Verizon FiOS HDTV - Page 628 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 250Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18811 of 19392 Old 10-29-2015, 08:09 PM
Member
 
geenice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone ever buy a HD box off eBay and get it to work without paying a box rental fee or nah?
geenice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18812 of 19392 Old 10-30-2015, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,238
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4280 Post(s)
Liked: 5234
Quote:
Originally Posted by geenice View Post
Anyone ever buy a HD box off eBay and get it to work without paying a box rental fee or nah?
I don't believe that you can because Verizon will need the serial number to activate it and to the best of my knowledge you have to rent the box.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #18813 of 19392 Old 10-30-2015, 05:35 AM
Member
 
geenice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks
geenice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18814 of 19392 Old 10-30-2015, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by geenice View Post
Anyone ever buy a HD box off eBay and get it to work without paying a box rental fee or nah?
If you want to use your own hardware, get a Tivo or a networked tuner like HDHomerun Prime and then all you'd need to pay for would be a CableCard.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #18815 of 19392 Old 10-30-2015, 01:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,574
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDLIVE View Post
If you want to use your own hardware, get a Tivo or a networked tuner like HDHomerun Prime and then all you'd need to pay for would be a CableCard.
Quote:
Originally Posted by geenice View Post
Anyone ever buy a HD box off eBay and get it to work without paying a box rental fee or nah?
Those are often stolen.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #18816 of 19392 Old 10-30-2015, 01:50 PM
Member
 
geenice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
Those are often stolen.

Duly noted
geenice is offline  
post #18817 of 19392 Old 11-29-2015, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 31
This place is deader than Chris Christie's presidential aspirations.
dturturro likes this.
sangs is offline  
post #18818 of 19392 Old 11-29-2015, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,574
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by sangs View Post
This place is deader than Chris Christie's presidential aspirations.
Is that a reflection on:

  • FiOS?
  • AVS Forum?
  • or Success of DSL Reports?
sangs likes this.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #18819 of 19392 Old 11-29-2015, 07:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
Is that a reflection on:

  • FiOS?
  • AVS Forum?
  • or Success of DSL Reports?
Just this particular FiOS forum.
sangs is offline  
post #18820 of 19392 Old 12-08-2015, 08:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,238
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4280 Post(s)
Liked: 5234
Has anyone noticed in the past 2 weeks or so that you need to turn up the volume on your TV higher to get the same listening level as you used to have? It's almost as if Verizon lowered the reference level of the sound coming out of the set top box. I checked the settings on my box and they are all the same and my neighbor who has FiOS has the same exact experience.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #18821 of 19392 Old 12-08-2015, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 8,998
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4200 Post(s)
Liked: 3752
so with picture quality not as good as it used to be with FiOS is it still the best among the major cable companies?...does it still offer a significant advantage in terms of picture quality when compared to TWC, RCN etc?...I mention RCN because it's available in my building and I like that they use TiVO boxes
TitusTroy is online now  
post #18822 of 19392 Old 12-08-2015, 09:07 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,400
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8956 Post(s)
Liked: 5735
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Has anyone noticed in the past 2 weeks or so that you need to turn up the volume on your TV higher to get the same listening level as you used to have? It's almost as if Verizon lowered the reference level of the sound coming out of the set top box. I checked the settings on my box and they are all the same and my neighbor who has FiOS has the same exact experience.
I have not noticed that issue here using a TiVo Roamio Pro, TiVo Bolt, and TiVo Mini.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #18823 of 19392 Old 12-08-2015, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 258
They finally upgraded the app so you can watch all programming on your iPad, as well as programming you have DVR'd, while in your home, provided you have the Quantum system.
jrref likes this.

