The Blacklist on Netflix in 4K - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Chris J
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 09-08-2014, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chris J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: NY
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The Blacklist on Netflix in 4K

Season 1 on Netflix in 4K...

Anyone watching it? The PQ is just amazing.
Chris J is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 09-08-2014, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 239
What kind of speeds do you need to stream 4K? I only have 10mbps, plus no 4K tv (but looking a several good deals undel $1500)

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #3 of 27 Old 09-08-2014, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chris J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: NY
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post
What kind of speeds do you need to stream 4K? I only have 10mbps, plus no 4K tv (but looking a several good deals undel $1500)
This is from Netflix "Internet connection speed of 25Mbps or higher"
Young C likes this.
Chris J is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 27 Old 09-08-2014, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Leaky Tiki
Posts: 18,041
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7775 Post(s)
Liked: 17647
Watched the first two episodes last night. Didn't realize it was 4k.

__________________________________________________
Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila

Last edited by Waboman; 09-08-2014 at 02:32 PM.
Waboman is online now  
post #5 of 27 Old 09-08-2014, 02:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Yeah Netflix detects your speed, it should say UHD on the progress bar.

The most I can get from my ISP is 20mbps, no fiber nearby where I live..

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 09-08-2014, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 26,590
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7014 Post(s)
Liked: 8011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris J View Post
Season 1 on Netflix in 4K...

Anyone watching it? The PQ is just amazing.
Are you watching it on a native 4K display? Or is it still amazing on an ordinary HDTV?
archiguy is online now  
post #7 of 27 Old 09-08-2014, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chris J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: NY
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by archiguy View Post
Are you watching it on a native 4K display? Or is it still amazing on an ordinary HDTV?
Samsung 65" 4K TV UN65HU8550 in 2160 HD
Chris J is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 09-10-2014, 05:55 PM
Member
 
R3ddlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Blacklist 4k is the best image so far out of netflix. House of card was good but black list took that out of the water. It truly amazing how go
R3ddlight is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 09-10-2014, 05:58 PM
Member
 
R3ddlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Blacklist is the best looking image for 4k. I thought house of cards was good, blacklist 4k on Netflix is truly amazing. My jaws drop when I first watch it on my Sony 4k tv. Proud to be a early owner of 4k tv. Just wow.
R3ddlight is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 09-11-2014, 12:39 AM
Member
 
luism2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post
Yeah Netflix detects your speed, it should say UHD on the progress bar.

The most I can get from my ISP is 20mbps, no fiber nearby where I live..
Netflix bought allocated bandwidth for 4k programs, I get 4k with only 24 mbps on comcast. and i get all the 4k programs fine..
luism2008 is offline  
post #11 of 27 Old 09-11-2014, 02:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OggideM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by R3ddlight View Post
Blacklist 4k is the best image so far out of netflix. House of card was good but black list took that out of the water. It truly amazing how go

can only imagine how ridiculous her wig looks in 4k

Quit failing to flip the switch
OggideM is offline  
post #12 of 27 Old 09-12-2014, 12:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
It shouldn't actually require 25 Mbps; generally you can stay ahead of encode with 20% bandwidth headroom. The highest bit rate 4K encode is supposedly 15.6 Mbps, so with .192 Mbps surround sound times 1.2 is about 19 Mbps. I think that there's a lower bandwidth UHD video encode at around 12 Mbps, but I'm not sure.

I'm curious, Chris J; what do you see if you play "El Fuente: 60 MP10" or "Test Pattern: Downscaling 2997fps 10Min" or "Example Short 23.976", test clips with bit rate/resolution information printed on each of their constituent video encodes. I'm interested in the intermediate bit rate values as they ramp up, presumably to 4K (I know that they used "El Fuente" for 4K testing and "Test Pattern" says that its original source was 4K res).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #13 of 27 Old 09-13-2014, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,228
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4028 Post(s)
Liked: 2891
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
It shouldn't actually require 25 Mbps; generally you can stay ahead of encode with 20% bandwidth headroom. The highest bit rate 4K encode is supposedly 15.6 Mbps, so with .192 Mbps surround sound times 1.2 is about 19 Mbps. I think that there's a lower bandwidth UHD video encode at around 12 Mbps, but I'm not sure.

