7.1 audio on a motherboard used for home theater - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
kodi plays the same files perfectly. but i haven't checked the cpu usage. I will tonight.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,458
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2610 Post(s)
Liked: 1565
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
kodi plays the same files perfectly. but i haven't checked the cpu usage. I will tonight.
Well that really makes it look like Plex is software transcoding. It might be a configuration issue or networking issue. Plex should be able to direct play without maxing out CPU utilization if Kodi can as well.
skschatzman is online now  
post #33 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
it can't be networking issue cause the movie I played was on the local HDD.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,458
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2610 Post(s)
Liked: 1565
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
it can't be networking issue cause the movie I played was on the local HDD.
I get that, but if Plex is transcoding then maybe it isn't detecting the video as local. It should be direct playback, but it seems as though it isn't.
skschatzman is online now  
post #35 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,653
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
I get that, but if Plex is transcoding then maybe it isn't detecting the video as local. It should be direct playback, but it seems as though it isn't.
Yeah for sure the CPU is doing the work with Plex. Sign up for a plex pass free trial and enable HW transcoding.
https://www.plex.tv/ad/free-trial-plex-pass/

Kodi must be using the gpu if it works. Also check out the CPU usage when Kodi is playing back a file.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #36 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
I get that, but if Plex is transcoding then maybe it isn't detecting the video as local. It should be direct playback, but it seems as though it isn't.
what settings in plex controls this?

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #37 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Yeah for sure the CPU is doing the work with Plex. Sign up for a plex pass free trial and enable HW transcoding.
https://www.plex.tv/ad/free-trial-plex-pass/

Kodi must be using the gpu if it works. Also check out the CPU usage when Kodi is playing back a file.
even if plex pass fixes it with HW transcoding, I don't want to pay for it after the free trial. there shouldn't really be any transcoding at all.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #38 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,653
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
even if plex pass fixes it with HW transcoding, I don't want to pay for it after the free trial. there shouldn't really be any transcoding at all.
Something is off, it needs to be sending the file to a client that can handle it to direct play, or it has to transcode, seems like it thinks it can direct play but its not handling it.

I am not too familiar with Plex on windows but can you go into the settings on the machine that is playing it and make sure it is using the GPU for playback. You can't playback 4K with just a cpu, it needs to offload to the gpu. Seems pretty clear that Kodi is doing this and Plex is not.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #39 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
there is no setting for this. unless its called something else

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #40 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,653
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
there is no setting for this. unless its called something else
Are you running the server and the client on the same PC? That may be causing some weird issues. Also do you have Video Quality set to "original".

To properly direct stream your client has to be able to play the file on its own. Just the 2600K can't handle 4k.

This is probably a good place to ask your question, might get more eyes with plex users.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-ho...on-thread.html
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #41 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Are you running the server and the client on the same PC? That may be causing some weird issues. Also do you have Video Quality set to "original".

To properly direct stream your client has to be able to play the file on its own. Just the 2600K can't handle 4k.

This is probably a good place to ask your question, might get more eyes with plex users.
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-ho...on-thread.html
server and client are on the same PC. i also tried it with the server on my i7-2600k machine, its still choppy. the video quality is set to original. I don't know what you mean by "play the file on its own". I can play the files using Media Player Classic.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #42 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,653
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
server and client are on the same PC. i also tried it with the server on my i7-2600k machine, its still choppy. the video quality is set to original. I don't know what you mean by "play the file on its own". I can play the files using Media Player Classic.
Sorry I meant the machine needs the capability of playing the file, so that the server can just send it directly.

You can play the file with Media Player Classic in the machine with the i7 870 and 1050ti? (which you should be able to).

Something is up with plex then for sure. I would recommend posting in the plex thread. I am more familiar with emby.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #43 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Sorry I meant the machine needs the capability of playing the file, so that the server can just send it directly.

You can play the file with Media Player Classic in the machine with the i7 870 and 1050ti? (which you should be able to).

Something is up with plex then for sure. I would recommend posting in the plex thread. I am more familiar with emby.
yes I can play the file with Media Player Classic in the machine with the i7 870 and 1050ti. I did post in that thread just now. thanks.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #44 of 61 Old 04-04-2019, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
so I played a movie using kodi and the cpu utilization is a lot lower than when I use plex. it did use the GPU more.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #45 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,653
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Something strange going on with your Plex client. Seems like someone familiar would be able to help.

Is all this testing with one file or do you have different ones?

Have you considered Emby or are you set on Plex?
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #46 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I used multiple files. I never considered emby. does it use the GPU like kodi?

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #47 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I read that plex does not use GPU and that to use HW acceleration I would need the plex pass like the other person said. But even with plex pass, it doesn't use GPU. I'll give the 30 day trial a try and see. if it works, I can get a year membership and it will buy me some time so I can save more money for my new PC. plus its not that expensive anyways.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #48 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,458
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2610 Post(s)
Liked: 1565
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
I read that plex does not use GPU and that to use HW acceleration I would need the plex pass like the other person said. But even with plex pass, it doesn't use GPU. I'll give the 30 day trial a try and see. if it works, I can get a year membership and it will buy me some time so I can save more money for my new PC. plus its not that expensive anyways.
Or if you like Plex you can buy the lifetime membership for $120... I recommend you just save yourself the money. You don't need a new PC or $120 software to do what you can already do for free. I have heard a lot of good things about Emby, but I like Kodi for the vast customizability and also supports many add-ons.

