MoviePoster - Virtual movie poster display software. - Page 97 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 348Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 2902 Old 06-16-2019, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
RockDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Are there any more of those modules available to turn on the TV? And which TVs work with it?
RockDawg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 2902 Old 06-19-2019, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockDawg View Post
Are there any more of those modules available to turn on the TV? And which TVs work with it?
Hey RockDawg,

I wrote out a how-to on using a Rpi Nano W to turn a TV on and off at specific times using CEC: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/32-th...l#post57483150

Dunno if this is your use-case, but wanted to point it out.
Good2BCh13f is offline  
post #2883 of 2902 Old 06-19-2019, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
RockDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Thanks for the link but I don't have specific days or times I go into my theater so that wouldn't be much help in my scenario. My theater is in the basement so I'd rather it motion detect when someone starts coming down the stairs. Then by the time they get to the bottom and into the lobby, hopefully the TV should be powered up and showing a poster.
RockDawg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2884 of 2902 Old 06-19-2019, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockDawg View Post
Thanks for the link but I don't have specific days or times I go into my theater so that wouldn't be much help in my scenario. My theater is in the basement so I'd rather it motion detect when someone starts coming down the stairs. Then by the time they get to the bottom and into the lobby, hopefully the TV should be powered up and showing a poster.
Gotcha, makes sense. Good luck making it happen!
Good2BCh13f is offline  
post #2885 of 2902 Old 06-22-2019, 08:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I just sent in a donation! Can anyone tell me how long it takes to get the registration code email?


(Never mind! I got it a few hours after posting this question!)

Last edited by videobear; 06-26-2019 at 06:27 PM.
videobear is offline  
post #2886 of 2902 Old 06-23-2019, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stikle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Sovereign State of Eastern Oregon
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 950 Post(s)
Liked: 1120
Is anyone using Movie Poster with a Synology NAS based Plex server?
stikle is offline  
post #2887 of 2902 Old 06-25-2019, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny14o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Now Playing "Black Screen"

I have been looking at several creative ideas here for the digital movie poster... Great job everyone!



I too plan on building a digital poster marquis as well. But prior to embarking upon my endeavor of buying, building and mounting one... I have a question....



I am NOT trying to be negative here. Has anyone been in contact with Meyer64 about a fix to the Kodi 18 Now Playing "Black Screen" issue?
I have posted the question here and even sent an email to him from his website with no response. I just didn't know if anyone else has had communication to find out if there is a solution/update to this issue.


Thanks
Johnny14o is offline  
post #2888 of 2902 Old 06-25-2019, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
RockDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Those of you using this, how do you handle turning on the TV? Manually? Timer like Good2BCh13f? I ask because maybe I am overlooking an obvious solution. My theater is in the basement and the poster TV would be in the lobby so you would walk down a flight of stairs and go around a corner before you would see the TV. If I/we have to walk over to the TV, turn it on, and wait for it to power up to see a poster then it would be kind of pointless and loses a lot of the cool factor. To me it should be on and showing a poster at first sight. How do you guys do it?
RockDawg is offline  
post #2889 of 2902 Old 06-26-2019, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,399
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 723
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockDawg View Post
Those of you using this, how do you handle turning on the TV? Manually? Timer like Good2BCh13f? I ask because maybe I am overlooking an obvious solution. My theater is in the basement and the poster TV would be in the lobby so you would walk down a flight of stairs and go around a corner before you would see the TV. If I/we have to walk over to the TV, turn it on, and wait for it to power up to see a poster then it would be kind of pointless and loses a lot of the cool factor. To me it should be on and showing a poster at first sight. How do you guys do it?
I do mine manually as I don’t have mine in a basement of big area. For you you could put a switch at the top of the steps so you can turn the tv on before going down stairs. You can use smart switches or such, I use Insteon.
bluer101 is offline  
post #2890 of 2902 Old 06-26-2019, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Chris Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Hello meyer64

Sent you a PM hoping you can help with Movie Poster and Plex no longer working.
Thank you,

"The Boy has no patience" Yoda
"He will learn patience. Was I any different when you taught me?" Obi-Wan
My attempt living room build The Story Time Theater
3 DIY HTM-12 LCR 10 M&K S-100B, 2 Servodrive Contrabass. 2 SVS PB12/2 Plus(ForSale). 2 V.B.S.S., 2 Adire Tempest Side Columns Near field Fun all in one room.
Chris Young is offline  
post #2891 of 2902 Old 06-26-2019, 06:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by stikle View Post
Is anyone using Movie Poster with a Synology NAS based Plex server?
My setup uses a Plex server on a DS416 Play Synology NAS. The Plex player being monitored by Movieposter is a separate HTPC in my home theater. The setup, including "Now Playing", works fine!


