Directv II HD/4k - Page 141 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15455Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4201 of 5069 Old 09-27-2018, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1150 Post(s)
Liked: 1972
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggsantafe View Post
Interesting article in USA Today
http://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/t...ce/1441036002/

Looks like approval ratings vary by region - which may explain varying levels of satisfaction as reported in this thread. I'm in the southwest and had no problems with the installation of my C61 & HR54 last summer.
Same here. My install here in Arizona went great. My installer provided me his direct cell number and said to call him anytime I had an issue. He also mentioned some areas DirecTV outsources the install.
Terminader likes this.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4202 of 5069 Old 09-27-2018, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,931
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 858 Post(s)
Liked: 1607
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
Some details on NBC's Notre Dame home game 4k/HDR production..

https://www.sportsvideo.org/2018/09/...dame-football/
Glad this is happening and needs to happen for more broadcasts. Love the emphasis on HDR. Not so happy to hear the original capture is 1080 instead of 4k. They are upconverting from 1080 to 4k so detail is not as good as it should be.

Sent from my Samsung S8+ using Tapatalk
tmdorsey and longhorn23 like this.
Terminader is online now  
post #4203 of 5069 Old 09-27-2018, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
gbynum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I have frequently, sometimes in stormy weather, sometimes in clear, been getting a loss of signal. The message is:

771 Signal loss on satellite ln2

What's frequent ... 2 or 3 times a week. Today's is a storm; there is a tornado in the area.

I understand that clouds and rain can cause this, but it happens on clear, no breeze, days too. I know there are screens to look at the signal levels, but don't know what they indicate; could it be as simple as an aiming issue? Can I tell from these signal reports?
gbynum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4204 of 5069 Old 09-27-2018, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,862
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 905 Post(s)
Liked: 350
I've been w/ DTV since '02. I've laws liked the PQ, but the hardware has always been mediocre at best. Not enough memory, remotes that are finicky, slow UI response, bad UI layout, etc. There's not near enough market competition.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #4205 of 5069 Old 09-27-2018, 10:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,801
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1047 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbynum View Post
I have frequently, sometimes in stormy weather, sometimes in clear, been getting a loss of signal. The message is:

771 Signal loss on satellite ln2

What's frequent ... 2 or 3 times a week. Today's is a storm; there is a tornado in the area.

I understand that clouds and rain can cause this, but it happens on clear, no breeze, days too. I know there are screens to look at the signal levels, but don't know what they indicate; could it be as simple as an aiming issue? Can I tell from these signal reports?
if you will post all screens - from each sat - we will revise them here
preferable post pictures (readable, please) or typed text
P Smith is offline  
post #4206 of 5069 Old 09-28-2018, 06:54 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,693
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2126 Post(s)
Liked: 4034
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbynum View Post
I have frequently, sometimes in stormy weather, sometimes in clear, been getting a loss of signal. The message is:

771 Signal loss on satellite ln2

What's frequent ... 2 or 3 times a week. Today's is a storm; there is a tornado in the area.

I understand that clouds and rain can cause this, but it happens on clear, no breeze, days too. I know there are screens to look at the signal levels, but don't know what they indicate; could it be as simple as an aiming issue? Can I tell from these signal reports?
These questions are for when it's a clear day:
  • Is the issue on all channels or just your local stations?
  • Does it happen on all receivers simultaneously?
  • Are there any trees or other obstructions? Are you close to an airport?
  • Do the standard-definition channels go out at the same time? IOW, when ESPN-HD goes out, does ESPN's standard-def channel also go out or does it remain on. You may have to adjust your guide preferences to test this so that you see both HD and SD channels.
  • What is the dish mounted on? If it's a wall of your house, what kind of wall?

Dish pointing is crucial. If it's off a little bit, it can possibly get one satellite better than the others, causing some channels to go out and others to be fine.

If it's every single channel on a clear day - including standard def channels - then it can be anything from dish pointing to a bad LNB to bad cabling, bad splitter/multiswitch.

You may have posted it above and I didn't look but..
  • What gear are you using? Model numbers.
  • How many receivers?
  • What dish do you have?
  • How long since your installation?
  • When did the problem begin? Was there a hurricane or anything else that came through that could have knocked your dish out of alignment?

