4k HTPC to 1080P projector - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 05-29-2019, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4k HTPC to 1080P projector

right so...i have now sorted my issue of GPU by installing GTX 1060 6gb into my PC.

totla rig set up is as follows...

Dell T5500.
CPU: Intel Xeon E5606 2.13Ghz
GPU: Palit Geforce GTX 1060 6GB
RAM: 12 gb
PSU: Dell 875W
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64x

Connected to Denon AVR X-2300W (Dolby Atmos 4K enabled AV receiver) via HDMI Premium Cable - from Denon Product Info document: 4K/60 Hz full-rate pass-through, 4:4:4 color resolution, HDR and BT.2020

This AV Receive is then connected to
1) Panasonic LED TV TX-58DX802B (4k UHD HDR display) using HDMI Premium Cable. &

2) Xgimi H1 1080p (native) LED projector (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/68-di...urora-etc.html)
via
darbee vision DVP5000 (https://www.avforums.com/review/darb...ice-review.346)

on Denon i have to change output setting from Monitor 1 to Monitor 2 everytime i want to use Projector. everything else remains same (i keep video mode on auto and I/P Scaler off)
3840 x 2160
so i get full 4K on my TV (3840 x 2160 @ 60Hz) but then the Darbee Vision doesn't like this as this device is only 1080p and doesnt have HDCP 2.2 same for the projector.

so my questions is... how can i send 4K signal to projector via Darbee vision? in other words how to send 4K HDCP 2.2 signals to old 1080p device?

thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Output Setting.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	317.1 KB
ID:	2573132  
kedar301 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 05-29-2019, 04:21 PM
Member
 
cTwining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by kedar301 View Post
can i send 4K signal to projector via Darbee vision?
kedar,
cdnscg's harsh answer (from a different thread) is incomplete.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
The Darblet does not pass 4K
Some people use HDMI splitters to provide separate paths for 2K (darbee) & 4K (non-darbee) signals.

Maybe there's an inexpensive solution.
From your graphics card's DisplayPort, run into a DP-to-HDMI converter, then into your darbee, and finally into the second HDMI of your projector.

There's a long thread about darblets:

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckg1 View Post

[Darby Vision Darblets]
Carl
cTwining is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 05-29-2019, 07:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rekbones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somers, CT
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 494
HDfury integral ,Vertex or AVR key will all work if placed between the projector and all other devices. Not sure what one is the best choice for your situation but they all are fairly expensive.

"Smart enough to know better, to old to care" ------ Dedicated Bat Cave Home Theater, JVC RS49U/Mitsubishi HC7900DW Projector, 110" 16:9 Jamestown screen with variable power masking for CIW 2.50:1 to 16:9, Marantz 7009 with 7.1.4 Atmos with Ohm mains,3 DIY Subs (2 15" (1 ported, 1 sealed and a 12" 4th order bandpass), 1 DIY butt kicker, Custom Built HTPC, 18TB DroboFS NAS
rekbones is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 22 Old 05-30-2019, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so the HDMI splitter will be an expensive option. I may have to try this DVI to HDMI converter and use projector as a 2nd monitor. This might work well actually.
kedar301 is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 05-30-2019, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cTwining View Post
kedar,
cdnscg's harsh answer (from a different thread) is incomplete.

hmmm what?
kedar301 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 05-30-2019, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kedar301 is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 05-30-2019, 07:32 AM
Member
 
cTwining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 27
kedar,

Sorry. I took that sentence entirely out of context. It was "incomplete" because you seem to have a 2K/darbee path readily available. I don't know whether it will work. (Many people have come to grief over HDMI/HDCP.)

Carl
cTwining is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 05-30-2019, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cTwining View Post
kedar,

Sorry. I took that sentence entirely out of context. It was "incomplete" because you seem to have a 2K/darbee path readily available. I don't know whether it will work. (Many people have come to grief over HDMI/HDCP.)

Carl
i would still like to try your idea of DVI to HDMI, i should have that converter somewhere, only thing is the audio might not get connected via DVI.

I should even have Display Port to HDMI converter.
kedar301 is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 05-30-2019, 08:19 AM
Member
 
cTwining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 27
kedar301,

Ouch! You're right about loosing audio.
My DisplayPort notion won't work.

Carl
cTwining is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 05-30-2019, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cTwining View Post
kedar301,

Ouch! You're right about loosing audio.
My DisplayPort notion won't work.

Carl
i think its a brilliant idea and worth trying.
kedar301 is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 05-30-2019, 10:36 AM
Member
 
cTwining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 27
kedar,

Maybe you can rescue the audio by running from the video card to two different inputs on the Denon receiver.


* Separate paths:

GeForce(HDMI for 4K) -- Denon in 1

GeForce(DisplayPort for 2K) -- converter --darbee -- Denon in 2


* Split path:

GeForce(HDMI) -- 4K capable splitter

(Splitter out 1 for 4K) -- Denon in 1
(Splitter out 2 for 2K) -- Darbee -- Denon in 2

(I think the AGPTEK splitter you mentioned can do only 2K, not 4K.)


Carl
cTwining is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 05-30-2019, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cTwining View Post
* Separate paths:

GeForce(HDMI for 4K) -- Denon in 1

GeForce(DisplayPort for 2K) -- converter --darbee -- Denon in 2
this above option seems good to me and i can try it quickly. however the change i will have to make here is..

From PC to
Denon input 1 - 4k HDMI to Denon HDMI
Denon input 2 - 2k Display Port to HDMI converter to Denon HDMI

Output from Denon
Denon Output 1 - 4k TV
Denon Output 2 - Darbee Vision - Projector

here i will have to figure out how can i switch on and off different outputs for different inputs or vice versa.