I just wish I could find an easy way to get the Movieposter computer (a small Zotac Zbox behind the poster display TV) to display posters for the movies in my library, rather than the random posters from the web.
videobear is offline  
post #2892 of 2902 Old 06-26-2019, 06:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockDawg View Post
Those of you using this, how do you handle turning on the TV? Manually? Timer like Good2BCh13f? I ask because maybe I am overlooking an obvious solution. My theater is in the basement and the poster TV would be in the lobby so you would walk down a flight of stairs and go around a corner before you would see the TV. If I/we have to walk over to the TV, turn it on, and wait for it to power up to see a poster then it would be kind of pointless and loses a lot of the cool factor. To me it should be on and showing a poster at first sight. How do you guys do it?
I just turn on the Zotac microcomputer running Movieposter and the TV display in the morning and let it run all day, then turn it off when I go to bed at night. It'd be nice to have it automatically turn on and off, but not necessary.
videobear is offline  
post #2893 of 2902 Old 06-27-2019, 02:38 PM
Member
 
Batiatus Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 50
For controlling the TV on off I am still working on the code in the Arduino sketch to fire off a "TV On" signal through an IR LED once the Arduino gets power. Bot the Arduino and TV are on the same Z-Wave controlled outlet so I can turn both off easily.

I also took a bit of inspiration from the posting of those pre-built poster displays and came up with a concept for what might go into the next display put it to this theater. Right now these are just videos I have created through Adobe and then run in a playlist in VLC but it's testing to flush out the idea. Would be great if MP could somehow automatically pull this info from the Kodi library and insert these items into the proper locations.

Batiatus Rules is offline  
post #2894 of 2902 Old 07-06-2019, 02:09 PM
Member
 
Shawn Colton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Do I need to install KODI v17 to get MoviePoster to work again? I was hoping a new version would have been released for our 4th of July movie party. Hope the development hasn't stopped for this project.
Shawn Colton is offline  
post #2895 of 2902 Old 07-13-2019, 09:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know why MoviePoster (Version 2.2.0.1 - April 7, 2016) Plex movieposter works
with 2.3.0.4_Dev_(12-9-2018) Plex does not connect, and when i fill out my info it and press test connection I keep getting an error.
I have verified plexusername and password
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-07-14_0-44-02.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	116.9 KB
ID:	2590538  
Ralphy4321 is offline  
post #2896 of 2902 Old 07-14-2019, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 2,386
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 384
I am having a hell of a time trying to get MoviePosterApp to connect to my Emby server. Kodi connection works well.

The API key was changed several times to make sure this was not an issue and I double checked the Windows Firewall to make sure both Emby and the MoviePosterApp were open.

Any hints or things I may have missed?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EmbyTS-4.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	2590660   Click image for larger version

Name:	EmbyTS-5.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	30.9 KB
ID:	2590662   Click image for larger version

Name:	EmbyTS-3.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	8.9 KB
ID:	2590664  
Killroy is offline  
post #2897 of 2902 Old 07-14-2019, 10:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Chris Young's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralphy4321 View Post
Does anyone know why MoviePoster (Version 2.2.0.1 - April 7, 2016) Plex movieposter works
with 2.3.0.4_Dev_(12-9-2018) Plex does not connect, and when i fill out my info it and presstest connection I keep getting an error.
I have verified plexusername and password
Hi there,

