Hardware Mornitoring - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-12-2020, 05:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Hardware Mornitoring

like most, whenever i build a new pc i install several different monitoring softwares just to make sure things seem to be running ok, and then i usually forget about them... but since i have a new build i've been using hwmonitor quite a bit as i run my new system through the paces, and noticed this blank temp line - does this mean i have a bad sensor on my mobo? could it be an indication of a bigger issue, now or down the line?

aeneas01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 03-12-2020, 07:30 PM
Member
 
cTwining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
hwmonitor ... this blank temp line
aeneas01,

On my Gigabyte/AORUS motherboard, two thermistors are not plugged in.

HWMonitor simply skipped them. It didn't report 0C temperatures.

In Bios setup --> "Smart fan 5 settings", the thermistors EC_TEMP1 & 2 are reported (correctly) as missing.



Perhaps your motherboard's bios could identify the sensor that's reporting 0C.

Carl
cTwining is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-13-2020, 05:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 132
thanks very much, that seems to be it, and zero to worry about from what i can tell.... in fact after some more googling it looks like hwmonitor is known to report 0 to 100c+ when it comes to unused probe connections.




Quote:
Originally Posted by cTwining View Post
aeneas01,

On my Gigabyte/AORUS motherboard, two thermistors are not plugged in.

HWMonitor simply skipped them. It didn't report 0C temperatures.

In Bios setup --> "Smart fan 5 settings", the thermistors EC_TEMP1 & 2 are reported (correctly) as missing.



Perhaps your motherboard's bios could identify the sensor that's reporting 0C.

Carl
aeneas01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off