Directv II HD/4k - Page 208 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16453Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6211 of 6351 Old 05-05-2020, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 4,056
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 552
BTW - Cxx is not a _receiver_, it's a _client_ [DTV named as mini]; it cannot receive sat signal per se; you can treat it as DTV proprietary streaming client;
yeah, sats - nope, broadcasting from sat positions are not moved (some sat actually does moving), but there some recent additions in RF bands, like reverse band.
P Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6212 of 6351 Old 05-05-2020, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joe221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 3,900
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aliens View Post
I put in a search, various different searches, for an upgrade to 4K costs and I get a thousand posts.

At this point, I think I'll keep my HR54 and add the C61K client. Both will be located in my basement and the C41 will remain in my bedroom. IIRC, they need to change the dish. Does upgrading commit me to a new 2-year contract? What are the approximate costs, or are there workarounds to get this accomplished for free? Thanks.
I do the monthly maintenance plus extra coverage. So when it was time to do the 4K dish upgrade and stuff. It was all covered. If you don’t have that then maybe negotiating with the rep as a long time customer might get you a decent overall deal. It’s a YMMV situation.
Terminader likes this.

Joe in West Los Angeles, CA
joe221 is offline  
post #6213 of 6351 Old 05-05-2020, 09:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joe221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 3,900
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by archiguy View Post
Here's what happened with my 4K upgrade back in December. My new C9 TV is located in the Living Room, where my HR54 was located, as well as the AT&T modem/router. A DTV dude showed up and moved my HR54 to the Rec Room, where it still serves as the "server DVR" for all the other DTV receivers in the house, as well as feeding the TV in that room. The AT&T modem/router stayed put.

He installed the new C61K receiver in the Living Room, which is feeding the only 4K display device in the house. They also relocated the Genie mini from the Rec Room up to a guest bedroom. He had to go down into the crawl space where all the cable lines converge and "do some stuff" that accommodated these changes; reassignments I presume. I didn't ask.

So, the workflow was: two "relocations" and an installation of a new receiver (the C61K). They were going to charge me for both of those relocations (maybe $90 each...?, can't remember now) but I bitched and they only charged me for one. Squeeky wheel gets the grease!

The installation of the C61K was free, and I'm paying $7/mo more for another receiver. I now have four, up from three. That includes my old HR54, which still works fine. I see no need to upgrade to a newer model DVR as the HR54 records 4K streams as well. There is no need to change the dish, as the satellites have not moved. I have no 2 year contract with an exit penalty. Didn't think DTV did that...?
It’s not really the dish unless you have an ancient dish. It’s the LNB and they changed that on mine. I’m not a total D* tech geek but if it needed upgrading it was all done.

Joe in West Los Angeles, CA
joe221 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6214 of 6351 Old 05-05-2020, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 26,590
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7015 Post(s)
Liked: 8011
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe221 View Post
It’s not really the dish unless you have an ancient dish. It’s the LNB and they changed that on mine. I’m not a total D* tech geek but if it needed upgrading it was all done.
Did they change the LNB because you added 4K capability with a C61K? Because they did not do that on mine. I can't see why that would be necessary.
archiguy is online now  
post #6215 of 6351 Old 05-05-2020, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joe221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 3,900
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by archiguy View Post
Did they change the LNB because you added 4K capability with a C61K? Because they did not do that on mine. I can't see why that would be necessary.
Yup, that was part of the update. Maybe you had a newer one than I did and it wasn’t needed. I don’t remember how old it all was. I started with D in 2007, I think. 4K was about 4-5 years ago.

Joe in West Los Angeles, CA
joe221 is offline  
post #6216 of 6351 Old 05-05-2020, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 26,590
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7015 Post(s)
Liked: 8011
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe221 View Post
Yup, that was part of the update. Maybe you had a newer one than I did and it wasn’t needed. I don’t remember how old it all was. I started with D in 2007, I think. 4K was about 4-5 years ago.
I got DTV at this house in 2016 so yeah, maybe I have the newest LNB. I had had DTV before, as well as DISH, as well as the original Primestar, back in my old condo. I guess I started "dishing" back in the early to mid 90's.

