anyone had any success with Seagate 7200.9 drives? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 02-06-2006, 01:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jliem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last weekend, I came home to find my ReplayTV 5040 stuck at the dreaded "Please Wait..." screen. It had been running with a Maxtor 160Gb Diamond Plus 9 (model #6Y160P0) drive for about 2.5 years.

So I pulled the drive (I was able to extract the shows on it via extract_rtv) and replaced it with a Seagate 300Gb 7200.9 (model #ST-3300622A). I used RTVPatch 2.5.3 to re-image the drive with the rtv_5K_FactoryReset_140.zip image. Up to that point, things went smoothly. But shortly thereafter I started experienced all sorts of problems with the unit hanging and eventually rebooting. It continually hung and rebooted on the connection (via ethernet) to the mothership and it took maybe a dozen attempts before successfully upgrading to build 144 But even after that, sometimes when I pull up the channel guide or the replay guide or 411-zones, the unit would simply hang for a few minutes before rebooting itself. I tried to record several shows overnight, but when I checked the recordings the next morning, each recording was broken into 3 or 4 segments (which I'm assuming meant that the unit rebooted itself multiple times during the recording and then continued recording).

So next I dusted off the original 40Gb Maxtor drive that came with the unit and put that back in. It's been running smoothly for the past few days with nary a hang/reboot.

So it sure seems to me as if the 7200.9 drive is problematic. It's possible I just got a flaky drive (I should run SeaTools against the drive, but have yet to do so), but I'm also wondering if this drive simply isn't compatible with a 5000-series ReplayTV. Has anyone else had any luck with a 7200.9 drive in a 5000-series ReplayTV? FYI, I opted for a 7200.9 over the 7200.8 despite the fact that there seem to be quite a few success stories with 7200.8 drives because it also seems that the 7200.8 drives supposedly have a higher defect rate than normal.
jliem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 02-06-2006, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dstoffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by jliem
So it sure seems to me as if the 7200.9 drive is problematic. It's possible I just got a flaky drive (I should run SeaTools against the drive, but have yet to do so), but I'm also wondering if this drive simply isn't compatible with a 5000-series ReplayTV. Has anyone else had any luck with a 7200.9 drive in a 5000-series ReplayTV? FYI, I opted for a 7200.9 over the 7200.8 despite the fact that there seem to be quite a few success stories with 7200.8 drives because it also seems that the 7200.8 drives supposedly have a higher defect rate than normal.
Does the 7200.9 have a 16MB cache? Does the 7200.8 have a 8 MB cache? I know there were cache size issues, but I did not think that they were with Seagate drives.

-Doug
dstoffa is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 02-06-2006, 07:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
l8er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Out There, Somewhere
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jliem
So it sure seems to me as if the 7200.9 drive is problematic.
I've run Seagate 300 GB 7200.8 drives with no problems, but have never tried one of the 7200.9 drives. The difference is 8 MB cache versus 16 MB cache. Since you've encountered problems, it's quite possible that either the 16 MB cache is problematic or there's been some change in the Seagate firmware that is causing problems.

-Gary
ReplayTV DIY Information/Repair/Upgrade Site: www.replaytvupgrade.com
l8er is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 02-06-2006, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jliem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstoffa
Does the 7200.9 have a 16MB cache? Does the 7200.8 have a 8 MB cache? I know there were cache size issues, but I did not think that they were with Seagate drives.
The 300Gb 7200.8 drives come in both 8Mb cache (ST-3300831A) and 16Mb cache (ST-3300631A) variants. The 300Gb 7200.9 drive only comes with a 16Mb cache.
jliem is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 02-06-2006, 02:07 PM
Member
 
jbacke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two months ago I bought the very same drive with the intention of upgrading a 5080. I never got around to the upgrade and last weekend I was forced to put the drive in my computer to back up everything prior to a clean install. I still plan to move it to the replay soon, probably a week or so. Sorry this wasn't helpful, I wish I had put it in the replay back then so I could offer some feedback.

