Verizon FiOS HDTV - Page 637 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 239Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19081 of 19376 Old 12-01-2017, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,358
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by sangs View Post
Sorry, I should have put "anymore" after my initial statement. Wasn't trying to be snarky. My apologies.
SnellKrell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19082 of 19376 Old 12-01-2017, 10:53 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,306
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8903 Post(s)
Liked: 5692
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
how is this going to effect picture quality compared to the current QAM system?...better or worse?
It could be better or worse. It depends on how much bandwidth they want to devote to it. QAM looks excellent as long as it has the proper bandwidth.

Which unfortunately FiOS has decreased over the last few years.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk
TitusTroy likes this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #19083 of 19376 Old 12-12-2017, 10:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 8,815
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4111 Post(s)
Liked: 3669
I have the FiOS Ultimate TV/phone/internet package and got an e-mail today that they are adding a cool new feature to the phone service...

"We get lots of complaints about unwanted computerized calls, and we get it—no one
likes robocalls. To help you identify them,
we've added a new "Spam Alerts" feature
to your home phone's Caller ID

Beginning on 12/18/17, your Caller ID will show "SPAM?" before numbers that have been identified* as a possible unsolicited call"
dturturro and jrref like this.
TitusTroy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19084 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 5,094
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
I have the FiOS Ultimate TV/phone/internet package and got an e-mail today that they are adding a cool new feature to the phone service...

Beginning on 12/18/17, your Caller ID will show "SPAM?" before numbers that have been identified* as a possible unsolicited call"
I received the same notice. We've been getting a lot of SPAM calls from not only our area code but local exchange number. We'll have to see how good this works...
TitusTroy and dtv757 like this.

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: [email protected]
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #19085 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 757
Posts: 1,799
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post
I received the same notice. We've been getting a lot of SPAM calls from not only our area code but local exchange number. We'll have to see how good this works...
That's cool !!!

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries
dtv757 is offline  
post #19086 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,574
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Smile Spam

Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post
I received the same notice. We've been getting a lot of SPAM calls from not only our area code but local exchange number. We'll have to see how good this works...
Even better: block those calls (after the first ring):
NOMOROBO

Verizon FiOS was one of the first to support this. We've been using it for several years.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #19087 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 08:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,358
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
Even better: block those calls (after the first ring):
NOMOROBO

Verizon FiOS was one of the first to support this. We've been using it for several years.
I'm also using it - just wish there were a way not to even hear the first ring!
SnellKrell is offline  
post #19088 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA
Posts: 5,094
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
Even better: block those calls (after the first ring):
NOMOROBO

Verizon FiOS was one of the first to support this. We've been using it for several years.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellKrell View Post
I'm also using it - just wish there were a way not to even hear the first ring!
Does it really work???

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: [email protected]
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
post #19089 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 8,815
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4111 Post(s)
Liked: 3669
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellKrell View Post
I'm also using it - just wish there were a way not to even hear the first ring!

that's the main reason I don't use Nomorobo...hearing the first ring your first instinct will be to go answer the phone...Nomorobo seems fine overall but it's the small things that bug me
TitusTroy is online now  
post #19090 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,574
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post
Does it really work???
Yes, it works about 80% of the time. It all depends on the offending caller being in their database. Unfortunately, some offending callers have started spoofing caller ID info (I've even seen my number listed) that fool the system.

The reason that your phone will ring once is that it takes the time of that first ring for the NoMoRobo computer to check the database and terminate the call.

Also, it is free (for land line), so all you have to loose is a couple of minutes of time that it takes to set it up.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #19091 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 11:09 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,306
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8903 Post(s)
Liked: 5692
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitusTroy View Post
I have the FiOS Ultimate TV/phone/internet package and got an e-mail today that they are adding a cool new feature to the phone service...

"We get lots of complaints about unwanted computerized calls, and we get it—no one
likes robocalls. To help you identify them,
we've added a new "Spam Alerts" feature
to your home phone's Caller ID

Beginning on 12/18/17, your Caller ID will show "SPAM?" before numbers that have been identified* as a possible unsolicited call"
I saw the same email. But I also use nomorobo with FiOS. Since it's listed on my FiOS digital voice page as an option. So if the number is supposedly Spam, it shouldn't even be ringing.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #19092 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 11:11 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,306
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8903 Post(s)
Liked: 5692
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post
Does it really work???
Not for me. I still get way too many spam calls. And of course the Do Not Call Registry does squat.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #19093 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 11:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TitusTroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 8,815
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4111 Post(s)
Liked: 3669
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I saw the same email. But I also use nomorobo with FiOS. Since it's listed on my FiOS digital voice page as an option. So if the number is supposedly Spam, it shouldn't even be ringing.