Quote:
Originally Posted by cTwining View Post
* Split path:

GeForce(HDMI) -- 4K capable splitter

(Splitter out 1 for 4K) -- Denon in 1
(Splitter out 2 for 2K) -- Darbee -- Denon in 2

(I think the AGPTEK splitter you mentioned can do only 2K, not 4K.)
this one seems pretty straightforward but expensive route. also will have to switch on and off the splitter all the time, possibly another remote?
kedar301 is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 05-30-2019, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and it worked.

this thing recognise same TV as two different displays depending on which Denon input i select. if i turn on PJ then i need to make sure that i use extended monitor with 1080p o/p.

its a bit tricky but works for me. and i can get Dolby Atmos via Display Port too.
kedar301 is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 05-30-2019, 07:14 PM
Member
 
cTwining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 27
4k HTPC to 1080P projector

kedar,

Excellent !

I think you're still connected as

From PC
4k HDMI to Denon HDMI 1
2k Display Port to converter to Denon HDMI 2

From Denon
Denon Output 1 - 4k TV
Denon Output 2 - Darbee Vision - Projector


What happens if you sort of "cross-thread" the 4K/2K connections this way ?

From PC HDMI to Denon HDMI 1 (usually 4K)
Denon Output 2 - Darbee (2K) - Projector

Does the HDMI handshake "fall back" to 2K, or does it "fall down" to a black screen? (If it would _reliably_ fall back to 2K, you could simplify your system.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kedar301 View Post
here i will have to figure out how can i switch on and off different outputs for different inputs or vice versa.
Harmony remotes remember which devices and connections are required for each "activity" (like "watch TV").

A "Flirc USB" can extend remote control into your PC.

https://flirc.tv/more/flirc-usb

https://www.logitech.com/en-us/harmo...versal-remotes

Carl
cTwining is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 05-31-2019, 05:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi Carl,

i have heard about Harmony remotes i will have to look into it.

I didnt really understand what you mean by Cross Thread?

Please take a look at my current setup layout in the attached pic.

are you saying i should try swapping connection no. 3 & 4?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Connections.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	584.7 KB
ID:	2574084  
kedar301 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 05-31-2019, 07:17 AM
Member
 
cTwining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 27
kedar,

"Cross-thread" was too physical an image. Sorry.
"Switch things the other way" is a clumsy phrase.

Without changing any physical connections,
consider switching the Denon to input from AUX2 and output to MONITOR2.
(That's the remaining red line in your picture.)

Can the HDMI handshake between 4K & 2K devices
automatically fall back to 2K resolution throughout the video chain?
In this configuration, do you get a picture -- or a black screen?

If there is a picture, removing the DisplayPort path might simplify your system.

Carl
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Connections - Copy.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	519.2 KB
ID:	2574120  
cTwining is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 05-31-2019, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just an update,

this set up creates conflicts so it works sometimes and doesnt work at times.

So i will have to be a bit more creative now.
kedar301 is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 06-01-2019, 10:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kedar301 View Post
right so...i have now sorted my issue of GPU by installing GTX 1060 6gb into my PC.

totla rig set up is as follows...

Dell T5500.
CPU: Intel Xeon E5606 2.13Ghz
GPU: Palit Geforce GTX 1060 6GB
RAM: 12 gb
PSU: Dell 875W
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64x

Connected to Denon AVR X-2300W (Dolby Atmos 4K enabled AV receiver) via HDMI Premium Cable - from Denon Product Info document: 4K/60 Hz full-rate pass-through, 4:4:4 color resolution, HDR and BT.2020

This AV Receive is then connected to
1) Panasonic LED TV TX-58DX802B (4k UHD HDR display) using HDMI Premium Cable. &

2) Xgimi H1 1080p (native) LED projector (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/68-di...urora-etc.html)
via
darbee vision DVP5000 (https://www.avforums.com/review/darb...ice-review.346)

on Denon i have to change output setting from Monitor 1 to Monitor 2 everytime i want to use Projector. everything else remains same (i keep video mode on auto and I/P Scaler off)
3840 x 2160
so i get full 4K on my TV (3840 x 2160 @ 60Hz) but then the Darbee Vision doesn't like this as this device is only 1080p and doesnt have HDCP 2.2 same for the projector.

so my questions is... how can i send 4K signal to projector via Darbee vision? in other words how to send 4K HDCP 2.2 signals to old 1080p device?

thanks
maybe you could output at 1080p24 RGB 10 bit from the HTPC and get the same quality as if it were 4k at 4:2:0
entropy02 is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 06-06-2019, 02:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so i had to be offline for a bit as was upgrading my PC due to memory failure.

so the new system is

Dell T5500.
CPU: Intel Xeon E5645 2.40Ghz
GPU: Palit Geforce GTX 1060 6GB
RAM: 24 gb
PSU: Dell 875W
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64x

this time i did something new on the windows display settings

my windows version is 1903 and it can give HDR settings. SO i turned it on and noticed that Netflix showed HDR on some of the titles earlier it was showing UltraHD which changed to HDR. my NVidia setting is YCbR444.

but the problem is this gives flickering on netflix. routing is still the same. tried changing YCbR444 to RGB but problem still persists.
.
I am also thinking that i may have to via expensive HDMI splitter route to have better controll over the system to use PJ.
kedar301 is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 06-06-2019, 02:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by entropy02 View Post
maybe you could output at 1080p24 RGB 10 bit from the HTPC and get the same quality as if it were 4k at 4:2:0
actually to get 4K i spent lot of money, bought brand new 4K TV and receiver then the graphic card, then why not make use of it?
kedar301 is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 06-06-2019, 03:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kedar301 is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 06-07-2019, 02:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kedar301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kedar301 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off