I remember being astonished at how good the PQ was with the Primestar dish when I first installed it. They probably only had 2 or 3 channels per transponder back in those days. Despite the 4x3 aspect ratio, the PQ looked almost as good then as HD does now on today's overcompressed and rate-shaped cable & sat channels.
joe221 likes this.
archiguy is online now  
post #6217 of 6351 Old 05-05-2020, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,101
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2526 Post(s)
Liked: 3806
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe221 View Post
It’s not really the dish unless you have an ancient dish. It’s the LNB and they changed that on mine.
I thought I remembered something being changed, just wasn't sure what it was.
joe221 likes this.
Aliens is online now  
post #6218 of 6351 Old 05-05-2020, 07:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 3,192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aliens View Post
I thought I remembered something being changed, just wasn't sure what it was.
Belated Happy Birthday to you !
Aliens likes this.
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
post #6219 of 6351 Old 05-06-2020, 02:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Aliens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 10,101
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2526 Post(s)
Liked: 3806
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERNOLE View Post
Belated Happy Birthday to you !
Thank you! As a present, my wife 'gave' me a 4K TV. I'm close to finalizing that decision.
archiguy, markrubin and WOLVERNOLE like this.
Aliens is online now  
post #6220 of 6351 Old 05-06-2020, 04:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Not sure this is the right forum, but...


Is anyone having trouble assigning DirecTV as your TV provider on an AppleTV 4K? Two of my three were still using the former Spectrum login from before I switched back. I'm getting error code 205.4 when I try to login with my DTV account. Neither Apple nor DirecTV have been helpful on the phone, so I thought I'd bring it to the experts.


Thanks.

Sony 285ES, Carada 88" Criterion 1.1, Yamaha RX-A860, DT SM65 (2), DT CS8040, DT SR8040 (2), DT 6.5R (2), SVS SB2000, Oppo 203, ATV4K, Roku Stick+, Monoprice HDMI from AVR to all input devices, Sewell fiber from AVR to Sony projector
roland6465 is offline  
post #6221 of 6351 Old 05-06-2020, 09:58 PM
Senior Member
 
rcodey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Orange,NJ and Naples, Fl
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by roland6465 View Post
Not sure this is the right forum, but...


Is anyone having trouble assigning DirecTV as your TV provider on an AppleTV 4K? Two of my three were still using the former Spectrum login from before I switched back. I'm getting error code 205.4 when I try to login with my DTV account. Neither Apple nor DirecTV have been helpful on the phone, so I thought I'd bring it to the experts.


Thanks.
I thought it was me but a week ago I encountered the same problem . I have two houses and two Directv accounts and first thought I had logged in with the wrong account or wrong password . On one Directv account I have Showtime and I was trying to add and sign in to the Showtime Anywhere app . I went online to my Directv to make sure I had the proper email and password . The email and password for the account was correct . I went back to the app and after about 10 minutes and numerous attempts it finally took my Directv credentials .
rcodey is offline  
post #6222 of 6351 Old 05-07-2020, 03:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
roland6465's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcodey View Post
I thought it was me but a week ago I encountered the same problem . I have two houses and two Directv accounts and first thought I had logged in with the wrong account or wrong password . On one Directv account I have Showtime and I was trying to add and sign in to the Showtime Anywhere app . I went online to my Directv to make sure I had the proper email and password . The email and password for the account was correct . I went back to the app and after about 10 minutes and numerous attempts it finally took my Directv credentials .