they are not 100% certain it is spam which is one of the reasons it probably needs to ring...with the new FiOS non-nomorobo feature it lists the spam calls on your called ID with a question mark (SPAM?) for the same reason, they cannot be certain it is spam
aaronwt likes this.
TitusTroy is online now  
post #19094 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dougotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellKrell View Post
I'm also using it - just wish there were a way not to even hear the first ring!
Our Panasonic landline phone has a setting for the first ring to be silent. It's very handy, not only for blocked numbers, but also when I'm working from home and have Skype call me to connect to a conference call. I just answer when the handset lights up on the first ring, and my wife isn't bothering hearing it.
aaronwt likes this.
dougotte is offline  
post #19095 of 19376 Old 12-13-2017, 05:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
nomorobo is great!
markjrenna is offline  
post #19096 of 19376 Old 02-05-2018, 10:27 AM
Member
 
pgiliber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Long time DirecTV customer but moved and was not able to mount up a dish where I wanted. I now have Verizon FIOS, all is great but VOD pixelates. I can stream Netflix, Vudu no issue and regular TV on FiOS no issue, just VOD.

Any thoughts suggestions?

Sony XBR850D
FiOS 1100 via HDMI
FiOS Gig Ethernet Service
pgiliber is offline  
post #19097 of 19376 Old 02-05-2018, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,358
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgiliber View Post
Long time DirecTV customer but moved and was not able to mount up a dish where I wanted. I now have Verizon FIOS, all is great but VOD pixelates. I can stream Netflix, Vudu no issue and regular TV on FiOS no issue, just VOD.

Any thoughts suggestions?
If you have the small ONT that can be moved, try changing its location even by a few inches.

I didn't have trouble with VOD but with two cable networks, they pixelated and froze; and that
was the answer.

I was told that this small ONT is highly susceptible to RF interference.
SnellKrell is offline  
post #19098 of 19376 Old 02-05-2018, 10:52 AM
Member
 
pgiliber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellKrell View Post
If you have the small ONT that can be moved, try changing its location even by a few inches.

I didn't have trouble with VOD but with two cable networks, they pixelated and froze; and that
was the answer.

I was told that this small ONT is highly susceptible to RF interference.

Mine was installed in November 2017 and it is the smaller version of ONT, I'll give it a try and move it to see if it makes a difference. Thank you for the advice....

Sony XBR850D
FiOS 1100 via HDMI
FiOS Gig Ethernet Service
pgiliber is offline  
post #19099 of 19376 Old 02-05-2018, 01:08 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,306
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8903 Post(s)
Liked: 5692
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgiliber View Post
Long time DirecTV customer but moved and was not able to mount up a dish where I wanted. I now have Verizon FIOS, all is great but VOD pixelates. I can stream Netflix, Vudu no issue and regular TV on FiOS no issue, just VOD.

Any thoughts suggestions?
Unfortunately, because FiOS VOD has always sucked.

When I got FiOS in 2007 it looked lousy. When I tried it in 2009 it looked lousy. When I tried it in 2012 it looked lousy. When I tried it in 2015 it looked lousy. And last year, when I had an STB for a few days, VOD still looked lousy. I quickly returned the STB since VOD still didn't look like it should.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 02-05-2018 at 01:12 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #19100 of 19376 Old 02-05-2018, 06:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 757
Posts: 1,799
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Unfortunately, because FiOS VOD has always sucked.

When I got FiOS in 2007 it looked lousy. When I tried it in 2009 it looked lousy. When I tried it in 2012 it looked lousy. When I tried it in 2015 it looked lousy. And last year, when I had an STB for a few days, VOD still looked lousy. I quickly returned the STB since VOD still didn't look like it should.
How would VOD look lousy ?
It's internet streaming/ MOCA.

It should look better than live tv .

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries
dtv757 is offline  
post #19101 of 19376 Old 02-06-2018, 10:51 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,306
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8903 Post(s)
Liked: 5692
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post
How would VOD look lousy ?
It's internet streaming/ MOCA.

It should look better than live tv .

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
Because it can still be overly compressed and bitstarved.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #19102 of 19376 Old 02-06-2018, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
satboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 799 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post
How would VOD look lousy ?
It's internet streaming/ MOCA.

It should look better than live tv .

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
FiOS VOD is not via QAM but rather via IPTV to the clients via MoCA off the Quantum Gateway (IP). I had experienced pixelation as well when using my own router and the only way I got rid of it was to invoke a QOS policy.

