'So You Think You Can Dance' in HD? No, upconverted. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 05-17-2007, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
So you think you can dance, In HD this time?

Well the hit show So you think you can dance is returning next week(If anyone watches a show during the summer it is a hit!). So will it be in true 720p this time. It was a 480i/p widescreen up convert the last two times. Here is hoping for true HD this time!
mpgxsvcd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-17-2007, 11:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
According to FOX, the answer to that is no.
videojanitor is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-17-2007, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
RSF_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Videojanitor is correct. It will be done the same way the previous seasons were. I haven't heard if Band Idol will be HD yet. SYTYCD moves into the same studio that Dancing With The Stars is using till next week.
RSF_LA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 05-17-2007, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 13,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 26
It does look very good though in 480p widescreen. Pity they won't go full HD. My wife and I love this show.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-17-2007, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

It does look very good though in 480p widescreen. Pity they won't go full HD. My wife and I love this show.


It is 720p widescreen. There is no more 480p widescreen. It is shot in 480i.
CKNA is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-17-2007, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 13,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 26
CK, are you saying that this year it is 720p widescreen? Because in years past, it certainly hasn't been.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 05-17-2007, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sandiegojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pretty sure it was last year.

Pretty good quality for non-hd. Watching the hotties spin in slow motion was quite enjoyable.
sandiegojoe is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-17-2007, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by CKNA View Post

It is 720p widescreen. There is no more 480p widescreen. It is shot in 480i.

It will be acquired in 480i 16:9 and upconverted to 720p 16:9.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 05-17-2007, 01:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

CK, are you saying that this year it is 720p widescreen? Because in years past, it certainly hasn't been.

Yes it was. Once FOX went HD, all the programming is 720p. It is either true HD or 480i widescreen upconverted to 720p.
CKNA is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 05-17-2007, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
RSF_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The show is shot with HD cameras which do downconversion internally to 480i. The backhaul to Fox TOC is 270 Mb/s uncompressed SD SDI. The same cameras are being used in HD at the moment on Dancing With The Stars.
RSF_LA is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 05-18-2007, 03:32 AM
Senior Member
 
caernavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Watertown, MA
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not in HD? Well, the PQ has always looked very good anyway. I wouldn't have guessed it wasn't HD. I'm glad the show is back so soon; my wife and I loved watching last summer. SYTYCD is infinitely more entertaining than DWTS.
caernavon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off