Case study: what components to use for a MCE2005 HTPC. My selection... - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 05:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
A friend has asked me to put together an HTPC for him, he wants to use MCE2005, so I started putting together a list, and I thought this might help others, and others might help me in perhaps modifying my list...

1) Case
I have a DIGN case, love the look, but in a recent review from Anandtech the temperature results (and noise performance) of the NmediaPC HTPC100 seems better for HTPC use.
Dilemma. Looks or temperature and noise?
I will leave the choice open. it could be

a) D.VINE 5 for the full form ATX motherboard (black or silver)
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...126-137&depa=0
Cost for the case is 257 USD.

b) NMediaPC HTPC100
Cost for the case on Newegg is 128USD.

Good things about the NMEdiaPC.
- even with one fan only temp stay quite low in the tests performed by Anandtech
- the sides of the bezel feature sliding doors: the left door covers the auxiliary ports, which include two USB, audio in/out, and a FireWire port while the right side door hides a 7-in-1 flash card reader that accepts CompactFlash I/II, SmartMedia, SD/MMC, and memory stick/memory stick pro flash media
Bad things.
- Uatx format for motherboard, due to the smaller format of the case (4 expansion slots)
- no vdf display, but an LCD temp display. Is it programmable?
- is the power supply too weak? (270W)
- finding a motherboard with SPDIF out (optical) who is not going to use one of the 4 expansion slots is proving difficult.

The choice is yours

2) Motherboard and Memory
a) for the D.vine 5
Intel "BOXD925XCVLK"
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...121-226&depa=0
Cost $189
Has on board 2 SPDIF out (coax and digital) and PCI-Xpress.
No overclocking capabilities so you better buy a powerful CPU

b) for the NMediaPC HTPC100
ASUS "P5GD1-VM" i915G Chipset Motherboard For Intel LGA 775 CPU
(with PCI xpress) ($110)
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...131-520&DEPA=0
Memory 2x512 Corsair DDR400(PC3200) ($135.36)
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...145-440&DEPA=0

- downside: Prescott is a hot cpu
- upside: PCI xpress is faster than AGP. Future proof

3) Videocard ($280 maybe less)
Nvidia Gigabyte fanles 6600GT.
Hardware acceleration of HD-DVD.
Not released yet in the US. Found in the UK
http://www.overclock.co.uk/customer/...roductid=18059
http://tw.giga-byte.com/VGA/Products...NX66T128VP.htm

4) CPU
[http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...16-184R&depa=0]Prescott 3.0 Ghz[/url] ($165)
800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache Processor, Socket LGA 775
or
Prescott 3.6 Ghz ($449)
800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache Processor, Socket LGA 775


Zalman ($42)
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...118-114&depa=0
http://www.zalmanusa.com/usa/product...x=145&code=009

5) Hard disk
400GB Seagate Sata drive (379USD)
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...148-063&depa=0

6) NVTV double tuner capture card to control your satellite receiver ($160)
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...P=OTC-CNETFEED

7) Microsoft Remote with IR Blasters and Receiver
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...100-851&depa=0
Cost $ 38

8) DVD-Burner
NEC 3520A $68
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...152-032&depa=0
Write Speed: 16X DVD+R, 4X DVD+RW, 4X DVD+R9, 16X DVD-R, 4X DVD-RW, 48X CD-R, 24X CD-RW
Region free firmware here

9) Keyboard
Airboard $29
http://www.digitalconnection.com/Pro...ard/sk7100.asp

No HDTV over here, so give us feedback!
Start the feedback!
gnollo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
setherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looks pretty good.
what about sound? are you just using onboard analog sound?
you might want to get the NVTV dual tuner card as you only have 2 PCI slots on that motherboard.

Take care,
Seth

AMD 5000+BE @2.6GHZ 2GB ram, 820GB storage
Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G chipset
Nvidia DualTV, HDHomerun, MCE keyboard and remote. SageTV
setherd is offline  
post #3 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Good idea on the dual tuner card.
I checked the manual for the Asus motherboard and it offers SPDIF out as an add on. Bummer.
I really would like to find a motherboard that
- supports PCIx
- is a MiniATX
- has onboard SPDIF out and Lan
That way I can minimise the number of cards I need.
Once you have Videocard taking the PCIx slot, and a HDTV card and analogue capture card taking the PCI slots you have only a PCIxpress x16 slot left.
I am open to suggestions.
gnollo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
setherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw a thread here about the add on module for asus motherboards.
some guy found out that by calling asus tech support he could order the spdif module directly from them.
he had the number to cal and all directions in the thread.

found it:
https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ferrerid=54087

maybe you can do the same?