Depending on how you use your PC, you may also want to check out LibreELEC. It is basically a standalone Kodi OS that is very very smooth. It replaces windows or you can create a dual boot.

There are many cool things you can do with Kodi if you do the research. Like there is a Kodi remote app for the phone, or streaming services, or watch/record broadcast networks.

Last edited by skschatzman; 04-05-2019 at 08:07 AM.
skschatzman is online now  
post #49 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,653
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
I read that plex does not use GPU and that to use HW acceleration I would need the plex pass like the other person said. But even with plex pass, it doesn't use GPU. I'll give the 30 day trial a try and see. if it works, I can get a year membership and it will buy me some time so I can save more money for my new PC. plus its not that expensive anyways.
Emby will use the GPU on the client side yes. I am not sure why Plex wouldn't. The GPU usage with plex pass I believe is referring to the server side. So that it can transcode, your system has the ability to direct play and that should be happening. Maybe plex on windows is different.

I forgot if you plan to do all this on one PC? If so you may just ditch the server/client setup and use something else. I still think that may be causing the issue.

I just installed Plex Media Player and it seems to play 4k video fine. I have a different setup of course but its using my nvidia gpu, cpu usage was low.

Last edited by whiteboy714; 04-05-2019 at 07:33 AM.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #50 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I would like to do both on one PC. but I will try the plex pass. the lenovo HTPC is too old for plex pass so I will try using my i7-2600k as the server and the lenovo as the client and see how that works. or I can use my son's i7-7700k machine as the server. that shouldn't need plex pass.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #51 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 07:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,653
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
I would like to do both on one PC. but I will try the plex pass. the lenovo HTPC is too old for plex pass so I will try using my i7-2600k as the server and the lenovo as the client and see how that works. or I can use my son's i7-7700k machine as the server. that shouldn't need plex pass.
The benefit of plex pass is HW transcoding, what you are wanting to do is direct play, so not sure it will help. You'll have to find out, its free so why not.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #52 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 12:01 PM
Senior Member
 
ruggercb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Just making sure you know there’s two places to adjust plex settings. One is the player you are using, which I’m guessing is Plex Media Player on Windows. Other settings are on your server, whether or not it’s on the same machine. That is accessible at plex.tv/web on your local network. I’ve found that plex can be a little stupid with what it thinks is local or remote and therefore will try to transcode when it shouldn’t. There may be some kind of inconsistency between the two?

Hope you get it figured out. I’ve been a plex user for many years after using xbmc/kodi. While kodi is very powerful, plex is dirt simple for my entire family to use, and therefore why I wholeheartedly recommend it.
ruggercb is offline  
post #53 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,458
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2610 Post(s)
Liked: 1565
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruggercb View Post
Just making sure you know there’s two places to adjust plex settings. One is the player you are using, which I’m guessing is Plex Media Player on Windows. Other settings are on your server, whether or not it’s on the same machine. That is accessible at plex.tv/web on your local network. I’ve found that plex can be a little stupid with what it thinks is local or remote and therefore will try to transcode when it shouldn’t. There may be some kind of inconsistency between the two?

Hope you get it figured out. I’ve been a plex user for many years after using xbmc/kodi. While kodi is very powerful, plex is dirt simple for my entire family to use, and therefore why I wholeheartedly recommend it.
I always compare it to phone OS.

Apple is like Plex as it is user friendly with limited customizability.

Android is like Kodi as it is more complex, but highly customizable.

It just comes down to what you are more comfortable and interested in doing.
skschatzman is online now  
post #54 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,653
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruggercb View Post
Just making sure you know there’s two places to adjust plex settings. One is the player you are using, which I’m guessing is Plex Media Player on Windows. Other settings are on your server, whether or not it’s on the same machine. That is accessible at plex.tv/web on your local network. I’ve found that plex can be a little stupid with what it thinks is local or remote and therefore will try to transcode when it shouldn’t. There may be some kind of inconsistency between the two?

Hope you get it figured out. I’ve been a plex user for many years after using xbmc/kodi. While kodi is very powerful, plex is dirt simple for my entire family to use, and therefore why I wholeheartedly recommend it.
Yeah I have been thinking there is some weird conflict going on here.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #55 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
i'm going to reinstall both on that machine.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #56 of 61 Old 04-05-2019, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I just found out that the Lenovo PC that I'm using as my HTPC does not have an i7-870. it in fact has an i5-660.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #57 of 61 Old 04-08-2019, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,458
Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2610 Post(s)
Liked: 1565
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocci View Post
i'm going to reinstall both on that machine.
Any luck?
skschatzman is online now  
post #58 of 61 Old 04-08-2019, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
nope.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #59 of 61 Old 04-09-2019, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
velocci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 596 Post(s)
Liked: 42
guess what, I fixed the choppiness. I put the plex media player in TV mode, went into settings->Video and enabled HW acceleration. I don't even need to pay for Plex Pass.

Family Room: Onkyo TX-NR 646 AVR, Polk Audio RtiA3 fronts, Polk Audio CSiA4 center, BIC America F12 sub, Polk Audio RC-65i rears
Basement: Denon AVR-X3400 AVR, Klipsch RP280f fronts, RP450c center, SVS PB-2000 sub, Polk Audio RC-85i rears & surrounds
Www.jvpix.com
velocci is offline  
post #60 of 61 Old 04-09-2019, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,653
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Oh man finally. That's what we were saying that the GPU want bring utilized. Glad you finally got it sorted.
whiteboy714 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
audio , hdmi , htpc , sound , video

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off