Dual Nvidia GTX 980, GPU #1 HDMI to TV & GPU #2 HDMI to AVR. it works!!. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 09-20-2019, 12:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MrGrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1738 Post(s)
Liked: 6496
Thumbs up Dual Nvidia GTX 980, GPU #1 HDMI to TV & GPU #2 HDMI to AVR. it works!!.

..

Last edited by MrGrey; 09-23-2019 at 08:14 AM.
MrGrey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 09-20-2019, 02:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5231 Post(s)
Liked: 3400
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGrey View Post
I'm not sure if anyone has tried this but I wanted to not Pass-Through the HDMI from my avr to my TV because I wanted the best possible image quality. I have no scientific proof of this being an issue I just wanted to do it out of being obsessed and curious like some of you about quality and our systems. I have two GTX 980 in my PC with one HDMI port per card so I decided to try and see if it would not only output video from my main card to my TV but also bitstream and output audio from the second card without issues and it worked 100%. I just plug it in as normal and the system didn't even have flinch it just played it seamlessly through both cards. GPU #1 is outputting to my TV and GPU #2 is bitstreaming audio to my AVR and everything is in sync and alright. Below are two photos, one of the back of my PC and the other the Nvidia control panel. also Sli is disabled and i didn't try of it worked with it enabled.
FYI, passing video through your AVR or not does not impact / change image quality. It either works or it doesn't. You should just go back to hooking up to your AVR as you lose HUD on volume changes and the ability to make changes on your AVR menus and you gain nothing.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 09-20-2019, 05:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,876
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 494
That's a waste of GPUs. A single card would be enough to output to both. Why the need for second GPU?
Foxbat121 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 09-20-2019, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MrGrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1738 Post(s)
Liked: 6496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
That's a waste of GPUs. A single card would be enough to output to both. Why the need for second GPU?
I didn't get a second GPU for this. I already had two for gaming.

Sent from my LG-H901 using Tapatalk
MrGrey is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-20-2019, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MrGrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1738 Post(s)
Liked: 6496
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
FYI, passing video through your AVR or not does not impact / change image quality. It either works or it doesn't. You should just go back to hooking up to your AVR as you lose HUD on volume changes and the ability to make changes on your AVR menus and you gain nothing.
I said above I had no scientific proof of this and wanted to do it out of curiosity and obsession.

Sent from my LG-H901 using Tapatalk
MrGrey is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-20-2019, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,876
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGrey View Post
I didn't get a second GPU for this. I already had two for gaming.

Sent from my LG-H901 using Tapatalk
Still, you don't need two GPUs for this. One GPU can support at least three monitors at FHD resolution. Not sure understand the point of your posting.

All you need to do is set up multiple-monitor (which mostly automatic these days when you connect to a device with HDMI). The complication is how to setup the multi-monitor system, extended or clone? Extended will cause visual problems if you actually didn't have any video screen on the AVR, e.g. the mouse moves to second screen and you lost track of it. Clone has the problem with copy-protection, e.g. if copy-protection is needed, your setup will fail.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-20-2019, 07:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Chicago
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
That's a waste of GPUs. A single card would be enough to output to both. Why the need for second GPU?
Agreed. 980s are still selling for $500 in some places. Total waste of money to have it just outputting audio. Either sell it or get that thing back in SLI.

Media: LG 88" OLED 8K Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" OLED 4K C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-20-2019, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MrGrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1738 Post(s)
Liked: 6496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Still, you don't need two GPUs for this. One GPU can support at least three monitors at FHD resolution. Not sure understand the point of your posting.



All you need to do is set up multiple-monitor (which mostly automatic these days when you connect to a device with HDMI). The complication is how to setup the multi-monitor system, extended or clone? Extended will cause visual problems if you actually didn't have any video screen on the AVR, e.g. the mouse moves to second screen and you lost track of it. Clone has the problem with copy-protection, e.g. if copy-protection is needed, your setup will fail.
My TV is what I use for gaming when I do game. One GPU is connected to the AVR and the other to the TV. Protected HDCP content works completely fine for all content. I don't have any other monitor connected as you can see in the photo above.

Sent from my LG-H901 using Tapatalk
MrGrey is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-20-2019, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MrGrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 149 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1738 Post(s)
Liked: 6496
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantc View Post
Agreed. 980s are still selling for $500 in some places. Total waste of money to have it just outputting audio. Either sell it or get that thing back in SLI.
If you aren't gaming Sli messes with video playback and makes it choppy so I disable it while I'm not gaming and watching videos.

Sent from my LG-H901 using Tapatalk
MrGrey is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 09-20-2019, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,876
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 494
Take the HDMI from one GPU and connect to the spare port in the other GPU, it will work the exact same way.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Foxbat121 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off