Envy24HT-S - The Definitive Source - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1036 Old 03-16-2004, 05:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ursa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inner Loop, Houston
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Revo's ability to support ASIO has been discussed a lot in other threads. Suffice it to say, the card should theoretically supprt it, and using some add-on software (ASIO4ALL?), one can get it - for the most part. However, mAudio seems to be working on a new driver that is ASIO compliant (essentially, ASIO is a proprietary driver architecture/technology that allows low-level access to the soundcard's hardware(?)...). When this driver will be available is an open debate.

That being said, the Revo is still a coax-only solution. Other cards in the mAudio stable: Delta DiO (Digital Input/Output), 410 and 1010 all support optical, IIRC. I don't believe the Audiophile does, though.

You may want to look at some of the other cards made by some of the other manufacturers out there: Terratec, Paragon(?), etc.

Later,
Bill
Ursa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1036 Old 03-16-2004, 08:21 AM
Rgb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 8,094
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Quote:


Originally posted by Ursa
(essentially, ASIO is a proprietary driver architecture/technology that allows low-level access to the soundcard's hardware(?)...). Later,
Bill

Sounds a lot like the good old .VXD driver model What goes around comes around...
Rgb is offline  
post #33 of 1036 Old 03-18-2004, 11:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Datalux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 33:41:28.8N, 117:09:3.4W
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it works. I was able to flash the eeprom in my Chaintech AV-710 to that of a Prodigy 7.1. without a hitch. I don't have a floppy on my HTPC so I made a bootable CD with the necessary files and rather than dumping the eeprom to disk for later retreival, I forged ahead and just over wrote it with the Prodigy .ini data. The Prodigy drivers installed without a hitch and music plays fine via J. River Media Center.

HOWEVER, I have not been able to get ASIO to work (but I haven't a clue what I am doing either) and TheaterTek didn't want to keep the SP/DIF connection selected in the configuration and kept reverting to Dolby Digital when I would exit. I uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers and now all is fine. DD and DTS work fine in Theatertek via SP/DIF. Card works as good as it did when it was a Chaintech but I still have to work out the ASIO thing....Lot's of ASIO driver stuff and configuration crap with the Direct Wire and NAtive Sound Processing applications.

Maybe Darklord will take the plunge and work this out...
Datalux is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 03:30 AM
Senior Member
 
eggman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow Datalux .. thanks for taking the plunge hehe!

I am not too experienced with ASIO, so I can't help much =/
eggman51 is offline  
post #35 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 05:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ursa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inner Loop, Houston
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Datalux - what did you use to make a bootable CD? Nero? I have never had a need, so a pointer would be much appreciated!

Later,
Bill
Ursa is offline  
post #36 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Datalux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 33:41:28.8N, 117:09:3.4W
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ursa,

Yes, I used Nero and configured a floppy with the appropriate files (I used the machine in the Den with has the burner and floppy) and selected Boot CD in Nero (canceled the wizard) and it basically copied the files from the floppy to the CD and poof - Bootable CD. Took me two coasters to get it right as I have never used it before either.
Datalux is offline  
post #37 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
datalux - wow! smooth with the flashing! i will try to go for this

you said that there was an option to dump the chaintech rom to disc in the flash program, right? i just want the option to go back if i need to.
darklordjames is offline  
post #38 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
eggman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to make sure I understand this...

OK I assume you are following the instructions from here:
http://www.forgotten-realms.cfl.pl/o...pageid=aurprod

??

And then .. you are installing some version of the Prodigy 7.1 drivers (as per the instructions at Torture City).

So ASIO support comes from the Prodigy drivers.

A couple of questions:
1. is there a specific Prodigy driver to try this with?
2. what were the settings / edits made to eeprom.ini file to make this work?


Perhaps I misunderstand =/

E
eggman51 is offline  
post #39 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Datalux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 33:41:28.8N, 117:09:3.4W
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


you said that there was an option to dump the chaintech rom to disc in the flash program, right? i just want the option to go back if i need to.

Yes - It was the eeprw.exe that reads the eeprom - I dumped it to the screen just to make sure it was reading it correctly and the data was in the same format as the Prodigy.ini file. When I tried to read it under Win2k it would give an error and the data was all zeros. However when I did this via DOS 6.22 (real mode) the error did not appear and the data was a series of 2 digit numbers. I thought about writting it down but figured I could talk someone into doing a dump around here if I need to flash back to the Chaintech. Quite the leap of faith eh?

