cable missing channels - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-25-2020, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gbdmbfan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cable missing channels

hoping someone could help. I recently lost some cable channels on my TIVO box. Long story short, TIVO is stating it's a frequency issue via FIOS. I have gone back and forth. Yesterday FIOS sent out a rep but due to the virus, they are not allowed in the house. I currently have a coax wire running from the fios box to a 6 splitter. He had me change out the splitter and ultimately had my change to a 3 splitter. The weird part is, when i changed to the 3 splitter i lost all my channels. Shouldn't I at the minimum keep the same amount of channels being that i losing less frequency?? I have no other splitters. Wire directly from the FIOS white power box - to the splitter. Then to the TV. Anyone have any recommendations on how I can resolve this? The FIOS rep ultiamtely had to leave and said he would come back once they were allowed back in the houses and would have to trouble shoot it....
gbdmbfan3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 04-25-2020, 03:03 PM
Member
 
Ladder5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You most likely just need a signal amplifier, there are a bunch available with different number of outputs. You can use another splitter after the amplifier to connect all of your devices. My system needed the boost also, it's been working great for a long time now. Here is one example, but search for the one that best suits your needs.

Samsung UN55F7100 / Denon AVR-X7200WA
Polk LSiM 703c Fronts / Polk LSiM 704c Center
Polk LSiM 702 F/X Surrounds / Polk FXi A6 Rear surrounds
Outlaw Ultra-X12 Sub / Outlaw LFM-1 Plus Sub
Pioneer Elite BDP-62FD - Blu-ray Player
Ladder5 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-25-2020, 04:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 20,280
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2765 Post(s)
Liked: 2770
Use an F81 connector and run directly from the FiOS feed to Tivo. That eliminates any concerns about splitters.
If that doesn't work, you probably have a cable/connector problem.


In case you don't know. This is an F-81 connector:






https://www.ebay.com/i/254231530332?...xoCBp4QAvD_BwE



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off