Kodi as a replacement for WMC - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
  • 1 Post By mdavej
  • 1 Post By smcmillan2
  • 1 Post By fullhorn
  • 1 Post By fullhorn
  • 1 Post By Nobr8ks
  • 2 Post By SirMaster
  • 1 Post By smcmillan2
  • 1 Post By smcmillan2
  • 1 Post By fullhorn
  • 1 Post By captain_video
  • 1 Post By Nobr8ks
  • 1 Post By byebye_cable
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 11-03-2019, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
byebye_cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Kodi as a replacement for WMC

Anyone try this (Kodi instead of WMC)?

Article below indicates Kodi works with tuner cards & has an EPG (guide) but is short on details.

https://www.howtogeek.com/132462/5-a...-on-windows-8/

With support for windows 7 stopping I suppose the options are the hacked WMC for windows 10 or (perhaps) Kodi?

Last edited by byebye_cable; 11-03-2019 at 02:45 PM.
byebye_cable is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 11-03-2019, 03:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,722
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3104 Post(s)
Liked: 1408
Problem with all WMC replacements is none of them can record copy protected cable channels.

If I were looking to replace WMC, I'd dump the PC altogether and go with something like Channels or Amazon Recast (if you need only OTA). Running Kodi on a PC doesn't have much appeal to me.
byebye_cable likes this.

Last edited by mdavej; 11-03-2019 at 03:27 PM.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 11-03-2019, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
byebye_cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Problem with all WMC replacements is none of them can record copy protected cable channels.

If I were looking to replace WMC, I'd dump the PC altogether and go with something like Channels or Amazon Recast (if you need only OTA). Running Kodi on a PC doesn't have much appeal to me.
Thank you. I don't have cable, just a couple antenna's (one for us channels another for canada). So this limitation won't bother me then?
byebye_cable is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 26 Old 11-03-2019, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 963 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by byebye_cable View Post
Thank you. I don't have cable, just a couple antenna's (one for us channels another for canada). So this limitation won't bother me then?
Errm, no. There is no DRM'd content on OTA.

Last I looked into Kodi it didn't directly support Live TV, that has changed? (I didn't read through the entire link). I still use MythTV with SchedulesDirect for EPG.
byebye_cable likes this.

Sub builds: Yet another Infinity 1260 build | Twins! | Modified V.B.S.S. build | UM12-22 builds | AV stand and sealed UM18s

Speaker builds: DIYSG HTM-10 build | DIYSG Volt-6 build | DIYSG Fusion-8 builds
smcmillan2 is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 11-03-2019, 05:10 PM
Member
 
fullhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I have two HD Homerun network tuners (OTA) and use Kodi on five computers at the house. I pay $35? a year for guide data through Silicondust (tuner manufacturer). Works good.
byebye_cable likes this.
fullhorn is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 11-03-2019, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
byebye_cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My religion doesn't let me pay for EPG. Also I have hauppauge cards.
byebye_cable is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 11-03-2019, 07:15 PM
Member
 
fullhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 58
The guide goes with the "DVR" service. I think the religious convictions will leave you SOL on "Free" Kodi. Although if you find a solution, post it here and I will definitely convert.
byebye_cable likes this.
fullhorn is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 11-03-2019, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have RaspberryPi's connected to our TV's (ARC/CEC work good) that work with HDHR Prime regardless if WMC works.

2 PVR Clients on Pi's

ServerWMC & Unofficial HDHomeRun from Kodi (Magically provides channel icons)

Magically (Guessing from FiOS) when WMC powers off I still have an EPG.

Physically my WMC box isn't going anywhere (Headless on shelf). Without an EPG I could still set timers for recordings.

No plans on replacement.
byebye_cable likes this.
Nobr8ks is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 11-04-2019, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
byebye_cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullhorn View Post
The guide goes with the "DVR" service. I think the religious convictions will leave you SOL on "Free" Kodi. Although if you find a solution, post it here and I will definitely convert.
I promise.

If I fail though, where is the link for for giving someone my hard-earned ~35 for EPG? I googled but did not find.
byebye_cable is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 11-04-2019, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by smcmillan2 View Post
Errm, no. There is no DRM'd content on OTA.

Last I looked into Kodi it didn't directly support Live TV, that has changed? (I didn't read through the entire link). I still use MythTV with SchedulesDirect for EPG.
Kodi natively supports Live TV and being a DVR as a front end. You will still need an appropriate back-end, but there are a bunch to choose from.
smcmillan2 and byebye_cable like this.
SirMaster is online now  
post #11 of 26 Old 11-04-2019, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 963 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by byebye_cable View Post
I promise.

If I fail though, where is the link for for giving someone my hard-earned ~35 for EPG? I googled but did not find.
$25/year. http://www.schedulesdirect.org/
byebye_cable likes this.

Sub builds: Yet another Infinity 1260 build | Twins! | Modified V.B.S.S. build | UM12-22 builds | AV stand and sealed UM18s

Speaker builds: DIYSG HTM-10 build | DIYSG Volt-6 build | DIYSG Fusion-8 builds
smcmillan2 is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 11-04-2019, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 963 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Kodi natively supports Live TV and being a DVR as a front end. You will still need an appropriate back-end, but there are a bunch to choose from.
I mis-worded my question, I meant to ask if Kodi now handled the backend portion of Live TV.

