is not set correctly on the projector. Have you tested for black and white clipping with SDR 16-235 clipping patterns, like these (under Basic Settings):

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...libration.html
Onkyoman is online now  
post #172 of 235 Old 04-18-2019, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Is the content HDR or SDR? Clipping sounds like a video levels issue or contrast that is not set correctly on the projector. Have you tested for black and white clipping with SDR 16-235 clipping patterns, like these (under Basic Settings):

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...libration.html
I wasnt the only one. I guess it was happening because I had motion enhance turned on. Turning it off removed all the artifacts. It was not really clipping but in-frame artifact.

Thanks for all the suggestions.

Gear: Fronts: B&W 803D3 | Center: B&W HTM2D3 | Surrounds: B&W 705S2 | Backs: B&W DM601S3 | Heights: Definitive Techonlogy ProCinema 1000 | Receiver & Amps: Anthem MRX 720 + Emotiva BasX-5 | Projector: JVC NX7 | Source: HTPC with Nvidia 2070, Kodi + External Player: MPC-HC with MadVR (for Blu-ray rips), Nvidia Shield (for streaming content)
tommarra is offline  
post #173 of 235 Old 05-02-2019, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hi, I have been using MadVR with my NX7 and loving almost everything. My last issue I am trying to troubleshoot is a stutter that is only noticeable in long (20 seconds or more) pan shots. I will typically see one stutter in that time. I am using windows 10 and kodi dsplayer. My render times are around 23 msec and madvr reports one repeated frame every 10 minutes or so. There are almost no dropped frames after the first 5 seconds of playback. My graphics card is an nvidia rtx 2070 using driver version 419.35.

Any advice on things to try would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
cogdok is online now  
post #174 of 235 Old 05-02-2019, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by cogdok View Post
Hi, I have been using MadVR with my NX7 and loving almost everything. My last issue I am trying to troubleshoot is a stutter that is only noticeable in long (20 seconds or more) pan shots. I will typically see one stutter in that time. I am using windows 10 and kodi dsplayer. My render times are around 23 msec and madvr reports one repeated frame every 10 minutes or so. There are almost no dropped frames after the first 5 seconds of playback. My graphics card is an nvidia rtx 2070 using driver version 419.35.

Any advice on things to try would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Is your MadVR or KodiDS player set to auto frame match. Typically PCs are using 60fps and if the content is 24 FPS you will see stutter in pan shots due to frame rate pulldown.

In my setup I had to use MPlayerHC to auto switch the frame rate ... for some reason MadVR itself was not switching the frame rate for me.


Also make sure you turn off CMD in the projector.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Gear: Fronts: B&W 803D3 | Center: B&W HTM2D3 | Surrounds: B&W 705S2 | Backs: B&W DM601S3 | Heights: Definitive Techonlogy ProCinema 1000 | Receiver & Amps: Anthem MRX 720 + Emotiva BasX-5 | Projector: JVC NX7 | Source: HTPC with Nvidia 2070, Kodi + External Player: MPC-HC with MadVR (for Blu-ray rips), Nvidia Shield (for streaming content)

Last edited by tommarra; 05-03-2019 at 08:06 AM.
tommarra is offline  
post #175 of 235 Old 05-31-2019, 03:13 AM
Member
 
FGEvans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
To get best HDR - you would create a custom picture mode:

Color: HDR
White: 6500K
Gamma: 2.4

Input Space: Auto

In MadVR:

Set Gamma to 2.4
Display: Full (0-255)

In Nvidia Driver:
Colorspace: RBG
Bits: 8 or 12
RGB: Full

Also on my NX7, if i use a Contrast of >0 then i get some highlight clipping (where the color shows up as White streaks) so now my Contrast is 0, Brightness -2
is that correct. I understood that by selecting a HDR colour profile you defeat the purpose of the tone mapping. I assume you would chose bt 2020 as the colour range. I may be wrong as i am just starting out and have read conflicting posts already.

also how do i actually load a new build. Does it replace the existing madvr file i have and hence i lose the current settings for everything else or does it keep existing settings and just add new options.
FGEvans is offline  
post #176 of 235 Old 05-31-2019, 05:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
ddgdl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by FGEvans View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
To get best HDR - you would create a custom picture mode:

Color: HDR
White: 6500K
Gamma: 2.4

Input Space: Auto

In MadVR:

Set Gamma to 2.4
Display: Full (0-255)