I ran into this problem awhile back. I tried reaching out to the author Brent of MoviePoster but I have not heard back either about this problem. I run the MoviePoster program on an old Acer Revo 1600 I believe. It's ran great for a couple of years now. I updated to the 2.3.0.3 Dev version a couple months back. Things where going fine. Infact I was now monitoring all my Plex servers and focus on one name device Fire TV. So when ever this name was playing something inside the house or remotely it reflects on MoviePoster PC. I liked that and it worked well.... Until it didn't. It seemed to break awhile back just before I went out of town for a couple weeks. I came back and tried to repair the problem looking at network problems that might be blocking it to firewalls nothing was making sense why it stopped working and why Plex would not log in. Also just before my trip I had replaced the internal hard drive with a SSD just for lower use of power and speed etc that's brings with it tech wise.
So after trying out all these other options
including system restore as far back as it would go but it didn't help fix my problem with Plex. It dawned on me that I still hard that other hard drive. Why not reclone that old drive again and try it again.
It fixed my problem with Plex with 2.3.0.3 Dev and if I got the number wrong sorry.
The best I can figure that happened was windows 7 updated somewhere recently and it broke. But I can't say for sure. I wish I knew that was for sure the problem. Being this computer at this time and probably for its remaining life it will be used as a movie poster PC and doesn't need anymore Microsoft Windows 7 updates. So when I found it was working again I also turned off all Windows updates It continues still without a hickup. I really hope this helps anyone with problems but you might consider reinstalling a fresh windows and stop the updates.
I really do hope everything is alright with Brent and that he comes back here to help with the bugs.
Have fun,

"The Boy has no patience" Yoda
"He will learn patience. Was I any different when you taught me?" Obi-Wan
My attempt living room build The Story Time Theater
3 DIY HTM-12 LCR 10 M&K S-100B, 2 Servodrive Contrabass. 2 SVS PB12/2 Plus(ForSale). 2 V.B.S.S., 2 Adire Tempest Side Columns Near field Fun all in one room.

Last edited by Chris Young; 08-23-2019 at 11:11 PM.
Chris Young is offline  
post #2898 of 2902 Old 07-26-2019, 09:50 AM
Member
 
GRIMMACE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Anyone have trailers working on their setup? I can see in the logs that it tries to download the trailer but can't. Damn shame that Brent is MIA. Hope everything is ok with him.

** It works if they are manually placed in the cahce folder. Luckily I had an old install that had them all downloaded. **

Last edited by GRIMMACE; 07-26-2019 at 02:09 PM.
GRIMMACE is offline  
post #2899 of 2902 Old 07-31-2019, 09:21 PM
Senior Member
 
flyguyjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Do you guys think this 49" Samsung "The Frame" tv would work?


https://www.samsung.com/us/televisio...n49ls03rafxza/


Mounted vertically, perhaps used in portrait mode?


Would be awesome if it could. The built in features are amazing.

flyguyjake is offline  
post #2900 of 2902 Old 08-01-2019, 12:19 AM
Member
 
Shawn Colton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyguyjake View Post
Do you guys think this 49" Samsung "The Frame" tv would work?


https://www.samsung.com/us/televisio...n49ls03rafxza/


Mounted vertically, perhaps used in portrait mode?


Would be awesome if it could. The built in features are amazing.

It'll work. Hmmm ... so the white matte is rendered on screen and isn't an actual matte? Looking at the photos shows a regular black screen. Also looks like your HDMI and USB connections go into a separate box that you'll have to place somewhere close to the TV. Upon watching YouTube reviews, you won't gain much using this with MoviePoster ... I don't think you'll get to use the matte with the posters. It'll just default to the 49" full screen. Might as well use the money to buy two 50" LED TVs and still save some money.

Last edited by Shawn Colton; 08-01-2019 at 02:50 AM.
Shawn Colton is offline  
post #2901 of 2902 Old 09-11-2019, 08:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stikle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Sovereign State of Eastern Oregon
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 950 Post(s)
Liked: 1120
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobear View Post
I just wish I could find an easy way to get the Movieposter computer (a small Zotac Zbox behind the poster display TV) to display posters for the movies in my library, rather than the random posters from the web.
Aha! I know the answer to this one! I just figured it out yesterday because I wanted the same thing - only posters for local media. I've left it running all day while at work and the only posters I see are for what's in my library now.