Been running a MythTV setup since 2006 so we're very used to the interface and will likely be sticking with it in the foreseeable future, but always good to keep tabs on the other offerings out there.

Thanks for the reply!
byebye_cable likes this.

Sub builds: Yet another Infinity 1260 build | Twins! | Modified V.B.S.S. build | UM12-22 builds | AV stand and sealed UM18s

Speaker builds: DIYSG HTM-10 build | DIYSG Volt-6 build | DIYSG Fusion-8 builds
smcmillan2 is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 11-04-2019, 06:07 PM
Member
 
fullhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by byebye_cable View Post
I promise.

If I fail though, where is the link for for giving someone my hard-earned ~35 for EPG? I googled but did not find.
Here is the service.

https://shop.silicondust.com/shop/?_...588.1571100076

Then there is some hdhr "add in" stuff on kodi that makes the dvr and tv recording way better than hdhr's stuff on its own.


Link stops short, click DVR software activation.
byebye_cable likes this.
fullhorn is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 11-04-2019, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
byebye_cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by smcmillan2 View Post
looks pretty good, since i'm in toronto i can pull in both usa & canada ota stations..by any chance does someone know if that is "supported" with kodi/schedulesdirect?
byebye_cable is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 11-05-2019, 06:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 427
If you use epg123 with a Schedules Direct subscription there's no need to replace WMC. I've been using it for a couple of years now and have no reason to get rid of WMC. I have broken ties with Microsoft and have become fully independent and no longer have to worry about whether or not they continue support for Windows 7. I can keep using it for as long as my computer survives.
Nobr8ks likes this.
captain_video is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 11-05-2019, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
byebye_cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
If you use epg123 with a Schedules Direct subscription there's no need to replace WMC. I've been using it for a couple of years now and have no reason to get rid of WMC. I have broken ties with Microsoft and have become fully independent and no longer have to worry about whether or not they continue support for Windows 7. I can keep using it for as long as my computer survives.
enjoy the chinese hackers infiltrating your home network thru your windows 7 machine
byebye_cable is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 11-06-2019, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark Guebert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by byebye_cable View Post
enjoy the chinese hackers infiltrating your home network thru your windows 7 machine
Why would that happen unless he has ports open on his firewall. Most people here I would venture have a separate firewall that would prevent that from happening.
Mark Guebert is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 11-06-2019, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by byebye_cable View Post
enjoy the chinese hackers infiltrating your home network thru your windows 7 machine
My Chinese wife says you have an E4200 Linksys router.
byebye_cable likes this.
Nobr8ks is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 11-06-2019, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
byebye_cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobr8ks View Post
My Chinese wife says you have an E4200 Linksys router.
I mentioned it to her last night
Nobr8ks likes this.
byebye_cable is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 11-06-2019, 08:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smcmillan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Farmington, MI, USA
Posts: 2,187
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 963 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by byebye_cable View Post
enjoy the chinese hackers infiltrating your home network thru your windows 7 machine
Anyone that has any idea how to run an HTPC properly knows how to keep it protected.

Troll somewhere else.

Sub builds: Yet another Infinity 1260 build | Twins! | Modified V.B.S.S. build | UM12-22 builds | AV stand and sealed UM18s

Speaker builds: DIYSG HTM-10 build | DIYSG Volt-6 build | DIYSG Fusion-8 builds
smcmillan2 is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 11-07-2019, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by byebye_cable View Post
enjoy the chinese hackers infiltrating your home network thru your windows 7 machine
Yeah. I'd hate for the Chinese to get hold of my TV recording schedule.
captain_video is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 11-07-2019, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
byebye_cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
All in fun which i think Nobr8ks understands


All kidding aside there seems to be a cavalier attitude towards leaving a windows 7 pc attached to your home network. That's a non-starter for me.
byebye_cable is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 11-07-2019, 11:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by byebye_cable View Post
All in fun which i think Nobr8ks understands

Wasn't obvious?

As for using protection, I've been using IPFire.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPFire
Nobr8ks is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 11-07-2019, 08:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
If you decide to go the serverwmc route just be aware that Kodi might have dropped support for it in version 18 when they dropped support for wtv file playback. That would be something to confirm and I vaguely remember reading about it. I would look at nextpvr. Im coming from wmc to Kodi but I have hdhomerun tuners so that makes my life easier.
Jachin99 is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 11-07-2019, 10:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Krispy Kritter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by byebye_cable View Post
All in fun which i think Nobr8ks understands


All kidding aside there seems to be a cavalier attitude towards leaving a windows 7 pc attached to your home network. That's a non-starter for me.
It's only an issue if 1) you are using said WMC box to access the internet, such as with a browser or 2) if other devices on your network are not secure (ie: they hack into another box on your network and then access the WMC box).

You have a MUCH higher risk of any of your IoT devices being hacked than a WMC box that is only used for WMC.
Krispy Kritter is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 11-08-2019, 05:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,734
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krispy Kritter View Post
It's only an issue if 1) you are using said WMC box to access the internet, such as with a browser or 2) if other devices on your network are not secure (ie: they hack into another box on your network and then access the WMC box).

You have a MUCH higher risk of any of your IoT devices being hacked than a WMC box that is only used for WMC.

Well, he only said that "he" wouldn't use Win7. For him, that might be appropriate.
grittree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off