DVD playback skips - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 12-20-2004, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Chandler, AZ USA
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I have an issue that I am having a problem trying to figure out what might be causing it.

This is a new computer build. P4 2.8 gig with 512 mb ram and the NEC 8x DVD burner. The motherboard is the P4C800-E Deluxe. Graphics card is an Nvidia 5900tx. Running Windows XP with SP2 and DirectX 9.0c with VMR enabled and the NVIDIA NVDVD 4.0. Sound card is the one built into the motherboard.

This is what happens: When playing a dvd in either zoom player or anything else, the dvd will play just fine. About every so often the dvd will just skip just a little about a ms of time where the screen will skip and the sound will also skip. I know this as my receiver will display a new feed to it when this happened.

Any ideas on how to fix this?


Thank you.
Perry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 12-20-2004, 11:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
stoked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the exact same issue. I'm using a Athlon XP 3200M. 1GB of RAM and a 6600GT AGP using Zoomplayer and Nvidia decoder. I haven't been able to figure out what's causing it, I tried removing ffdshow processing and it still skips. Hopefully the new purevideo nvidia setup today helps.
stoked is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 12-20-2004, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Chandler, AZ USA
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is this new purevideo?
Perry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 Old 12-20-2004, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
baldbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have S/PDIF enabled? Try disabling it and using analog out just for testing. If it doesn't skip using analog but does using S/PDIF, then try a new sound card and disable the onboard audio.
baldbull is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 12-20-2004, 09:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Chandler, AZ USA
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Baldbull,

I would have done that except that the audio and video skip. I am going to try to turn off VMR. I am going to see if the issue might be with the nvdvd 4.0 or directx 9.0c or the graphics drivers I am running.
Perry is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 12-21-2004, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
baldbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Perry,

Audio cards can cause video skipping as well. Try my experiment. I had this same problem and it was solved by a new audio card. I know it doesn't seem to make sense, but try disabling S/PDIF and see if the skipping is gone. If it is, I can almost guarantee it's the audio card. If it still skips with S/PDIF disabled then it is something else, but I'm trying to save you all the hassle I went through of trying diffferent video cards, reinstalling the OS, trying different drivers.

Don't knock it 'till you try it!!!
baldbull is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 01-09-2005, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
DJRobX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Valenica, Ca
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have the same motherboard and concur with the above poster, it's a problem with the onboard spdif/drivers. The video skips as well because the video is synced to the audio. So when the onboard audio tosses out a chunk of AC3, the video speeds up to catch up to it.
DJRobX is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 01-09-2005, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
JTAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you tried ReClock?

What version of the SoundMAX audio drivers do you have?
JTAnderson is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 01-09-2005, 02:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Interesting. I have noticed this happening on my MCE 2005 system too.
And the AC3 burst, forcing the video to burst through too, seems a good explanation. I play back stereo sources fine, using SPDIF out.
The "speed up" issue only happens with DD or DTS dvds.
I have an Nvidia Gforce 5600, and use on-board SPDIF out from my motherboard. Playback using the latest NVDVD codec.
gnollo is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 01-09-2005, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anybody wants to suggest a good and cheap audio card for optical SPDIF only?
gnollo is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 01-09-2005, 04:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Chaintech AV-710.

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 01-10-2005, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
My Motherboard is an Asus P4SD-XV.
I went to the Sony website (my HTPC is a Sony Vaio Desktop) to download the latest Drivers for the Audio Controller. Will monitor if it fixed the problem for me.
gnollo is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 01-10-2005, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
baldbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah Chaintech is a good suggestion. If you need something at a B&M, even the SB Audigy 2 Value card (~$60) worked just fine for me since all I cared about was S/PDIF out. The Chaintech card is cheaper and well-regarded...
baldbull is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 01-10-2005, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I will test it. The driver upgrade didnt work, no audio at all, so I had to go back to the stutter.... Chaitech here I come.
gnollo is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 01-11-2005, 10:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
DJRobX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Valenica, Ca
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The only soundmax drivers that I can find that work at all are the ones on Asus' web site.

Reclock doesn't work at all.
DJRobX is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 01-11-2005, 10:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Chaintech doesnt sell soundcards in Europe.
So I ordered a Maudio Revo. Awaiting delivery.
Anyone knows how to get to the bios (want to disable on board audio) on one of the Vaio PCs?
gnollo is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 01-11-2005, 10:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
gnollo is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 01-20-2005, 10:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
DJRobX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Valenica, Ca
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Found a solution to my problem!

The SoundMax can function with the RealTek audio driver here

ftp://ftp.aopen.com.tw/pub/driver/mb...audio_3.43.zip

After changing to this driver, all the problems went away!
DJRobX is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 01-21-2005, 03:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Mmmmh, too late for me... I got a Maudio Revolution delivered today. I will install it later on and report back.
gnollo is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 01-21-2005, 06:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Installed the Revo, disabled On board audio in the bios and voila, no more skipping during DVD playback. Now I will test CSII surround playback of stereo sources compared to my Denon AVR1705 own DPII
gnollo is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 01-21-2005, 11:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Which one 5.1 or 7.1?

I have a 5.1 and I'm 99% happy with it (some minor complaints with the revo control panel). I'm using the analogue outputs now, and use Reclock to remove PAL 4% speedup.

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 01-22-2005, 12:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
gnollo is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 02-09-2005, 11:15 PM
Newbie
 
theGressier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I was reading mce 2005 faq when I discovered this thread with problem about soundmax.

I want to share with you 2 good points :
- The Green Button : ac3 passthorugh problems ( h t t p : / / w w w . t h e g r e e n b u t t o n . c o m / c o m m u n i t y / s h w m e s s a g e . a s p x ? F o r u m I D = 5 0 & M e s s a g e I D = 8 2 2 3 0 )
- ABXZone : drivers for soundmax ( h t t p : / / w w w . a b x z o n e . c o m / f o r u m s / s h o w t h r e a d . p h p ? t = 8 0 3 8 5 & g o t o = n e w p o s t )

Billy

PS : sorry for the urls, I can not post it because I m just registered. If it is interesting, a moderator can modify the post.
theGressier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off