ISF Calibrator
Samsung PN64F8500
Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320
Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #18824 of 19392 Old 12-08-2015, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,238
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4280 Post(s)
Liked: 5234
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
so with picture quality not as good as it used to be with FiOS is it still the best among the major cable companies?...does it still offer a significant advantage in terms of picture quality when compared to TWC, RCN etc?...I mention RCN because it's available in my building and I like that they use TiVO boxes
I think FiOS still has the best picture quality even though it might not be as good as it was when it first came out.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #18825 of 19392 Old 12-08-2015, 12:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,574
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I think FiOS still has the best picture quality even though it might not be as good as it was when it first came out.
It NEVER had basically superior picture quality. The video signal was/is divided into 6MHz channels (just like copper coax) and uses
the same modulation technique (QAM) as cable. The only potential quality difference would be how many channels that is crammed into one of those 6MHz channels. When it is 2 HD channels per QAM (6MHz channel), then the best quality is preserved. When they start cramming 3 HD channels in a QAM, then quality suffers. Much of this is determined on the local level, so in some areas 2 HD channels per QAM may be normal, while in other areas 3 channels per QAM may be normal. It is not unusual for some of the cable channels (like TNT) to have 3 channels per QAM, while the local OTA HD channels to be 2 per QAM. However, as the local stations start sending sub-channels, then THEY are decreasing quality, and the cable companies (including FiOS) have little incentive to allocate bandwidth for quality that is just not there anymore.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #18826 of 19392 Old 12-08-2015, 01:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,238
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4280 Post(s)
Liked: 5234
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
It NEVER had basically superior picture quality. The video signal was/is divided into 6MHz channels (just like copper coax) and uses
the same modulation technique (QAM) as cable. The only potential quality difference would be how many channels that is crammed into one of those 6MHz channels. When it is 2 HD channels per QAM (6MHz channel), then the best quality is preserved. When they start cramming 3 HD channels in a QAM, then quality suffers. Much of this is determined on the local level, so in some areas 2 HD channels per QAM may be normal, while in other areas 3 channels per QAM may be normal. It is not unusual for some of the cable channels (like TNT) to have 3 channels per QAM, while the local OTA HD channels to be 2 per QAM. However, as the local stations start sending sub-channels, then THEY are decreasing quality, and the cable companies (including FiOS) have little incentive to allocate bandwidth for quality that is just not there anymore.
I agree with what you are saying but do you think cable has a better picture than FiOS? I've seen FiOS side by side with Cablevision here in NY and you can see that FiOS has a better picture even with all the cramming of HD channels.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #18827 of 19392 Old 12-08-2015, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
scott_bernstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC, US
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Has anyone noticed in the past 2 weeks or so that you need to turn up the volume on your TV higher to get the same listening level as you used to have? It's almost as if Verizon lowered the reference level of the sound coming out of the set top box. I checked the settings on my box and they are all the same and my neighbor who has FiOS has the same exact experience.
I have not noticed this. Are you referring to a particular channel?
scott_bernstein is offline  
post #18828 of 19392 Old 12-08-2015, 06:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,238
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4280 Post(s)
Liked: 5234
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_bernstein View Post
I have not noticed this. Are you referring to a particular channel?
It seems to be all channels best I can tell.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #18829 of 19392 Old 12-09-2015, 04:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dmon4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Where is the Roku App with VOD ?

.

"There you go again..." - Good Ol' R. Reagan's favorite Troll line !
Dmon4u is offline  
post #18830 of 19392 Old 12-09-2015, 06:43 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,400
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8956 Post(s)
Liked: 5735
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I agree with what you are saying but do you think cable has a better picture than FiOS? I've seen FiOS side by side with Cablevision here in NY and you can see that FiOS has a better picture even with all the cramming of HD channels.
Depends on the area. Around here, Comcast doesn't come anywhere close to the majority of the FiOS channels. Of course teh quality of many channels on FiOS has deteriorated as they crammed more per QAm while staying at MPEG2. But in general when I visit my parents house and see their Comcast channels, they typically look bad when compared to what I see at home.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #18831 of 19392 Old 12-09-2015, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 8,998
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4200 Post(s)
Liked: 3752
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Depends on the area. Around here, Comcast doesn't come anywhere close to the majority of the FiOS channels. Of course teh quality of many channels on FiOS has deteriorated as they crammed more per QAm while staying at MPEG2. But in general when I visit my parents house and see their Comcast channels, they typically look bad when compared to what I see at home.

