HTPC for 4K HDR10. Motherboard and CPU decision misery. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By markmon1
  • 1 Post By HTPC8813
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 02:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cypher007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HTPC for 4K HDR10. Motherboard and CPU decision misery.

ok. thought now i have a 4k hdr10 dolby vision tv id rebuild my server as a dual duty HTPC. But non of the reasonably priced Z490 motherboards have HDMI 2.0. I could use a DisplayPort to hdmi adaptor, but these seem to get hot and die if not good quality. And this machine will be on encoding for days sometimes, although the TV will be off.

my current server is:
Intel 6100t with 2x 4tb nas drives setup as a raid 0 and raid 1. So I have 2 drives effectively from one pair. One for media the other for important data.

i thought AMD 3400G but id have to redo my raid, and im not sure AMD's implementation would support 2 different raid types on 2 drives.
cypher007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 03:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8,106
Mentioned: 163 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6770 Post(s)
Liked: 4878
Quote:
Originally Posted by cypher007 View Post
ok. thought now i have a 4k hdr10 dolby vision tv id rebuild my server as a dual duty HTPC. But non of the reasonably priced Z490 motherboards have HDMI 2.0. I could use a DisplayPort to hdmi adaptor, but these seem to get hot and die if not good quality. And this machine will be on encoding for days sometimes, although the TV will be off.

my current server is:
Intel 6100t with 2x 4tb nas drives setup as a raid 0 and raid 1. So I have 2 drives effectively from one pair. One for media the other for important data.

i thought AMD 3400G but id have to redo my raid, and im not sure AMD's implementation would support 2 different raid types on 2 drives.
You don't need an adapter to run displayport to HDMI. Just a simple display port to HDMI cable does the job fine. Nothing runs hotter than normal doing this and wouldn't impact doing encoding.

JVC Control - my software for controlling JVC projector via IP control.
Smart Masking - See my automatic smart screen masking system.
JVC IR Codes - free online pronto code converter for JVC IR codes.
markmon1 is online now  
post #3 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 04:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cypher007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
You don't need an adapter to run displayport to HDMI. Just a simple display port to HDMI cable does the job fine. Nothing runs hotter than normal doing this and wouldn't impact doing encoding.
unfortunately this will only give you 4k at 30hz i think.

the active ones are needed to achieve hdmi 2.0 and 4k with hdr.
cypher007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 07:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,868
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 221
I don't know what you mean by "reasonably priced".

None of the software-based media players currently support dolby vision yet.

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Marantz NR1200, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5
mlknez is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8,106
Mentioned: 163 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6770 Post(s)
Liked: 4878
Quote:
Originally Posted by cypher007 View Post
unfortunately this will only give you 4k at 30hz i think.

the active ones are needed to achieve hdmi 2.0 and 4k with hdr.
Honestly, I don't see the point of an HTPC without running madVR, which requires a reasonably good video card, which makes the motherboard pretty much irrelevant.
Manu9 likes this.

JVC Control - my software for controlling JVC projector via IP control.
Smart Masking - See my automatic smart screen masking system.
JVC IR Codes - free online pronto code converter for JVC IR codes.
markmon1 is online now  
post #6 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,912
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 820 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Honestly, I don't see the point of an HTPC without running madVR, which requires a reasonably good video card, which makes the motherboard pretty much irrelevant.
Exactly, but then it also depends on what you use the HTPC for. If you just use it as a DVR then you may not even need madVR, but for Blu-Rays or 4k it's highly recommended. There are many HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 compliant graphics cards out there that won't break the bank. A good graphics card is the heart of any HTPC. You don't need a top of the line gaming card, but you should be able to fine one that suits your needs in the $150-300 range. You don't need a powerful CPU or a lot of memory for a HTPC since the graphics card handles most of the processing. If you go with Intel an i3 or i5 is plenty. For AMD, a Ryzen 3 or 5 is also fine. Anything more powerful is a waste unless you also plan to use it for gaming, but that's an entirely different situation.
captain_video is online now  
post #7 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,868
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 221
An HTPC is great for a lot of things. It is actually the best music player and streamer. It is the most flexible video and picture player when properly equipped. The only thing that it cannot do as of today is play dolby vision metadata media, but that should change in weeks. It can also play every physical disk format except for SACD.

