Menu/Movie playback for UHD-BD on PC - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By mlknez
  • 1 Post By mlknez
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 06-23-2019, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Menu/Movie playback for UHD-BD on PC

I have been trying to find a way to PLAY navigational menu studio UHD-BD's for months and I have not been able to find anything.

I have tried PowerDVD but I ran the BD Advisor Tool and it fails me on the SGX (even though my CPU and Motherboard support it) and Advanced Protected Audio/Video Path (because I have an AMD Graphics card) and I tried DVDFab Player 5 but it was super buggy and wouldn't go much further then the first loading screen (I was able to get Interstellar UHD to the menu but was choppy and no menu showed up).

I put a lot of money into upgrading a new Motherboard/Processor/Optical Drive to Play the 54 UHD-BD Movies I have and it seems like it was all for nothing. Is there any program out there (that doesn't have ungodly strict requirements) that will let me just play UHD-BD's like a normal player?

What I Have
TV
- TCL 4K TV with Dolby Vision/HDR10
Computer
- Intel Core i5 8400 6-Core
- Asus ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING
- AMD Radeon RX 560
- LG WH16NS60 Optical Drive
dougiefresh784 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 06-23-2019, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,560
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 797 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Until non-Intel hardware gets certified, there's not really any hope for further UHD-BD on PC progress. The only news of late was that the encryption scheme used on the format became available for licensing at the end of last year, so that means Nvidia and AMD can now license it and implement decoding in their respective products. Whether or not that will happen is anyone's guess, but with the move to 4K monitors and laptop displays happening this year, it's certainly possible we get some advancement in 2020.
LexInVA is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 06-23-2019, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by LexInVA View Post
Until non-Intel hardware gets certified, there's not really any hope for further UHD-BD on PC progress. The only news of late was that the encryption scheme used on the format became available for licensing at the end of last year, so that means Nvidia and AMD can now license it and implement decoding in their respective products. Whether or not that will happen is anyone's guess, but with the move to 4K monitors and laptop displays happening this year, it's certainly possible we get some advancement in 2020.
Yeah, cuz I have been pulling my hair out these past two months and I think I'm gonna have to bite the bullet and get a standard UHD-BD Player for the time being.
dougiefresh784 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 25 Old 06-23-2019, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Try DVDFab Media Player v.3, not v5. v.3 uses private API's.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 06-23-2019, 03:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 131
DVDFab 5 works perfectly for me. I have an Nvidia 1060 6GB video card. All of my movies are in .iso format and are streamed over a wired 1Gbps connection to my NAS.

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Pioneer SX-N30, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5
mlknez is online now  
post #6 of 25 Old 06-23-2019, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
DVDFab 5 works perfectly for me. I have an Nvidia 1060 6GB video card. All of my movies are in .iso format and are streamed over a wired 1Gbps connection to my NAS.
That's interesting. So you do nothing and HDR just works or do you have to fiddle with the Windows HDR switch or something? And for 3D, you don't have to put the desktop in 1080p instead of 2160p first and it simply works perfectly too?

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 06-23-2019, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
Try DVDFab Media Player v.3, not v5. v.3 uses private API's.
I tried DVDFab Media Player 3.2.0.1 and it didn't work, I was barely able to get it to play 1 normal Blu-Ray (Minority Report) but the 4K discs I tried wouldn't load.
dougiefresh784 is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 06-24-2019, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Not sure what to tell you? Fab v3 has been working perfect here since it was released years ago. UHD HDR iso's load, present all complete menus, and play the titles without fail. All functions and settings work as intended. Windows HDR switch is off as it should be. Fab used nVidia and AMD private API's with this edition. Algorithms used are very good and picture looks as it should. HD titles same. No problems. However, v3 did not offer 3D. For that, when I want menus, I use PowerDVD v19. Fab v5 offers 3D but you have to manually switch 2160p to 1080p prior to playback and revert back when finished or drivers crash and you get a BSOD. HDR does not engage unless you enable the Windows HDR switch because this version no longer decided to take advantage of private API's and of course Windows HDR does not pass metadata at display level and looks less than desirable. That said, it offers the option to convert HDR to SDR which is also less than desirable. Therefor, FAB v3 vs v5 is a much better player imo. In your case I suspect you have other problems contributing to your failure using FAB. Probably your AMD GPU or driver choice. I'm using a very old nVidia card.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 06-24-2019, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
Not sure what to tell you? Fab v3 has been working perfect here since it was released years ago. UHD HDR iso's load, present all complete menus, and play the titles without fail. All functions and settings work as intended. Windows HDR switch is off as it should be. Fab used nVidia and AMD private API's with this edition. Algorithms used are very good and picture looks as it should. HD titles same. No problems. However, v3 did not offer 3D. For that, when I want menus, I use PowerDVD v19. Fab v5 offers 3D but you have to manually switch 2160p to 1080p prior to playback and revert back when finished or drivers crash and you get a BSOD. HDR does not engage unless you enable the Windows HDR switch because this version no longer decided to take advantage of private API's and of course Windows HDR does not pass metadata at display level and looks less than desirable. That said, it offers the option to convert HDR to SDR which is also less than desirable. Therefor, FAB v3 vs v5 is a much better player imo. In your case I suspect you have other problems contributing to your failure using FAB. Probably your AMD GPU or driver choice. I'm using a very old nVidia card.
You should try version 5 again along with a recent copy of windows 10 with recent Nvidia drivers. The combo works just fine for me. I don't have to enable hdr ahead of time and 3d doesnt crash. Here is my hardware:

