Directv II HD/4k - Page 165 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15575Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4921 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,900
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1196 Post(s)
Liked: 2027
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Not understanding what you mean. I just checked my program guide and I don’t see any instance of “@“ in the guide.

Could you post a screenshot of what you are talking about?
I've seen it before. It's showing it on the listing for MLBNetwork tonight as well. I think it's for when it's regional coverage.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4922 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 02:00 PM
Member
 
vfr781rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Not understanding what you mean. I just checked my program guide and I don’t see any instance of “@“ in the guide.

Could you post a screenshot of what you are talking about?
Like this...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3207.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	575.2 KB
ID:	2556112  
vfr781rider is offline  
post #4923 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 02:21 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,602
Mentioned: 376 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11111 Post(s)
Liked: 6617
Quote:
Originally Posted by vfr781rider View Post
Like this...
The screenshot would have been more useful if it had shown a channel number so that I could compare.
AustinJerry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4924 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,961
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 877 Post(s)
Liked: 1623
What happened to Ch. 106 for 4K? Seems like it's just TBA now.

2019 82" Q90R, 2016 55" and 65" KS8000, Denon S720 AVR
Terminader is online now  
post #4925 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 02:38 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,602
Mentioned: 376 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11111 Post(s)
Liked: 6617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminader View Post
What happened to Ch. 106 for 4K? Seems like it's just TBA now.

2019 82" Q90R, 2016 55" and 65" KS8000, Denon S720 AVR
I am actually seeing more 4K channels now:

- 104 DTV4K
- 105 LIVE4K
- 106 LIVE4K2
- 107 CINE4K
- 108 CINE4K2

The only channel with TBA is 106.
dtv757 and Terminader like this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #4926 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 02:41 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,602
Mentioned: 376 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11111 Post(s)
Liked: 6617
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
I've seen it before. It's showing it on the listing for MLBNetwork tonight as well. I think it's for when it's regional coverage.
I see the “@“ on channel 213 at 9pm today. But there is a description (Seattle Mariners...), so what is the issue?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #4927 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 03:24 PM
Member
 
vfr781rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
The screenshot would have been more useful if it had shown a channel number so that I could compare.
Here ya go. Didn't see any coming up soon on ESPN, so this from SEC Network which is an ESPN entity.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3208.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	674.2 KB
ID:	2556148  
vfr781rider is offline  
post #4928 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 03:36 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,602
Mentioned: 376 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11111 Post(s)
Liked: 6617
Quote:
Originally Posted by vfr781rider View Post
Here ya go. Didn't see any coming up soon on ESPN, so this from SEC Network which is an ESPN entity.
Thank you for showing the channel numbers. But since there is additional description in the box, what is the issue with the “@“?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #4929 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,961
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 877 Post(s)
Liked: 1623
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

The only channel with TBA is 106.
Yes, that's why I asked the question...so does anyone know why 106, which used to be very active, is now just TBA?

2019 82" Q90R, 2016 55" and 65" KS8000, Denon S720 AVR
Terminader is online now  
post #4930 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 04:02 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,602
Mentioned: 376 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11111 Post(s)
Liked: 6617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminader View Post
Yes, that's why I asked the question...so does anyone know why 106, which used to be very active, is now just TBA?

2019 82" Q90R, 2016 55" and 65" KS8000, Denon S720 AVR
I think that with the added channels, they have simply re-arranged what is displayed on which channel. 104 still has the 4K clips. 105 seems to be the place for 4K sports broadcasts. 107 and 108 are PPV. Perhaps 106 will be used for additional content in the future. I wouldn’t read anything into the fact that 106 is currently TBA. JMO.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #4931 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 757
Posts: 1,835
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Re 4k channels

They had to have 2 live 4k. Channels for The Masters (golf)

Then D* re arranged the channels

104 random 4k programming

105 live 4k events

106 4k live events over flow channel

107 4k ppv movies

108 4k HDR ppv movies


Last month they used the ppv movie channel for March madness /NCAA BB overflow so it makes sense to have 2 dedicated sports channels

See my chart for last month they often had 2 live 4k events at same time on multiple days

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Terminader and longhorn23 like this.

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries
dtv757 is online now  
post #4932 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,961
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 877 Post(s)
Liked: 1623
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post
Re 4k channels

They had to have 2 live 4k. Channels for The Masters (golf)

Then D* re arranged the channels

104 random 4k programming

105 live 4k events

106 4k live events over flow channel

107 4k ppv movies

108 4k HDR ppv movies


Last month they used the ppv movie channel for March madness /NCAA BB overflow so it makes sense to have 2 dedicated sports channels

See my chart for last month they often had 2 live 4k events at same time on multiple days

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Thanks! Looks like encouraging expansion!

2019 82" Q90R, 2016 55" and 65" KS8000, Denon S720 AVR
dtv757 and longhorn23 like this.
Terminader is online now  
post #4933 of 5272 Old 04-20-2019, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 757
Posts: 1,835
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 228
I was literally updating this chart every day last month that's how many 4k events there were last month lol


March 2019-final.pdf

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
longhorn23 likes this.

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries
dtv757 is online now  
post #4934 of 5272 Old 04-21-2019, 03:16 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 21,126
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1785 Post(s)
Liked: 3557
posts deleted
Terminader likes this.

