Help with 3D MVC playback on Nvida with MadVR - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Vern Dias
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 06-29-2020, 04:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Help with 3D MVC playback on Nvida with MadVR

Hey there,

Hoping someone can stop me from beating my head against the wall with this. Trying to get any madVR capable player to output frame packed 3D from my MKV rips. I've successfully downloaded 3dFix and tested 3D output with the stereoscopic nvidia test app. However, when I try to output 3D via MPC-BE, I just get side by side output. I've installed the latest Lav filters with the 3d install option, and added those filters to mpc-be as "preferred." MadVR 3d is set to auto, and to enable 3D playback.

Any idea what I'm doing wrong? Is 3D playback still possible via madVR on PC?
filmgeek47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 06-29-2020, 08:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Vern Dias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Allen TX USA
Posts: 4,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 42
What Nvidia driver version are you using?

425.31 is the latest version with 3D support without performing unnatural acts.

I have not had any issues with frame packed 3D from physical media or ISO's.
filmgeek47 likes this.
Vern Dias is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 06-29-2020, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern Dias View Post
What Nvidia driver version are you using?

425.31 is the latest version with 3D support without performing unnatural acts.

I have not had any issues with frame packed 3D from physical media or ISO's.
Hmm. Tried installing it but my version of Windows 10 is too new for it. I thought 3D fix manager was supposed to achieve the same thing as the older drivers. Whatever I’m running into, my gut says it’s not driver related, as I’m able to view 3d just fine with the Nvidia stereoscopic test app.
filmgeek47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 06-30-2020, 07:03 AM
Member
 
reebok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Following. I am also interested in trying 3d on my epson 5040UBe and GTX1060 HTPC. I tried it with my monitor (Asus VG23AH) yesterday with a false edid without success.
reebok is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 06-30-2020, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I suspect your video is actually SBS, not frame packed; SP can convert these to frame-packed, but MPC cannot, it needs frame-packed 3D for playback.
Roussi is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 06-30-2020, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roussi View Post
I suspect your video is actually SBS, not frame packed; SP can convert these to frame-packed, but MPC cannot, it needs frame-packed 3D for playback.
It is 100% frame packed, as are all of my 3D blu-ray rips. I ripped it straight from a blu-ray myself, and it plays back as Fp on a raspberry pi.
filmgeek47 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 06-30-2020, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmgeek47 View Post
It is 100% frame packed, as are all of my 3D blu-ray rips. I ripped it straight from a blu-ray myself, and it plays back as Fp on a raspberry pi.
In that case, my other guess is to make sure the player/PC is switching output to [email protected] Hz, a 3D-compatible video format. Try it manually, from the PC settings, if it does not work from the player.
Roussi is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 06-30-2020, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roussi View Post
In that case, my other guess is to make sure the player/PC is switching output to [email protected] Hz, a 3D-compatible video format. Try it manually, from the PC settings, if it does not work from the player.
So here’s what I’ve worked out I have an old license for stereoscopic player. I installed that, enabled 3d TV play in the Nvidia settings, and switched my display res manually to 3D 1080P 24. When I do that, I get FP output in stereoscopic player! Yay. A few problems.

A, with these resolution/Nvidia settings, kodi crashes when I try and play anything.
B - stereoscopic player is very limited, and in the past I struggled to automate it as an external player.

What I’m trying to figure out is, is it still possible for MadVR or some other piece of software to detect that I’m playing a 3d file, and automatically enable 3d support on the os side of things and switch to a 3d resolution? That’s the impression I got from the older threads, but I can’t confirm if this is possible with newer versions of Windows and the hack requires]d for 3d on new drivers.
filmgeek47 is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 06-30-2020, 05:40 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Solved. Vern was quite right. The hack I was using with the current driver was clearly not working the same way. Used Rufus to download and reinstall an older version of Windows (I believe it was the build dated 5/2019). Installed the 425.31 Nvidia driver, and using the Kodi DSplayer 32bit build, 3d works perfectly. Thanks for the help!
filmgeek47 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 06-30-2020, 08:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Vern Dias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Allen TX USA
Posts: 4,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Make sure you disable Windows 10 driver update capability. Just one of several reasons my HTPC's all still run Windows 8.1.
Not saying it can't be done, and fully expecting HDR to drag me kicking and screaming to go to Windows 10, at least for my 4K capable HTPC .
Vern Dias is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 06-30-2020, 08:31 PM
Member
 
long_pn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Also Windows and Nvidia updates mess up 8/10-bit outputs. I disable Nvidia driver update to keep all in 10-bit chain.
long_pn is online now  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-01-2020, 06:36 AM
Member
 
reebok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've been doing a lot of reading on this and apparently madVR is broken with 3D right now. Madshi himself posted that a new release, which is currently out for beta testers, should fix the issue. I was reading about it last night but can't find the thread for the life of me now. I think it was on doom9.
reebok is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-01-2020, 06:21 PM
Member
 
reebok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Finally found it. It's on this forum actually.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/37-vi...l#post59690218

Quote:
I've just made a new firmware available for our private beta testers which adds:

1) full 3D support (only for 1080p24)

Needs testing to confirm it works reliably. But looks good so far, and it will mean Envy can do full frame packed 3D, after all (!).
Quote:
Yes. The next madVR HTPC build will probably make 3D work again for Nvidia. But limited to windowed mode and fullscreen windowed mode. It crashes in FSE mode, for reasons I currently don't understand. I hope I didn't break anything for AMD.

Last edited by reebok; 07-01-2020 at 06:26 PM.
reebok is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-02-2020, 12:23 PM
Newbie
 
snkadh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by reebok View Post
Following. I am also interested in trying 3d on my epson 5040UBe and GTX1060 HTPC. I tried it with my monitor (Asus VG23AH) yesterday with a false edid without success.
Are you playing ISO files or playing Blu-ray? How GTX1060 is performing in playing 3D. And what is the media player you are using?
snkadh is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-02-2020, 01:06 PM
Member
 
reebok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by snkadh View Post
Are you playing ISO files or playing Blu-ray? How GTX1060 is performing in playing 3D. And what is the media player you are using?
to avoid thread hijacking will send PM.
reebok is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off