Case: Silverstone GD09 with 120MM fans
Power Supply: Corsair RMX750
CPU: Intel i5-7600k
CPU Cooler: Coolermaster Geminii M4
CPU Cooler Fan replacement: Noctua NF-F12
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z270-HD3
RAM: Crucial 8GB D4 2400
Storage: Samsung 250GB 960Evo NVME M.2
Optical: LG16NS60
GPU: EVGA GTX1060 6GB Vram FTW ACX
brazen1 likes this.

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Pioneer SX-N30, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5

Last edited by mlknez; 06-24-2019 at 09:54 AM.
mlknez is online now  
post #10 of 25 Old 06-24-2019, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
I have the most recent Windows 10 1903.

FAB 5 depends on W10 HDR and no longer uses private API's for HDR and without Windows HDR mode engaged it isn't going to render HDR enhanced unless they completely revamped v5 in the last couple months which is highly unlikely. How you get W10 HDR setting to automatically switch on/off is a mystery to me. Even if it did, W10 HDR is not switching anything at display level.

nVidia doesn't even offer 3D drivers anymore. How you are using their recent drivers and 3D is good makes no sense to me? Perhaps you are using the workaround I've read about or you aren't really using 1:1 iso rips that are frame packed or a physical disc opting for some SBS/TAB reencode instead?

Perhaps a GTX 1060 FTW ACX is performing miracles I'm unaware of vs a GTX 960 SSC ACX?

At any rate, glad to read you're happy with your experience.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 06-24-2019, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 441 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
I have the most recent Windows 10 1903.

FAB 5 depends on W10 HDR and no longer uses private API's for HDR and without Windows HDR mode engaged it isn't going to render HDR enhanced unless they completely revamped v5 in the last couple months which is highly unlikely. How you get W10 HDR setting to automatically switch on/off is a mystery to me. Even if it did, W10 HDR is not switching anything at display level.

nVidia doesn't even offer 3D drivers anymore. How you are using their recent drivers and 3D is good makes no sense to me? Perhaps you are using the workaround I've read about or you aren't really using 1:1 iso rips that are frame packed or a physical disc opting for some SBS/TAB reencode instead?

Perhaps a GTX 1060 FTW ACX is performing miracles I'm unaware of vs a GTX 960 SSC ACX?

At any rate, glad to read you're happy with your experience.
A couple of releases ago, DVDFab fixed the HDR issue with windows 10. https://www.dvdfab.cn/media-player-new.htm
brazen1 likes this.

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Pioneer SX-N30, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5
mlknez is online now  
post #12 of 25 Old 06-24-2019, 06:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
A couple of releases ago, DVDFab fixed the HDR issue with windows 10. https://www.dvdfab.cn/media-player-new.htm
WoW! What a pleasant surprise. You are correct and thank you for bringing it to my attention. Indeed the latest update has addressed HDR better than previous attempts. Some coordination appears to be advancing. Imo, FAB 5 HDR is working perfectly. No banding either. It is auto engaging W10 HDR switch and disengaging after playback. Better yet, AT DISPLAY LEVEL!

3D is still a challenge it appears, at least in my environment using a 4k chain. It doesn't BSOD anymore but it does crash nVidia drivers and revert to the standard MS drivers. A reboot puts everything back to normal. Presetting to 1080p no longer works. It does engage 3D mode but the iso never starts.

