AV rack inside the home theater or outside? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Scott Simonian
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-06-2015, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jackforceus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AV rack inside the home theater or outside?

Hello,
I'm building an open home theater in the basement. Trying to find a location to place the AV rack, so it doesn't stand out. I have attached the picture of the rack that I'm planning to use.
- Should I have the AV rack inside the home theater room or outside?
- If outside, how can I make the remotes to work?

Thanks for your inputs
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	$_12.JPG
Views:	91
Size:	15.3 KB
ID:	586945  
jackforceus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-06-2015, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Five28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, Illinois suburbs
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Personally, I think having the audio video rack in the home theater space is perfectly acceptable. But, I don't have an elegant, dedicated home theater but just use my family room. Monoprice has many products that could make your system work properly even if located in another room.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

BenQ W1070 front projector, Definitive Technology BP2002 towers, Def Tech CLR2002 center, Def Tech BP2X surrounds, Def Tech PF15 subwoofer, Denon AVR3300 receiver, Panasonic Blu-Ray player, Apple TV, Roku device, Monoprice HDMI switcher
Five28 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-06-2015, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jackforceus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the response Five28. How many cat5e do I need, if I plan to move the AV rack to a different location? Is that 1 cat5e per device?
jackforceus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 03-06-2015, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jackforceus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree with you that AV rack should be acceptable in the home theater space. My problem is that if I choose to keep in the home theater, I'm loosing a lot of space in the medium sized home theater.
jackforceus is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-06-2015, 09:32 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 21,509
Mentioned: 204 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5986 Post(s)
Liked: 5121
Outside the HT room if possible. Keeps excess heat and noise out of the room.

Control the AV components with an IR repeater as posted above.
doublewing11 likes this.
Scott Simonian is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-06-2015, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jackforceus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. 1 cat5 per device?
jackforceus is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-06-2015, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
EM Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a dedicated theater room, only about 14 x 14, so I opted to have the rack outside and use a Logitech Harmony Ultimate to control everything, including the lighting, and it works great.
EM Guy is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-06-2015, 06:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
mpjmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 256
What do you need cat5 for? So each device is connected for internet?
mpjmeyer is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 03-06-2015, 07:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
highfigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,160
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackforceus View Post
Thanks. 1 cat5 per device?
Cat5e, for network, or AV signal? If network, put a network switch in the rack and you'll only need one cable- plan ahead and buy a switch that has more ports than you think you'll ever use. It's amazing how running out is likely, rather than a vague possibility. Luxul has 8, 16 and 24 port models that have a magnetic mount, for installation in AV racks like yours. They're Gigabit and the backstrap is capable of more than double the speed needed for all of the ports (remember, Gigabit is full duplex, so it's sending and receiving at the same time, at full speed).

If you can plan to keep the rack in ne spot and never need to move it, install some kind of conduit from the rack to the display and leave enough cable to allow moving the rack to any place along the wall where you want to put it, in case something changes in the future- it's better to have more cable than you need than to need to make everything longer.

If you have an adjacent room where you can afford to lose a little of it, you could build a small closet at the rear of the theater and push the rack up to the opening, which should be build to fit. If the rack is one of the steel ones, they usually have an option for a glass door- it allows you to see the equipment, it allows easy access and it looks cool.

Have a dedicated 20A circuit installed for the AV system and DO NOT share the power with anything that's not part of the system.
highfigh is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 03-10-2015, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
7channelfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Houston
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 205
I just added a little switch in my rack. One cat5 going to it and now I have 15 out for any items that need a connection. I think it was like $140 off newegg.
7channelfreak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off