Directv II HD/4k - Page 167 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15471Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4981 of 5083 Old 05-15-2019, 09:50 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,474
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharp1080 View Post
Try retention as suggested. You can hopefully bypass the issues.
For my records, what is the Retention phone number?
AustinJerry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4982 of 5083 Old 05-15-2019, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sharp1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 3,454
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1050 Post(s)
Liked: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
For my records, what is the Retention phone number?
I have always had to use the voice prompt immediately when the phone call begins and just speak "retention". IIRC there is no direct number at least now that AT&T has stepped into the ownership.
dtv757 likes this.
Sharp1080 is online now  
post #4983 of 5083 Old 05-15-2019, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,864
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 1992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharp1080 View Post
I have always had to use the voice prompt immediately when the phone call begins and just speak "retention". IIRC there is no direct number at least now that AT&T has stepped into the ownership.
Just to add to this... I use to say retention before the AT&T purchase, since then I just say cancel service. When someone comes on the line, just ask them if they are with the retention department. If they aren't they will transfer you.
turls, Sharp1080, Goalline and 2 others like this.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4984 of 5083 Old 05-18-2019, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 614
PGA Championship looks absolutely incredible, give me all 18 holes in 4k hdr, that's all I want in this life!

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
wmoss35 is online now  
post #4985 of 5083 Old 05-18-2019, 08:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,913
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3639 Post(s)
Liked: 810
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmoss35 View Post
PGA Championship looks absolutely incredible, give me all 18 holes in 4k hdr, that's all I want in this life!

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
I didn't see the event in 4K HDR. However a friend of mine with DirecTv and an 85" Sony 4K HDR TV said the HDR looked too dark, and changed his HDR settings from Auto to Off and then it looked much brighter, clearer and better to him (but likely disabled all HDR effects in the process). Did other people experiencing something similar?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #4986 of 5083 Old 05-18-2019, 09:10 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,474
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6569
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
I didn't see the event in 4K HDR. However a friend of mine with DirecTv and an 85" Sony 4K HDR TV said the HDR looked too dark, and changed his HDR settings from Auto to Off and then it looked much brighter, clearer and better to him (but likely disabled all HDR effects in the process). Did other people experiencing something similar?
Not here. I made a point of switching back and forth between the 1080p and the 4K HDR broadcast for comparison. The 4K PQ was definitely brighter, with more vivid colors. Remember, when HDR Picture Mode is invoked, Contrast and Brightness are automatically set to Max. Hard to believe that turning off HDR would result in a brighter picture, unless something else is going on. I am viewing on a calibrated 75Z9F.
P Smith and longhorn23 like this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #4987 of 5083 Old 05-19-2019, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
I didn't see the event in 4K HDR. However a friend of mine with DirecTv and an 85" Sony 4K HDR TV said the HDR looked too dark, and changed his HDR settings from Auto to Off and then it looked much brighter, clearer and better to him (but likely disabled all HDR effects in the process). Did other people experiencing something similar?
It may have looked brighter to him in sdr but thats not what hdr is supposed to represent. We've grown accustomed to being used to seeing live sports in sdr so when we see the hdr version it may appear darker at first but watch 20 minutes of that then go back to the cbs sdr broadcast and you will see how blown out everything looks in comparison to the hdr broadcast. At least thats how I feel about it anyways

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
tmdorsey and Terminader like this.
wmoss35 is online now  
post #4988 of 5083 Old 05-19-2019, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Since the most recent firmware update my Sony 285ES no longer receives a 4k signal. On the same input A rook, Xfinity 4k box, and Blu ray all output 4k. Any idea what the firmware did to change?
Brett Aaron Rosenberg is offline  
post #4989 of 5083 Old 05-19-2019, 08:03 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,474
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett Aaron Rosenberg View Post
Since the most recent firmware update my Sony 285ES no longer receives a 4k signal. On the same input A rook, Xfinity 4k box, and Blu ray all output 4k. Any idea what the firmware did to change?
Wouldn't that be a question for a Sony thread?
Terminader likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #4990 of 5083 Old 05-19-2019, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 393 Post(s)
Liked: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brett Aaron Rosenberg View Post
Since the most recent firmware update my Sony 285ES no longer receives a 4k signal. On the same input A rook, Xfinity 4k box, and Blu ray all output 4k. Any idea what the firmware did to change?

No issues here with my 285 and 4K Genie Mini.
roland6465 is offline  
post #4991 of 5083 Old 05-28-2019, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,982
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 509 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Ok, I appreciate that they are showing Women's Soccer all month in June, but why does that mean we have a total of ONE baseball game in 4K in both May and June? At least if the schedule is correct...
dtv757 likes this.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #4992 of 5083 Old 05-28-2019, 02:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 757
Posts: 1,819
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Ok, I appreciate that they are showing Women's Soccer all month in June, but why does that mean we have a total of ONE baseball game in 4K in both May and June? At least if the schedule is correct...
Fox is the one that does the most 4k sports events so ... if there 4k production trucks are overseas for world cup ... that explains why no MLB ...


