4K Streaming requirements - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-12-2020, 11:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jetcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: COLLEGE STATION/TX
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
4K Streaming requirements

I have an Epson 5040ub projector, 4K blu ray player, Apple 4K streaming box and Tivo Bolt all of which give me the ability to stream 4K. I also have an old HTPC with an AMDFX quad core 3.6 GB processor and an ATI Radeon 4350 graphics card.

Can anyone suggest what minimum upgrade I would need to process 4K/60? Is it just a powerful graphics card, and, if so, what would be the recommended minimum card for that purpose?

Thanks for any help.

150" screen, Epson 5040UB PJ, Apple 4K, Sony 4K player, Energy/Definitive Technology spkrs, Onkyo 575 rec, TIVO Bolt DVR's/Minis, HTPC. Yamaha 383 rec, 70" Vizio 4K, 55" Samsung 4K, 47" Sony, 50" LG, 4 x 32" Vizio TV's, Netgear Modem/Luma mesh network. Homeseer HS3 sw.
jetcobra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-12-2020, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,980
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Not worth the trouble. You need a new graphics card to have the 4K /HDMI 2.0 support, of course. But even with that you get maximum of just Netflix 4k if your system can be trusted by Netflix. That's about it. You can get YouTube 4k from browser. But all other stream platform will not be possible to get 4k.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-12-2020, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jetcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: COLLEGE STATION/TX
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Not worth the trouble. You need a new graphics card to have the 4K /HDMI 2.0 support, of course. But even with that you get maximum of just Netflix 4k if your system can be trusted by Netflix. That's about it. You can get YouTube 4k from browser. But all other stream platform will not be possible to get 4k.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
What do you mean" You can get YouTube 4K from browser. "? That is what I wanted to get from an "improved HTPC". I already get good 4K from Netflix, Prime, etc. but wanted You Tube 4K.

Thanks

150" screen, Epson 5040UB PJ, Apple 4K, Sony 4K player, Energy/Definitive Technology spkrs, Onkyo 575 rec, TIVO Bolt DVR's/Minis, HTPC. Yamaha 383 rec, 70" Vizio 4K, 55" Samsung 4K, 47" Sony, 50" LG, 4 x 32" Vizio TV's, Netgear Modem/Luma mesh network. Homeseer HS3 sw.
jetcobra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 03-12-2020, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jetcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: COLLEGE STATION/TX
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Never mind. I use Google Chrome and it will process YouTube 4K.

So Thanks

150" screen, Epson 5040UB PJ, Apple 4K, Sony 4K player, Energy/Definitive Technology spkrs, Onkyo 575 rec, TIVO Bolt DVR's/Minis, HTPC. Yamaha 383 rec, 70" Vizio 4K, 55" Samsung 4K, 47" Sony, 50" LG, 4 x 32" Vizio TV's, Netgear Modem/Luma mesh network. Homeseer HS3 sw.
jetcobra is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-12-2020, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,980
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 519
There is no you tube app, you have to use web browser for it. since YouTube doesn't require copy protection, you will get 4k w/ HDR. But, I'd say any other stream device do a better job at less $ and better remote control support.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-12-2020, 09:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
aerodynamics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Also, your projector’s HDMI inputs have a max bandwidth of 10.2gbps which will limit you to 4k/24 HDR or 4k/60 SDR. Actually, not even sure it could do the latter.

Chiq B5U | 100” Snowhite UST Screen | Pioneer Elite LX-503 | 7.2.4 Surround | Sony Core Series LCR + Atmos | Cambridge Min 12 Side Surrounds | Monoprice Rear Atmos Surrounds | Bic V1020 x2
aerodynamics is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-14-2020, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jetcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: COLLEGE STATION/TX
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerodynamics View Post
Also, your projector’s HDMI inputs have a max bandwidth of 10.2gbps which will limit you to 4k/24 HDR or 4k/60 SDR. Actually, not even sure it could do the latter.
Yes I know that the HDMI bandwith is limited to 10.2GBPS so I only typically get 4k/24 HDR and realize that YouTube will have the same limitation, but after I got this PJ setup properly it looks so good that it does not matter that much.

I still need a "current" graphics card so I bought the AMD RX 580 and once I mount it into the HTPC I will have HDMI 2 and be able to enjoy the 4K.

Thanks

150" screen, Epson 5040UB PJ, Apple 4K, Sony 4K player, Energy/Definitive Technology spkrs, Onkyo 575 rec, TIVO Bolt DVR's/Minis, HTPC. Yamaha 383 rec, 70" Vizio 4K, 55" Samsung 4K, 47" Sony, 50" LG, 4 x 32" Vizio TV's, Netgear Modem/Luma mesh network. Homeseer HS3 sw.
jetcobra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off