I found a thread on the Apple support forums about it. It seems to be sporadic, but it's not just us. You can sign into individual apps with your DTV login by not allowing it to use your TV Provider, then manually entering it. I've been able to use that as a workaround so far.
roland6465 is offline  
post #6223 of 6351 Old 05-08-2020, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
purplerain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Angry Audio drops

Still getting audio dropouts via DirecTV H24 receiver when using the Dolby Digital setting inside the H24 settings....driving me nuts

*ENTERTAINMENT PURPOSES ONLY*
*TV: Sony XBR65Z9D*
*BD Player: Pioneer UDP-LX 500* - *AVR: Yamaha RX-A3070*
*Audio System 4.1: (2) Funk Audio 6.1P’s towers - (2) Funk Audio 3.4D’s surrounds - (1) Funk 18.0C sub* - Phantom center ;)
purplerain is offline  
post #6224 of 6351 Old 05-22-2020, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Does anyone know the Directv Remote (Model RC-73) program code # for TCL 75R615? I’ve been through first 7-8 with no luck

Memphis Tiger Fan-Sports enthusiast

Last edited by rjhseven; 05-25-2020 at 08:26 PM.
rjhseven is offline  
post #6225 of 6351 Old 05-27-2020, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 2,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Has anyone noticed anything odd on a few of the channels? What I mean by odd is there are these blotches that will suddenly get a little brighter, then dim back to what they're supposed to look like. I have no other way of describing it. It's most noticeable on Fox News.
Ken Ross likes this.
MRM4 is offline  
post #6226 of 6351 Old 05-27-2020, 08:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 26,590
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7015 Post(s)
Liked: 8011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRM4 View Post
Has anyone noticed anything odd on a few of the channels? What I mean by odd is there are these blotches that will suddenly get a little brighter, then dim back to what they're supposed to look like. I have no other way of describing it. It's most noticeable on Fox News.
I've noticed something that may or may not be what you're talking about on other channels. I do not watch Fox News. Ever. But on channels like AMC, FX and other cablenet channels, during dark scenes with dark colored backgrounds, there are blotches that almost shimmer & pixelate. At first I thought it might be a thing with my OLED panel, but I don't see it anywhere except on DTV channels. Streaming channels are fine whether 1080p or 4K/HDR.

My guess is it's a lack of bandwidth issue, but I don't really know. Haven't seen anyone else reporting it, which makes it strange.
WOLVERNOLE and joe221 like this.
archiguy is online now  
post #6227 of 6351 Old 05-27-2020, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 4,056
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 552
I'm pretty sure, when you posted, there are many will join "MeeToo" campaign
P Smith is offline  
post #6228 of 6351 Old 05-27-2020, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 26,590
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7015 Post(s)
Liked: 8011
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
I'm pretty sure, when you posted, there are many will join "MeeToo" campaign
I hope so. I've been noticing this shimmering/pixelating phenomenon on DTV channels for awhile now. If others are seeing it as well, that would likely rule out any issues with my OLED panel, which seems fine in all other aspects.
archiguy is online now  
post #6229 of 6351 Old 05-27-2020, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 4,056
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 552
Well, what is puzzling me - DTV have a lot of bandwidth , why they are tightening video compression ?
P Smith is offline  
post #6230 of 6351 Old 05-28-2020, 04:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere
Posts: 2,770
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 735 Post(s)
Liked: 525
If you happen to be a "mover" you have lost your WABC channel 7 from NY.
It is still available on 396 (for now?).

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is offline  
post #6231 of 6351 Old 05-28-2020, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,353
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7459 Post(s)
Liked: 8346
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRM4 View Post
Has anyone noticed anything odd on a few of the channels? What I mean by odd is there are these blotches that will suddenly get a little brighter, then dim back to what they're supposed to look like. I have no other way of describing it. It's most noticeable on Fox News.
Yup, I saw exactly that on Fox News. At first I was concerned that there was something going on with my LG OLED, but it wasn't on other content like Netflix, Amazon etc.
Terminader likes this.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #6232 of 6351 Old 05-28-2020, 07:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 2,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Glad to know I'm not the only one seeing it. I thought about trying to capture it on my phone, but I didn't know how well it would show up. You can really see it if there happens to be a brown background.
Terminader likes this.
MRM4 is offline  
post #6233 of 6351 Old 06-03-2020, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5,217
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1535 Post(s)
Liked: 2707
I have a new channel, WCJB out of Jacksonville (I am in Brevard County, a good distance away). It appears to be an ABC affiliate but I can't tune to it because when I do I get either 'No Signal on Sat 1 or No Signal on Sat 2'. I have no idea why it showed up or why I can't tune to it. Anyone else around the area (or a D* customer in general) have a channel like this?

