Coax Splitters - What to look for? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-07-2019, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Coax Splitters - What to look for?

Hey guys, I’m trying to hook my cable lines back up. Current setup is the cable line connected to one coax going to our guest room. I did this just to get our internet hooked up and I knew I could move my modem later.

All other lines at some point had been cut. Fortunately all lines are long enough that I can put the coax connectors on the ends and still use them. But here’s my question, what splitter do I get? I thought I’d read somewhere that a splitter with like 2000 MHz was what you look for. But then I read today on the Xfinity forums that the 5-1000 MHz was what you need.

For now, I’m mainly focused on making sure a line in the basement is working so I can move the modem and router. So cable internet is the service in mind. But I want to hook all lines up should we in the future get satellite service or even cable through Xfinity.

I’ve tried to read on these splitters and now I come to you wonderful people. I’ve read about MHz. I’ve read about signal loss. I’m looking at the very least a 4 way splitter, maybe even 5 or 6 to cover different rooms. Do I need to just get one splitter to cover most rooms with television in some form (antenna, cable, satellite) and just keep a separate line for internet?
Patrick Haven is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-08-2019, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 19,111
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2247 Post(s)
Liked: 2110
https://www.amazon.com/Splitter-Broa...BK7MXESVYTGC1Q




https://www.amazon.com/Premium-Coaxi...BK7MXESVYTGC1Q




Use the two-way connect the coax feed from the provider to the input.
Use one output from the two-way to go directly to the cable modem.
Use the other output from the two-way and connect to the input of the four-way.
Connect the outputs of the four-way to the additional rooms/TV's.


If you have issues with the rooms/sets "after" the four-way, you may want to consider a "distribution amp/splitter".


Without details (type of coax, length of runs, connectors, wall plates, etc. ), this is just a starting point.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-09-2019, 06:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 6,193
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 957 Post(s)
Liked: 525
Note that Ratman's recommendations are specifically designed with a controlled "Reverse Isolation", "Port-To-Port Isolation" and not TOO MUCH attenuation in the MoCa Band (~ 1500 MHz Band) so that signals can be exchanged (two-way) between Cable Boxes using the "Whole House" feature so that you can watch something recorded on a different cable box.

Portions of this higher frequency band are also used for streaming various Media Files from PC ( Game Station or File Server) to BD/UD-Player, using DLNA network protocols. Since exchanges are two-way, it is inevitable that signals will likely have to go via a REVERSE Path on some (or several in my case) RF Splitters.

I had to sort through my stock of "standard" CATV [5-1000 MHz] and SAT [2000+ MHz] 2-Port Cable RF Splitters to eliminate those that had too much Isolation before I could get my Whole House DVR's to talk to each other.

Last edited by holl_ands; 08-09-2019 at 09:20 PM.
holl_ands is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 Old 08-10-2019, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 19,111
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2247 Post(s)
Liked: 2110
Wonder if @Patrick Haven will check back to see the replies?



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off