I built my current one in 2017 and the only thing it lacks is HDMI 2.1. When video cards come out that support HDMI 2.1, I can just upgrade

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Marantz NR1200, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5

Last edited by mlknez; 06-12-2020 at 10:56 AM.
mlknez is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cypher007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ok guy this was my plan.

i wanted something i could play blu-rays on and rips upto 4k with HDR 10bit. i only mentioned dolby vision as i suspect it will eventually make its way to pc software.

i wanted it to have as low an idle power consumption as possible, energy is expensive in UK, i WOL it when i need to.

it would also be my x265 and x264 encoder when needed. so assumed i3 10th gen. but im wondering if AMD would be better, as although it uses more power it might complete the encode faster.

are there any cards you would recommend that have enough to please madvr but also have almost 0w at idle.

so far you guys have been more helpful than those on other forums that just say buy an nvidia shield.

give me an ideal list of components if your objective is energy efficiency and 4K HDR. preferably with a Z490 and mATX board, unless AMD with APU is better.

my current 1080p setup is:
Intel i3 6100T
8GB ram DDR4 3000mhz
Z170 mobo
2x 120GB ssd's in raid 0
2x 4TB NAS drives 4TB as raid 0 and 2TB as raid 1.
cypher007 is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,868
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 221
This is what i built in 2017 and it still is great today...

Case: Silverstone GD09 with 120MM fans
Power Supply: Corsair RMX750
CPU: Intel i5-7600k
CPU Cooler: Coolermaster Geminii M4
CPU Cooler Fan replacement: Noctua NF-F12
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z270-HD3
RAM: Crucial 8GB D4 2400
Storage: Samsung 250GB 960Evo NVME M.2
Optical: LG16NS60
GPU: EVGA GTX1060 6GB Vram FTW ACX

I optimized for low noise, not electricity use, however.

Make sure to get a good wireless keyboard/trackpad device that will work from your whole listening room.

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Marantz NR1200, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5
mlknez is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,912
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 820 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
An HTPC is great for a lot of things. It is actually the best music player and streamer.
If you're talking about streaming online content from Netflix and such then I would have to disagree with you on that count. PC apps for streaming online content are severely lacking compared to a standalone streaming box such as a Nvidia Shield or Roku. It's the one major weakness of a HTPC. However, you can use it to stream content from another PC or home server on your network and it works quite well for that. Here are the major functions of a HTPC:

1. Record and play shows and movies from cable TV, FIOS, or OTA as well as display live TV. The only caveat is that most DVR apps other than Windows Media Center cannot play and record copy protected content. You can also use it to record from satellite with a capture card, but a standalone satellite DVR is best suited for that.

2. Play movies and videos from optical disc or content ripped from discs or other sources in a multitude of formats. Can bitstream HD audio using any number of playback apps or media center suites such as Kodi or JRiver Media Center that allow audio passthrough so your receiver or preamp/processor can process the surround sound. Can play up to 4k content with HDR.

3. Play music in digital formats

4. Manage digital photos

5. Use a media center app to catalog and display art and descriptions for movies and music and provide ease of playback

6. Play video games (optional)

7. Can also be used as a desktop PC.

There are probably some more esoteric functions you can use it for, but these are the primary functions that I task my HTPCs to do.
captain_video is online now  
post #11 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,868
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
If you're talking about streaming online content from Netflix and such then I would have to disagree with you on that count. ...
Notice that i did NOT say that it is a good internet VIDEO streamer... at least for now. It has the potential to be. You are correct that Netflix and Amazon apps on Windows are absolutely terrible. It IS the best for internet audio streaming and local media streaming, however.

I use the built-in Amazon and Netflix apps on my TV for those services.