I really ought to act more like a woman of my advancing years, but I’m growing old disgracefully.
Nayan is offline  
post #6234 of 6351 Old 06-03-2020, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 26,590
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7015 Post(s)
Liked: 8011
Quote:
Originally Posted by archiguy View Post
But on channels like AMC, FX and other cablenet channels, during dark scenes with dark colored backgrounds, there are blotches that almost shimmer & pixelate. At first I thought it might be a thing with my OLED panel, but I don't see it anywhere except on DTV channels. Streaming channels are fine whether 1080p or 4K/HDR.

My guess is it's a lack of bandwidth issue, but I don't really know. Haven't seen anyone else reporting it, which makes it strange.
Okay. So now there appear to be at least 3 or 4 of us that are seeing this phenomenon. That's reassuring, in a way. I sure as hell didn't want anything to be wrong with my new OLED.

But it still leaves open the question: what is it? A bandwidth thing? A flaw in the DTV receivers? Any way to "fix" it?
archiguy is online now  
post #6235 of 6351 Old 06-03-2020, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 3,192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Trying to glean as much 4K info about DirecTV/AT&T TV as possible for 4K. Assuming decent internet speed, is there much difference in picture quality between their satellite dish 4K picture quality and the wireless (what use to be called DirecTV NOW ) ?? What about 1080i material ? Thanks !
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
post #6236 of 6351 Old 06-03-2020, 10:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 4,056
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 552
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by archiguy View Post
Okay. So now there appear to be at least 3 or 4 of us that are seeing this phenomenon. That's reassuring, in a way. I sure as hell didn't want anything to be wrong with my new OLED.

But it still leaves open the question: what is it? A bandwidth thing? A flaw in the DTV receivers? Any way to "fix" it?
I'm not sure if people in charge of PQ reading here … so, I would make snapshots by video capture card (best way, perhaps your camera-phone is good enough to catch the phenomena) as many as possible, and send them to VIP office with short comment: ch#, time, etc
P Smith is offline  
post #6237 of 6351 Old 06-03-2020, 10:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 4,056
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 552
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERNOLE View Post
Trying to glean as much 4K info about DirecTV/AT&T TV as possible for 4K. Assuming decent internet speed, is there much difference in picture quality between their satellite dish 4K picture quality and the wireless (what use to be called DirecTV NOW ) ?? What about 1080i material ? Thanks !
I've seen such comparison in threads related to AT&T box C71KW here and at dbstalk
WOLVERNOLE likes this.
P Smith is offline  
post #6238 of 6351 Old 06-06-2020, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WOLVERNOLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DUMFRIES, VA USA
Posts: 3,192
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
I've seen such comparison in threads related to AT&T box C71KW here and at dbstalk



Okay, welllll, care to share what the conclusion was?
longhorn23 likes this.
WOLVERNOLE is offline  
post #6239 of 6351 Old 06-06-2020, 11:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 26,590
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7015 Post(s)
Liked: 8011
Has anyone with a DTV STB - specifically the C61K - ever seen this problem? Sometimes (it is frustratingly intermittent) FF or REW will knock out the sound from my Denon X3600 receiver. Picture is fine, but sound goes away. To get it back, I have to turn off the receiver and then back on and then it's fine. I figure it must be some kind of HDMI issue, but can't track it down. I'm using top-of-the-line Monoprice 8K cables, so that can't be it. It usually involves FF or REW a long way through the DVR buffer; shorter trips are fine.

Any ideas?
WOLVERNOLE likes this.
archiguy is online now  
post #6240 of 6351 Old 06-06-2020, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 4,056
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 552
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLVERNOLE View Post
[/B]

Okay, welllll, care to share what the conclusion was?
not that big difference to be concerned
most likely the source is define PQ
P Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off