  1. Sources - uncheck EVERYTHING except "Get Posters From Media Player Plugin Library" and "Get Posters from The MoviePoster Cache".
  2. Exit MoviePoster
  3. Go into Documents\MoviePoster\Cache\Movies and delete everything there
  4. Start MoviePoster and the cache should be repopulated only by posters for your library

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRIMMACE View Post
Anyone have trailers working on their setup? I can see in the logs that it tries to download the trailer but can't.
I'm seeing (and fighting with) the same thing. I had trailers working a year ago when I first started messing with this, but now that I have a new PC (and a Z83-F Mini for MoviePoster)(both Windows 10 Pro x64), I haven't been able to get trailers working on either one.

@meyer64

Any thoughts on this? 2.3.0.3 Dev.

Excerpt from the log - it's the same for every attempted trailer download:

Code:
9/11/2019 8:51:45 PM - Getting posterDisplayObject by IMDB: tt0232500
9/11/2019 8:51:45 PM - tt0232500 is in the cache, loading from cache.
9/11/2019 8:51:45 PM - Loaded PosterDisplayObject for tt0232500 - The Fast and the Furious
9/11/2019 8:51:45 PM - themoviedb.org is unavailable or new poster not yet downloaded, loading random from cache.
9/11/2019 8:51:45 PM - Nothing Is Playing.....Updating From Cache
9/11/2019 8:51:48 PM - Preparing to download trailer for The Fast and the Furious
9/11/2019 8:51:50 PM - Showing poster for 'The Fast and the Furious' on displaygroup: 0
9/11/2019 8:51:50 PM - Updating UI started for The Fast and the Furious : tt0232500
9/11/2019 8:51:50 PM - Trailer will AutoPlay in 10 seconds
9/11/2019 8:51:50 PM - Youtube-DL output: [youtube] KGN-_J8Hk2s: Downloading webpage
9/11/2019 8:51:50 PM - Youtube-DL output: 
9/11/2019 8:51:50 PM - 1080p MP4 Trailer for The Fast and the Furious was not saved.
9/11/2019 8:51:50 PM - Trying to download 22 for The Fast and the Furious
9/11/2019 8:51:50 PM - Preparing to download trailer for The Fast and the Furious
9/11/2019 8:51:51 PM - Using Transition Effect: Fade
9/11/2019 8:51:52 PM - Updating UI Finished
9/11/2019 8:51:52 PM - temp Pause Off
9/11/2019 8:51:52 PM - temp Pause Off
9/11/2019 8:51:52 PM - Youtube-DL output: [youtube] KGN-_J8Hk2s: Downloading webpage
9/11/2019 8:51:53 PM - Youtube-DL output: 
9/11/2019 8:51:53 PM - 720p MP4 Trailer for The Fast and the Furious was not saved.
9/11/2019 8:51:53 PM - Trying to download 18 for The Fast and the Furious
9/11/2019 8:51:53 PM - Preparing to download trailer for The Fast and the Furious
9/11/2019 8:51:54 PM - Youtube-DL output: [youtube] KGN-_J8Hk2s: Downloading webpage
9/11/2019 8:51:55 PM - Youtube-DL output: 
9/11/2019 8:51:55 PM - 360p MP4 Trailer for The Fast and the Furious was not saved.
9/11/2019 8:52:00 PM - Auto Play Trailer for The Fast and the Furious - 
9/11/2019 8:52:00 PM - Show Trailer
9/11/2019 8:52:10 PM - Show Next
If I manually go to

Code:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KGN-_J8Hk2s
then the correct trailer plays, so it's being parsed correctly...it just doesn't play.

Thanks!

Last edited by stikle; 09-11-2019 at 09:03 PM.
stikle is offline  
post #2902 of 2902 Old 09-12-2019, 04:42 AM
Member
 
Shawn Colton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by stikle View Post
Aha! I know the answer to this one! I just figured it out yesterday because I wanted the same thing - only posters for local media. I've left it running all day while at work and the only posters I see are for what's in my library now.

  1. Sources - uncheck EVERYTHING except "Get Posters From Media Player Plugin Library" and "Get Posters from The MoviePoster Cache".
  2. Exit MoviePoster
  3. Go into Documents\MoviePoster\Cache\Movies and delete everything there
  4. Start MoviePoster and the cache should be repopulated only by posters for your library





Tried this ... nothing has repopulated all day. What should I check?


Also, I'm running Kodi 18.4 on Nvidia Shield TV.



-Colton

Last edited by Shawn Colton; 09-12-2019 at 05:20 AM.
Shawn Colton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off