Moving the ONT around is not going to yield any improvements for VOD.

Does the original poster have the FiOS provided gateway? I have seen issues there too but the suggestions are different so I am going ask that first.

Den - LG 65 OLEDE7P - Denon AVR-X4200W - Definitive Mythos STS - ProCenter 2000 - SR-8040BP - SVS Ultra-13 - DTV 4K - XBOX One S
Media - LG 65 OLEDC8 - AVR-X4400 - KFL28F - Vienna Acoustics Center - Def GEMS Rear - Def A60 Atmos - Monitor Silver SUB - DTV 4K - XBOX One X
My YouTube Tech Channel - https://www.youtube.com/c/TechFan
satboy is offline  
post #19103 of 19376 Old 02-06-2018, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtv757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 757
Posts: 1,799
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by satboy View Post
FiOS VOD is not via QAM but rather via IPTV to the clients via MoCA off the Quantum Gateway (IP). I had experienced pixelation as well when using my own router and the only way I got rid of it was to invoke a QOS policy.

Moving the ONT around is not going to yield any improvements for VOD.

Does the original poster have the FiOS provided gateway? I have seen issues there too but the suggestions are different so I am going ask that first.
Exactly vod/IPTV would not be bit starved unless it's SD-vod lol

But still vod should be > PQ than live TV

As posted above VOD is not QAM.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

MY COMMENTS ARE MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS AND IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM REPRESENT
Bell Atlantic or its Subsidiaries
dtv757 is offline  
post #19104 of 19376 Old 02-06-2018, 12:26 PM
Member
 
pgiliber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by satboy View Post
FiOS VOD is not via QAM but rather via IPTV to the clients via MoCA off the Quantum Gateway (IP). I had experienced pixelation as well when using my own router and the only way I got rid of it was to invoke a QOS policy.

Moving the ONT around is not going to yield any improvements for VOD.

Does the original poster have the FiOS provided gateway? I have seen issues there too but the suggestions are different so I am going ask that first.
Hi..If your post was in response to my post, I do not have the FiOS gateway. Below is my config:

ONT eth -> WAN Ubiquiti Security Gateway
LAN1 Ubiquiti Security Gateway -> Uplink Unifi Switch 24 port PoE
ONT Coax -> Coax Actiontech Moca Net Adapter via a splitter
Ethernet Actiontech Moca Net Adapter -> Unifi Switch Port

All STB boxes get DHCP on my local LAN no issue, Guide works...etc

Prior to the MOCA adapter, I had the FiOS Gateway acting just as a bridge the way Verizon installed it but turned off DHCP and Wireless and it was uplinked to my local LAN and VOD was still pixelating. I just switched out the FiOS gateway and inserted the MOCA adapter and still VOD awful.

If you can share a QOS policy I can dig in and see how I configure that on the Ubiquiti.

Sony XBR850D
FiOS 1100 via HDMI
FiOS Gig Ethernet Service

Last edited by pgiliber; 02-06-2018 at 12:41 PM.
pgiliber is offline  
post #19105 of 19376 Old 02-06-2018, 01:20 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,306
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8903 Post(s)
Liked: 5692
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv757 View Post
Exactly vod/IPTV would not be bit starved unless it's SD-vod lol

But still vod should be > PQ than live TV

As posted above VOD is not QAM.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
You are making the assumption that Verizon gives enough bandwidth for their VOD. But they most definitely do not with much of their content I watched from VOD. Considering it is IP based, one would expect it to look great. But much of the time, that is not the case. Of course some of it is still using MPEG2 as well. Which doesn't help at the lower bitrates either. But then with H.264 the bitrate they use is cut in half anyway. So the quality can be similar.

LAst time I checked the were using around a 14Mb/s bitrate for their MPEG 2 VOD and around 7Mb/s for their H.264 VOD. Not sure if it is still the case. While I did see some VOD content that looked better last year. I also saw content that did not. And it wasn't worth it to me to pay the $10 monthly fee for the STB. Since I can get most or all of their VOD from other sources and in better quality.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 02-06-2018 at 01:23 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #19106 of 19376 Old 02-06-2018, 01:25 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,306
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8903 Post(s)
Liked: 5692
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgiliber View Post
Hi..If your post was in response to my post, I do not have the FiOS gateway. Below is my config:

ONT eth -> WAN Ubiquiti Security Gateway
LAN1 Ubiquiti Security Gateway -> Uplink Unifi Switch 24 port PoE
ONT Coax -> Coax Actiontech Moca Net Adapter via a splitter
Ethernet Actiontech Moca Net Adapter -> Unifi Switch Port

All STB boxes get DHCP on my local LAN no issue, Guide works...etc

Prior to the MOCA adapter, I had the FiOS Gateway acting just as a bridge the way Verizon installed it but turned off DHCP and Wireless and it was uplinked to my local LAN and VOD was still pixelating. I just switched out the FiOS gateway and inserted the MOCA adapter and still VOD awful.

