Windows 10 PCM Output - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-14-2020, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Windows 10 PCM Output

Good afternoon,

I have a nanoAVR HD that I use in conjunction with REW to equalize my 5.1 system. I have an old laptop that I use with no issues. I will connect it to the nanoAVR and I will equalize away. The laptop is getting quite old. I have an NUC7i7BNH that I tried to use but I guess I cannot get it to output PCM since I am not getting a signal when I hook it up to the miniDSP. It works fine when I hook it up directly yo the receiver.

How do I force Windows10 to output LPCM?

Thank you in advance.

Cleveland
ClevelandFreeman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-15-2020, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 2,457
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 192
What is connected on the other end of the nanoAVR HD--i.e. what is on the HDMI output? I believe that device (assuming pre-amp or AVR) will have to be on in order for it to be detected as a multi-PCM device to send audio to. Either that or the nanoAVR needs to have its own EDID info and present itself as a "display" with multi-PCM capability.
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-16-2020, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_Revenge View Post
What is connected on the other end of the nanoAVR HD--i.e. what is on the HDMI output? I believe that device (assuming pre-amp or AVR) will have to be on in order for it to be detected as a multi-PCM device to send audio to. Either that or the nanoAVR needs to have its own EDID info and present itself as a "display" with multi-PCM capability.
The output of the nanoAVR is the input to the receiver, Marantz NR1509, it is on when I try to hook up the new PC to the NanoAVR. I'll go check it's settings to see if there is an adjustment I need to make.
ClevelandFreeman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 05-16-2020, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 2,457
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClevelandFreeman View Post
The output of the nanoAVR is the input to the receiver, Marantz NR1509, it is on when I try to hook up the new PC to the NanoAVR. I'll go check it's settings to see if there is an adjustment I need to make.
Hmm well that's weird because it should detect either that or the nanoAVR itself as the "display" device for outputting audio.
ES_Revenge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off