Take care,
Seth

AMD 5000+BE @2.6GHZ 2GB ram, 820GB storage
Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G chipset
Nvidia DualTV, HDHomerun, MCE keyboard and remote. SageTV
setherd is offline  
post #5 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I could, but it would use a PCI slot.
I don't want to do that as that would mean I would not be able to have HDTV in the PC (supposing there will be HDTV cards one day in Europe...).
I have searched high and low, and it seems that no MicroATX motherboards have PCIexpress and SPDIF (only add-on available).
If anyone finds one I would like to know which motherboard it is.
If that is the case, it would push me towards a bigger format case, like the D.Vine 5 series case.
Future proof, I run my htpc in DIGN case with two Pabs fans at the back, and I can hardly hear it.
gnollo is offline  
post #6 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jim in Cincy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by gnollo
2) Motherboard and Memory
ASUS "P5GD1-VM" i915G Chipset Motherboard For Intel LGA 775 CPU
(with PCI xpress) ($110)
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...131-520&DEPA=0

4) CPU
Prescott ($178)
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...116-175&depa=0
What about this Mobo/CPU? $179.99
http://shop4.outpost.com/product/4321815

I'm not as good as I once was
but I'm as good once as I ever was.
Jim in Cincy is offline  
post #7 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Good, but is not MiniATX, it does not have SPDIF out or a PCI Xpress slot....
gnollo is offline  
post #8 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
setherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by gnollo
I could, but it would use a PCI slot.
I don't want to do that as that would mean I would not be able to have HDTV in the PC (supposing there will be HDTV cards one day in Europe...).
I have searched high and low, and it seems that no MicroATX motherboards have PCIexpress and SPDIF (only add-on available).
If anyone finds one I would like to know which motherboard it is.
If that is the case, it would push me towards a bigger format case, like the D.Vine 5 series case.
Future proof, I run my htpc in DIGN case with two Pabs fans at the back, and I can hardly hear it.
couldn't you have that bracket take up a slot used by one of the pci express slots? that way you still have 2 pci slots available?

Take care,
Seth

AMD 5000+BE @2.6GHZ 2GB ram, 820GB storage
Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G chipset
Nvidia DualTV, HDHomerun, MCE keyboard and remote. SageTV
setherd is offline  
post #9 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
bryankeithg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Brea,CA
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this is silly question, but where/how would you obtain a copy of MCE 2005? I thought you had to buy a MCE PC to get it.
Bryan
bryankeithg is offline  
post #10 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
setherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you can now buy MCE 2005 OEM

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...102-311&DEPA=6

Take care,
Seth

AMD 5000+BE @2.6GHZ 2GB ram, 820GB storage
Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G chipset
Nvidia DualTV, HDHomerun, MCE keyboard and remote. SageTV
setherd is offline  
post #11 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You can buy it on-line. Not everywhere. In theory it should be sold to you only if you are going to build a HTPC. In practice, you can buy it as long as you purchase a mouse.
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=74686
gnollo is offline  
post #12 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
setherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So Gnollo

how about this...
pci-express x16 slot has your 6600gt
next pci slot empty (to give the video card breathing room)
next pci slot NVTV dual tuner card
pci-express x1 slot has the spdif module

Take care,
Seth

AMD 5000+BE @2.6GHZ 2GB ram, 820GB storage
Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G chipset
Nvidia DualTV, HDHomerun, MCE keyboard and remote. SageTV
setherd is offline  
post #13 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Setherd, what about an HDTV card? In a year time Sky will launch HDTV in the UK, and I sure as hell would love to have a HDTV card in my PC by then....
gnollo is offline  
post #14 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
setherd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you'd still have a pci slot open.
next to the vid card. I'd judt leave it open for now for better cooling.

Take care,
Seth

AMD 5000+BE @2.6GHZ 2GB ram, 820GB storage
Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G chipset
Nvidia DualTV, HDHomerun, MCE keyboard and remote. SageTV
setherd is offline  
post #15 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 03:55 PM
Newbie
 
enigmaToo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you looked at the GA-8I915G-MF by Giga-byte?

It has all the same features as the Asus plus a SPDIF In & out on the back panel (Coax only, no optical) .

I just ordered one for my HTPC, so I have no experiance with the board yet.
enigmaToo is offline  
post #16 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
http://www.hardwarezoom.com/viewcont...=214&PageNo=14

Great Mboard! It does have SPDIF (coax).
Possible problems:
- no overclocking capabilities
- fitting the Zalman heatsink. Is there any room for it?
- North and South bridge heatsink can get rather warm after a while
gnollo is offline  
post #17 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 11:21 PM
Member
 
mattmannz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You won't regret it.