I'm curious, Chris J; what do you see if you play "El Fuente: 60 MP10" or "Test Pattern: Downscaling 2997fps 10Min" or "Example Short 23.976", test clips with bit rate/resolution information printed on each of their constituent video encodes. I'm interested in the intermediate bit rate values as they ramp up, presumably to 4K (I know that they used "El Fuente" for 4K testing and "Test Pattern" says that its original source was 4K res).
Don't mean to hijack the question but you had me curious so I ran all three tests. My tv is 1080 only and the AppleTV2 (which will be replaced soon with the 1080p ATV3 or 4) can only send 720p, but I get 3000kbps, 1280x720, 1:1. I'm assuming that's normal for my setup? I do have to admit though that the pq for The Blacklist looks really good. Much better in fact than some other programming.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #14 of 27 Old 09-13-2014, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post
Don't mean to hijack the question but you had me curious so I ran all three tests. My tv is 1080 only and the AppleTV2 (which will be replaced soon with the 1080p ATV3 or 4) can only send 720p, but I get 3000kbps, 1280x720, 1:1. I'm assuming that's normal for my setup? I do have to admit though that the pq for The Blacklist looks really good. Much better in fact than some other programming.

That's normal. The reason that I asked the question is that to achieve 4K streaming Netflix uses H.265 HEVC video encoding (instead of H.264 AVC, which they use for most devices); HEVC is more efficient, requiring less bandwidth for the same quality video. The lower resolution encodes should be encoded in HEVC as well and I wanted to know what bit rates they're using for them. Thus far only some 2014 UHD TVs have the ability to decode HEVC (of products that are actually on the market).

I have a Vizio P552ui-B2 on order, so I'll be able to test that myself (hopefully) soon .
michaeltscott is offline  
post #15 of 27 Old 09-13-2014, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 16,228
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4028 Post(s)
Liked: 2891
Thanks. I guess I'll just continue to enjoy what I have and not worry about it till it's time to upgrade the tv. I'm not ready to jump on the UHD/4k wagon yet. My tv is wired to the router and we never have any issues with streaming NF, day or night.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #16 of 27 Old 09-13-2014, 12:49 PM
Member
 
luism2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by OggideM View Post
can only imagine how ridiculous her wig looks in 4k
lol its so funny, you can see the dandruff in her hair
luism2008 is offline  
post #17 of 27 Old 10-19-2014, 12:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
M_Coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Just started watching it tonight and am totally blown away. This must be one of the first HEVC encodes that is done right. A few additional details:
  • I have two WAN connections (long story, unimportant). I monitor their transfer activity via SNMP and it reveals what most already know about FIOS w/ Netflix:
    • Verizon (75 Mb FIOS) simply can't do the full quality.. it can't sustain 2160p and averages 6Mbps.
    • Cox Business (25Mb cable) ramps up to 15-17Mbps and sustains that through the whole episode
  • There are NO signs of annoying post-processing artifacts. No ringing/EE, no visible/objectionable noise reduction artifacts (just appears to be a very noise-free master).
  • excellent motion... no signs of compression artifacts during heavy motion unless you pause and put your nose near the screen

I think there's a magic sweet spot for HEVC that's around the 15+ Mbps mark, much as there is on AVCHD (blu ray) at around the 25+ Mbps mark.

TLDR: if your ISP can sustain 15+ Mbps from Netflix, then you'll be treated to a gorgeous picture.

Last edited by M_Coupe; 10-19-2014 at 12:56 AM.
M_Coupe is offline  
post #18 of 27 Old 12-07-2014, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
solly46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego County
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Coupe View Post
Just started watching it tonight and am totally blown away. This must be one of the first HEVC encodes that is done right. A few additional details:
  • I have two WAN connections (long story, unimportant). I monitor their transfer activity via SNMP and it reveals what most already know about FIOS w/ Netflix:
    • Verizon (75 Mb FIOS) simply can't do the full quality.. it can't sustain 2160p and averages 6Mbps.
    • Cox Business (25Mb cable) ramps up to 15-17Mbps and sustains that through the whole episode
  • There are NO signs of annoying post-processing artifacts. No ringing/EE, no visible/objectionable noise reduction artifacts (just appears to be a very noise-free master).
  • excellent motion... no signs of compression artifacts during heavy motion unless you pause and put your nose near the screen

I think there's a magic sweet spot for HEVC that's around the 15+ Mbps mark, much as there is on AVCHD (blu ray) at around the 25+ Mbps mark.

TLDR: if your ISP can sustain 15+ Mbps from Netflix, then you'll be treated to a gorgeous picture.
What is showing on your display when streaming Nexflex 4K, mine just says 1080
solly46 is offline  
post #19 of 27 Old 12-07-2014, 05:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,926
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by solly46 View Post
What is showing on your display when streaming Nexflex 4K, mine just says 1080
Here in the UK my Sony UHD set says 2160 when I'm watching 4K Netflix content in 4K. I get that info on-screen by pressing the i+ button on the remote. (I see 480, 720, 1080 and 2160 as resolutions when streaming)
sneals2000 is offline  
post #20 of 27 Old 12-07-2014, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,926
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrLar View Post
Yeah Netflix detects your speed, it should say UHD on the progress bar.