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Marantz NR1200, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5
mlknez is offline  
post #12 of 27 Old 06-12-2020, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cypher007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
any ideas on the lowest power hdmi 2.0 card? as i could use an F cpu to save some money.
cypher007 is offline  
post #13 of 27 Old 06-13-2020, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cypher007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like a nvidia 1030 is about as cheap and low power as it gets.
cypher007 is offline  
post #14 of 27 Old 06-14-2020, 04:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,912
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 820 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by cypher007 View Post
Looks like a nvidia 1030 is about as cheap and low power as it gets.
A Nvidia 1050 Ti is the minimum recommended card for 4k. You're wasting your money with a 1030.
captain_video is online now  
post #15 of 27 Old 06-14-2020, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
HTPC8813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
A Nvidia 1050 Ti is the minimum recommended card for 4k. You're wasting your money with a 1030.
1030 does work. I am using it with PowerDVD for 4K HDR BD movie. And the CPU is 12 year old core 2 due E6600. The CPU utilization when playing BD Movie is about 40% and GPU is about 75%.
HTPC8813 is offline  
post #16 of 27 Old 06-14-2020, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cypher007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A 1050ti is £138 in the uk. This would make the build pointless.

I’ve heard the intel UHD 630 can do 4K HDR so a 1030 should manage, the cpu should be doing most of the work.

I might use an i5 10400F as it’s not that much more expensive than the i3 10100.

Update:
Just checked nvidia. Seems the 1030 can’t do encoding, which doesn’t bother me as I use CPU encoding, but it can do all the same codec decoding as a 1050ti.

Last edited by cypher007; 06-14-2020 at 03:10 PM.
cypher007 is offline  
post #17 of 27 Old 06-14-2020, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 4,912
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 820 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTPC8813 View Post
1030 does work. I am using it with PowerDVD for 4K HDR BD movie. And the CPU is 12 year old core 2 due E6600. The CPU utilization when playing BD Movie is about 40% and GPU is about 75%.
I believe the 1050Ti was the previous minimum required for use with madVR, not just for 4k as I indicated previously. Apparently that has been bumped up based on this thread. The 1030 will probably work fine with 4k material if it's able to display that resolution. However, most people are interested in using madVR for the best possible picture quality which is why I mentioned it. If using madVR doesn't interest you then just pick a video card that suits your needs and budget.

Last edited by captain_video; 06-14-2020 at 03:29 PM.
captain_video is online now  
post #18 of 27 Old 06-14-2020, 04:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 379
I use a GTX960 with madVr NGU on an 82" display playing everything from 480p to 2160p 23Hz through 60Hz and everything in-between. To date I've found no reason to upgrade yet. Maybe next year with tensor cores and HDMI 2.1 if need be but I doubt it.

As for MB and CPU - GA-X58A-UD7 with an Intel Xeon X5690 circa 2008. I can't find any reason to abandon 10 onboard SATA ports to run my 11 local HDD's nor 'upgrade' my 6 core (12 with hyper threading) CPU.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1909 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3,5&6 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
Samsung 82" Q90R / Denon S720W

Last edited by brazen1; 06-14-2020 at 05:00 PM.
brazen1 is offline  
post #19 of 27 Old 06-14-2020, 05:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cypher007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I plan to use madvr as it seems to give proper hdr mode and 24hz switching.

I’ve now seen the 1650 which seems better value than a 1050ti.
cypher007 is offline  
post #20 of 27 Old 07-02-2020, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
snkadh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by cypher007 View Post
I plan to use madvr as it seems to give proper hdr mode and 24hz switching.

I’ve now seen the 1650 which seems better value than a 1050ti.
Refer to the thread.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-ho...tpc-madvr.html

It states that for madVR min is GTX 1660 Ti.

I have also HTPC with Intel Pentium G645. Need to upgrade to watch 4k, Still confused that do I need to upgrade CPU/GPU/ CPU & GPU both.

Also the below site does not contain a clear information :

https://www.cyberlink.com/products/p...pec_en_US.html
snkadh is offline  
post #21 of 27 Old 07-02-2020, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 2,868
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by snkadh View Post
Refer to the thread.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-ho...tpc-madvr.html

It states that for madVR min is GTX 1660 Ti.

I have also HTPC with Intel Pentium G645. Need to upgrade to watch 4k, Still confused that do I need to upgrade CPU/GPU/ CPU & GPU both.

Also the below site does not contain a clear information :

https://www.cyberlink.com/products/p...pec_en_US.html
what is your budget? why do you need madvr? you should never use powerdvd.