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #4207 of 5069 Old 09-28-2018, 07:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 420
771 is trouble communicating with the dish
could be a loose coax connection, water in the lnb/coax
or any other number of issues


try tracing your coax runs and checking everything

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363, C - Infinity Primus PC351
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is offline  
post #4208 of 5069 Old 09-28-2018, 08:24 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,693
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2126 Post(s)
Liked: 4034
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdram View Post
771 is trouble communicating with the dish
could be a loose coax connection, water in the lnb/coax
or any other number of issues


try tracing your coax runs and checking everything
I get 771 during rainfade, too. I also get 771 when I tune a local channel thu the AM-21 and disconnect the OTA antenna. For me, at least, it seems to be a standard "no signal" message.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.

Last edited by DrDon; 09-28-2018 at 08:59 AM.
DrDon is online now  
post #4209 of 5069 Old 09-28-2018, 10:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
gbynum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
These questions are for when it's a clear day:[LIST]
Is the issue on all channels or just your local stations?
I've always been on a local station, and cannot change channels while it is present.
Quote:
Does it happen on all receivers simultaneously?
I only have one receiver, the HR54/700 (There is a RVU which is not in use; there are 2 wireless connected sets which I haven't tried (actually, one has an antenna and I watched the local channel on it)
Quote:
Are there any trees or other obstructions? Are you close to an airport?
A row of leyland cypress trees, but the installer said his sight line was WAY above them. 3 miles from municipal airport, 10 from regional commercial; problem lasts 5-60+ minutes; could that be airframe interference?

Quote:
Do the standard-definition channels go out at the same time? IOW, when ESPN-HD goes out, does ESPN's standard-def channel also go out or does it remain on. You may have to adjust your guide preferences to test this so that you see both HD and SD channels.
don't know and it's not worth that; when my 2 years is up in 4 months, I'm quitting this sorry performing service anyway
Quote:
What is the dish mounted on? If it's a wall of your house, what kind of wall?
Roof about 20-25 feet above ground. Asphalt shingle with, I think, OSB sheathing.

Quote:
Dish pointing is crucial. If it's off a little bit, it can possibly get one satellite better than the others, causing some channels to go out and others to be fine.

If it's every single channel on a clear day - including standard def channels - then it can be anything from dish pointing to a bad LNB to bad cabling, bad splitter/multiswitch.

You may have posted it above and I didn't look but..

What gear are you using? Model numbers.
HR54/700
Quote:
How many receivers?
1 in use; RVU and 2 wireless not in use
Quote:
What dish do you have?
SL3 LNB with Switch SWM LNB
Quote:
How long since your installation?
20 months
Quote:
When did the problem begin? Was there a hurricane or anything else that came through that could have knocked your dish out of alignment?
no, and it's been an issue since installation


Transcribed info from the screen ...

Receiver HR54/700
Receiver ID 0239-2398-5883
Access Card 0036-1971-3948
Software 0x1104, Wed 8/8, 3:55a
DVR Status DVR Mode
Dish Type SL3 LNB
Switch Type SWM LNB
RB/INTL None Selected
SWM Channel Count 13
Manufacturer WNC
SWM Serial No. F4136647
SWM Firmware version 0.3.0.0
SWM Library version 4.8.0.1
Completion Code 1180
Internal Temp 118F
Zip Code 00000
Daylight (DST) Auto (Yes)
Date/Time Fri 9/28 10:27a
Receiver Mode DIRECTV
STB Remote Mode RF
Current Remote RF4CE
HW Version 0
SW Version 1.39.60
Manufacturer UEI
Model RC73
Battery Excellent
Signal Excellent
MAC Address 00:12:4b:00b:99:78:07
IP Address 192.168.0.202
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway 192.168.0.1
DNS 192.168.0.1
STB Services Port N/A(204)
Status -
Audio Services Port -
Wireless Not Configured
Ethernet Not Connected (9)
MoCA Network Coax Connected
QoS Disabled
Video Bridge 1
MAC Address 8c:57:9b:43:dd:09
Status Active
RVU Device Samsung 2016 4K
MAC Address e4:7d:bd:70:88:0b
Status Not Connected

System Test Results All Items OK
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	103s-s.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	2461492   Click image for larger version