The most I can get from my ISP is 20mbps, no fiber nearby where I live..
On my Sony 4K TV it says "2160" in the resolution info you get by pressing i+ rather than "UHD".
sneals2000 is offline  
post #21 of 27 Old 12-07-2014, 05:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by solly46 View Post
What is showing on your display when streaming Nexflex 4K, mine just says 1080

You mean in this little stream status debug display? Mine says 2160 for resolution when streaming at "4K".

When you look at the title in the browser, is it marked "Ultra HD 4K" like this? If not and you're running Netflix on a 4K device you might not subscribe to the $12/month 4-screens-at-a-time tier that's now necessary to view their currently tiny library of titles with available 2160 res video encodes. They instituted that requirement on October 10th (I believe); if you had the 2-screens-at-a-time plan and tried it before October 10th you'd have been "grandfathered" in for a couple of years.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill

Last edited by michaeltscott; 12-07-2014 at 05:33 PM.
michaeltscott is offline  
post #22 of 27 Old 12-07-2014, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
solly46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego County
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I assume that's why, 2 screens at a time plan for years. I had no idea regarding trying it in October. I would have to upgrade to the 4 screen plan now? I can see the Ultra HD programs only when I search for them. I don't see a separate section. When viewing and hit the display button on the remote, 1080 is displayed.

Last edited by solly46; 12-07-2014 at 06:09 PM.
solly46 is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 12-07-2014, 06:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by solly46 View Post
I assume that's why, 2 screens at a time plan for years. I had no idea regarding trying it in October. I would have to upgrade to the 4 screen plan now? I can see the Ultra HD programs only when I search for them. I don't see a separate section. When viewing and hit the display button on the remote, 1080 is displayed.

You didn't have to view them in October, you just had to play one at some point prior to when they made the 4-screen-at-a-time plan a requirement on October 10th.

Interesting--you can actually see the "Ultra HD 4K" labels in the browser? Maybe you have been grandfathered into access and you just can't get even the lowest bit-rate 8000 Kbps 2160p video encode for some reason. Try playing "El Fuente: 60 MP10", a test clip with bitrate/resolution information printed on each of its constituent video encodes and tell me how far you get.

There is an "Ultra HD 4K" genre that you can see in this screenshot, the top displayed row. The first time I started my player it was far down the list of genres; after I used it to play something, the next time I started the player it had moved to the top, just beneath the "Recently Watched" row.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill

Last edited by michaeltscott; 12-07-2014 at 06:22 PM.
michaeltscott is offline  
post #24 of 27 Old 12-07-2014, 09:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can you use a Sony X10 media player to download to and get by with an internet connection 8-10mps?
mherman701 is offline  
post #25 of 27 Old 12-07-2014, 09:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by mherman701 View Post
Can you use a Sony X10 media player to download to and get by with an internet connection 8-10mps?

You cannot download Netflix (there are PC tools which do it, but they can only capture what Netflix sends and what Netflix sends you is dependent upon bandwidth available on your connection to their servers).

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #26 of 27 Old 05-24-2020, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Looks like Netflix has removed the 4K versions, and have replaced season 6 with 2.45Mbps 1080p on my Sony TV app. Season 5 looks to be 5.02Mbps 1080p as well. The show still declares itself 4K Ultra HD in the preview. On my Macbook web browser I am getting maximum 530Kbps 720p. These were 15.25Mbps 2160p last episode I watched a few weeks ago. I am not in Europe, and this is not April, so what gives?

Paul

Sony X950H SDR and HDR Calibration setting https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post59249362

Sony X900F SDR and HDR Calibration settings https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post57551552
Anderegg is offline  
post #27 of 27 Old 05-25-2020, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Conrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Martinez, CA, USA
Posts: 8,567
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2567 Post(s)
Liked: 2329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
Looks like Netflix has removed the 4K versions, and have replaced season 6 with 2.45Mbps 1080p on my Sony TV app. Season 5 looks to be 5.02Mbps 1080p as well. The show still declares itself 4K Ultra HD in the preview. On my Macbook web browser I am getting maximum 530Kbps 720p. These were 15.25Mbps 2160p last episode I watched a few weeks ago. I am not in Europe, and this is not April, so what gives?

Paul
Maybe because it wasn't shot all in 4K. Netflix is very insistent that their 4K shows be all 4K not 3.2K or 3.4K. Search around you can find some articles about cinematographers not liking that demand by Netflix. Maybe someone was complaining that they were making an exception for "The Blacklist". OTOH, NBC maybe had limited rights and wanted the 4K version available only on Peacock.
Brian Conrad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off