It is easily one of the better looking cases in the market plus it accepts a full size mobo so no issues with what board to put in it or compromising on what cards to get.

I am running an Nforce2 Ultra board with an XP2400 cpu, 9600 Raedon, 1gig dual channel, PVR250, dvd-rom, 120gb seagate, and a 60gb maxtor.

For cooling I converted the mobo to passive cooling by fitting a Zalman Northbridge heatsink and installed a Zalman flower cooler on the cpu with a 120mm fan with a speed controller. The case has a single 60mm exhaust fan running very slowly using speedfan to control it.

I cannot hear my htpc from about 2 meters away and it never overheats. It runs 24x7 and has never crashed on me. It's summer here at the moment and we have temps of about 27c at the moment. My htpc is in a rack with my amp directly underneath it so it gets quite warm.

If you search here on dign you should find some pics of my setup.

Matt.
mattmannz is offline  
post #18 of 64 Old 12-28-2004, 11:46 PM
Member
 
stevethewheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
a few things

1) You may find that the motherboard comes with the SPDIF out adapter even though Newegg is not listing it. Yes it takes a PCI bracket space away from you but it will not interfere with cooling the video card. As already pointed out you can order it from ASUS pretty easily.

2) Do you really really need PCIExpress? The video card you've chosen is outrageously cutting edge but it is not proven to be limited by AGP 8X vs. PCIExpress. That is, the card is already as futureproof in the AGP state. The motherboard/CPU/memory will be as obsolete as the graphics card so it is unlikely that the card will ever be upgraded..hence AGP would work for you. This might open up other mobo possibilities.

3) Recommend 2 hard drives instead of one. A smaller drive (30-40gb) for the system files/drivers/browser and a largish one for add-on software and multimedia. Reason is that if you ever need to reformat (or one of the drives crashes - yes it happens) you will be happy not to lose everything.

4) 270 watts is too small for the power supply. You are already spending a small fortune on biggest and best so don't scrimp here. 300W absolute minimum, 350W would be my choice....enermax has some nice models that have dual fans with fanspeed on a heat sensor.

5) Planning on overclocking? That will mean more noise. I don't do it on my HTPC but mainly because I cannot tolerate any instability there. It is huge pressure when you sit down to watch a movie (esp. with wife or friends) and the technology lets you down.
stevethewheel is offline  
post #19 of 64 Old 12-29-2004, 01:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
to stevethewheel
1) understood
2) I feel I need PCIExpress because you don't know what new cards will be released in the future. It is a safe bet that the next generation of video cards will be developed with PCIX in mind, and not AGP. We will see the same phenomena that you have observed when we moved from ISa to PCI and then to AGP. I agree that right now it is not an issue, but if I have to buy a new board anyway (not upgrade) and if I have to choose between AGP or with PCIX, I choose PCIX.
3) I won't recommend it for a simple reason. 2 Hard disks create double the heat in a case. I have several partitions on my HTPC. I ghost each partition (one for system and one for program files). My third partition is for storage, and I have all of that stuff (music, videos, ripped dvds, recorded programs). That is enough for me, and I do not want anymore heat than necessary in the HTPC.
4) I agree with you on the power supply, I am more and more leaning for the Dvine which comes with a 350W power supply.
5) I agree with you on the heat and instability. But if it is necessary to use applications as ffdshow to squeeze extra performance (I am not saying it is necessary, but some might think so) it is good to have the option, if one decides to go down that way.
gnollo is offline  
post #20 of 64 Old 12-29-2004, 02:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by mattmannz
You won't regret it.

It is easily one of the better looking cases in the market plus it accepts a full size mobo so no issues with what board to put in it or compromising on what cards to get.

I am running an Nforce2 Ultra board with an XP2400 cpu, 9600 Raedon, 1gig dual channel, PVR250, dvd-rom, 120gb seagate, and a 60gb maxtor.

For cooling I converted the mobo to passive cooling by fitting a Zalman Northbridge heatsink and installed a Zalman flower cooler on the cpu with a 120mm fan with a speed controller. The case has a single 60mm exhaust fan running very slowly using speedfan to control it.

I cannot hear my htpc from about 2 meters away and it never overheats. It runs 24x7 and has never crashed on me. It's summer here at the moment and we have temps of about 27c at the moment. My htpc is in a rack with my amp directly underneath it so it gets quite warm.

If you search here on dign you should find some pics of my setup.