If you've got 3D working, please reply and thanks again for the 'news'.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 06-25-2019, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
Not sure what to tell you? Fab v3 has been working perfect here since it was released years ago. UHD HDR iso's load, present all complete menus, and play the titles without fail. All functions and settings work as intended. Windows HDR switch is off as it should be. Fab used nVidia and AMD private API's with this edition. Algorithms used are very good and picture looks as it should. HD titles same. No problems. However, v3 did not offer 3D. For that, when I want menus, I use PowerDVD v19. Fab v5 offers 3D but you have to manually switch 2160p to 1080p prior to playback and revert back when finished or drivers crash and you get a BSOD. HDR does not engage unless you enable the Windows HDR switch because this version no longer decided to take advantage of private API's and of course Windows HDR does not pass metadata at display level and looks less than desirable. That said, it offers the option to convert HDR to SDR which is also less than desirable. Therefor, FAB v3 vs v5 is a much better player imo. In your case I suspect you have other problems contributing to your failure using FAB. Probably your AMD GPU or driver choice. I'm using a very old nVidia card.
Well, maybe I have done something wrong. I downloaded DVDFab Media Player v3.2.0.1, and after I downloaded and installed it, I put in a Blu-Ray (Smokey and the Bandit) and a couple Ultra HD Blu-Rays (Blade Runner 2049, Interstellar) and I would click on Play (H Drive and the movies would keep loading and it would keep saying loading but nothing would happen and the only one that worked was the Minority Report Blu-Ray, that movie took a little bit before I was able to play it. Is there some sort of step I'm missing or something I need to do? Is it a studio issue?

I have Pretty Good Internet connected from an Ethernet Port (134 Mbps Down and 14 Mbps Up) and I got an Intel Core i5 8400 Processor (6 Cores), AMD Radeon RX 560 Graphics Card (19.3.2 Software), LG WH16NS60 running Firmware 1.00, Asus ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING Motherboard, 16 GB of Ram (Two 8GB DDR4 Sticks) I don't know if there is anything else I would need in terms of firmware.
dougiefresh784 is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 06-26-2019, 06:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 575
You are using an official UHD Blu-ray drive. Those drives only work with PowerDVD. You need a friendly Blu-ray drive with flashed firmware and AnyDVD HD running in the background to play UHD discs.

The official drives can rip UHD discs with MakeMKV with the right firmware.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #15 of 25 Old 06-26-2019, 06:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
You are using an official UHD Blu-ray drive. Those drives only work with PowerDVD. You need a friendly Blu-ray drive with flashed firmware and AnyDVD HD running in the background to play UHD discs.

The official drives can rip UHD discs with MakeMKV with the right firmware.
But I have LG WH16NS60 Internal, Firmware: 1.00 like it says on the DVDFab website (https://www.dvdfab.cn/4k-uhd-drives.htm) so shouldn't it still work with DVDFab? Even though it doesn't work well, I was able to get the Warning Screen, Home Video Logo, and Menu Screen (no menu options) from the Interstellar UHD when I was trying DVDFab 5
dougiefresh784 is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 06-26-2019, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Are you running any form of decryption like AnyDVD HD? That is a requirement because DVDFab can't decrypt the disc.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #17 of 25 Old 06-26-2019, 09:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
Are you running any form of decryption like AnyDVD HD? That is a requirement because DVDFab can't decrypt the disc.
I am not but I can get it. What version should it be? Because I can get Version 7.6.9
dougiefresh784 is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 06-27-2019, 05:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 575
I don't know enough about AnyDVD HD to know the version number. That might be something to inquire about at their forum.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #19 of 25 Old 06-28-2019, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
I don't know enough about AnyDVD HD to know the version number. That might be something to inquire about at their forum.
Other then AnyDVD, is there anything else I would need to play UHD-BD using DVDFab 3? I'm gonna try it again since I was able to get a normal Blu-Ray to work on there.
dougiefresh784 is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 06-28-2019, 07:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 575
I really don't know. DVDFab Passkey is essentially the same thing as AnyDVD HD. You do need decryption for UHD Blu-ray. I don't anyone who plays UHD discs from the drive with DVDFab.
Onkyoman is online now  
post #21 of 25 Old 06-29-2019, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 415
Why not just rip the disk using MakeMKV? There's no need for costly playback or decryption software. You can rip each individual title from the disk and just label them accordingly. No need for menus. Just pick the file you want and play it using any number of free apps.
captain_video is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 06-30-2019, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
Why not just rip the disk using MakeMKV? There's no need for costly playback or decryption software. You can rip each individual title from the disk and just label them accordingly. No need for menus. Just pick the file you want and play it using any number of free apps.
Do you mean rip the video file from the disc and save it on my computer? I have like 54 UHD's and that would take up so much room on my computer, and room that I don't have (I only have about 122 GB of free space on my computer)
dougiefresh784 is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 06-30-2019, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougiefresh784 View Post
Do you mean rip the video file from the disc and save it on my computer? I have like 54 UHD's and that would take up so much room on my computer, and room that I don't have (I only have about 122 GB of free space on my computer)