If you can share a QOS policy I can dig in and see how I configure that on the Ubiquiti.
QoS should not be needed if you have a robust network. The problem with their VOD is their low bitrate and high compression used. The VOD streams all use low bitrates. And unless you have some extremely low FiOS speed tier, QoS should not be needed.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #19107 of 19376 Old 02-06-2018, 01:28 PM
Member
 
pgiliber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
QoS should not be needed if you have a robust network. The problem with their VOD is their low bitrate and high compression used. The VOD streams all use low bitrates. And unless you have some extremely low FiOS speed tier, QoS should not be needed.
Agreed, plus I have their GiG service so bandwidth should not be an issue and my home network works just fine. All Netflix, Vudu...etc are perfect.

Sony XBR850D
FiOS 1100 via HDMI
FiOS Gig Ethernet Service
pgiliber is offline  
post #19108 of 19376 Old 02-06-2018, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
carltonrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnellKrell View Post
I'm also using it - just wish there were a way not to even hear the first ring!
I use NOMOROBO with FiOS Digital Voice and the FiOS app on my iPhone. Whenever I am bored, I go into the call logs on the FiOS app or on the Verizon website and put a CALL BLOCK on the SPAM calls that have either been identified by NOMOROBO or I look up the number and determine it's SPAM. Once you block the calling number, it doesn't ring at all next time they call.
carltonrice is offline  
post #19109 of 19376 Old 02-06-2018, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,358
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by carltonrice View Post
I use NOMOROBO with FiOS Digital Voice and the FiOS app on my iPhone. Whenever I am bored, I go into the call logs on the FiOS app or on the Verizon website and put a CALL BLOCK on the SPAM calls that have either been identified by NOMOROBO or I look up the number and determine it's SPAM. Once you block the calling number, it doesn't ring at all next time they call.
Thanks, good idea!
SnellKrell is offline  
post #19110 of 19376 Old 02-06-2018, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
satboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 799 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgiliber View Post
Agreed, plus I have their GiG service so bandwidth should not be an issue and my home network works just fine. All Netflix, Vudu...etc are perfect.
You guys can agree but I know from experience the best way to fix the pixelation issue is to enable "Smart Queues" on the USG Pro

See picture I attached on how do to that (run the speedtest first on the dashboard)

How do I know? Well I had the same issue which is why I asked and was fixed with smart q enabled.

The MoCA adapter can be chatty on the network too, setup a Wireshark and you will see.

Now back to QOS, yes when you have enough BW QOS does nothing as you never exceed the Q and never drop packets. In this case for example my xbox downloading a new game will attempt to download as fast as my connection and thus cause issues for other end clients that use either video or voice. Using SQ on the USG will allow for sharing among all clients etc. Just cause one has a GIG doesn't mean Verizon gives you that GIG 24/7, actual BW will go up and down all day long as there is no SLA for what you actually get. Even from the last mile they still vary which is why the Quantum Gateway has a QOS policy built in. Don't believe me give it a look, you will see they set one for the VMS clients and why they are at .100 to .1xx. outside of DHCP.


Apply the SQ and report back, it should be 99% perfect (once in a blue moon I still got pixelation but nothing like I had experienced without it).

Also note the pixelation is not a PQ issue rather dropped packets not bit starved or compression.

Which USG gateway do you have? The 3 or the 4? Issues there too if you have the 3
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-02-06 at 4.44.08 PM.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	225.3 KB
ID:	2357090   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-02-06 at 5.03.45 PM.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	502.1 KB
ID:	2357092  
pgiliber likes this.

Den - LG 65 OLEDE7P - Denon AVR-X4200W - Definitive Mythos STS - ProCenter 2000 - SR-8040BP - SVS Ultra-13 - DTV 4K - XBOX One S
Media - LG 65 OLEDC8 - AVR-X4400 - KFL28F - Vienna Acoustics Center - Def GEMS Rear - Def A60 Atmos - Monitor Silver SUB - DTV 4K - XBOX One X
My YouTube Tech Channel - https://www.youtube.com/c/TechFan

Last edited by satboy; 02-06-2018 at 02:08 PM.
satboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off