Quote:


OK I assume you are following the instructions from here:

Yes - Those are the instructions I used. I did use the drivers (1.992-S3513)and manual (v197) from the Audiotrak website however. The manual on forgotten-realms does not match the listed drivers exactly. I.e. the Direct Wire application.
Datalux is offline  
post #40 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
time for me to dig out a spare HDD to drop DOS onto. wow, havent installed that in like 8 years why an HDD? i dont actually own a floppy anymore FAT16 had a 2GB limit, right? hmm, now to figure out how to make a bootable DOS install CD

too many smileys for one post. i guess the idea of DOS 6.22 just makes me happy
darklordjames is offline  
post #41 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Datalux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 33:41:28.8N, 117:09:3.4W
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only program that I have tried ASIO in is J.River Media Center v.10.??b but have never gotten it to work with my Epox onboard Nforce2 Soundstorm, nor the Chaintech w/ ASIO4ALL - so it could be the application. I will try Winamp with the ASIO plugin when I get home. Also FYI, I am only using SP/DIF and NOT analog.
Datalux is offline  
post #42 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Datalux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 33:41:28.8N, 117:09:3.4W
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have a FAT system, you could boot off of an old WinME or Win98 CD. (one of those was bootable) and then just run the files from the HDD. In my case I have Win2K and NTFS and DOS could not read the eeprom utilities from the HDD once I booted-up DOS. So those running a FAT16/32 would have an easier time of it.
Datalux is offline  
post #43 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Datalux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 33:41:28.8N, 117:09:3.4W
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


So ASIO support comes from the Prodigy drivers.

A couple of questions:
1. is there a specific Prodigy driver to try this with?
2. what were the settings / edits made to eeprom.ini file to make this work?

1. The driver I used was 1.992-S3513 on the AudioTrak website

2. The "eeprom.ini" file included with the eeprom utility _IS_ the Prodigy 7.1 data. You can confirm this by looking at the eeprom.ini file and then the prodigy.ini file (also included) in your favorite text editor and see that they are in fact, one in the same. When you dump the Chaintech eeprom, you might name it CHAINTEC.INI (8.3 character DOS limitation) so as not to get them confused.
Datalux is offline  
post #44 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
yeah, im running NTFS, hence the need for a writable FAT16/32 area to drop the chaintech rom to. i think the next time i redo my system i'll just make a 2GB partition and install DOS to it, and the rest will be devoted to winXP. i'm not willing to give up NTFS
darklordjames is offline  
post #45 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
eggman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK thanks for the clarifications!

I don't have a FAT partition, so I too might be posting back here asking for a Chaintech EEPROM dump hehe.

I am pretty conservative about this kinda stuff, tho a $27 ASIO card is appealing .. so I'll try it but I think I need someone else to "guinea pig" for me and verify that Winamp or Foobar ASIO playback works with the flashed Chaintech card.
eggman51 is offline  
post #46 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
astro11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of us that don't get it (I'm more of a computer guy than a music guy), can someone give me the one sentence on whether ASIO is worthwhile if I'm only running SPDIF out (in my case via an ABIT IC7G with a RealTek 650)?

Basically, I'd get and flash a Chaintech if I got an advantage for music out only, is there one?

Thanks
astro11 is offline  
post #47 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
eggman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd certainly hold off until folks have proven that this works and stays working..

The benefits of ASIO are:
- bit perfect playback of digital music at 44.1 KHz
--- no resampling to 48KHz which most AC97 cards will do

- bypassing of windows Kmixer
--- no resampling 44.1 KHz to 44.1 KHz (and mangling the sound in the process)
--- even if the soundcard support 44.1 KHz it doesn't get passed cleanly unless using ASIO or Kernel Streaming

I thought all this "bit perfect" stuff was audiophile circle jerk, but having heard ASIO 44.1 KHz bit perfect playback, I can totally understand why people spend a lot of money on sound cards to get this sound.

If it can be had for $27 with a hack, I'd be very happy with it Otherwise I will likely end up replacing the Chaintech with a sound card capable of ASIO over SPDIF when the budget permits. I like the look of the Audiotrak Prodigy 7.1 (I can't afford the Lynx cards). If I can make my CHaintech into a Audiotrak with an EEPROM flash I think that would be soopah!

I moved my Audigy 2 ZS into my gaming rig and stuck the Chaintech into the HTPC. I was never happy with the Audigy 2 ZS drivers or sound quality. I find the Chaintech much more stable and clean driver wise and the sound is just as good or better than the 2ZS (which cost 3 times as much).

Having said all that, sound has been the biggest pain in the arse for my first HTPC project. The only thing I am not staisfied with is the sound (and at times general stability). Budget permitting I am building HTPC 2.0 ASAP because I think the old rig I built the first one on is haunted.

Eamonn
eggman51 is offline  
post #48 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
DougHamm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I just ordered a Prodigy from the only Canadian supplier I could find (Outcast Computers). It'll be replacing an Audigy2 in my HTPC. I've had the A2 for a long time and think it's a very well rounded card for the most part; however this card looks too tempting to pass up. I'm looking forward to ripping my DTS cd's onto the PC.

-Doug
DougHamm is offline  
post #49 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Datalux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 33:41:28.8N, 117:09:3.4W
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cannot get J. River Media Center to do ASIO, but I download Foobar and was able to play my .ape files via Kernel streaming output. I can also play .wma files in Winamp via the ASIO output plug-in, however, I cannot play a sample DD5.1.wav file I downloaded in either Winamp (won't play) or Foobar (digital noise) so......I'm not sure either is doing true ASIO or Kernel streaming due to their not playing the DD5.1.wav files.