Name:	103cb-s.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	38.0 KB
ID:	2461494   Click image for larger version

Name:	103ca-s.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	36.9 KB
ID:	2461496   Click image for larger version

Name:	101-s.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	38.7 KB
ID:	2461498   Click image for larger version

Name:	99s-s.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	2461500  

Click image for larger version

Name:	99cb-s.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	2461502   Click image for larger version

Name:	99ca-s.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	36.2 KB
ID:	2461504  

Last edited by DrDon; 09-28-2018 at 11:56 AM.
gbynum is offline  
post #4210 of 5069 Old 09-28-2018, 11:32 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,693
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2126 Post(s)
Liked: 4034
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbynum View Post
My answers inline in Blue
The trouble with blue is half of AVSForum users use the Retro skin, making blue all but invisible. Best to use multi-quote. I've edited your post to take out the color.

Checking the standard def channels would really help. If HD breaks up but not SD, that helps diagnose some things. Otherwise, you'll just have to try everything we come up with.

That said, if it's only your local channels and happens on clear days, that almost certainly makes it a dish pointing or obstruction issue.

Maybe someone can look to see which bird/transponder your locals are on and check it against your signal meter. Though that still won't rule out the trees when a breeze moves them. (Or planes as a really close one in the signal path can glitch a signal enough to freeze a receiver, though that's rare with more recent hardware).

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.

Last edited by DrDon; 09-28-2018 at 11:55 AM.
DrDon is online now  
post #4211 of 5069 Old 09-28-2018, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
gbynum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
The trouble with blue is half of AVSForum users use the Retro skin, making blue all but invisible. Best to use multi-quote. I've edited your post to take out the color.
THANKS!

I understand how to start/stop quoted text, and usually do that, but thought this would be easier ... live and learn. I'm an old codger; screens are black background (phone, tablet, computers), text is black on light tinted or white backgrounds ... whatever is standard with this forum software. Skins are confusing ... Give me CP/M and DOS with NNTP newsgroups.
DrDon likes this.
gbynum is offline  
post #4212 of 5069 Old 09-28-2018, 11:59 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,693
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2126 Post(s)
Liked: 4034
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbynum View Post
Give me CP/M and DOS with NNTP newsgroups.
You're most welcome. CP/M is what I learned on, too. Got job offers ahead of Y2K because I could write COBOL, too. How they knew that is beyond me and I'd long since lost any significant skills.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #4213 of 5069 Old 09-28-2018, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
socalsharky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Has SDR -> HDR Conversion of Non UHD content been fixed?

I apologize if this has been discussed recently in this thread; I went back several pages and did not see a definitive answer.


Based on information that my calibrator gave me (and research on this forum) I understand that the if DirecTV 4k Genie detects an HDR capable display, they convert everything, even SDR content, to BT.2020 color space. I am viewing DirecTV content on an LG C7 OLED and an Epson 5040 PJ.



Has DirecTV solved this issue? I really do not want to upgrade to the 4k hardware if this is still an issue.
socalsharky is offline  
post #4214 of 5069 Old 09-28-2018, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalsharky View Post
I apologize if this has been discussed recently in this thread; I went back several pages and did not see a definitive answer.


Based on information that my calibrator gave me (and research on this forum) I understand that the if DirecTV 4k Genie detects an HDR capable display, they convert everything, even SDR content, to BT.2020 color space. I am viewing DirecTV content on an LG C7 OLED and an Epson 5040 PJ.



Has DirecTV solved this issue? I really do not want to upgrade to the 4k hardware if this is still an issue.
It's a glitch. Even though SDR channels show bt.2020 in my projector info, they are clearly not. Now most shows on 104 have an HDR tag, and use the 2020 colorspace, but I'd bet that most programming that isn't either live or PPV would be artificial HDR.
roland6465 is offline  
post #4215 of 5069 Old 09-28-2018, 10:24 PM
Senior Member
 
socalsharky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by roland6465 View Post
It's a glitch. Even though SDR channels show bt.2020 in my projector info, they are clearly not. Now most shows on 104 have an HDR tag, and use the 2020 colorspace, but I'd bet that most programming that isn't either live or PPV would be artificial HDR.

So you're saying that it is not converting SDR to HDR?