I've noticed the ESPN and sports channels in general look much better on FiOS...I hear the premium movie channels have taken a hit in terms of picture quality with the most recent QAM slotting...but I guess FiOS is still the best choice compared to the competition
jrref likes this.
TitusTroy is online now  
post #18832 of 19392 Old 12-19-2015, 06:11 AM
Member
 
j45rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
How much more are folks paying for quantum over regular FiOS tv? I don't really need more tuners–I'm not finding myself with conflict issues with the 2 tuners I've got now–but the newly released ability to stream recordings outside my home network with quantum is tempting. But it's not tempting enough to go from $15/month for the DVR to $30, which is what one rep quoted me. Is that really the deal that folks are taking?
j45rpm is offline  
post #18833 of 19392 Old 12-19-2015, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,238
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4280 Post(s)
Liked: 5234
Quote:
Originally Posted by j45rpm View Post
How much more are folks paying for quantum over regular FiOS tv? I don't really need more tuners–I'm not finding myself with conflict issues with the 2 tuners I've got now–but the newly released ability to stream recordings outside my home network with quantum is tempting. But it's not tempting enough to go from $15/month for the DVR to $30, which is what one rep quoted me. Is that really the deal that folks are taking?
I thought it was only $10 extra but if you a not recording more than two shows at a time then you don't need it. The only other advantage is that Quantum upscales to 1080P vs 1080i for the older boxes giving you a slightly sharper picture.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #18834 of 19392 Old 12-19-2015, 03:15 PM
Member
 
j45rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Thanks, John. That's good information to have.

I'm mostly thinking of it as a way to get Slingbox-type functionality without a slingbox. I'm not a huge fan of IR blasters, I'm not a huge fan of additional ads on top of the cost of a standalone-device, and I'd rather rent something from Verizon that can be replaced as newer tech comes out as opposed to owning a box that inevitably becomes obsolete in a year or two.

But on the other hand, I'm not a fan of paying much more for cable than I am. :P I will probably wait and see what Verizon does in that space, and hope prices come down.
j45rpm is offline  
post #18835 of 19392 Old 12-19-2015, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
mrkalel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by j45rpm View Post
Thanks, John. That's good information to have.

I'm mostly thinking of it as a way to get Slingbox-type functionality without a slingbox. I'm not a huge fan of IR blasters, I'm not a huge fan of additional ads on top of the cost of a standalone-device, and I'd rather rent something from Verizon that can be replaced as newer tech comes out as opposed to owning a box that inevitably becomes obsolete in a year or two.

But on the other hand, I'm not a fan of paying much more for cable than I am. I will probably wait and see what Verizon does in that space, and hope prices come down.
Hey fellows..you know Verizon just launched DVR remote streaming to their mobile apps? Works really really well! I get Hi-Def even on LTE.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
jrref likes this.
mrkalel is offline  
post #18836 of 19392 Old 12-19-2015, 03:19 PM
Member
 
j45rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Yep! That's what I was trying to refer to–sorry for being unclear.

That's what attracts me to the idea of getting quantum TV (the DVR remote streaming doesn't work with the non-quantum TV DVRs, or so I've been told). I'm just having trouble pulling the trigger given the added monthly cost.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkalel View Post
Hey fellows..you know Verizon just launched DVR remote streaming to their mobile apps? Works really really well! I get Hi-Def even on LTE.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
j45rpm is offline  
post #18837 of 19392 Old 12-19-2015, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
mrkalel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by j45rpm View Post
Yep! That's what I was trying to refer to–sorry for being unclear.

That's what attracts me to the idea of getting quantum TV (the DVR remote streaming doesn't work with the non-quantum TV DVRs, or so I've been told). I'm just having trouble pulling the trigger given the added monthly cost.
I think for all the headache and cost and annoyance associated to Slingbox... Just get quantum. (Plus everything else u get)

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
mrkalel is offline  
post #18838 of 19392 Old 12-25-2015, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
leftyguitar1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 172
I heard Verizon sold off their Fiber biz in CA, TX & FL to Frontier.

I wonder what's in store for us in the impacted states? Hopefully better customer service for one.
leftyguitar1963 is offline  
post #18839 of 19392 Old 12-25-2015, 07:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
leftyguitar1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 172


http://meetfrontier.com/get-to-know-us

Last edited by leftyguitar1963; 12-25-2015 at 07:45 PM.
leftyguitar1963 is offline  
post #18840 of 19392 Old 12-26-2015, 02:48 PM
Member
 
arnoldevns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftyguitar1963 View Post
I heard Verizon sold off their Fiber biz in CA, TX & FL to Frontier.

I wonder what's in store for us in the impacted states? Hopefully better customer service for one.
Yes, that deal was announced months ago. I think they'll actually take over sometime in the new year, but I wouldn't count on exactly when that will be.
arnoldevns is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off