Thoughts??

UPDATE: SUCCESS!! I am currently listening to a Digital Dolby 5.1 file called SAL256KB_3min.wav (Jazz) via Winamp 5 with the out_asio(exe).dll plug-in. Had to change the sample rate! Told you I didn't know what I was doing...

So there you have it....The Chaintech can be flashed to a Prodigy 7.1 and get fully working ASIO and kernel streaming output depending on the application.
Datalux is offline  
post #50 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
astro11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using XP MCE which uses WMP as the MP3 player natively.

Is there an ASIO plugin for WMP?
astro11 is offline  
post #51 of 1036 Old 03-19-2004, 11:22 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
ASIO fully working!

wow. this chaintech card just keeps getting better and better now if VIA will add Pro Logic IIx to the drivers for Azalia compliance...
darklordjames is offline  
post #52 of 1036 Old 03-20-2004, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
b3b0p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will do this when I get home in a couple hours without hesitation. I have an extra sound card I can use if I wreck the Chaintech (an Audigy 2, bleck!). But before I do I need a TOS Link to Coax converter. Do they sell those at Radio Shack? I thought I saw them, but I can't seem to find it on their website. Anyone have a part # or link?

Edit: Found $15 TOSLink -> COAX Converter at Rat Shack.

Is the card that we are flashing have the same chipset? I can't seem to find much information on it except it uses an Envy chip. Is it the Envy HT or HT-S like the Chaintech?
b3b0p is offline  
post #53 of 1036 Old 03-21-2004, 01:38 AM
Newbie
 
bubbers214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone have the original chaintech EEPROM ini file? I flashed mine and it doesn't seem to be working for me and i need to go back to the original but i didn't dump the original. Thanks.
bubbers214 is offline  
post #54 of 1036 Old 03-21-2004, 09:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
b3b0p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
try reflashing it first.
b3b0p is offline  
post #55 of 1036 Old 03-21-2004, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
bubbers214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tried reflashing, and i get horrible crackling noise out of my ouput.
bubbers214 is offline  
post #56 of 1036 Old 03-21-2004, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
eggman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the same thing but it was a driver issue.

Make sure you have UNinstalled the VIA Envy 24 driver. Reboot.

Make sure you have installed the latest Audiotrak drivers. Reboot.

Make sure you have Winamp (or whatever player) configured correctly, particularly the ASIO configuration (including installing the ASIO plugin if applicable).

Experiment with the Audiotrak control panel to make sure it's set up right. (I would recommend perusing the manual as there are quite a few options in the control panel).

I would doubt the flashing of the card went wrong (unless you didn't follow the process, or it indicated soemthing was wrong).

E
eggman51 is offline  
post #57 of 1036 Old 03-21-2004, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Datalux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 33:41:28.8N, 117:09:3.4W
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I got the same thing but it was a driver issue.

Make sure you have UNinstalled the VIA Envy 24 driver. Reboot.

Make sure you have installed the latest Audiotrak drivers. Reboot.

Make sure you have Winamp (or whatever player) configured correctly, particularly the ASIO configuration (including installing the ASIO plugin if applicable).

Experiment with the Audiotrak control panel to make sure it's set up right. (I would recommend perusing the manual as there are quite a few options in the control panel).

I'll second that motion...I didn't remove everything correctly when I first flashed the eeprom (too excited I guess) and it presented a few problems. Set the ASIO configuration up wrong in your favorite player and you will definitely get some interesting "Noise" out of the thing During one lockup in Foobar, I think the high pitched squeal actually pierced my left eardrum. :big grin:
Datalux is offline  
post #58 of 1036 Old 03-21-2004, 09:23 PM
Newbie
 
bubbers214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried all of these suggestions and the sound is just terrible, i dont know what else to do, so i really would like to have a copy of the original EEPROM so that i can flash back to original.
bubbers214 is offline  
post #59 of 1036 Old 03-21-2004, 10:24 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
!!RECOMMENDATION AND WARNING!!

i really shouldnt have to say this, but...

currently there is discussion of flashing a Chaintech AV-710's EEPROM to that of a Prodigy 7.1 so that one can use the Prodigy's drivers.

if you are going to try this flash trick, please back up the original EEPROM so that you can go back to having the chaintech card again. we've already had one person essentially break their card, and i would prefer if this thread didnt degrade to everyone whining about breaking their stuff because they didnt take simple precautionary measures.

thank you!

-----------
this has also been added to the first post for people that are just tuning in to this thread.
darklordjames is offline  
post #60 of 1036 Old 03-21-2004, 10:33 PM - Thread Starter
 
darklordjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 94
bubbers - and yes, when i flash my card and drop the eeprom of the chaintech, i will report back here with it and try to get it to you. just be patient, i havent gotten around to it yet
darklordjames is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off