But I would hope we get a lot of MLB In July and Aug

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries
dtv757 is online now  
post #4993 of 5083 Old 05-28-2019, 06:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TheRatPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 185
I’d really like to see ESPN, Fox Sports or NBC Sports start a 4K channel.
TheRatPatrol is offline  
post #4994 of 5083 Old 05-29-2019, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
KOTULCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Was there a Genie C61K update in the last couple days? Pausing playback does not invoke the screen saver.
KOTULCN is offline  
post #4995 of 5083 Old 05-29-2019, 08:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,864
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 1992
Quote:
Originally Posted by KOTULCN View Post
Was there a Genie C61K update in the last couple days? Pausing playback does not invoke the screen saver.
How long do you pause for? I had the screensaver pop up tonight while pausing MasterChef.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #4996 of 5083 Old 05-30-2019, 12:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,810
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1050 Post(s)
Liked: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by KOTULCN View Post
Was there a Genie C61K update in the last couple days? Pausing playback does not invoke the screen saver.
First rule of reaction to unusual behavior of your DVR, mini, etc - REBOOT !
Terminader likes this.
P Smith is offline  
post #4997 of 5083 Old 05-30-2019, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,051
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7272 Post(s)
Liked: 8042
We had the Genie 2 installed last week and have had no issues with it, in fact we like it.

However my wife noticed that the system doesn’t buffer like the HR54 did. Has this been the experience of others with this system? I’m wondering if it’s a question of the units defaulting to ‘off’ when we turn the system off.
hancox likes this.

Current displays- LG 65C9, LG 77G7, LG 65B6
Ken Ross is offline  
post #4998 of 5083 Old 05-31-2019, 01:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,810
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1050 Post(s)
Liked: 489
What exactly model you got ?
P Smith is offline  
post #4999 of 5083 Old 05-31-2019, 11:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,051
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7272 Post(s)
Liked: 8042
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
What exactly model you got ?
The Genie 2, HS17.
Terminader likes this.

Current displays- LG 65C9, LG 77G7, LG 65B6
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5000 of 5083 Old 06-01-2019, 12:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 3,810
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1050 Post(s)
Liked: 489
I would guess - it's HS17-100 ...
P Smith is offline  
post #5001 of 5083 Old 06-01-2019, 05:40 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2249 Post(s)
Liked: 1900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
We had the Genie 2 installed last week and have had no issues with it, in fact we like it.

However my wife noticed that the system doesn’t buffer like the HR54 did. Has this been the experience of others with this system? I’m wondering if it’s a question of the units defaulting to ‘off’ when we turn the system off.
Not exactly sure what you mean by "when we turn the system off"; and I'm not sure about buffering if they are turned off. My Harmony "system off" was setup to leave the C61K/HS17 "on". I never turn off the C61K/HS17; and I never turned off the HR44 that preceded them.

The C61K has had several "bugs" that only appeared after turning it off. Most of the posters on this thread therefore stopped turning them off.

Hope this helps.

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is offline  
post #5002 of 5083 Old 06-01-2019, 06:12 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,474
Mentioned: 374 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11015 Post(s)
Liked: 6569
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
Not exactly sure what you mean by "when we turn the system off"; and I'm not sure about buffering if they are turned off. My Harmony "system off" was setup to leave the C61K/HS17 "on". I never turn off the C61K/HS17; and I never turned off the HR44 that preceded them.

The C61K has had several "bugs" that only appeared after turning it off. Most of the posters on this thread therefore stopped turning them off.

Hope this helps.
Well, the buffering behavior is different between my HR24 and my HR54. When it turn the HR24 “off” (blue light goes off), it continues to buffer the channel it is tuned to. When I turn it back on, a full hour of buffered content is available. On the HR54, there is no buffered content available when the device is powered back on.

I suspect this is what the OP means. Of course, I don’t know the behavior of the HS17, but I suspect it is similar to the HR54.
rlb likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5003 of 5083 Old 06-01-2019, 10:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TheRatPatrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Well, the buffering behavior is different between my HR24 and my HR54. When it turn the HR24 “off” (blue light goes off), it continues to buffer the channel it is tuned to. When I turn it back on, a full hour of buffered content is available. On the HR54, there is no buffered content available when the device is powered back on.