What do you mean by artificial HDR? If you mean SDR that is being converted to HDR, that is what I am trying to avoid.
socalsharky is offline  
post #4216 of 5069 Old 09-29-2018, 06:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,519
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalsharky View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by roland6465 View Post
It's a glitch. Even though SDR channels show bt.2020 in my projector info, they are clearly not. Now most shows on 104 have an HDR tag, and use the 2020 colorspace, but I'd bet that most programming that isn't either live or PPV would be artificial HDR.

So you're saying that it is not converting SDR to HDR?


What do you mean by artificial HDR? If you mean SDR that is being converted to HDR, that is what I am trying to avoid.
I’m saying that the only SDR->HDR conversion I’ve seen is in shows on channel 104. And I’m not definite on that, just going from my eye.

Locals, cable, and movie channels are definitely SDR bt.704.
roland6465 is offline  
post #4217 of 5069 Old 09-29-2018, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tmdorsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Watching the Notre Dame Stanford game right now. I can tell that this 1080p uprezzed to 4K. There’s a lack of sharpness and also color fidelity in this broadcast compared to other 4K games I’ve watched.
Terminader likes this.
tmdorsey is offline  
post #4218 of 5069 Old 09-29-2018, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
wouldtoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmdorsey View Post
Watching the Notre Dame Stanford game right now. I can tell that this 1080p uprezzed to 4K. There’s a lack of sharpness and also color fidelity in this broadcast compared to other 4K games I’ve watched.
It definitely isn’t 4K. We were just talking about that
tmdorsey and Terminader like this.

Sony HW55ES Projector
Integra DTR-50.3 7.1 Receiver
Sony BDP-BX58 Blu-Ray
Jamo c807 Fronts
Jamo c80 cen Center
JAMO c80 sur Surround
wouldtoo is offline  
post #4219 of 5069 Old 09-29-2018, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,931
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 858 Post(s)
Liked: 1607
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmdorsey View Post
Watching the Notre Dame Stanford game right now. I can tell that this 1080p uprezzed to 4K. There’s a lack of sharpness and also color fidelity in this broadcast compared to other 4K games I’ve watched.
Oregon vs Cal is on 105 at 730pm PT. Broadcast by Fox Sports so should be sourced in high quality 4K!

Sent from my Samsung S8+ using Tapatalk
tmdorsey and longhorn23 like this.
Terminader is online now  
post #4220 of 5069 Old 09-29-2018, 07:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tmdorsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminader View Post
Oregon vs Cal is on 105 at 730pm PT. Broadcast by Fox Sports so should be sourced in high quality 4K!

Sent from my Samsung S8+ using Tapatalk


Watching now and yeah now this is 4K! Looks awesome!
Terminader and longhorn23 like this.
tmdorsey is offline  
post #4221 of 5069 Old 09-30-2018, 03:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,801
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1047 Post(s)
Liked: 487
no SDR->HDR conversion done by UHD client C61k (not enough power)

be sure your TV can process HLG metadata, set its parameters/profile accordingly to watch the 4K channels

Last edited by P Smith; 09-30-2018 at 03:08 AM.
P Smith is offline  
post #4222 of 5069 Old 09-30-2018, 02:49 PM
Member
 
crsloan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe221 View Post
Yup, me too. I noticed it when I went to check out the soccer.
Still having problems with the 4K box being unchecked in resolutions. Have to re-check it almost everyday on three 4K TVs, really annoying. Running HR54-700 and three C61K clients. Any thoughts??? Three Sony 4K TVs. Have refreshed the HR54 numerous times, still continues.

Family Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D 4K TV, Denon AVR X4400H, Oppo UDP 203 4K Blu Ray Player, Apple 4K TV, Directv HR54 Genie, Directv C61K 4K Client
Klipsch RF83s, L&R mains, RC64, Center, RS 62s, Back Surrounds, 4 Dolby Atmos RP 140SA, SVS SB-16 Ultra, RSW15 Subs, 5.2.4 system.
Bedroom: Sony XBR 49 900F, Oppo UDP 203 4K Blu Ray Player, Directv C61K 4K Client.
crsloan is offline  
post #4223 of 5069 Old 10-01-2018, 05:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by crsloan View Post
Still having problems with the 4K box being unchecked in resolutions. Have to re-check it almost everyday on three 4K TVs, really annoying. Running HR54-700 and three C61K clients. Any thoughts??? Three Sony 4K TVs. Have refreshed the HR54 numerous times, still continues.

known issue


some say a new hdmi cable will fix it.

are the c61k's connected direct to the tv?