Someone else posted that they had bought the same drive though, let me find the thread...
It was kcgr who posted in this thread that he bought one https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post6623709

Maybe you could PM kcgr and find out more.

Jeff
jbacke is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 02-14-2006, 01:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jliem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Small update. I finally got around to running SeaTools (v3.02.03) against the drive this past weekend and it didn't find anything wrong at the hardware level with the drive. So that seems to lend more evidence that the drive is not defective and there is likely some sort of incompatibility between my ReplayTV 5040 unit and this one particular 7200.9 drive that I tried with it. I dare not make blanket statements regarding the compatibility of 7200.9 drives with ReplayTV units in general, because one sampling is obviously far from representative, but if anyone is keeping score, well, you can add my experience as a data point.

Anyway, I'm in the midst of attempting to exchange the drive for the 300Gb 7200.8 drive with an 8Mb cache (ST3300831A).
jliem is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 02-14-2006, 05:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mikeyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: S. Dartmouth, Ma.
Posts: 4,612
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jliem
Small update. I finally got around to running SeaTools (v3.02.03) against the drive this past weekend and it didn't find anything wrong at the hardware level with the drive. So that seems to lend more evidence that the drive is not defective and there is likely some sort of incompatibility between my ReplayTV 5040 unit and this one particular 7200.9 drive that I tried with it. I dare not make blanket statements regarding the compatibility of 7200.9 drives with ReplayTV units in general, because one sampling is obviously far from representative, but if anyone is keeping score, well, you can add my experience as a data point.

Anyway, I'm in the midst of attempting to exchange the drive for the 300Gb 7200.8 drive with an 8Mb cache (ST3300831A).
For what it's worth. I was contacted by someone who experienced the same issue using a Seagate 400 gig 7200.9 in a 5500. I can attest the Seagate 300 and 400 gig 7200.8 work fine in a 5000/5500.
Mikeyboy is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 06-25-2006, 09:28 AM
Newbie
 
twobits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure it has anything to do with the 16MB cache.

I just succesfully "upgraded" a 5532 with a 400GB Seagate 7200.7 _with_ 16MB cache. ST3400632A. The Maxtor 320GB that was in it was sounding the click of imminent death.

For a variety of incorrect reasons I initially thought the Seagate did not work, ordered a Hitachi Deskstar HDS725050KLAT80 and failed miserably with that in several varieties of attempts before reading that these Hitachi drives give trouble.
("Please wait" was not my friend...)

I went back to the Seagate and loaded the factory reset 144 build image using rtvpatch 2.5.3 and it worked.....

Not good that people are reporting trouble with the 7200.9 series....

"The generation of random numbers is too important to be left to chance."
twobits is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 08-23-2006, 07:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
icecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 8,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
btw if you want to get the shows off the clicking drive I suggest putting it in a ziplock bag and putting it in the freezer till it's pretty cold. Then put it in the PC and extract shows until the drive gets hot. . Then freeze it again and repeat.

So far my luck has been good. It worked flawlessly the two times I did this (with somewhat important computer data).
icecow is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 08-24-2006, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
adone36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 37
A Replay is not a PC and using a 16m cache with an algorithm designed to grab little pieces of data on a pc is not optimal for streaming huge files. The Quickview drives designed for PVRs have 2m caches.

Tony
adone36 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 10-09-2006, 11:47 AM
Member
 
DSBall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've just had the same thing happen that was described in the first post with my 7200 RPM 160GB Seagate drive (8MB Cache).
Hangs at boot on welcome screen and is unresponsive to any input from remote.

Do or do not. There is no try.
DSBall is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 10-09-2006, 02:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sfhub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 9,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSBall
Hangs at boot on welcome screen and is unresponsive to any input from remote.
If it hangs at the swirl screen, try rebooting with the network cable unplugged. That will determine whether you have a network problem or something else.

Hard drive problems are most often associated with rebooting rather than being unresponsive to the remote.
sfhub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread ReplayTV & Showstopper PVRs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off