I suspect this is what the OP means. Of course, I don’t know the behavior of the HS17, but I suspect it is similar to the HR54.
You are correct, there is no buffer on the Genies when they are turned off. Others online have said it has to do with the fact that the Genies share its tuners with the clients.
TheRatPatrol is offline  
post #5004 of 5083 Old 06-01-2019, 08:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,051
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7272 Post(s)
Liked: 8042
So this turned out to be much ado about nothing. Upon investigation, I found the client boxes were turning off after several hours and/or being turned off by my Harmony remotes.

Once I set them to stay on and did some reprogramming of my remotes to not shut off the boxes, the buffering behavior was no different than my previous setup with the HR54 & clients.

Current displays- LG 65C9, LG 77G7, LG 65B6
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5005 of 5083 Old 06-06-2019, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,701
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 986
Is anybody else getting charged an extra TV Access Fee staring June 1? I have two TV's. And I have the Hs-17 server and a wireless mini-genie hooked up to one TV, and a 4k genie hooked up the other TV. For the past 9 months or so that I've had this setup, they have charged me two (2) TV access fees, and given me a $7 credit for the first TV. Now they have sent me notice that they are going to charge me three (3) TV access fees, and give me a $7 credit for the first TV.

I spoke to two different CSR's and told them I only have two TV's, but they say that I have three pieces of equipment (the HS-17 and the two genies) and so the new charges are correct. Has anybody else noticed something like this their bill? Does it make any sense? Is this a just a sleazy way for AT&T to charge people extra without raising program package charges, figuring that most people won't notice the change on their bill (which is pretty confusing anyway)? What are they going to do next -- charge a "receiver power cord charge"?
smitty is offline  
post #5006 of 5083 Old 06-06-2019, 01:58 PM
Member
 
JACKIEGAGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
Is anybody else getting charged an extra TV Access Fee staring June 1? I have two TV's. And I have the Hs-17 server and a wireless mini-genie hooked up to one TV, and a 4k genie hooked up the other TV. For the past 9 months or so that I've had this setup, they have charged me two (2) TV access fees, and given me a $7 credit for the first TV. Now they have sent me notice that they are going to charge me three (3) TV access fees, and give me a $7 credit for the first TV.

I spoke to two different CSR's and told them I only have two TV's, but they say that I have three pieces of equipment (the HS-17 and the two genies) and so the new charges are correct. Has anybody else noticed something like this their bill? Does it make any sense? Is this a just a sleazy way for AT&T to charge people extra without raising program package charges, figuring that most people won't notice the change on their bill (which is pretty confusing anyway)? What are they going to do next -- charge a "receiver power cord charge"? [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif[/IMG]

You can’t have more than one Genie on your account only minis

Jack
JACKIEGAGA is online now  
post #5007 of 5083 Old 06-06-2019, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,701
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 986
Quote:
Originally Posted by JACKIEGAGA View Post
You can’t have more than one Genie on your account only minis
I'm not sure what you mean, or perhaps I named something wrong. But i have (1) the HS-17 hub -- the big thing that operates as the server, (2) a wireless mini receiver that I believe is called a genie that is connected to a non-4k TV, and (3) a wired mini 4k box that does 4k that is connected to my 4k TV. I don't believe there is anything unusual or problematic about this setup.

P.S. Each of these items of equipment was installed by an AT&T rep.
smitty is offline  
post #5008 of 5083 Old 06-06-2019, 03:53 PM
Member
 
JACKIEGAGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty View Post
I'm not sure what you mean, or perhaps I named something wrong. But i have (1) the HS-17 hub -- the big thing that operates as the server, (2) a wireless mini receiver that I believe is called a genie that is connected to a non-4k TV, and (3) a wired mini 4k box that does 4k that is connected to my 4k TV. I don't believe there is anything unusual or problematic about this setup.

P.S. Each of these items of equipment was installed by an AT&T rep.
You you have 3 boxes total. 1 should be free unless they are changing it.

Jack
JACKIEGAGA is online now  
post #5009 of 5083 Old 06-06-2019, 04:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 2,701
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 986
Quote:
Originally Posted by JACKIEGAGA View Post
You you have 3 boxes total. 1 should be free unless they are changing it.
That's what they are telling me. And they are also saying that they have been undercharging me for the past nine months, as they should have been charging me for three boxes, minus a credit for one. Whereas, they have in the past that have, in fact, only been charging me for two boxes, with a credit for one.

They now have also admitted that they should have either installed one box for my upstairs TV (instead of a Genie-2 and a wireless mini genie) OR they should have told me at the time of installation that the setup they were giving me was going to result in an additional "TV Access Fee."
smitty is offline  
post #5010 of 5083 Old 06-06-2019, 05:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,864
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1163 Post(s)
Liked: 1992
Lately I've been reading about how AT&T is looking to divest DirecTV, and that Dish might purchase it. Also reading that AT&T might stay on as a minority owner in a DTV/Dish merger. Anyone have any thoughts or related news on this?

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off