Media Room: LG oled65c7, Marantz AV8805, Sherbourn 7/2100, Emotiva A-300, Studer A80, Studer Revox b795, Nakamichi RX-202, HTPC, exaSound e38, Sweetvinyl Sugarcube SC-2, (2) Piega P10, Piega Coax Center, (6) Piega AP 1.2, Hsu VTF-15h mk2
Office: Emotiva mini-x A100, Geek Pulse, (2) KEF LS-50, Goldenear FF 4, PC, NAS 130TB
Bedroom: Panasonic TCP55vt35, Marantz NR1200, Dune 3 Prime, (2) Elac Uni-Fi UB5
mlknez is offline  
post #22 of 27 Old Yesterday, 05:36 AM
Newbie
 
snkadh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
what is your budget?
I do not want to venture into the extreme category. I want a 4k GPU capable of handling Dolby Vision, HDR and HDR+. Please suggest one. Do I need to upgrade processor for 4K disc playing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
why do you need madvr?
For upscaling.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post
you should never use powerdvd.
I need to play 3D blu-ray.
snkadh is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old Yesterday, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8,106
Mentioned: 163 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6770 Post(s)
Liked: 4878
Quote:
Originally Posted by snkadh View Post
Refer to the thread.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/26-ho...tpc-madvr.html

It states that for madVR min is GTX 1660 Ti.

I have also HTPC with Intel Pentium G645. Need to upgrade to watch 4k, Still confused that do I need to upgrade CPU/GPU/ CPU & GPU both.

Also the below site does not contain a clear information :

https://www.cyberlink.com/products/p...pec_en_US.html
Almost all aspects of video play back can be offloaded to the GPU from decoding to madVR processing. However, that CPU is really weak. So who knows. I haven't tested anything with that. And also I wouldn't trust that powerDVD wouldn't be all cpu based.

JVC Control - my software for controlling JVC projector via IP control.
Smart Masking - See my automatic smart screen masking system.
JVC IR Codes - free online pronto code converter for JVC IR codes.
markmon1 is online now  
post #24 of 27 Old Yesterday, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
HTPC8813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
And also I wouldn't trust that powerDVD wouldn't be all cpu based.
I am using C2D E6600 with Nvidia 1030 and PowerDVD v20 for 4K bluray movie. All is great. CPU is used at about 40% and GPU is used at about 70% for all 4K HDR bluray.
markmon1 likes this.
HTPC8813 is offline  
post #25 of 27 Old Yesterday, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lifespeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,005
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by cypher007 View Post
i thought AMD 3400G but id have to redo my raid, and im not sure AMD's implementation would support 2 different raid types on 2 drives.

It is inconvenient at a minimum, and catastrophic worst-case to rely on motherboard RAID. Built-in RAID really has no place in any type of enthusiast system.

Lifespeed
91XG Yagi for San Francisco, DB4e bowtie for Fremont
SiliconDust HDHR4-2US network tuners, one per antenna
Media server PC running Emby
Rabbit Ears reception report
lifespeed is offline  
post #26 of 27 Old Yesterday, 10:00 PM
Newbie
 
snkadh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Almost all aspects of video play back can be offloaded to the GPU from decoding to madVR processing. However, that CPU is really weak. So who knows. I haven't tested anything with that. And also I wouldn't trust that powerDVD wouldn't be all cpu based.
Since my motherboard CPU socket if LGA 1150 type, it will max support 3rd gen Intel processor. So thinking to upgrade the processor upto i5 and graphics card for 4k. I have laptop with i7 7th Gen HQ processor and 1050Ti graphics. But not satisfied with the 4K quality. May be I am missing something.

I also have Kodi installed in my laptop, which shutdown the display in between during playing 4k. Really don't know why.
snkadh is offline  
post #27 of 27 Old Yesterday, 10:11 PM
Member
 
long_pn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by snkadh View Post
Since my motherboard CPU socket if LGA 1150 type, it will max support 3rd gen Intel processor. So thinking to upgrade the processor upto i5 and graphics card for 4k. I have laptop with i7 7th Gen HQ processor and 1050Ti graphics. But not satisfied with the 4K quality. May be I am missing something.

I also have Kodi installed in my laptop, which shutdown the display in between during playing 4k. Really don't know why.
Since the price of i7/Xeon CPU on LGA 1150 dropped sharply, buy them to maximize the decoding capability for AV1 format.
long_pn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off