In Nvidia Driver:
Colorspace: RBG
Bits: 8 or 12
RGB: Full

Also on my NX7, if i use a Contrast of >0 then i get some highlight clipping (where the color shows up as White streaks) so now my Contrast is 0, Brightness -2
is that correct. I understood that by selecting a HDR colour profile you defeat the purpose of the tone mapping. I assume you would chose bt 2020 as the colour range. I may be wrong as i am just starting out and have read conflicting posts already.

also how do i actually load a new build. Does it replace the existing madvr file i have and hence i lose the current settings for everything else or does it keep existing settings and just add new options.
Setting the color space in the jvc to HDR just means bt2020 but without the color filter in place, for slightly more brightness but a lower percentage of the DCI-P3 color space. If you have madvr do the pixel shader tone mapping, the jvc thinks it is getting a SDR signal and doesn't do anything to it
ddgdl is offline  
post #177 of 235 Old 05-31-2019, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tommarra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked: 340
MadVR HTPC build for JVC NX7 projector - a build!

Quote:
Originally Posted by FGEvans View Post
is that correct. I understood that by selecting a HDR colour profile you defeat the purpose of the tone mapping. I assume you would chose bt 2020 as the colour range. I may be wrong as i am just starting out and have read conflicting posts already.



also how do i actually load a new build. Does it replace the existing madvr file i have and hence i lose the current settings for everything else or does it keep existing settings and just add new options.


HDR and BT.2020 are both used for HDR. BT2020 uses the color filter to get 100% DCI coverage.

To load a new build just replace the file from Madshi test build in your current MadVR folder. All settings are retained. You might have to tweak setting in the HDR section (under Display)

I have build a few batch files to automate color profile selection and lens memory for a network connected PJ if MadVR detects HDR. I will post them i this thread as well

If you want to back up your settings make a copy of settings.bin file in the MadVR.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Gear: Fronts: B&W 803D3 | Center: B&W HTM2D3 | Surrounds: B&W 705S2 | Backs: B&W DM601S3 | Heights: Definitive Techonlogy ProCinema 1000 | Receiver & Amps: Anthem MRX 720 + Emotiva BasX-5 | Projector: JVC NX7 | Source: HTPC with Nvidia 2070, Kodi + External Player: MPC-HC with MadVR (for Blu-ray rips), Nvidia Shield (for streaming content)

Last edited by tommarra; 05-31-2019 at 06:50 AM.
tommarra is offline  
post #178 of 235 Old 05-31-2019, 08:03 AM
Member
 
FGEvans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
HDR and BT.2020 are both used for HDR. BT2020 uses the color filter to get 100% DCI coverage.

To load a new build just replace the file from Madshi test build in your current MadVR folder. All settings are retained. You might have to tweak setting in the HDR section (under Display)

I have build a few batch files to automate color profile selection and lens memory for a network connected PJ if MadVR detects HDR. I will post them i this thread as well

If you want to back up your settings make a copy of settings.bin file in the MadVR.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

cheers so i need to tell madvr to pass through the HDR meta data

also do i pick a custom picture option on the projector and then use that for the tone mapping. Also what lamp level do most people use ie low or high.

i also assume i dont have to worry about using the measurement tool that is referred earlier in the tone mapping post

Last edited by FGEvans; 05-31-2019 at 08:35 AM.
FGEvans is offline  
post #179 of 235 Old 05-31-2019, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
ddgdl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by FGEvans View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommarra View Post
HDR and BT.2020 are both used for HDR. BT2020 uses the color filter to get 100% DCI coverage.

To load a new build just replace the file from Madshi test build in your current MadVR folder. All settings are retained. You might have to tweak setting in the HDR section (under Display)

I have build a few batch files to automate color profile selection and lens memory for a network connected PJ if MadVR detects HDR. I will post them i this thread as well

If you want to back up your settings make a copy of settings.bin file in the MadVR.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

cheers so i need to tell madvr to pass through the HDR meta data

also do i pick a custom picture option on the projector and then use that for the tone mapping. Also what lamp level do most people use ie low or high.

i also assume i dont have to worry about using the measurement tool that is referred earlier in the tone mapping post
You posted this in three different threads.

No, don't pass through the HDR metadata. You can do anything you want on the projector but the best setup is likely User 1, HDR color, 2.4 gamma, brightness -2, iris set to 0 under manual mode and then switched to auto 2 mode
ddgdl is offline  
post #180 of 235 Old 05-31-2019, 12:22 PM
Member
 
FGEvans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks
FGEvans is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off