Matt.
I have a Dign 3e. D.vine is the name of the DIGN in US.
I really like the Denon DVD player look of the D.vine5. I wonder what is the VDF functionality of Media Center Edition.
Are you running MCE on yours?
gnollo is offline  
post #21 of 64 Old 12-29-2004, 02:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Craigslue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Intel makes a 925 board that has both coax and optical outputs.
Craigslue is offline  
post #22 of 64 Old 12-29-2004, 02:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
MCE plugin for the VDF display.
Not sure if it would work with the D.vine.
http://www.mathenys.net/frontview/
gnollo is offline  
post #23 of 64 Old 12-29-2004, 02:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by Craigslue
Intel makes a 925 board that has both coax and optical outputs.
Indeed correct, thanks for the heads up.
Review here:
http://www.tweaknews.net/reviews/intelalder/index5.php
gnollo is offline  
post #24 of 64 Old 12-29-2004, 12:04 PM
Member
 
mattmannz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am running the 3.10 version of Showshifter which IMHO presents itself more as a Tivo than a PC which is what I was after.

Matt.
mattmannz is offline  
post #25 of 64 Old 12-30-2004, 05:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The huge Zalman heatsink supports the Intel motherboard by the way.
http://www.zalmanusa.com/product/coo...MBlist_eng.htm
gnollo is offline  
post #26 of 64 Old 12-30-2004, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 98
I got the Intel 925XCV mobo, and it has Dolby Digital Live (HD Audio) support via spdif optical or coax. It is a good board, rock-solid stability. I did not consider overclocking my HTPC, so I don't care that Intel puts roadblocks to that activity. I'm using a 3.0GHz Prescott, in the DVine.5 case. Oh, and the video card is 6600GT, but not fanless. I am very pleased with this system, using it for HD PVR, DVD, jukebox, big-screen gaming, etc.

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is offline  
post #27 of 64 Old 12-30-2004, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Did you test the analogue outs?
I was wondering if the board would do dolby digital real time encoding of an analogue stero source.
gnollo is offline  
post #28 of 64 Old 12-30-2004, 09:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
S1DIMMER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hey gnollo,

I just got the ASUS P5GD1-VM. Its a nice motherboard. I ordered the SPDIF out module direct from ASUS. Cost was $10 with the shipping. I have it in the bottom slot, where the PCI-E 1x would go. I have a 6600GT in the PCI-E 16x slot, you lose the PCI slot under the video card anyway, otherwise the card can't breathe, it's a pretty hot running card. In the second PCI slot I have the ATI HDTV Wonder card. It is possible to have both the analog and HD tuners working at the same time. I had it setup that way in my prior HTPC setup. It worked just fine but was a bit tricky to setup - the kram hacked drivers were needed. I have yet to test either tuner in the system now. This could be an option for you but since your in Europe not sure how much function you'd get out of the HDTV Wonder card? At the least I guess you could use it as a single analog TV tuner, there are always USB external TV tuners.
Check your CPU page, if you use the ASUS mobo you'll want a socket T (775) chip, the one you linked to appears to be a socket 478 chip but with Prescott core.
As for hard drives I agree you should use two at minimum. I have 5 but I am running a DVD server. 2 x 250GB & 2 x 300GB data drives and an 80GB drive for the OS and games. If I need to reformat, I just have to back up a thing or two but no major data moves.
The case you should consider looks, hard drive space, and airflow, not in any particular order.
Power supply - 350 watts would be great but if you are planning on adding a lot of hard drives down the road, I'd go 400 or better. My 350watt unit started to cause other problems once I went to the 5 hard drives and HDTV card setup. I now use an Antec Neopower 480.
I do have two interesting occurrences I'm trying to work out right now. 1- When I put my PC into S3 suspend mode the power LED continually flashes, not sure if it keeps doing it or if there is a time limit, I haven't let it go more than 2 minutes.
2 - When waking from S3 suspend mode I lose visibility to my 1st SATA drive, if I repeat the suspend and wake process the second SATA drive is gone?? I can no longer see them in windows, if I reboot they are back. I tried contacting ASUS via email but I'll probably never get a response.
S1DIMMER is offline  
post #29 of 64 Old 12-30-2004, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 98
gnollo, I've not tried the analog outputs on the 925XCV mobo. The Intel website is a good resource for learning what HD Audio/DD Live can do.

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is offline  
post #30 of 64 Old 12-30-2004, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gnollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
S1DIMMER, thanks for the heads up, I corrected the CPU choice.
In terms of hard disks, I want to keep it to a minimum in the HTPC in the front room. I have not built a dvd server, I have far too many of them to be ripping them (I don't even have enough time to watch them, would you believe it?).
I believe that heat in a case = components issue = problems in the long run. I don't want to watercool and I don't want fan noise so one hard disk is OK for me as I don't run a dvd server.
If I was to run a server, it would be on another PC (I have three in three different rooms right now) with loads of fans (noise but only the guests would complain... ;)).
gnollo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off