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363, C - Infinity Primus PC351
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is offline  
post #4224 of 5069 Old 10-01-2018, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sharp1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 3,441
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 740
Unchecked boxes

It is an issue I no longer have. I do know that my Sony 940D had an update along with my Marantz receiver. I have not seen the unchecked boxes on my C61K since then.
Sharp1080 is online now  
post #4225 of 5069 Old 10-01-2018, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,668
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2016 Post(s)
Liked: 719
the annoying stuttering is still there from time to time on live espn game broadcasts, pausing and pressing play again seems to stop it until you change channels.
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #4226 of 5069 Old 10-01-2018, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 420
ths tuttering happens on more then espn, i think its hallmark i have seen it on

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363, C - Infinity Primus PC351
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is offline  
post #4227 of 5069 Old 10-01-2018, 12:00 PM
Member
 
crsloan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdram View Post
known issue


some say a new hdmi cable will fix it.

are the c61k's connected direct to the tv?
Certified Premium Cables on all three C61Ks, 2 are going directly HDMI to two Sony TVs, 900F and 830C and third is going HDMI to Denon X4400 to Sony Z9D. Doesn't make a difference, in my case, direct or thru the Denon, it happens in both configurations. C61Ks and Sony TVs have latest software updates as well as the Denon. I guess I will wait until the "known issue" is resolved.

Family Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D 4K TV, Denon AVR X4400H, Oppo UDP 203 4K Blu Ray Player, Apple 4K TV, Directv HR54 Genie, Directv C61K 4K Client
Klipsch RF83s, L&R mains, RC64, Center, RS 62s, Back Surrounds, 4 Dolby Atmos RP 140SA, SVS SB-16 Ultra, RSW15 Subs, 5.2.4 system.
Bedroom: Sony XBR 49 900F, Oppo UDP 203 4K Blu Ray Player, Directv C61K 4K Client.
crsloan is offline  
post #4228 of 5069 Old 10-01-2018, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Md's lower shore
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 886 Post(s)
Liked: 420
what software version on the hr54? and the minis?

TV- Samsung 55" UHD (UN55JU6500FXZA)
service - directv
Receiver - Denon AVR-X2100W,
Speakers -F L/R - Infinity Primus P363, C - Infinity Primus PC351
Sub - Klipsch Sub-12HG
(slow build out)
mdram is offline  
post #4229 of 5069 Old 10-01-2018, 08:44 PM
Member
 
crsloan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdram View Post
what software version on the hr54? and the minis?
HR 54-700, 0x1104, C61K, 0x10d1

Family Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D 4K TV, Denon AVR X4400H, Oppo UDP 203 4K Blu Ray Player, Apple 4K TV, Directv HR54 Genie, Directv C61K 4K Client
Klipsch RF83s, L&R mains, RC64, Center, RS 62s, Back Surrounds, 4 Dolby Atmos RP 140SA, SVS SB-16 Ultra, RSW15 Subs, 5.2.4 system.
Bedroom: Sony XBR 49 900F, Oppo UDP 203 4K Blu Ray Player, Directv C61K 4K Client.
crsloan is offline  
post #4230 of 5069 Old 10-02-2018, 07:02 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,203
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2243 Post(s)
Liked: 1895
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharp1080 View Post
It is an issue I no longer have. I do know that my Sony 940D had an update along with my Marantz receiver. I have not seen the unchecked boxes on my C61K since then.
I have C61k minis wired to the Genie 2. I use all certified premium HDMI cables. The C61K output, in the family room, goes via my X3300 Denon (updated to pass DV and HLG HDR) to my Sony 75Z9D. If I turn off the client, the resolution boxes "uncheck" with only 720p remaining. However, my Harmony is programmed to never turn off the C61k. Therefore the boxes don't "uncheck". I didn't have to change programming on the Harmony; because I never turned off the HR44 (which was replaced by the Genie 2 and client).

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off