Is ESPNHD in DD5.1? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-21-2003, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
umbighouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 21054 (Maryland)
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have DirecTV and am thinking about getting the HD package. For those who have the ESPNHD package on DirecTV, does ESPN broadcast its HD programming in DD5.1 Surround Sound?
umbighouse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-21-2003, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Posts: 2,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by umbighouse
I have DirecTV and am thinking about getting the HD package. For those who have the ESPNHD package on DirecTV, does ESPN broadcast its HD programming in DD5.1 Surround Sound?
No, they use Circle Surround, not DD5.1. Do a search on here and you will find a lot of information and opinions.

"Some have the speed, and the right combinations, but if you can't take the punches, it don't mean a thing."
MnGuy is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-21-2003, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
umbighouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 21054 (Maryland)
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read those threads about Circle Surround. Unfortunately, my receiver doesn't have that decoder. Do you know if ESPNHD does ANY DD5.1 Surround Sound? I don't know if I could justify paying the monthly fee for only half the payout (PQ only).
umbighouse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 11-21-2003, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Posts: 2,956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by umbighouse
I've read those threads about Circle Surround. Unfortunately, my receiver doesn't have that decoder. Do you know if ESPNHD does ANY DD5.1 Surround Sound? I don't know if I could justify paying the monthly fee for only half the payout (PQ only).
No, all of their HD is in CS. You can use ProLogicII which I think works well. Others may disagree.

"Some have the speed, and the right combinations, but if you can't take the punches, it don't mean a thing."
MnGuy is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-21-2003, 03:45 PM
Member
 
tREN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
to keep on topic, the answer to th OPs question is no.
tREN is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-21-2003, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 86
All ESPN HD is in DD 2.0, with CS II encoding. Any analog surround decoding should produce satisfactory results.

My speculation is that ESPN uses CS at this time, due to infrastructure issues. Let's see what happens after the new HD capable broadcast center is completed next Spring.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-21-2003, 04:07 PM
DP1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DP1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wouldnt let the lack of true 5.1 get in the way. The true HD video quality so blows away it's SD counterpart, that about all that matters to me especially when it comes to sporting events. I'd bellyache about the lack of 5.1 on movies but thats about it.

Yeah the lack of HD overall on ESPN HD kind of blows for now, and the Circle Surround nonsense is kind of a joke, but regardless the HD stuff looks really good and sounds plenty good enough as it is (set to PLII in my case) as far as I'm concerned. But thats just one guys opinion.

Dan

Don't confuse me with facts...
My mind is made up.
;-)
DP1 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-25-2003, 01:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
feldon23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Because someone needs to hit them with a copy of the ATSC specs (The transport stream, not the broadcast technique) which demands DD, not whatever-audio-spec-I-dreamed-up-over-twinkies format.
feldon23 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-25-2003, 06:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
DD is the only format that can be used in ATSC. People need to understand that DD does not always mean 5.1. It can be 1.0 to 5.1 EX. DD 2.0 can carry any matrix surround format. For example CBS encodes Dolby Surround on their shows, but ESPN chose Circle surround.
CKNA is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-26-2003, 09:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 86
https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=330107

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off