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
LG C9 OLED owner



Last edited by markrubin; 04-21-2019 at 05:53 AM.
markrubin is offline  
post #4935 of 5272 Old 04-23-2019, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
locomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post
I was literally updating this chart every day last month that's how many 4k events there were last month lol


Attachment 2556208

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
That PDF is very informative.
I guess Comcass is .4k
dtv757 likes this.
locomo is offline  
post #4936 of 5272 Old 04-24-2019, 05:25 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,918
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2232 Post(s)
Liked: 4202
Quote:
Originally Posted by locomo View Post
That PDF is very informative.
Subscribe to this thread and you'll get an alert whenever anything's added to it.
dtv757 and Terminader like this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #4937 of 5272 Old 05-02-2019, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
gbynum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 32
My guide shows "To Be Announced" for all channels beginning at 8:00 pm tonight (Greenville SC, EST). What's up?
gbynum is offline  
post #4938 of 5272 Old 05-02-2019, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,900
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1196 Post(s)
Liked: 2027
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbynum View Post
My guide shows "To Be Announced" for all channels beginning at 8:00 pm tonight (Greenville SC, EST). What's up?
Did you reset the box? If yes, it can take up to 24 hours for the guide to populate.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #4939 of 5272 Old 05-02-2019, 05:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
gbynum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 32
no, the 6:30, 7:00, 7:30 shows displayed fine.
gbynum is offline  
post #4940 of 5272 Old 05-03-2019, 04:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
gbynum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 32
About 18 hours later, still no guide; used the red reset button, it repopulated, at least partially, in a very few minutes.

What caused this?
gbynum is offline  
post #4941 of 5272 Old 05-03-2019, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
KOTULCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 44
So I was able to finally get C61K Genie Mini to stay powered on all the time in effort to fix dropped resolutions (had to have Harmony CS adjust a parameter that only they have the ability to). Now every couple of days it drops 1080P and 4K, when you try and toggle on it gives message that cabling isn’t good enough which is BS. Back to the drawing board on how to fix this issue. Anyone else seeing this issue?
KOTULCN is offline  
post #4942 of 5272 Old 05-03-2019, 05:33 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,602
Mentioned: 376 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11111 Post(s)
Liked: 6617
Quote:
Originally Posted by KOTULCN View Post
So I was able to finally get C61K Genie Mini to stay powered on all the time in effort to fix dropped resolutions (had to have Harmony CS adjust a parameter that only they have the ability to). Now every couple of days it drops 1080P and 4K, when you try and toggle on it gives message that cabling isn’t good enough which is BS. Back to the drawing board on how to fix this issue. Anyone else seeing this issue?
Nope.
Terminader likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #4943 of 5272 Old 05-03-2019, 05:54 PM
Newbie
 
bilpiper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KOTULCN View Post
So I was able to finally get C61K Genie Mini to stay powered on all the time in effort to fix dropped resolutions (had to have Harmony CS adjust a parameter that only they have the ability to). Now every couple of days it drops 1080P and 4K, when you try and toggle on it gives message that cabling isn’t good enough which is BS. Back to the drawing board on how to fix this issue. Anyone else seeing this issue?


Have you tried turning on the tv and add a delay before turning on the C61k? May assist on the handshake


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
P Smith likes this.
bilpiper is online now  
post #4944 of 5272 Old 05-04-2019, 05:00 AM
Senior Member
 
KOTULCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilpiper View Post
Have you tried turning on the tv and add a delay before turning on the C61k? May assist on the handshake


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


The C61K is always powered on.
KOTULCN is offline  
post #4945 of 5272 Old 05-04-2019, 05:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,821
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1056 Post(s)
Liked: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by KOTULCN View Post
The C61K is always powered on.
the idea is give time to finish full boot of TV before C61k will start negotiation by HDCP
if it will send a request during TV boot process and TV processor is busy, C61k will not get a response in tightly set period of time and will downgrade max resolution at HDMI output
same outcome when you keep C61k always on - the TV is the point; well you could keep TV on, just mute video/audio
P Smith is offline  
post #4946 of 5272 Old 05-04-2019, 05:24 AM
Senior Member
 
KOTULCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
the idea is give time to finish full boot of TV before C61k will start negotiation by HDCP

if it will send a request during TV boot process and TV processor is busy, C61k will not get a response in tightly set period of time and will downgrade max resolution at HDMI output

same outcome when you keep C61k always on - the TV is the point; well you could keep TV on, just mute video/audio


Explain how you would set it up.
KOTULCN is offline  
post #4947 of 5272 Old 05-04-2019, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,821
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1056 Post(s)
Liked: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilpiper View Post
Have you tried turning on the tv and add a delay before turning on the C61k? May assist on the handshake
eg starting point: TV and C61k are OFF;
- Harmony programmed to turn ON TV first, set delay (test your model, ~5-10 sec), then it should send a cmd to C61k to turn it ON
P Smith is offline  
post #4948 of 5272 Old 05-04-2019, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
KOTULCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
eg starting point: TV and C61k are OFF;

- Harmony programmed to turn ON TV first, set delay (test your model, ~5-10 sec), then it should send a cmd to C61k to turn it ON


That is what I thought you meant. This method results in Mini losing resolution frequently which results in having to reboot it to gain any resolution above 720p.
KOTULCN is offline  
post #4949 of 5272 Old 05-04-2019, 10:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,821
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1056 Post(s)
Liked: 492
I would check your HDMI cable condition/specs and how tight its both connectors snug into sockets
P Smith is offline  
post #4950 of 5272 Old 05-05-2019, 07:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Finally.....the 4K Resolution Box stays checked...

Great firmware update to the Genie and Client

LG OLED55B7A
Samsung HT-BD2ST (7.2 Channels)
Xbox One X 1TB
DirecTV Genie HR54 & Genie Client C61K
PiratesCove is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off