So buy some more storage. You can find 8TB external drives on sale for as little as $125. I have over 375 UHD titles on my server ripped as mkv files and they take up less than 18TB of storage. I don't have any extras and just keep the main titles. You should be able to keep 54 complete UHD discs including extras on a single 8 TB drive quite easily with plenty of room to spare. I take the drives out of their enclosures and just use the bare drives. It voids the warranty but it also increases the life expectancy of the drive since I can provide better cooling for the drive in my server. If you would prefer to use it as an external drive then I would highly recommend using it with an aftermarket enclosure that has a built-in cooling fan.

A single hard drive takes up far less physical space than 54 UHD discs in cases. By ripping the discs you eliminate the chance of damaging a disc from mishandling them. You can store them in a box out of the way unless you just like the clutter of having physical media. If something happens and the drive fails then you will always have a backup copy of the discs.

Last edited by captain_video; 06-30-2019 at 01:15 PM.
captain_video is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 07-01-2019, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
So buy some more storage. You can find 8TB external drives on sale for as little as $125. I have over 375 UHD titles on my server ripped as mkv files and they take up less than 18TB of storage. I don't have any extras and just keep the main titles. You should be able to keep 54 complete UHD discs including extras on a single 8 TB drive quite easily with plenty of room to spare. I take the drives out of their enclosures and just use the bare drives. It voids the warranty but it also increases the life expectancy of the drive since I can provide better cooling for the drive in my server. If you would prefer to use it as an external drive then I would highly recommend using it with an aftermarket enclosure that has a built-in cooling fan.

A single hard drive takes up far less physical space than 54 UHD discs in cases. By ripping the discs you eliminate the chance of damaging a disc from mishandling them. You can store them in a box out of the way unless you just like the clutter of having physical media. If something happens and the drive fails then you will always have a backup copy of the discs.
I have been looking more at that and if I can't find any way to just normally play the discs with the menus and all that stuff, then I will use the disk rip method. I see DVDFab has a UHD Copy and a UHD Ripper, which one would be better to use? I see the UHD Copy will give me a Lossless copy with HDR10/Dolby Vision Data, and the UHD Ripper can save it as a MKV Passthrough, M2TS Passthrough, or MP4 Dolby Vision. Which one would be best between the UHD Copy and UHD Ripper? Also, would I need any special players or programs to play those 4K HDR10/Dolby Vision Video files, and do those programs also copy Dolby TrueHD/DTS-HD Master Audio/Dolby Atmos/DTS-X Audio?
dougiefresh784 is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 07-02-2019, 05:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,660
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougiefresh784 View Post
I have been looking more at that and if I can't find any way to just normally play the discs with the menus and all that stuff, then I will use the disk rip method. I see DVDFab has a UHD Copy and a UHD Ripper, which one would be better to use? I see the UHD Copy will give me a Lossless copy with HDR10/Dolby Vision Data, and the UHD Ripper can save it as a MKV Passthrough, M2TS Passthrough, or MP4 Dolby Vision. Which one would be best between the UHD Copy and UHD Ripper? Also, would I need any special players or programs to play those 4K HDR10/Dolby Vision Video files, and do those programs also copy Dolby TrueHD/DTS-HD Master Audio/Dolby Atmos/DTS-X Audio?

I've never used either of the DVDFab programs for copying or ripping. MakeMKV is free while in beta format, but it's been in beta for years with no official release date in sight. You can pick and choose which soundtracks or subtitles you wish to keep and then rip it to an mkv file. It does an exact copy of the original file with just the options you select. You can select multiple files to rip or just the main movie title. If you let it rip all titles on the disc then you can simply add an appropriate title to each file after it's ripped that corresponds with the menu selection on the original disc. Just put all of the files in a folder with the movie title and you can pick and choose which titles to play just like you do using the menu on the actual disc. There are lots of free programs for UHD/4K playback that will pass the HD audio through to your receiver. MPC-HC and Kodi are two that come to mind and probably VLC Media player as well.
captain_video is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off